DETAILED ACTION
A preliminary amendment received on 2/20/2024 canceling claims 1-6 and adding claims 7-26 has been entered by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 1/14/2025 and 1/27/2025 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 9, 14, 16, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US2017/0079059 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Li teaches a method/apparatus applied to a terminal (Abstract), the method comprising:
at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform a method including (Para. 0358):
receiving downlink control information comprising at least one piece of information of the following: an identifier of a first slice, an identifier of a first slice group, a random access resource configuration index corresponding to the first slice, or a random access resource configuration index corresponding to the first slice group (Figs. 26-30; Paras. 0224-0234; The slice information may then be included 2650 in the system information messages (i.e. system broadcasting information), for ready access by all devices being served by the respective base station (and/or network control entity). This allows all the devices wishing to access the newly turned-on slice with the information to do so, e.g. by providing the slice-specific control information such as, but not limited to: the downlink control information (DCI), physical random access channel (PRACH) resource, slice random access (RA) configuration, and the like; The base station system information (i.e. broadcasted system information) may carry information on the active slices in the BS 3010. Based on the BS system information, the UE may decide 3020 whether to do a random access with the BS; i.e. the slice information reads on the downlink control); and
receiving a random access response in response to a second slice or a second slice group that the terminal requests to access corresponding to the at least one piece of information comprised in the downlink control information, wherein the random access response corresponds to the first slice, the first slice group, the random access resource configuration index of the first slice, or the random access resource configuration index of the first slice group (Figs. 22 and 26-30; Paras. 0101, 0124, 0166, 0224-0234; Once the BS decides to accept the access request, the BS may turn-on the slice using the procedure discussed in the previous section. IN either case, a base station response may be made by the base station to the UE RA request (i.e. in the affirmative, or negative) 3040; i.e. Fig. 30 shows the system information/DCI provides information on multiple slices. The UE requests a desired/intended on a first active slice and the BS provides a response to this request. Fig. 22 also shows control of the further/second slice is by a control function of the first slice).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kim further teaches wherein the downlink control information and the random access response is received from an access network device (Figs. 22 and 26-30; Paras. 0101, 0124, 0166, 0224-0234; The base station system information (i.e. broadcasted system information) may carry information on the active slices in the BS 3010. Based on the BS system information, the UE may decide 3020 whether to do a random access with the BS; i.e. the system information reads on the downlink control and the BS reads on the access network device).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a network slicing-based random access method applied to a access network device (Abstract), comprising:
sending downlink control information comprising at least one piece of information of the following: an identifier of a first slice, an identifier of a first slice group, a random access resource configuration index corresponding to the first slice, or a random access resource configuration index corresponding to the first slice group (Figs. 26-30; Paras. 0224-0234; The slice information may then be included 2650 in the system information messages (i.e. system broadcasting information), for ready access by all devices being served by the respective base station (and/or network control entity). This allows all the devices wishing to access the newly turned-on slice with the information to do so, e.g. by providing the slice-specific control information such as, but not limited to: the downlink control information (DCI), physical random access channel (PRACH) resource, slice random access (RA) configuration, and the like; The base station system information (i.e. broadcasted system information) may carry information on the active slices in the BS 3010. Based on the BS system information, the UE may decide 3020 whether to do a random access with the BS; i.e. the slice information reads on the downlink control); and
sending a random access response, wherein the random access response corresponds to the first slice, the first slice group, the random access resource configuration index of the first slice, or the random access resource configuration index of the first slice group (Figs. 26-30; Paras. 0224-0234; Signaling exchange among the BSs or between the BS and the central controller may be used to facilitate the BS decision (as shown in FIGS. 26 to 29, for example). Once the BS decides to accept the access request, the BS may turn-on the slice using the procedure discussed in the previous section. IN either case, a base station response may be made by the base station to the UE RA request; i.e. the BS accepting the access request reads on the random access response).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kim further teaches wherein the downlink control information and the random access response is sent to a terminal (Figs. 26-30; Paras. 0224-0234; The base station system information (i.e. broadcasted system information) may carry information on the active slices in the BS 3010. Based on the BS system information, the UE may decide 3020 whether to do a random access with the BS; i.e. the slice information reads on the downlink control).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13, 17-20, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US2017/0079059 A1) in view of Sivavakeesar et al (US2021/0068073 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 17, and 24, Li teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Li teaches performing a random access procedure, which is extremely well-known in the art to include a random access preamble (Figs. 22 and 26-30; Paras. 0101, 0124, 0166-0167, 0224-0234), he does not specifically disclose further comprising sending/receiving a random access preamble to the access network device before receiving the random access response.
Sivavakeesar teaches determining at least one network slice to which the paging message pertains based on the received paging message (Abstract). He further teaches further comprising sending/receiving a random access preamble to the access network device before receiving the random access response (Fig. 4; Para. 0043; the LTE contention-based random access procedure is being described in more detail with respect to FIG. 4. This procedure consists of four “steps”. First, the user equipment transmits a random access preamble on the Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) to the eNodeB (e.g., message 1 of the RACH procedure). After the eNodeB has detected a RACH preamble, it sends a Random Access Response (RAR) message (message 2 of the RACH procedure) on the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sivavakeesar with the teachings as in Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved procedures on how network slicing in RAN can be implemented (Sivavakeesar at para. 0097).
Regarding claims 11, 18, and 25, the combination of references Li and Sivavakeesar teach the limitations of the previous claims. Sivavakeesar further teaches wherein the random access preamble is based on the random access resource configuration index corresponding to the first slice or the random access resource configuration index corresponding to the first slice group (Paras. 0043-0046, 0070-0072, and 0131; A network slice may consist of a RAN part and a CN part that may identify different resources respectively. The support of network slicing relies on the principle that traffic for different slices is handled by different PDU sessions. Network can realize the different network slices by scheduling and also by providing different L1/L2 configurations. The UE provides assistance information for network slice selection in RRC message). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sivavakeesar with the teachings as in Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved procedures on how network slicing in RAN can be implemented (Sivavakeesar at para. 0097).
Regarding claims 12, 19, and 26, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Li teaches performing a random access procedure, which is extremely well-known in the art for the preamble to be on the PDSCH (Figs. 22 and 26-30; Paras. 0101, 0124, 0166-0167, 0224-0234), he does not specifically disclose wherein the random access response is received over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
Sivavakeesar teaches determining at least one network slice to which the paging message pertains based on the received paging message (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the random access response is received over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 4; Para. 0043; the LTE contention-based random access procedure is being described in more detail with respect to FIG. 4. This procedure consists of four “steps”. First, the user equipment transmits a random access preamble on the Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) to the eNodeB (e.g., message 1 of the RACH procedure). After the eNodeB has detected a RACH preamble, it sends a Random Access Response (RAR) message (message 2 of the RACH procedure) on the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sivavakeesar with the teachings as in Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved procedures on how network slicing in RAN can be implemented (Sivavakeesar at para. 0097).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, the combination of references Li and Sivavakeesar teach the limitations of the previous claims. Sivavakeesar further teaches wherein: the downlink control information further comprises a time-frequency resource position for receiving the random access response; and receiving the random access response comprises receiving the random access response on the time-frequency resource position (Paras. 0043-0046, 0070-0072, and 0131; A result of the configuration messages exchange may be the assignment of wireless resources for the slice to be turned-on (e.g. frequencies, numerologies, etc.). The slice information may then be included 2650 in the system information messages (i.e. system broadcasting information), for ready access by all devices being served by the respective base station).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 15, and 22 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474