DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yu et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0108655; hereinafter Yu).
With reference to claims 12 and 18, Kim discloses a display apparatus (see paragraph 40; Fig. 1) comprising:
a driving transistor (DT) including a gate electrode, and a first electrode configured to receive a high-potential driving voltage (ELVDD) and a second electrode configured to provide a driving current to a light emitting element (OLED) (see paragraphs 54, 65; Fig. 2);
a first transistor (ST6) including a gate electrode to which a light emitting control signal (EMj) is applied, a first electrode connected to the second electrode of the driving transistor (DT), and a second electrode connected to an anode electrode of the light emitting element (OLED) (see paragraph 67; Fig. 2); and
a second transistor (ST3) including a gate electrode to which a compensation scan (SNSj-1) signal is applied, a first electrode configured to receive an initialization voltage (Vint), and a second electrode connected to the anode electrode (OLED), wherein when the compensation scan signal at a low level is applied, the second transistor (ST3) is turned on (see paragraph 55, 57).
While teaching that the transistors of the pixel circuit includes both p-type and n-type thin film transistors, Kim fails to specifically teach the compensation capacitor, or that the second transistor is a p-type transistor as recited.
Yu discloses a pixel circuit for a display apparatus comprising a driving transistor (DTFT), a second transistor (T8), and a compensation capacitor (C2) is formed between a compensation scan signal line through which the compensation scan signal (CON2) is supplied and the anode electrode of the light emitting element (OLED) (see paragraphs 67-68; Fig. 5), wherein the second transistor is a p-type thin film transistor (see paragraphs 38-39, 53).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a compensation capacitor and a p-type transistor similar to that which is taught by Peng to be carried out in a display device similar to that which is taught by Kim to thereby provide an alternative configuration for driving of the pixel circuit according to the circuit design (see Yu; paragraph 38).
With reference to claim 13, Kim and Yu disclose the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the first transistor (ST6) is turned on when the light emitting control signal at a low level is applied (see paragraphs 55, 67; Fig. 2).
With reference to claim 16, Kim and Yu disclose the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein Kim further discloses, wherein the gate electrode of the driving transistor (DT) receives another scanning signal or an initialization voltage (Vint) (see paragraph 87; Fig. 2).
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Yu as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yang (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0051627).
With reference to claim 15, Kim, Peng, and Yang disclose the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein Yang further discloses that a parasitic capacitor is formed between a light emitting control signal line through which the light emitting control signal is supplied and the anode electrode of the light emitting element, and wherein the parasitic capacitor is canceled by the compensation capacitor (C1) (see paragraphs 50, 53; Figs. 3-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow the usage of a compensation capacitor similar to that which is taught by Yang to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kim to thereby improve the effects of parasitic capacitance formed in the device (see Yang; paragraph 53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to rejection of claims 1 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-11 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-13, 15-16 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 17 are allowed.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIU et al. (US2022/0383811) discloses a display device having a drive circuiting including a threshold compensation transistor (see paragraphs 73-75, 85-118: Figs. 1-4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625