Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The submission entered July 27, 2026 in response to an Office Action mailed May 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-16, 21, 24-29 are pending. Claim(s) 2, 6, 9, 17-20, 22, 23 is/are cancelled. Claim(s) 11, 15, 21 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 24-29 is/are newly presented.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112 as presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
In the Office Action of May 27, 2026, previous claim 22 was indicated as containing allowable subject matter. Upon further review, the subject matter of previous claim 22 is considered to be taught by the prior art. A rejection appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16, 28, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed (USPN 11027923) in view of McClelland (USPN 3064783).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Mohammed teaches a system for automatically sorting, tracking, and dispensing packages, the system comprising: a gate assembly including a plurality of chutes (120), each chute of the plurality of chutes includes an inclined surface [Col. 2:63, “chute 120 includes one or more surfaces that are arranged at a decline”], at least one sidewall (315) extending vertically from the inclined surface and is configured to receive one or more groups of packages of a plurality of packages (Figure 3B shows three packages on a chute) and including a gate (flap 125) and an actuator [Col. 1:63, “an actuator can rotate the flap”] configured to move the gate relative to the inclined surface and at least one sidewall between a first position and a second position; a first conveyor system (conveyor belt 105) configured to dispense the plurality of packages to the plurality of chutes of the gate assembly; one or more sensors (detectors 405A, 405B, 405C, also [Col. 4:19-21, “computer vision systems or barcode scanners for reading address information”]) configured to sense a characteristic of each group of the one or more groups of the plurality of packages and produce one or more signals [Col. 8:31-33, “various detectors…to provide input to the sorter controller”]; and an electronic controller (warehouse management system 150) configured to receive the one or more signals from the one or more sensors [Col. 4:15, “controller 165 can control…the accumulator flap 125”; Col. 8:64, “detector 405C informs the sorter controller…and in response, the controller can activate the flap”], wherein, when the gate is in the first position, the one or more groups of packages are held within the respective chute of the plurality of chutes [Col 3:19-22, “changing the position of the flap 125 to a more vertical position permits the chute 120 to accumulate packages until a human associate, robot, or machine places a new container at the end of the chute 120”], and, when the gate is moved from the first position to the second position, the one or more groups of packages are released from the respective chute of the plurality of chutes via gravity [Col. 8:3-13, “chute 120A has a deactivated flap 125A where the flap is in a declined position to permit packages diverted from the belt 105 onto the chute 120A to slide off the flap 125A and into the container 130A”], wherein the first conveyor system is configured to move the plurality of packages in a first direction (the direction of movement of belt 105). Mohammed fails to teach the sidewall extends from an upper end to a lower end of the inclined surface; a second conveyor system that is configured to receive the one or more groups of packages that are dispensed from the plurality of chutes, and wherein the second conveyor system is parallel with respect to the first conveyor system, the second conveyor system is configured to move the plurality of packages in a second direction, and wherein the second direction is perpendicular with respect to the at least one sidewall. McClelland (USPN 3064783) teaches a chute (10) including an inclined surface (23) and having sidewalls (39,40) feeding to a conveyor system (belt conveyor 11) configured to receive a plurality of articles (76) that are selectively dispensed from the chute (by gate 14), the conveyor system includes a conveyor belt (11) that is perpendicular to the chute. The conveyor of McClelland is configured to move a plurality of articles in a direction that is perpendicular to the sidewalls of the chute. Both Mohammed and McClelland teaches conveyors that are perpendicular to respective chutes. Therefore, a second conveyor system that is perpendicular to the chute would be parallel to the first conveyor system and the direction that articles are moved by the second conveyor would be perpendicular to the sidewalls of the chute. Further, the sidewalls extend vertically from the inclined surface from an upper end to a lower end of the inclined surface (as seen in Figure 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second conveyor system that is configured to receive the one or more groups of packages that are dispensed from the plurality of chutes; and wherein the second conveyor system is parallel with respect to the first conveyor system, the second conveyor system is configured to move the plurality of packages in a second direction, and wherein the second direction is perpendicular with respect to the at least one sidewall since the elements were known in the art and one of ordinary skill, using known methods, could have combined the elements and achieved predictable results. The second conveyor system would transport the packages to a destination per the known use of conveyors in the art. Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to extend the sidewall from the upper end to a lower end in order to contain the packages on the inclined surface.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Mohammed teaches the electronic controller is further configured to selectively control each actuator of the plurality of chutes of the gate assembly based on the signals received from the one or more sensors [Col. 8:64 , “the detector 405C informs the sorter controller that the container is being removed, and in response, the controller can activate the flap to begin buffering the packages”].
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Mohammed teaches a destination (“address information”).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Mohammed teaches a barcode scanner (as described above).
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Mohammed teaches the electronic controller is further configured to track the one or more groups of packages of the plurality of packages along the conveyor system (package is tracked by controller 165 and package tracker 170, Col. 4:9-42), but fails to teach the electronic controller is further configured to track the one or more groups of packages of the plurality of packages along second conveyor system. McClelland teaches the second conveyor system (as described above). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to track each package on the second conveyor system in order to maintain a record of the location of each package.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Mohammed teaches a bagging system (container 130).
Regarding Claim(s) 28, Mohammed teaches the gate assembly further includes a base frame (frame 310 in Figure 3) having a front member, a rear frame member, and a support member disposed between the front frame member and the rear frame member. Figure 3 shows the frame having a front frame member, a rear frame member and a support member (see annotated sheet).
Regarding Claim(s) 29, Mohammed teaches a computer (“computer vision systems”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10, 21, 24-27 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim(s) 1, the prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the actuator attached to the support frame member of the base frame and the gate moveable between the front frame member and the rear frame member, combined with the rest of the claim language.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 9/29/2026