DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taherkhani et al. (US 20230378580 A1; Henceforth, Taherkhani).
5. Regarding claim 1, Taherkhani teaches a battery assembly (a battery force management system, [0007]; Figure 3b, reproduced below) comprising: a first end section (a first member, [0007]; Figure 3b, element 116, right) and a second end section (a second member, [0007]; Figure 3b, element 116, left); a plurality of battery cells stacked between the first end section and the second end section (a first cell stack, which cells may be […] solid-state pouch cells positioned between a first member and a second member, [0007]); a transmission system connecting the first end section and the second end section together (a drive unit operably coupled with the first member to move the first member to controllably apply the force, [0007]); and an actuator motor (the drive unit may further comprise a motor, [0009]; Figure 3b, element 352) configured for driving the transmission system to vary a distance between the first end section and the second end section to impact a pressure applied by the first end section and the second end section to the plurality of battery cells (a drive unit operably coupled with the first member to move the first member to controllably apply the force. The drive unit may be operably coupled with the first member to move the first member to controllably apply the force responsive to a determination of the force on the first cell stack, [0007]).
Figure 3b, reproduced from Taherkhani.
6. Regarding claim 2, Taherkhani teaches the battery assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the actuator motor is mounted on the first end section (the drive unit may be operably coupled with the first member to move the first member, [0007]; the drive unit may further comprise a motor; the motor is coupled with the movable member, [0009]).
7. Regarding claim 3, Taherkhani teaches the battery assembly as recited in claim 1 wherein the transmission system includes rods connecting the first end section and the second end section to each other (the system may further comprise a second threaded drive rod operably coupled with the drive unit to rotate the second threaded drive rod where the second member is movably mounted and arranged to cooperate with the first member to apply the force on the cell stack, and the first threaded drive rod and the second threaded drive rod each including a first threaded portion and a second threaded portion, and where the first threaded portions are coupled with respective first threaded portions of the first member and the second threaded portions coupled with respective second threaded portions of the second member to move the first member and the second member inwardly toward each other or outwardly away from each other to controllably apply the force responsive to the determination of the force during the change in the cell stack, [0008]; Figure 3b, Drive Rods 112a and 112b).
8. Regarding claim 4, Taherkhani teaches the battery assembly as recited in claim 3 wherein the transmission system further includes gears drivingly connected to threads of the rods (Figure 3b, elements 322a and 322b are planetary gears coupled to the rods; the drive unit comprises a planetary gear assembly with a planet gear operably coupled with the drive rod, [0009]).
9. Regarding claim 5, Taherkhani teaches the battery assembly as recited in claim 4 wherein the rods are screws (first threaded drive rod operably coupled with the drive unit to rotate the first threaded drive rod with the first threaded drive rod operably coupled with a threaded portion of the first member, [0008]; Figure 3b depicts the threads. The examiner notes this interaction is identical to the function of a screw), and the actuator motor being configured for rotating the gears to drive the screws to impact a force applied by the first end section and the second end section to the plurality of battery cells (the drive unit comprises a planetary gear assembly with a planet gear operably coupled with the drive rod and a sun gear to drive the planet gear. The drive unit may further comprise a motor supporting a worm gear to drive the sun gear, [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherkhani, in view of Andre et al. (DE 102018204165 A; Henceforth, Andre).
15. Regarding claim 17, the instant claim is drawn to the battery assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein each of the battery cells comprises: an anode current collector; an anode material on the anode current collector; a cathode current collector; a cathode material on the cathode current collector; and a solid-state electrolyte sandwiched between the anode material and the cathode material for transporting ions between the anode material and the cathode material.
16. Taherkhani teaches the battery of claim 1, and further teaches the cells are composed of a cathode, anode, solid electrolyte, and other layers within a flexible pouch (A solid-state electrolyte battery cell may include more than one anode and cathode, separated by solid electrolyte, layers, and may be encased within a flexible “pouch” that accommodates the expansion and contraction of the anodes and cathodes as the battery cell charges and discharges, [0034]). Taherkhani does not explicitly teach the cathode is made from a cathode current collector and a cathode active material, nor the anode is made from an anode current collector and an anode active material, but teaches systems and methods described may apply to many different types of batteries and battery chemistries ([0034]).
17. Andre teaches a solid or liquid based lithium-ion battery composed of a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator ([0012]). The positive and negative electrodes comprise a mixture containing an active material, and optionally an electrically conductive additive such as conductive carbon black and a binder, applied to a current collector ([0013]). In solid-based cells, Andre teaches the use of a solid electrolyte layer is used in place of a separator ([0019]).
18. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of Taherkhani by using the battery cells taught by Andre in the same field of endeavor. Andre demonstrates precedent in the art to use a solid-state battery that combines a positive current collector, a positive electrode material, a solid state electrolyte, a negative electrode material and a negative current collector. Since Taherkhani teaches various battery configurations and systems work in the battery assembly ([0034]), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the battery configuration of Taherkhani for that of Andre would have had predictably worked within the battery system, since the electrode of Andre further clarify one reasonable example of what the electrodes of Taherkhani could be. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
19. Regarding claim 18, the instant claim is drawn to the battery assembly as recited in claim 17 further comprising a controller configured to direct the actuator motor to increase a distance between the first end section and the second end section during charging of the battery cells and to decrease the distance between the first end section and the second end section during discharging of the battery cells.
20. Taherkhani and Andre teach the battery of claim 17. Taherkhani teaches the battery apparatus has a controller (Figure 3b, above) that monitors the external force on the cells and control the external force on the cells to provide optimal force on the same and pressure within the cells while accommodating the expansion of the cells during charge and the shrinking of the cells during discharge ([0033]). Taherkhani teaches it is advantageous to maintain proper and relatively uniformly distributed contact of particles within the cell and between the various layers of any particular cell configuration, and, when appropriate contact and/or pressure is not maintained, there may be various possible problems including non-uniformities and increased resistance, which can lead to various possible deleterious effects on the cell or the operation of the cell or pack of cells ([0034]). The examiner notes that, when the battery cells expand during charging, this would increase the pressure experienced by the sensor, and, in order for the battery pressure to be constant, the distance between the front and end plates would need to be increased, and vice versa.
21. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of Taherkhani by using the battery cells taught by Andre, as outlined in claim 17, above.
22. Regarding claim 19, the instant claim is drawn to the battery assembly as recited in claim 18 further comprising a pressure sensor for measuring a pressure applied by the actuator motor and the transmission system to the battery cells, the controller being configured to control the actuator motor to vary the distance between the first end section and the second end section as a function of measurements by the pressure sensor.
23. Taherkhani and Andre teach the battery of claim 18. Taherkhani teaches the battery assembly may include sensors to measure the force applied by the end plates, which can include pressure sensors ([0056]). Taherkhani teaches a computing system, which may be part of the controller, may receive force measurement or compute force, or other sensor reading concerning the same, and control the various described motors or pumps to maintain pressure on the cell stacks through charge and discharge cycles ([0067]). The examiner notes that, by controlling the motor, it can adjust the distance between the first and second end sections.
24. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of Taherkhani by using the battery cells taught by Andre, as outlined in claims 17 and 18, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
25. Claims 6-16 and are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
26. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
27. Regarding claim 6, the instant claim is drawn to the battery assembly as recited in claim 4, wherein the actuator motor includes a housing and at least one output shaft for rotating about a center axis, the transmission system includes at least one drive belt drivingly connected to the at least one output shaft of the actuator motor and at least one drive shaft configured for being driven by the at least one drive belt to drive the gears.
28. Taherkhani teaches the battery assembly of claim 4, and is the closest pertinent art. Taherkhani teaches configurations of the actuator motor that have output shaft (see Figures 3b and 6, annotated below) which rotates either gears (Figure 3b) or a drive belt (Figure 6). The configuration in Figure 6 shows a belt in communication with the output shaft and four drive rods that are configured to be driven by the belt drive. The belt may be toothed, single sided, or double sided ([0051]), and engages with drive pulleys that can be toothed ([0051]). Taherkhani teaches a separate embodiment where the actuator motor is within a piston housing ([0066]). However, Taherkhani, teaches the drive rods are drive shafts. While these are configured to be driven by the belt drive or the gears, there is not a separate drive gear that is separate from the rod of the instant claims 3 and 4. The rods of claims 3 and 4 are commonly referred in the art as drive shafts (also see Kim (KR-20220101269-A) and Ito (US-20200106120-A1)), which can be used to compress battery cells. However, none of Taherkhani, Kim or Ito teach an additional drive rod that would interact with the motor via gears or a belt that aren’t already defined as drive rods in the instant system. Thus, inserting another drive shaft into the systems of Taherkhani, Kim or Ito, in place of the gears utilized, is nonobvious, making the subject matter allowable, but objected to for being dependent on a rejected claim. Claims 7-16, which depend on claim 6, are therefore allowable, for the same reasons.
Figure 3b, reproduced from Taherkhani, annotated by the examiner.
Figure 6, reproduced from Taherkhani, annotated by the examiner.
Conclusion
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752