Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,441 (‘441). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘441 patent teaches a personal care product comprising: one or more solid discrete particles that have a particle size of 50 micrometers to about 1000 micrometers and comprise a cationic surfactant, a high melting point fatty compound and less than about 50% water, and an aqueous carrier comprises 40% to 99% water; wherein, the cationic surfactant is selected from the group consisting of mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, a combination of mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt and di-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, mono-long alkyl amine, and a combination of mono-long alkyl amine and di-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, wherein, the high melting point fatty compound is selected from the group consisting of fatty alcohols, fatty acids, fatty alcohol derivatives, fatty acid derivatives, and mixtures thereof, wherein the solid discrete particle further comprises a benefit agent selected from the group consisting of silicone compounds, perfumes, aesthetic benefit agents, sensate agents, anti-dandruff agents, and mixtures thereof, and wherein the personal care product is substantially free of a detersive surfactant selected from the group consisting of anionic surfactants, zwitterionic surfactant, and amphoteric surfactant. Water is found in claims 2-3. Hair care is found in claim 8.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘441 patent because the ‘441 patent teaches a hair care particle similar to that of the present invention, namely, a solid discrete particle having a particle size of 50 micrometers to about 1000 micrometers and comprises a cationic surfactant, a high melting point fatty compound and less than about 50% water, and an aqueous carrier comprises 40% to 99% water; wherein, the cationic surfactant is selected from the group consisting of mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, a combination of mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt and di-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, mono-long alkyl amine, and a combination of mono-long alkyl amine and di-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, wherein, the high melting point fatty compound is selected from the group consisting of fatty alcohols, fatty acids, fatty alcohol derivatives, fatty acid derivatives, and mixtures thereof, wherein the solid discrete particle further comprises a benefit agent selected from the group consisting of silicone compounds, perfumes, aesthetic benefit agents, sensate agents, anti-dandruff agents, and mixtures thereof, and wherein the personal care product is substantially free of a detersive surfactant selected from the group consisting of anionic surfactants, zwitterionic surfactant, and amphoteric surfactant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 10, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 11 recited an improper Markush language. If Markush language is intended, the correct phrasing should read “selected from the group consisting of”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “benefit agent is a coloring agent” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 did not recite a coloring agent in the Markush group of benefit agent.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the personal care composition” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. None of the preceding claims recite a personal care composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yokogi et al. USPN 20190307665 A1.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Yokogi teaches a discrete particle of a mixture composition comprises a surfactant and a high melting point fatty compound. See Abstract and paragraph 0065. Yokogi further teaches the mixture composition comprises a surfactant and a high melting point fatty compound and a benefit agent. See paragraph 0024. Benefit agent including silicones and/or perfumes is found in paragraph 0025. The surfactants and the high melting point fatty compounds are present in the mixture composition, with or without other ingredients, at a level by weight of the mixture composition of, preferably from about 10% to about 100%, more preferably from about 20% to about 100%, still more preferably from about 40% to about 100%, even more preferably from about 60% to about 100%, further more preferably from about 80% to about 100%, in view of having discrete particles of the mixture composition in the aqueous base composition and in the product composition while containing other ingredients such as benefit agents, and also in view of providing more flexibility in the product composition rheology and/or improved stability in the product composition. See paragraph 0027. Yokogi further teaches liquid is water miscible liquid such propylene glycol and glycerin, such water miscible liquid can be contained in the mixture composition at a level by weight of the mixture composition of preferably up to about 90%, up to about 60%, more preferably up to about 50%, still more preferably up to about 40%, even more preferably up to about 30%. See paragraph 0030. When the mixture composition contains water, it is preferred to control the level of the water so that the mixture composition contains less than about 50% of water, more preferably less than about 25%, still more preferably less than about 15%, even more preferably less than about 10%, further preferably less than about 8% of water, by weight of the mixture composition, in view of having discrete particle of the mixture composition in the aqueous base composition and in the product composition. See paragraph 0032. Preferably in the mixture composition, the surfactant and the high melting point fatty compound are contained at a level such that the weight ratio of the surfactant to the high melting point fatty compound is in the range of from about 1:1 to about 1:10, more preferably from about 1:1 to about 1:4, still more preferably from about 1:2 to about 1:4, in view of providing rheology and/or conditioning benefit. See paragraph 0033. Cationic surfactant is found in paragraph 0081. High melting point fatty compound is found in paragraphs 0091-0097. The swollen discrete particle preferably has a particle size of from about 1 micrometer to about 2000 micrometers, more preferably from about 10 micrometers to about 1000 micrometer, still more preferably from about 50 micrometers to about 500 micrometers. See paragraph 0069.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615