DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 13, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, --and-- should be added before “the shell” in line 4 and before “the temperature” in line 8; and --the-- should be added after “immersed in” in line 9.
In claim 3, “face” should be deleted from line 2 (there is lack of antecedent basis in the claim for a “detection end face”).
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis in the claim for a “second” sealing ring and a “second” sealing groove in lines 1, 3, and 4 (the term “second” implies that there is a first sealing ring and a first sealing groove, which are not recited in base claim 1); and --the-- should be added before “second sealing ring” in line 3.
In claim 11, --and-- should be added before “the shell” in line 6 and before “the temperature” in line 10; and --the-- should be added after “immersed in” in line 11.
In claim 13, “face” should be deleted from line 3 (there is lack of antecedent basis in the claim for a “detection end face”).
In claim 16, there is lack of antecedent basis in the claim for a “second” sealing ring and a “second” sealing groove in lines 2-5 (the term “second” implies that there is a first sealing ring and a first sealing groove, which are not recited in base claim 11); and --the-- should be added before “second sealing ring” in line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208704893 to Luo (see the attached translation) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0220169 to McGowan-Scanlon [hereinafter McGowan] and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0184598 to Zhang.
Referring to claim 1, Luo discloses a temperature gauge (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 5-7, 10, 18), comprising:
a shell (1, 3), wherein an accommodating chamber is arranged in the shell (figure 1), at least a portion of an upper part (3) of the shell is transparent (paragraphs 7, 18);
a temperature sensing device (11), wherein the temperature sensing device (11) is arranged inside the accommodating chamber and extends out of a bottom (1) of the shell (figure 1), and the temperature sensing device (11) is configured to be immersed in the water to detect a water temperature; and
a display device (8), wherein the display device (8) is arranged inside the accommodating chamber, the display device faces the transparent portion (3) of the upper part of the shell.
Luo does not explicitly disclose the shell being configured to be detachably connected to a floating shell and floats on a water surface under the action of buoyancy of the floating shell, a control device being arranged inside the accommodating chamber, the temperature sensing device being at least partially threaded out of the bottom of the shell, the temperature sensing device being electrically connected to the control device to generate an electrical signal and transmit the electrical signal to the control device, the display device being electrically connected to the control device, and the control device receiving the electrical signal and controlling the display device to display a temperature.
However, McGowan discloses a floating temperature gauge (figures 2, 4; paragraphs 1, 35) comprising a shell that is configured to be detachably connected to a floating shell (6) in order to float on a water surface under the action of buoyancy of the floating shell and provide protection by acting as a shock absorber.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses a floating temperature gauge (figures 2-4; paragraphs 31, 33) that comprises a control device (2) that is arranged inside an accommodating chamber (figure 4), a temperature sensing device (3) that is electrically connected to the control device (2) to generate an electrical signal and transmit the electrical signal to the control device (2), and a display device (4) that is electrically connected to the control device (2), wherein the control device (3) receives the electrical signal and controls the display device (4) in order to display a temperature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Luo with a detachable floating shell such that the shell is detachably connected to the floating shell and floats on a water surface under the action of buoyancy of the floating shell, as suggested by McGowan, in order to provide additional buoyancy of the floating shell and provide protection by acting as a shock absorber.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a control device inside the accommodating chamber of Luo such that the temperature sensing device is electrically connected to the control device to generate an electrical signal and transmit the electrical signal to the control device, the display device is electrically connected to the control device, and the control device receives the electrical signal and controls the display device, as suggested by Zhang, in order to obtain and display a temperature.
Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo by attaching the temperature sensing device by at least partially threading it out of the bottom of the shell in order to provide a more secure connection to the shell; and since the particular securement claimed by applicant, i.e., threading, is considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice, or design, because the use of the particular securement claimed by applicant is considered to be the use of numerous and known alternate types of securements that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide using routine experimentation in order to attach the temperature sensing device to the shell as already suggested by Luo.
Referring to claim 2, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 2, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Luo further discloses that the bottom (1) of the shell (1,3) extends downwards to form a protruding insertion part (figure 1); a tail end of the insertion part (1) is provided with a mounting hole communicated to the accommodating chamber (figure 1), but does not disclose a detection end of the temperature sensing device being threaded out along the mounting hole.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by having a detection end of the temperature sensing device be threaded out along the mounting hole in order to provide a more secure connection to the shell, as stated above with respect to Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang.
Referring to claim 3, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 3, as stated above with respect to claim 2, wherein Luo further discloses a limiting block (shoulder) being arranged in the mounting hole in a protruding manner (figure 1), and an end surface (top of 11) of the detection end of the temperature sensing device (11) is abutted to the limiting block (figure 1).
Referring to claim 5, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 5, as stated above with respect to claim 2, wherein Luo further discloses protective flaps (formed by holes 12 of cover 10) are arranged at a tail end of the insertion part in a protruding manner, and the protective flaps are arranged around the detection end of the temperature sensing device (figure 1, 2; paragraph 18).
Referring to claim 6, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 6, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Luo discloses an upper shell (3) and a lower shell (1); but does not disclose a sealing ring, wherein the upper shell is provided with a sealing groove; the sealing ring is inserted into the sealing groove; the lower shell is connected to the upper shell and is abutted to the sealing ring; and the accommodating chamber is formed between the upper shell and the lower shell.
However, Zhang further discloses that the gauge has a sealing ring (123), wherein the shell comprises an upper shell (117) and a lower shell (121); the upper shell (117) is provided with a sealing groove (figure 4); the sealing ring (123) is inserted into the sealing groove; the lower shell (121) is connected to the upper shell (117) and is abutted to the sealing ring (123); and the accommodating chamber is formed between the upper shell (117) and the lower shell (121) in order to provide a seal to prevent damage and short circuit (paragraph 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by providing Luo with a second sealing ring, the upper shell being provided with a sealing groove; the second sealing ring is inserted into the second sealing groove; the lower shell is connected to the upper shell and is abutted to the second sealing ring; and the accommodating chamber is formed between the upper shell and the lower shell, as suggested by Zhang, in order to provide a seal to prevent damage and short circuit.
Referring to claim 7, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 7, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Luo disclosing a button assembly, wherein a button hole is arranged on a lower surface of the shell; the button assembly is hermetically inserted into the button hole; and the button assembly is electrically connected to the control device.
However, Zhang further discloses a button assembly (figures 1-3; paragraph 40), wherein the button assembly is hermetically inserted into a button hole (paragraph 40); and the button assembly is electrically connected to the control device (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by providing Luo with a button assembly, the button assembly being hermetically inserted into the button hole, and the button assembly being electrically connected to the control device, as suggested by Zhang, in order to provide a control of operation of the gauge.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by arranging the button hole on a lower surface of the shell in order to provide it a location that does not disturb the display; and since the location of the button hole claimed by applicant, is considered to be nothing more than a design choice since the particular location claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous locations of the shell that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide in order to provide a button as already suggested by Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang.
Referring to claim 9, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 9, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Luo disclosing a solar panel, wherein the solar panel is arranged at a top of the accommodating chamber and faces the transparent portion of the upper part of the shell, and the solar panel is electrically connected to the control device.
However, Zhang further discloses (figure 4; paragraphs 6, 34) the gauge having a solar panel (7), wherein the solar panel (7) is arranged at a top of the accommodating chamber (figure 4) and faces an upper part of the shell, and the solar panel (7) is electrically connected to the control device (2) in order to power the gauge without a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by providing Luo with a solar panel that is arranged at a top of the accommodating chamber and faces the transparent portion of the upper part of the shell, the solar panel being electrically connected to the control device, as suggested by Zheng, in order to power the gauge without a battery.
Referring to claim 11, Luo discloses a temperature gauge (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 5-7, 10, 18), comprising:
a shell (1, 3), wherein an accommodating chamber is arranged in the shell (figure 1), at least a portion of an upper part (3) of the shell is transparent (paragraphs 7, 18);
a temperature sensing device (11), wherein the temperature sensing device (11) is arranged inside the accommodating chamber and extends out of a bottom (1) of the shell (figure 1), and the temperature sensing device (11) is configured to be immersed in the water to detect a water temperature; and
a display device (8), wherein the display device (8) is arranged inside the accommodating chamber, the display device faces the transparent portion (3) of the upper part of the shell.
Luo does not explicitly disclose a floating shell that is provided with a sealed floating chamber and an insertion space, the shell being configured to be detachably connected and inserted to the insertion space and floats on a water surface under the action of buoyancy of the floating shell, a control device being arranged inside the accommodating chamber, the temperature sensing device being at least partially threaded out of the bottom of the shell, the temperature sensing device being electrically connected to the control device to generate an electrical signal and transmit the electrical signal to the control device, the display device being electrically connected to the control device, and the control device receiving the electrical signal and controlling the display device to display a temperature.
However, McGowan discloses a floating temperature gauge (figures 2, 4; paragraphs 1, 35) comprising a shell that is configured to be detachably connected and inserted to a floating shell (6) having a sealed floating chamber (rubber) and an insertion space in order to float on a water surface under the action of buoyancy of the floating shell and provide protection by acting as a shock absorber.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses a floating temperature gauge (figures 2-4; paragraphs 31, 33) that comprises a control device (2) that is arranged inside an accommodating chamber (figure 4), a temperature sensing device (3) that is electrically connected to the control device (2) to generate an electrical signal and transmit the electrical signal to the control device (2), and a display device (4) that is electrically connected to the control device (2), wherein the control device (3) receives the electrical signal and controls the display device (4) in order to display a temperature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Luo with a detachable floating shell provided with a sealed floating chamber and an insertion space such that the shell is detachably connected and inserted to the insertion space of the floating shell and floats on a water surface under the action of buoyancy of the floating shell, as suggested by McGowan, in order to provide additional buoyancy of the floating shell and provide protection by acting as a shock absorber.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a control device inside the accommodating chamber of Luo such that the temperature sensing device is electrically connected to the control device to generate an electrical signal and transmit the electrical signal to the control device, the display device is electrically connected to the control device, and the control device receives the electrical signal and controls the display device, as suggested by Zhang, in order to obtain and display a temperature.
Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo by attaching the temperature sensing device by at least partially threading it out of the bottom of the shell in order to provide a more secure connection to the shell; and since the particular securement claimed by applicant, i.e., threading, is considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice, or design, because the use of the particular securement claimed by applicant is considered to be the use of numerous and known alternate types of securements that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide using routine experimentation in order to attach the temperature sensing device to the shell as already suggested by Luo.
Referring to claim 12, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 12, as stated above with respect to claim 11, wherein Luo further discloses that the bottom (1) of the shell (1,3) extends downwards to form a protruding insertion part (figure 1); a tail end of the insertion part (1) is provided with a mounting hole communicated to the accommodating chamber (figure 1), but does not disclose a detection end of the temperature sensing device being threaded out along the mounting hole.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by having a detection end of the temperature sensing device be threaded out along the mounting hole in order to provide a more secure connection to the shell, as stated above with respect to Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang.
Referring to claim 13, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 13, as stated above with respect to claim 12, wherein Luo further discloses a limiting block (shoulder) being arranged in the mounting hole in a protruding manner (figure 1), and an end surface (top of 11) of the detection end of the temperature sensing device (11) is abutted to the limiting block (figure 1).
Referring to claim 15, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 15, as stated above with respect to claim 12, wherein Luo further discloses protective flaps (formed by holes 12 of cover 10) are arranged at a tail end of the insertion part in a protruding manner, and the protective flaps are arranged around the detection end of the temperature sensing device (figure 1, 2; paragraph 18).
Referring to claim 16, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 16, as stated above with respect to claim 11, wherein Luo discloses an upper shell (3) and a lower shell (1); but does not disclose a sealing ring, wherein the upper shell is provided with a sealing groove; the sealing ring is inserted into the sealing groove; the lower shell is connected to the upper shell and is abutted to the sealing ring; and the accommodating chamber is formed between the upper shell and the lower shell.
However, Zhang further discloses that the gauge has a sealing ring (123), wherein the shell comprises an upper shell (117) and a lower shell (121); the upper shell (117) is provided with a sealing groove (figure 4); the sealing ring (123) is inserted into the sealing groove; the lower shell (121) is connected to the upper shell (117) and is abutted to the sealing ring (123); and the accommodating chamber is formed between the upper shell (117) and the lower shell (121) in order to provide a seal to prevent damage and short circuit (paragraph 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by providing Luo with a second sealing ring, the upper shell being provided with a sealing groove; the second sealing ring is inserted into the second sealing groove; the lower shell is connected to the upper shell and is abutted to the second sealing ring; and the accommodating chamber is formed between the upper shell and the lower shell, as suggested by Zhang, in order to provide a seal to prevent damage and short circuit.
Referring to claim 17, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 17, as stated above with respect to claim 11, except for Luo disclosing a button assembly, wherein a button hole is arranged on a lower surface of the shell; the button assembly is hermetically inserted into the button hole; and the button assembly is electrically connected to the control device.
However, Zhang further discloses a button assembly (figures 1-3; paragraph 40), wherein the button assembly is hermetically inserted into a button hole (paragraph 40); and the button assembly is electrically connected to the control device (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by providing Luo with a button assembly, the button assembly being hermetically inserted into the button hole, and the button assembly being electrically connected to the control device, as suggested by Zhang, in order to provide a control of operation of the gauge.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by arranging the button hole on a lower surface of the shell in order to provide it a location that does not disturb the display; and since the location of the button hole claimed by applicant, is considered to be nothing more than a design choice since the particular location claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous locations of the shell that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide in order to provide a button as already suggested by Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang.
Referring to claim 19, Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang disclose a gauge having all of the limitations of claim 19, as stated above with respect to claim 11, except for Luo disclosing a solar panel, wherein the solar panel is arranged at a top of the accommodating chamber and faces the transparent portion of the upper part of the shell, and the solar panel is electrically connected to the control device.
However, Zhang further discloses (figure 4; paragraphs 6, 34) the gauge having a solar panel (7), wherein the solar panel (7) is arranged at a top of the accommodating chamber (figure 4) and faces an upper part of the shell, and the solar panel (7) is electrically connected to the control device (2) in order to power the gauge without a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo in view of McGowan and Zhang by providing Luo with a solar panel that is arranged at a top of the accommodating chamber and faces the transparent portion of the upper part of the shell, the solar panel being electrically connected to the control device, as suggested by Zheng, in order to power the gauge without a battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10, 14, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and amended to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the following in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims:
A temperature gauge wherein a first sealing groove is arranged on the end surface of the detection end face of the temperature sensing device; the first sealing ring is arranged in the first sealing groove; and the limiting block is abutted to a surface of the first sealing ring (claims 4 and 14); wherein the button assembly comprises a button control board connected to the shell, an edge of the silica gel button cap is hermetically connected to the shell, and a middle part of the silica gel button cap is in contact with an electrical contact on the button control board (claims 8 and 18); and wherein an opening is arranged in a middle part of the solar panel, and the opening directly faces the display device and is configured to allow light to pass (claims 10 and 20).
Conclusion
The references made of record and not relied upon by the examine are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure by disclosing a floating temperature gauge, but do not disclose the allowable subject matter stated above.
/MIRELLYS JAGAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
3/21/26