DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Soleski et al [PGPUB 2015/0072177].
Claim 1: Instant claim recites “the columnar projection being slidably coupled to the side plate along the first direction.” The recitation of “slidably” is a process limitation that does not have distinguishing scope from a structure that is pre-assembled whereby the final product is substantially the same as the product with a slidably vs fixed columnar projection. Instant claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 because the prior art teaches all positively recited structural features in the location of the battery pack when assembled. Instant claim is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 because making a device separable (dividing a single unit into multiple parts) is typically viewed as an obvious engineering choice rather than an inventive step [MPEP 2144.04]. Specifics to channels, holes, or attachment features to make a feature separable also fall into the category of obvious engineering choices; although no specific channels are claim at this time, making this of record may help advance prosecution in a timelier manner.
Soleski teaches a battery module [abstract]. A plurality of battery cells (54) are arranged in a first direction with side plates (76) covering the periphery of the plurality of battery cells in a second direction [Fig 6-7]. The housing side plate (76) comprises a plurality of columnar projections (72) which protrude toward the plurality of batter cells and are arranged between adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells along a first direction [Fig 6-7; 0089-0097]. The columnar projections are configured to have a dimension in the first direction and therefore meet all positively recited structural features of the instant claimed columnar projection within the final product of the battery pack.
Claim 2: Soleski teaches a width of the columnar projection to vary [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 3: Solenski teaches a columnar projection that has a width that decreases in a location relative to the outer position adjacent the side plate to an inner position adjacent the plurality of batteries [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 4: Solenski teaches the columnar projection to have a wedge shape with an apex portion protruding longest from the side plate and side surfaces on both sides extending to converge towards the apex portion [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 5: Solenski teaches the apex portion to have a substantially rounded curved surface [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 6: Solenski teaches the side surfaces to have a rounded curved surface [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 7: Solenski teaches the apex portion of the columnar projection to have a convex curved surface towards the outside of the columnar projection and the side surface of the columnar projection of the columnar projection are curved surface concave toward inside the projection [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 8: Solenski teaches the side surface of the columnar projection to each have a concave shape [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 9: Solenski teaches a columnar portion to have regions that are interpreted to read on the claimed first curved surface contacting the side plate and a second curved surface in contact with the apex portion whereby this can be opposite sides of the apex or the same curve being split into two regions [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 10: Solenski teaches the first and second curved surfaces to have a curvature at opposite positions with each side surface of columnar projection respectively as a boundary [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 11: Solenski teaches the side surface of the columnar projection to have an inflection between the first curved surface and second curved surface [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 12: Solenski teaches a first curved surface includes a concave curved surface from the side plate to the inflection and a second curved surface being convex curved towards the apex [Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 13: Solenski teaches the batteries to have a width direction towards the side plate and the planar portion along the first direction [Fig 6] wherein a corner portion where the narrow side surface and the wide side surface of each of the plurality of battery cells come into contact with each other faces one of the side surface of the columnar projection protruding from the side plate [Fig 6, Fig 8-9; 0091-0097].
Claim 14-24: Instant claim pertains to an intermediary product whereby the final product of the instant claim has a guide that is filled with the sliding element. Solenski teaches all positively recited structural features of the instant claimed invention. Making the product separable features, especially in situations where the feature are not be regularly removed and re-engaged, are obvious engineering tasks MPEP 2144.04 Making Separable. Since the prior art teaches all positively recited structural features of the battery back, the claims stand rejected.
Claim(s) 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleski et al [PGPUB 2015/0072177] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kruse (DE 102020105893).
Claim 14-24: Instant claim pertains to an intermediary product whereby the final product of the instant claim has a guide that is filled with the sliding element. Solenski teaches all positively recited structural features of the instant claimed invention. Making the product separable features, especially in situations where the feature are not be regularly removed and re-engaged, are obvious engineering tasks MPEP 2144.04 Making Separable. Since the prior art teaches all positively recited structural features of the battery back, the claims stand rejected.
En arguendo the step of making separable is considered patentably distinct, Kruse teaches a battery housing (20) having a plurality of battery elements (30) which are arranged in a stacking direction (B) with a separating unit (40) located between the battery elements [Abstract]. Stacking direction distances are adjusted through a slidable engagement (24, 42) [Fig 2]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the ribs of Soleksi to have a slidable features (24, 42) as taught by Kruse in order to adjust the rib feature during assembly to more favorably fit cells with ease. This technical advantage is different than that of the instant claimed invention because it provides variability of rib location relative to the battery cell, whereas the instant invention is a static location once assembled, and thus applicable to MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752