DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komuro et al. (JP 2019-202991 A).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 7-11, Komuro et al. teach a resin composition ( actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition; see abstract, claims and examples) comprising compounds represented by IB-1, IB-2, IB-3, IB-4:
[0078], and IX-2:
[0242] meeting the limitation of a compound (I) that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation and has an ionic structure and a zwitterionic structure as instantly claimed and a compound represented by any of the following general formulas (I)-1 to (I)-3 wherein A11- and A13- to A16- represents an acid anionic group represented by formula (A-1) to (A-2) and A12- represents an acid anionic group represented by any of the formulas of (B-1) to (B-3) as instantly claimed. Also, Komuro et al. teach a film formed using the resin composition (see examples). Komuro et al. teach a pattern forming method as well as method for manufacturing an electronic device ( semiconductor microfabrication devices) comprising the steps of forming a film on a substrate using the resin composition; a step of exposing the film to light; and developing the film with a developer ( see claims, [0250] and examples).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komuro et al. (JP 2019-202991 A).
Regarding claim 12, Komuro et al. teach represented by IB-1, IB-2, IB-3, IB-4:
[0078], and IX-2:
[0242] meeting the limitation of a compound represented by any of the following general formulas (IA)-1 to (IA)-3 ( IA-2) as instantly claimed.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komuro et al. (US 2021/0063874 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9-11, Komuro et al. teach a resin composition ( actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition; see abstract, claims and examples) comprising a salt represented by I-3 or I-4 [0058] meeting the limitation of a compound (I) that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation and has an ionic structure and a zwitterionic structure and includes at least two anionic groups and at least one cationic group that are linked via covalent bonding as instantly claimed. Also, Komuro et al. teach a film formed using the resin composition (see examples ). Komuro et al. teach a pattern forming method as well as method for manufacturing an electronic device ( semiconductor devices) comprising the steps of forming a film on a substrate using the resin composition; a step of exposing the film to light; and developing the film with a developer ( see claims and examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komuro et al. (JP 2019-202991 A) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Komuro et al. do not explicitly wherein the compound (I) generates a plurality of acid groups having different pKa values upon irradiation with the actinic rays or radiation as instantly claimed or replacement step with different pKa groups as recited by the instant claims. Nonetheless, it is noted that compounds represented by Komuro et al. and the instant claims are the same chemical compounds. Accordingly, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. [MPEP 2112.01 In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)]. Thus, the compounds according to Komuro et al. is expected to generates a plurality of acid groups having different pKa values upon irradiation with the actinic rays or radiation and a replacement step with different pKa groups as that of instant application. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to include that compounds of Komuro et al. generates a plurality of acid groups having different pKa values upon irradiation with the actinic rays or radiation and a replacement step with different pKa groups as that of instant application.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Tarumoto et al. ( JP2003-267968 A; see abstract, claims, examples ) teach a photoacid generator 1 that corresponds to formula 1 as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737