DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues the puncturing patterns cited in the prior art are not “predefined” patterns as required by the amended claims.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant amended claim 1 to recite the puncturing patterns are predefined. An updated search was conducted and a new grounds of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al. (“Wilhelmsson”) (US 20240421850 A1) in view of Lu et al. (“Lu”) (US 20210345404 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wilhelmsson teaches:
A method performed by a Wi-Fi device or a computer system in communication with a Wi-Fi device [¶0052 transmitter or receiver Wi-Fi devices may be access point], the method comprising:
for each of a plurality of subchannels of a channel on which the Wi-Fi device is operating [step 406, Figure 4, one or more frequency ranges corresponding to subchannels]:
determining, based on interference information collected for the channel, an amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel over a first time window [¶0049-51, Wi-Fi performs LBT, CSMA-CA procedure on subchannels to detect interference, being Bluetooth (non-Wi-Fi see ¶0051) or any signal causing the subchannel to be busy, considered to comprise non-Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi as these include all possible signals, CSMA-CA known to detect other e.g. Wi-Fi transmissions];
and upon determining that the amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel exceeds a first threshold [¶0054, measure interference on sub-channel to be high enough to determine channel is busy considered exceeds some first threshold] or the number of RADAR hits detected on the subchannel exceeds a second threshold [Examiner notes that this is an alternative step and thus does not have patentable weight], marking the subchannel as being a puncture candidate subchannel [¶0054, channel marked for puncturing]; and upon determining that a number of puncture candidate subchannels exceeds zero: selecting, from among a plurality of puncturing patterns, a puncturing pattern based on the puncture candidate subchannels; and causing the selected puncturing pattern to be applied to the channel [¶0054, one or more subchannels determined for puncturing, wherein every combination of subchannels to be punctured each corresponds to a puncturing patterns, as additional or fewer subchannels may be punctured, each combination being a puncturing pattern that is selected].
Wilhelmsson teaches determining to puncture channels but does not specify detecting RADAR
Lu teaches determining, based on RADAR activity information collected for the channel, a number of RADAR hits detected on the subchannel over a second time window [¶0034, determination for changing puncturing pattern depends on detected RADAR signals (number of RADAR hits)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify detecting RADAR hits as in Lu. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing but does not specify capability to determine RADAR signals. It would have been obvious to specify the step of detecting RADAR signals as in Lu who teaches this allows for determining to update a puncturing pattern to avoid interference ¶0034.
Wilhelmsson teaches puncturing subchannels based on interference but does not teach selecting the puncturing pattern from a predetermined set.
Lu teaches determining that the amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel exceeds a value, and selecting, from among a plurality of predefined puncturing patterns, a predefined puncturing pattern [¶0033-34, Figure 2, predefined puncturing patterns correspond to different 4-bit numbers, each of a plurality of 4-bit numbers corresponds to a specific puncturing pattern based on the detected interference on subchannels, considered predefined, and the puncturing pattern is updated by specifying a new 4-bit number].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify predefined puncturing patterns as in Lu. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing, wherein the puncturing includes puncturing specific subchannels, of which the combinations are finite. It would have been obvious to specify selecting predetermined patterns as in Lu in order that a device can detect preambles without missing detection when channels are punctured ¶0006.
Regarding claim 2, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein the channel is greater than 40 MHz in width [Wilhelmsson ¶0028].
Regarding claim 3, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches the method of claim 1 wherein each subchannel in the plurality of subchannels is at least 20 MHz in width [Wilhelmsson ¶0030, ¶0067].
Regarding claim 4, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the method is executed for each of a plurality of channels on which the Wi-Fi device is operating [Wilhelmsson ¶0049 interference detection on each of the frequency bands].
Regarding claim 5, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the method is repeated on a periodic basis during runtime of the Wi-Fi device [Wilhelmsson ¶0054 step takes place at regular intervals].
Regarding claim 6, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches The method of claim 1 wherein selecting the predefined puncturing pattern based on the puncture candidate subchannels comprises selecting one of the plurality of predefined puncturing patterns that allows all of the puncture candidate subchannels to be punctured [Wilhelmsson ¶0054, subchannels with high interference selected to be punctured thus all puncture candidates are punctured if interference detected in said subchannels].
Regarding claim 7, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the computer system is in communication with a plurality of Wi-Fi devices and executes the method with respect to each of the plurality of Wi-Fi devices [Wilhelmsson ¶0052 “The different Wi-Fi stations (STAs), i.e. the transmitter and receiver (either of which may be an access point in some examples) can then exchange information about which frequency range(s) are interfered in this way to enhance the accuracy or speed up the detection of a Bluetooth interferer.”].
Regarding claim 8. Wilhelmsson teaches:
A Wi-Fi device comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program code that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: for each of a plurality of subchannels of a channel on which the Wi-Fi device [¶0047 Wi-Fi device, ¶0052 may be access point, see step 406, Figure 4, one or more frequency ranges corresponding to subchannels ¶0050-54]] is operating:
determine, based on interference information collected for the channel, an amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel over a first time window [¶0049-51, Wi-Fi performs LBT, CSMA-CA procedure on subchannels to detect interference, being Bluetooth (non-Wi-Fi see ¶0051) or any signal causing the subchannel to be busy, considered to comprise non-Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi as these include all possible signals];
and upon determining that the amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel exceeds a first threshold [¶0054, measure interference on sub-channel to be high enough to determine channel is busy considered exceeding a first threshold being the amount triggering the channel labeled busy] or the number of RADAR hits detected on the subchannel exceeds a second threshold [Examiner notes that this is an alternative step and thus does not have patentable weight], marking the subchannel as being a puncture candidate subchannel [¶0054, channel marked for puncturing]; and upon determining that a number of puncture candidate subchannels exceeds zero: select, from among a plurality of puncturing patterns, a puncturing pattern based on the puncture candidate subchannels; and cause the selected puncturing pattern to be applied to the channel [¶0054, one or more subchannels determined for puncturing, wherein every combination of subchannels to be punctured each corresponds to a puncturing patterns, as additional or fewer subchannels may be punctured, each combination being a puncturing pattern that is selected].
Wilhelmsson teaches determining to puncture channels but does not specify detecting RADAR
Lu teaches determining, based on RADAR activity information collected for the channel, a number of RADAR hits detected on the subchannel over a second time window [¶0034, determination for changing puncturing pattern depends on detected RADAR signals (number of RADAR hits)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify detecting RADAR hits as in Lu. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing but does not specify capability to determine RADAR signals. It would have been obvious to specify the step of detecting RADAR signals as in Lu who teaches this allows for determining to update a puncturing pattern to avoid interference ¶0034.
Wilhelmsson teaches puncturing subchannels based on interference but does not teach selecting the puncturing pattern from a predetermined set.
Lu teaches determining that the amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel exceeds a value, and selecting, from among a plurality of predefined puncturing patterns, a predefined puncturing pattern [¶0033-34, Figure 2, predefined puncturing patterns correspond to different 4-bit numbers, each of a plurality of 4-bit numbers corresponds to a specific puncturing pattern based on the detected interference on subchannels].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify predefined puncturing patterns as in Lu. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing, wherein the puncturing includes puncturing specific subchannels, of which the combinations are finite. It would have been obvious to specify selecting predetermined patterns as in Lu in order that a device can detect preambles without missing detection when channels are punctured ¶0006.
Regarding claim 11, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The Wi-Fi device of claim 8 wherein the channel is a wide channel on a 5 GHz band or a 6 GHz band [Wilhelmsson ¶0047].
Regarding claim 12, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The Wi-Fi device of claim 8 wherein a subset of the interference information or the RADAR activity information is received from other Wi-Fi devices in a vicinity of the Wi-Fi device [Wilhelmsson ¶0052 “The different Wi-Fi stations (STAs), i.e. the transmitter and receiver (either of which may be an access point in some examples) can then exchange information about which frequency range(s) are interfered in this way to enhance the accuracy or speed up the detection of a Bluetooth interferer.”].
Regarding claim 15, Wilhelmsson teaches:
A method performed by a Wi-Fi device or a computer system in communication with a Wi-Fi device [¶0047 Wi-Fi device, ¶0052 may be access point , the method comprising, during runtime of the Wi-Fi device: for each of a plurality of subchannels of a channel on which the Wi-Fi device is operating [see step 406, Figure 4, one or more frequency ranges corresponding to subchannels ¶0050-54]: determining, based on interference information collected for the channel, an amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel over a time window [¶0049-51, Wi-Fi performs LBT, CSMA-CA procedure on subchannels to detect interference, being Bluetooth (non-Wi-Fi see ¶0051) or any signal causing the subchannel to be busy, considered to comprise non-Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi as these include all possible signals]; and upon determining that the amount of Wi-Fi and non-Wi-Fi interference detected on the subchannel exceeds a threshold [¶0054, measure interference on sub-channel to be high enough to determine channel is busy considered exceeds a threshold e.g. a certain amount of interference], marking the subchannel as being a puncture candidate subchannel [¶0054, channel marked for puncturing]; and upon determining that a number of puncture candidate subchannels exceeds zero, causing the puncture candidate subchannels to be punctured from the channel [¶0054, one or more subchannels determined for puncturing, puncture the channels according to a pattern including puncturing the channels specified as being busy, of a plurality of patterns corresponding to one more or one fewer subchannels being punctured].
Wilhelmsson teaches puncturing subchannels based on interference but does not teach selecting the puncturing pattern from a predetermined set.
Lu teaches puncturing based on a predefined puncturing pattern selected from a plurality of predefined puncturing patterns [¶0033-34, Figure 2, predefined puncturing patterns correspond to different 4-bit numbers, each of a plurality of 4-bit numbers corresponds to a specific puncturing pattern based on the detected interference on subchannels].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify predefined puncturing patterns as in Lu. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing, wherein the puncturing includes puncturing specific subchannels, of which the combinations are finite. It would have been obvious to specify selecting predetermined patterns as in Lu in order that a device can detect preambles without missing detection when channels are punctured ¶0006.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al. (“Wilhelmsson”) (US 20240421850 A1) in view of Lu et al. (“Lu”) (US 20210345404 A1) and Igari (US 20210029101 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The Wi-Fi device of claim 8.
Wilhelmsson teaches Wi-Fi but not expressly Wi-Fi 6 however Igari teaches wherein the Wi-Fi device is a Wi-Fi 6 or Wi-Fi 7 access point [¶0028 Wi-Fi 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the Wi-Fi may be Wi-Fi 6. Wilhelmsson teaches the device may be Wi-Fi device ¶0052, and it would have been obvious to specify Wi-Fi 6 as in Igari as this would have been an obvious combination of prior art elements according to known techniques as is known for IEEE 802.11ax series ¶0028.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al. (“Wilhelmsson”) (US 20240421850 A1) in view of Lu et al. (“Lu”) (US 20210345404 A1) and Panje (US 20200205036 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The Wi-Fi device of claim 8 wherein the processor is further configured to: collect the interference information and the RADAR activity information during runtime of the Wi-Fi device [Wilhelmsson ¶0054 scan for interference, Kenney ¶0052-54 shows detecting RADAR signals i.e. hits see rationale for combination as in claim 8].
Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches scanning the channels but not on a continuous basis.
Panje teaches collect information on a continuous basis during runtime of the Wi-Fi device [¶0021-22, continuously scan full range of frequency channels to determine if channel in use, avoid based on interference].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify continuous monitoring of types of interference on Wi-Fi channels as in Panje in order to detect if the channel can be used or if it must be avoided to prevent interference ¶0021-22.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al. (“Wilhelmsson”) (US 20240421850 A1) in view of Lu et al. (“Lu”) (US 20210345404 A1) and Wu et al. (“Wu”) (US 20240380517 A1, effective filing date of provisional application 63/502,018 filed May 12, 2023.)
Regarding claim 13, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The Wi-Fi device of claim 8.
Wilhelmsson teaches puncturing patterns but not according to 802.11x.
Wu teaches wherein the plurality of predefined puncturing patterns are defined in an 802.11x standard supported by the Wi-Fi device, and where each of the plurality of predefined puncturing patterns specifies a predefined set of subchannels to be punctured [¶0164, sets of preamble puncture patterns indicated by 802.11 standards].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the predefined puncturing patterns as in Wu who teaches this allows for puncturing channels in use between two device to offer improvements to ranging accuracy ¶0126.
Regarding claim 14, Wilhelmsson-Lu teaches:
The Wi-Fi device of claim 8.
Wilhelmsson teaches puncturing pattern but not a preamble puncture command.
Wu teaches wherein the processor causes the selected puncturing pattern to be applied to the channel by transmitting a preamble puncturing command identifying the selected puncturing pattern to a driver of a radio of the Wi-Fi device that is operating on the channel [¶0163, puncture pattern indicated in signal between Wi-Fi devices thus supplied to driver of a radio of one Wi-Fi device to be transmitted to the other, corresponding to preamble puncturing command].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the predefined puncturing patterns and supplying a preamble puncturing command as in Wu who teaches this allows for puncturing channels in use between two device to offer improvements to ranging accuracy ¶0126.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al. (“Wilhelmsson”) (US 20240421850 A1) in view of Lu et al. (“Lu”) (US 20210345404 A1) and Li et al. (“Li”) (US 20210153210 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wilhelmsson teaches:
The method of claim 15.
Wilhelmsson teaches determining to puncture channels but does not specify detecting RADAR
Li teaches further comprising, for each of the plurality of subchannels of a channel: determining, based on RADAR activity information collected for the channel, a number of RADAR hits detected on the subchannel over another time window [¶0236, detect RADAR hit on a channel, corresponding to number of RADAR hits, and this is over a time window as any time the RADAR is detected is considered within unspecified time window].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify detecting RADAR hits as in Li. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing but does not specify capability to determine RADAR signals. It would have been obvious to specify the step of detecting RADAR signals as in Li to avoid channels where interference is extremely severe ¶0237.
Regarding claim 17, Wilhelmsson-Li teaches:
The method of claim 16.
Wilhelmsson teaches marking a channel as unavailable based on interference but not the radar hits.
Li teaches wherein the subchannel is further marked as being a puncture candidate subchannel upon determining that the number of RADAR hits detected on the subchannel exceeds another threshold [¶0236, determine any RADAR signal (corresponding to hits exceeds another threshold, threshold e.g. any hits), mark channel as unusable for 20 MHz subchannel].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify detecting RADAR hits as in Li. Wilhelmsson teaches detecting non-Wi-Fi signals and performing puncturing but does not specify capability to determine RADAR signals. It would have been obvious to specify the step of detecting RADAR signals and puncturing these channels as in Li to avoid channels where interference is extremely severe ¶0237.
Regarding claim 18, Wilhelmsson-Lu-Li teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein causing the puncture candidate subchannels to be punctured from the channel comprises: selecting, from among a plurality of predefined puncturing patterns, a puncturing pattern based on the puncture candidate subchannels; and causing the selected puncturing pattern to be applied to the channel [¶0054, one or more subchannels determined for puncturing, wherein every combination of subchannels to be punctured each corresponds to a puncturing patterns, as additional or fewer subchannels may be punctured, each combination being a puncturing pattern that is selected, and in same paragraph causing the subchannels to be punctured].
Regarding claim 19, Wilhelmsson-Lu-Li teaches:
The method of claim 18 wherein selecting the puncturing pattern based on the puncture candidate subchannels comprises selecting one of the plurality of predefined puncturing patterns that allows all of the puncture candidate subchannels to be punctured [Wilhelmsson ¶0054, subchannels with high interference selected to be punctured thus all puncture-candidates are punctured if interference detected].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478