DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Remarks filed 27 Nov. 2025
Claims 1-20 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 17 and 20 are independent claims
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 27 Nov. 2025, Applicant argued against all rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 10 Sep. 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gandhi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0378399 A1; Filed: May 10, 2023).
Regarding independent claim 1, 17 and 20, Gandhi disclose a computer-implemented method, comprising:
applying a text analysis tool to text having been added to a document (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072);
identifying a portion of text in the document as violating a rule in a rule set associated with the document (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072);
providing a first input to a large language model (LLM), the first input comprising at least one prompt requesting a revision to the portion of text in the document (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072);
receiving, from the LLM, a response to the first input, the response comprising a suggested modification to the document related to the portion of text (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072); and
providing an option to apply the suggested modification to the document (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 18, Gandhi disclose the method of claims 1 and 17 respectively, wherein the text analysis tool is applied continuously, periodically, or responsive to a second input during document composition (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 19, Gandhi disclose the method of claims 1 and 17 respectively, further comprising applying the suggested modification to the document (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the suggested modification is applied responsive to a third input confirming the suggested modification (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 3, further comprising applying the text analysis tool to the suggested modification to confirm that changes comply with the rule set (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising:
revising the first input to the LLM (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072);
receiving a revised modification (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072); and
applying the text analysis tool to the revised modification to confirm that changes comply with the rule set (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a request from the LLM for additional content associated with the portion of text (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072); and
supplementing the input with the additional content (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising updating the rule set based on the suggested modification (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the method is executed asynchronously to document composition (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying one or more portions of text in the document (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072); and
providing a corresponding option with each portion to obtain the suggested modification from the LLM (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the portion of text is highlighted inline and detecting selection of the highlighted text causes the text analysis tool to display the corresponding option (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 11, wherein a plurality of corresponding options is displayed, each option providing a different suggested modification (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the modification to the document comprises a replacement for the portion of text (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the modification to the document comprises content additional to the portion of text (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing content associated with the document composition process to the LLM (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072); and
receiving the rule set, the rule set having been generated by the LLM using the content associated with the document composition process (0030; 0040; 0045; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Gandhi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the LLM, a prediction for a new portion of text to be added to the document based on an analysis of the input (0030; 0040; 0045; 0049; 0052-0053; 0064; 0068; 0070-0072).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the Gandhi fails to teach or suggest “portion of text in the document”.
The Examiner disagree.
Gandhi disclose the document content information may include but is not limited to the layout of a presentation slide or other document, the location and size of images within the slide or document, the text included in the slide or document and the attributes of the that text, the location of the text within the document, the source files or locations for obtaining the images included in the slide or document, and/or other information that describes elements of the slide or document and the content therein. The LLM 222 uses this information to provide context when modifying existing content (0030;’ 0029; 0025).
Thus Gandhi explicitly teach “portion of text in the document”.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768