DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seymour et al. (U.S. 2018/0113600).
With regard to claim 1, Seymour teaches an information handling system (Fig. 1A; Figs. 5D-5M) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1A, housing 110 and 129);
a processor disposed in the housing and operable to execute instructions that process information (Fig. 3A, processor 320; Fig. 4, processor 420; [0005] a computing system with one or more processors, a first housing that includes a primary display, memory, and a second housing (that is distinct from the first housing));
a memory disposed in the housing and interfaced with the processor (Fig. 3A, Memory 302, Fig. 4, Memory 402), the memory operable to store the instructions and information ([0005] a first housing that includes a primary display, memory, and a second housing (that is distinct from the first housing));
a first display (Fig. 1, primary display 102) interfaced with the processor and operable to present the information as visual images (Fig. 1A; Figs. 3-4; Figs. 5D-5M);
a keyboard coupled to the housing, the keyboard having plural keys to accept end user inputs (Fig. 1A, physical keys 106; [0039] Each physical key of the set of physical keys 106 has at least one associated input. The input may be a printable character, non-printable character, function, or other input.) and a touch function row above the plural keys to accept function key inputs with capacitive touch detection (Figs. 1B; Figs. 5D-5M; [0037] a body portion 120 (also referred to as a second housing 120 or housing 120) with a dynamic function row 104, a set of physical (i.e., movably actuated) keys 106, and a touchpad 108 partially contained within a same housing…FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display); and
a non-transitory memory interfaced with the processor and storing instructions that when executed cause:
detection of touch proximity locations at the touch function row when an end user hovers over the touch location without touching the touch function row (Fig. 1B; Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display); and
presentation at the first display of a function on-screen-display user interface selected from plural functions based upon the detected touch proximity location (Fig. 5D; Fig. 6A, 618; [0174] FIG. 5D also illustrates an input 5102 at the touch-sensitive secondary display 104 that contacts the affordance 5104 and, in response to the input 5102, the primary display is updated to present a zoomed-in representation of the contacted affordance 5104 (e.g., zoomed-in representation 5204) that is shown within the user interface 5202 that includes zoomed-in representations of other affordances displayed at the secondary display 104).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches wherein the touch function row further comprises:
a printed circuit board ([0093] one or more of RF circuitry 308) having a length of the keyboard length ([0038] dynamic function row 104 is approximately 18 inches in length relative to a major dimension of the set of physical keys 106);
a processing resource coupled to the printed circuit board ([0093] one or more of RF circuitry 308; [0151] one or more signal processing and/or application specific integrated circuits); and
the non-transitory memory coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 3A, memory 302; Fig. 4, memory 402);
wherein the on-screen-display user interface is generated with the processing resource based upon the touch proximity location (Figs. 5D-5M; [0154] the capacitance of the touch-sensitive surface proximate to the contact and/or changes thereto, and/or the resistance of the touch-sensitive surface proximate to the contact and/or changes thereto are, optionally, used as a substitute for the force or pressure of the contact on the touch-sensitive surface; [0174] FIG. 5D also illustrates an input 5102 at the touch-sensitive secondary display 104).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
a second display coupled over the touch function row and operable to present touch functions (Figs. 5D-5M; [abstract] detecting, via the secondary display… The zoomed-in representation is displayed with a second display size that is larger than the first display size); and
instructions to present the touch function at the second display touch proximity location when the end user hovers ([0125] mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds) over the touch proximity location (Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display; [0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts)).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches wherein the instructions further:
detect a pause of the end user hover at a touch proximity location of the touch function row ([0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts); [0125] mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds); and
in response to the pause, presentation of an expanded function on-screen-display at the first display for a function associated with the touch proximity location ([0194] expanding the affordance within the touch-sensitive secondary display and the primary display to reveal additional functionality (such as expanding a volume affordance to display a slider that allows for modifying volume settings)).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches wherein the instructions further configure the second display to only present the touch function of the touch proximity location (Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display; [0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts)).when the end user hover is detected ([0125] mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds; [0177] a user may maintain contact with affordance 5104 for more than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 0.75 seconds, or 1 second)).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches wherein the instructions further:
present functions with the second display at all of the function touch proximity locations of the touch function row when end user proximity is detected (Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display; [0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts)); and
present only the touch function of the touch proximity location associated with the end user hover after a predetermined time of hover detection ([0125] mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds; [0177] a user may maintain contact with affordance 5104 for more than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 0.75 seconds, or 1 second)).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches wherein the instructions further:
store plural function images (Fig. 3A, imaging module 341; [0074] In conjunction with imaging module 343, optical sensor(s) 364 optionally capture still images or video); and
selectively present the plural function images in end user configured orders at the second display (Figs. 5D-5M).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
plural light emitting diodes coupled to the printed circuit board at plural touch proximity locations ([0070] LED (light emitting diode) technology, or OLED (organic light emitting diode); [0135] Touch-sensitive display system 412 (e.g., dynamic function row 104, FIGS. 2A-2D) optionally uses LCD (liquid crystal display) technology, LPD (light emitting polymer display) technology, LED (light emitting diode) technology, or OLED (organic light emitting diode) technology); and
instructions to illuminate the light emitting diodes based upon detection of end user proximity ([0135] Touch-sensitive display system 412 and TSD controller 456 optionally detect contact and any movement or breaking thereof using any of a plurality of touch sensing technologies now known or later developed, including but not limited to capacitive, resistive, infrared, and surface acoustic wave technologies, as well as other proximity sensor arrays or other elements for determining one or more points of contact with touch-sensitive display system 412).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches wherein the functions include at least function key inputs F1 through F9 ([0039] The input associated with a physical key may be shown by a letter, word, symbol, or other indicia shown (e.g., printed) on the surface of the key in Latin script, Arabic characters, Chinese characters, or any other script…the set of physical keys 106 is associated with a QWERTY, Dvorak, or other keyboard layouts with alphanumeric, numeric, and/or editing/function sections (e.g., standard, extended, or compact)).
With regard to claim 10, Seymour teaches a method for interacting with an information handling system (Fig. 1A; Figs. 5D-5M), the method comprising:
coupling a touch function row having plural touch locations to an information handling system housing between a keyboard and a first display (Figs. 1B; Figs. 5D-5M; [0037] a body portion 120 (also referred to as a second housing 120 or housing 120) with a dynamic function row 104, a set of physical (i.e., movably actuated) keys 106, and a touchpad 108 partially contained within a same housing…FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display);
detecting touch proximity locations at the touch function row when an end user hovers over the touch location without touching the touch function row (Fig. 1B; Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display); and
in response to a touch proximity detected at the touch proximity locations, presenting at the first display a function on-screen-display user interface selected from plural functions based upon the detected touch proximity location (Fig. 5D; Fig. 6A, 618; [0174] FIG. 5D also illustrates an input 5102 at the touch-sensitive secondary display 104 that contacts the affordance 5104 and, in response to the input 5102, the primary display is updated to present a zoomed-in representation of the contacted affordance 5104 (e.g., zoomed-in representation 5204) that is shown within the user interface 5202 that includes zoomed-in representations of other affordances displayed at the secondary display 104).
With regard to claim 11, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
detecting proximity for a predetermined time ([0177] a user may maintain contact with affordance 5104 for more than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 0.75 seconds, or 1 second); and
applying the proximity as a selection of the function presented at the first display in response to the proximity ([0190] Displaying a zoomed-in view of the at least one application-specific affordance within a zoomed-in representation of the second user interface in response to a single input provides users with clear visual feedback indicating which affordance they may be selecting and indicating which affordances are located in proximity).
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
coupling a second display at the touch function row (Figs. 5D-5M; [abstract] detecting, via the secondary display…The zoomed-in representation is displayed with a second display size that is larger than the first display size); and
presenting the touch function at the second display touch proximity location when the end user hovers ([0125] mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds; [0177] a user may maintain contact with affordance 5104 for more than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 0.75 seconds, or 1 second)) over the touch proximity location (Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display; [0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts)).
With regard to claim 13, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
blanking the second display until end user hove proximity is detected ([0177] a user may maintain contact with affordance 5104 for more than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 0.75 seconds, or 1 second); [0194] expanding the affordance within the touch-sensitive secondary display and the primary display to reveal additional functionality (such as expanding a volume affordance to display a slider that allows for modifying volume settings)); and
in response to detecting end user proximity, presenting only the function at the second display associated with the touch proximity location (Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display; [0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts)).
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
detecting a pause of the proximity input at a touch proximity location of the touch function row ([0159] the intensity of a contact exceeding a second intensity threshold during the input, greater than the first intensity threshold for a light press, triggers a second response only if a delay time has elapsed between meeting the first intensity threshold and meeting the second intensity threshold. This delay time is typically less than 200 ms in duration (e.g., 40, 100, or 120 ms, depending on the magnitude of the second intensity threshold, with the delay time increasing as the second intensity threshold increases); [0199] this “split-tap gesture” is an alternative selection option (instead of having to wait for a countdown timer to expire)); and
in response to the pause, presenting of an expanded function on-screen-display at the first display for a function associated with the touch location ([0194] expanding the affordance within the touch-sensitive secondary display and the primary display to reveal additional functionality (such as expanding a volume affordance to display a slider that allows for modifying volume settings)).
With regard to claim 15, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
detecting proximity at the touch proximity location for a predetermined time ([0125] mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds; [0177] a user may maintain contact with affordance 5104 for more than a predetermined period of time (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 0.75 seconds, or 1 second)); and
in response to the detecting proximity, initiating a function associated with the touch proximity location (Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display; [0083] detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts)).
With regard to claim 16, the limitations are addressed above and Seymour teaches further comprising:
storing plural function images at non-transitory memory of the touch function row (Fig. 3A, imaging module 341; [0074] In conjunction with imaging module 343, optical sensor(s) 364 optionally capture still images or video); and
selectively presenting the plural function images in end user configured orders at the second display (Figs. 5D-5M).
With regard to claim 17, Seymour teaches a system for selecting function features at an information handling system (Fig. 1A; Figs. 5D-5M), the system comprising:
a keyboard (Fig. 1A, physical keys 106; [0039] Each physical key of the set of physical keys 106 has at least one associated input. The input may be a printable character, non-printable character, function, or other input);
a first display (Fig. 1, primary display 102);
a touch function row between the keyboard and first display to accept function key inputs with capacitive touch detection (Figs. 1B; Figs. 5D-5M; [0037] a body portion 120 (also referred to as a second housing 120 or housing 120) with a dynamic function row 104, a set of physical (i.e., movably actuated) keys 106, and a touchpad 108 partially contained within a same housing…FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display); and
a non-transitory memory storing instructions (Fig. 3A, Memory 302, Fig. 4, Memory 402; [0005] a first housing that includes a primary display, memory, and a second housing (that is distinct from the first housing)) that when executed on a processing resource cause:
detection of touch proximity locations at the touch function row when an end user hovers over the touch location without touching the touch function row (Fig. 1B; Figs. 5D-5M; Fig. 6A, 616; [0037] FIG. 1B, is a touch screen display using resistive sensing, acoustic sensing, capacitive sensing, optical sensing, infrared sensing, or the like to detect user touch inputs and selections. In some embodiments, primary display 102 of display portion 110 is also a touch screen display); and
presentation at the first display of a function on-screen-display user interface selected from plural functions based upon the detected touch proximity location (Fig. 5D; Fig. 6A, 618; [0174] FIG. 5D also illustrates an input 5102 at the touch-sensitive secondary display 104 that contacts the affordance 5104 and, in response to the input 5102, the primary display is updated to present a zoomed-in representation of the contacted affordance 5104 (e.g., zoomed-in representation 5204) that is shown within the user interface 5202 that includes zoomed-in representations of other affordances displayed at the secondary display 104).
With regard to claim 18, the system claim corresponds to the system claim 3, respectively, and is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 19, the system claim corresponds to the system claim 4, respectively, and is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 20, the system claim corresponds to the system claim 9, respectively, and is rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171