DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/25/2024.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/25/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravikanti et al. (US 20230164541 A1), hereinafter “Ravikanti”; and in further view of Dutta et al. (US 20230328505 A1), hereinafter “Dutta”.
Regarding claim 1, Ravikanti teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device, input to execute an application that requires a mobile network connection [Ravikanti: Abstract teaches method for multi-SIM preference selection in wireless network connection];
detecting, by the UE device, multiple available subscriber identity modules (SIMs), wherein each of the multiple available SIMs is associated with a different line of service[Ravikanti: Par. 65- 68 teaches UE dynamically select from available multi SIMs associated with different services];
extracting, by the UE device, an application identifier for the application [Ravikanti: par. 56- 58 teaches of classification scheme of applications];
initiating, by the UE device, a session connection request for the application using a SIM, of the multiple available SIMs, associated with the designated line of service [Ravikanti: Fig. 7; Par. 65- 72 teaches of using SIM from available multi Sim and perform data transfer],
However, Ravikanti does not teach determining, by the UE device and based on the application identifier, that the application is associated with a designated line of service.
Nevertheless, Dutta, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determining, by the UE device and based on the application identifier, that the application is associated with a designated line of service [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79 further teaches of using application ID (AID) for assigning with SIM on telecom network operator].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Dutta for using application identifier. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Dutta in the Ravikanti system in order to be able to assign AID for each custom based telecom network operator’s input [Dutta: Par. 15].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches
receiving, by the UE device and from a Mobile Device Management (MDM) system, policy rules governing association of the application identifier with one of the SIMS, of the multiple available SIMs [Ravikanti: Par. 57 teaches of applying data usage policy for selected applications]; and storing, on a MDM client of the UE device, the policy rules [Ravikanti: par. 76 disclosed multi-SIM manager component 241].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches sending, by an operating system of the UE device, the application identifier to the MDM client [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79 further teaches of using application ID (AID) for assigning with SIM on telecom network operator]; and
receiving, by the operating system and from the MDM client, a signal that indicates an assigned SIM, of the multiple available SIMs, for the application [Dutta: Fig. 6; step 608].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches sending, by an operating system of the UE device, the application identifier to each SIM, of the multiple available SIMs [Ravikanti: Fig. 6; step 620;
receiving, by the operating system, signals indicting that none of the SIMs store the application identifier [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 78- 81]; and
prompting, by the UE device, a user to provide a designated line of service for the application when none of the SIMs store the application identifier [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79- 85 teaches enabling designated service based on AID].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 4. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches sending, by the operating system, the application identifier to a SIM, of the multiple available SIMs, to associate the application identifier with the designated line of service [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79- 85 teaches enabling designated service based on AID].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 4. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches storing, by the SIM associated with the designated line of service, the application identifier [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79- 85 teaches enabling designated service based on AID and configuring].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches sending, by an operating system of the UE device, the application identifier to a secure element of the UE device [Dutta; Fig. 6; Par. 79 teaches assigning AID and enabling service based on AID];
receiving, by the operating system, a signal indicting that the application identifier is not associated with any SIM, of the multiple available SIMs [Dutta: Par. 59 teaches of configuring AID where SIM must have at least one AID]; and
prompting, by the UE device, a user to select a designated line of service for the application when the application identifier is not associated with any SIM [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79- 85 teaches enabling designated service based on AID]
Regarding claim 8, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 7. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches storing, by the secure element, the application identifier associated with a SIM, of the multiple SIMs, for the designated line of service [Ravikanti: See Fig. 6; Par. 56- 68].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches wherein one of the SIMS, of the multiple available SIMs, is associated with a default line of service [Ravikanti: See Fig. 6]
Regarding claim 10, Ravikanti teaches A user equipment (UE) device comprising: one or more processors configured to [Ravikanti: Fig. 7]:
receive a command to execute an application that requires a mobile network connection[Ravikanti: Abstract teaches method for multi-SIM preference selection in wireless network connection];
detect multiple available subscriber identity modules (SIMs), wherein each of the multiple available SIMs is associated with a different line of service [Ravikanti: Par. 65- 68 teaches UE dynamically select from available multi SIMs associated with different services];
extract an application identifier for the application [Ravikanti: par. 56- 58 teaches of classification scheme of applications];
initiate, by the UE device, a session connection request for the application using a SIM, of the multiple available SIMs, associated with the designated line of service [Ravikanti: Fig. 7; Par. 65- 72 teaches of using SIM from available multi Sim and perform data transfer],
However, Ravikanti does not teach determine, based on the application identifier, that the application is associated with a designated line of service.
Nevertheless, Dutta, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determine, based on the application identifier, that the application is associated with a designated line of service [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79 further teaches of using application ID (AID) for assigning with SIM on telecom network operator].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Dutta for using application identifier. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Dutta in the Ravikanti system in order to be able to assign AID for each custom based telecom network operator’s input [Dutta: Par. 15].
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, Ravikanti teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions executable by at least one processor of a user equipment (UE) device, the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more instructions for:
receiving input to execute an application that requires a mobile network connection[Ravikanti: Abstract teaches method for multi-SIM preference selection in wireless network connection];
detecting, by the UE device, multiple available subscriber identity modules (SIMs), wherein each of the multiple available SIMs is associated with a different line of service[Ravikanti: Par. 65- 68 teaches UE dynamically select from available multi SIMs associated with different services];
extracting, by the UE device, an application identifier for the application [Ravikanti: par. 56- 58 teaches of classification scheme of applications];
initiating, by the UE device, a session connection request for the application using a SIM, of the multiple available SIMs, associated with the designated line of service [Ravikanti: Fig. 7; Par. 65- 72 teaches of using SIM from available multi Sim and perform data transfer],
However, Ravikanti does not teach determining, by the UE device and based on the application identifier, that the application is associated with a designated line of service.
Nevertheless, Dutta, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determining, by the UE device and based on the application identifier, that the application is associated with a designated line of service [Dutta: Fig. 6; Par. 79 further teaches of using application ID (AID) for assigning with SIM on telecom network operator].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Dutta for using application identifier. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Dutta in the Ravikanti system in order to be able to assign AID for each custom based telecom network operator’s input [Dutta: Par. 15].
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the combined Ravikanti in view of Dutta teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 18. Ravikanti in view of Dutta further teaches sending, by an operating system of the UE device, the application identifier to each SIM, of the multiple available SIMs [Ravikanti: Fig. 6; step 620].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412