DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing of 1/25/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1: is directed to idea of itself (abstract idea) without significantly more for the following reason(s):
Step 1: a process/method claim.
Step 2A, Prong 1: the limitations, “the first SL-PRS is used for determining: location information of the first terminal and/or a second terminal, and/or SL-PRS measurement information” are Mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations).
Step 2A, Prong 2: the additional elements individually or as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional element, “first terminal” “second terminal” are applying abstract idea using a general-purpose computer (i.e., “apply it”, MPEP 2106.05(f)). It invokes a generic computer (terminal) merely as a tool to perform the judicial exception or an existing process by using of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity.
The additional elements, “performing, by a first terminal, transmission of a target message with a target device; and performing, by the first terminal, transmission of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) based on the target message, wherein the target message comprises at least one of: a positioning request or positioning assistance data;” is merely data gathering and insignificant extra-solution activity (as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.) (MPEP 2106.05 (d)).
The additional element, “the second terminal is a peer terminal that performs sidelink (SL) communication or SL positioning with the first terminal” are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (sidelink communication) (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
When considered as a whole, the claimed invention fails to recite any improvement in any technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)) or recite any meaningful limitations (MPEP 2106.05(e)). The limitations are no more than mere automation of a Mathematical concept used to determine location information.
Step 2B: the claim does not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea when considered both individually and as a whole.
under Step 2B, limitation(s) that are insignificant extra-solution activity under step 2A, Prong 2, need to be re-evaluated to determine whether they are well-understood, routine, conventional activities.
Specifically, the limitation, “performing, by a first terminal, transmission” is just receiving/transmitting data (e.g., over a network), which is mere judicial-recognized well-understood, routine, conventional activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
When considered a whole, the claimed invention still fails to amount to significantly more than applying a judicial exception in a field of use (sidelink communication) using a generic computer.
Other independent claim(s) (e.g., claim 19 and claim 20) recite similar claim language and thus is/are rejected for the same reasons as that of claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-3 fail to recite additional elements that could integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Keating et al. (US 2022/0393820).
Regarding claim 1:
Keating discloses a positioning system and method (abstract; figures), comprising:
performing, by a first terminal (figure 2 [first device 110-1]), transmission of a target message with a target device (para 50, partially reproduced herein {first device 110-1 may transmit 2005 a request for sidelink assisted positioning…}; fig 2 [transmit a request at step 2005]; fig 1-2 [device 120 as target device]; para 46 [as core device or LMF]); and
performing, by the first terminal, transmission of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) based on the target message (para 47; fig 2; para 54 {first device 110-1 transmits 2025 the SL PRS …. SL PRS transmission is part of the assistance information…}; see figures 4-7), wherein
the target message comprises at least one of [Note: optional claim language, requiring only one element]: a positioning request or positioning assistance data (para 53 {second device 120 transmits 2015 the configuration for transmitting the sidelink PRS … transmit the configuration to measure PRS for sidelink assisted positioning...}; fig 2 [step 2015]; para 54 {assistance information});
the first SL-PRS is used for determining: location information of the first terminal and/or a second terminal, and/or SL-PRS measurement information ([Note: the alternate, optional language]; see para 45-46 [device 110-2 fourth as second device]; para 50 [LPP]; para 64-66 {device 110-2 may determine 2065 its position based on the RSTD...}; fig 2 [steps 2065,2080]); and
the second terminal is a peer terminal that performs sidelink (SL) communication or SL positioning with the first terminal (para 45; fig 1-2 [SL-PRS at step 2025, between peer devices 110-1, 110-2]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 2:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above, and wherein the target device comprises any one of: the second terminal, a network-side device, and a third terminal (figs 1-2; para 44-46 [second device as network or LMF]; and see throughout).
Regarding claim 4:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the positioning request [Note: the independent claim 1, recites optional language with either positioning request or positioning assistance data, this language makes the other option is irrelevant i.e. not required; for instance when positioning request is not the required option, then this claim 4 is irrelevant {this also applies to other dependent claims and instances}, prior art still may be teachings the elements] (The claim language should positively recite the required elements, for instance “the target message comprises the positioning request, wherein the positioning request comprises….” This approach should be applied to other dependent claims with optional language) comprises at least one of: a positioning assistance data request (see Keating, para 45; para 50 {..request for sidelink assisted positioning}), a measurement request, a location information reporting or feedback request, an SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback request, a configuration request for at least one SL-PRS, SL-PRS request indication information, or feedback indication information for a measurement request, wherein the positioning assistance data request is used for requesting the positioning assistance data; the measurement request is used for requesting a device to measure the first SL-PRS; the location information reporting or feedback request is used for: requesting a device to report or feed back a resource of location information, or requesting a device to report or feed back the location information; the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback request is used for: requesting a device to report or feed back a resource of SL-PRS measurement information, or requesting a device to report or feed back the SL-PRS measurement information; the configuration request is used for requesting configuration or transmission of the at least one SL-PRS; the SL-PRS request indication information is used to indicate whether to request for an SL-PRS; and the feedback indication information for a measurement request is used to indicate that the first SL-PRS is received, and/or indicate whether the device requested by the measurement request sends feedback information, wherein the feedback information comprises at least one of: the location information, SL-PRS measurement information, or hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information.
Regarding claim 5:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the positioning assistance data request comprises at least one of [Note: the independent claim 1, recites optional language with either positioning request or positioning assistance data, has to be present, the other option is irrelevant i.e. not required; for instance when positioning assistance data is not the required option, then this claim 5 is irrelevant {this also applies to other dependent claims and instances}; The claim language should positively recite the required elements]: recognition information of a first target terminal, recognition information of a second target terminal, location information of the second target terminal, a region identifier, a communication range, a positioning range, quality of service (QoS) information related to positioning, a resource request used for requesting transmission of a time-frequency resource of the first SL-PRS (para 54 {the information of which radio resources are allocated for SL PRS transmission is part of the assistance information sent}), a configuration request for at least one SL-PRS, the location information reporting or feedback request, or the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback request; wherein the first target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and a third terminal, and the second target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal; or, the measurement request comprises at least one of: a positioning type request, frequency band information, a positioning method request, a location information type, a signal measurement request, priority information of measurement of an SL-PRS, priority information of transmission of the SL-PRS, expected angle of departure (AOD) information, or expected angle of arrival (AOA) information.
Regarding claim 6:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the positioning request comprises at least one of [Note: the independent claim 1, recites optional language with this dependent claim reciting one of the options][The claim language should positively recite the required elements]: information about at least one SL-PRS configuration set, first SL-PRS configuration information (para 53 {configuration for transmitting the sidelink PRS}; para 4,72 and throughout), or second SL-PRS configuration information, wherein the second SL-PRS configuration information is configuration information of an SL-PRS expected by the first terminal and/or the second terminal; and the information about at least one SL-PRS configuration set comprises at least one of: identification information of the at least one SL-PRS configuration set, or a configuration parameter of an SL-PRS in the at least one SL-PRS configuration set.
Regarding claim 15:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein in a case that the target device is the network-side device [Note: contingent/conditional language, when the condition is not met, i.e. when this is not the case then, claim steps/functions are not executed] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements], transmission of the target message is performed through one or more of following messages: dynamic grant information, configured grant information, a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) message (see para 50,53,64,70-72,83-89; and see throughout disclosure), an radio resource control (RRC) message, and a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) message.
Regarding claim 17:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the performing, by a first terminal, transmission of a target message with a target device comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the target message to the target device; and the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a first message before sending the target message; and/or receiving, by the first terminal, a second message after sending the target message; wherein the target message comprises the positioning request; the first message comprises the positioning assistance data or a positioning response; and the second message comprises configuration information of a target SL-PRS or activation information of the target SL-PRS (figure 2 [receiving messages after msg/step 2005]; and see throughout).
Regarding claim 18:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the performing, by a first terminal, transmission of a target message with a target device comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, the target message from the target device; and the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a third message before receiving the target message; and/or receiving, by the first terminal, a fourth message after receiving the target message; wherein the target message comprises the positioning request; the third message comprises the positioning assistance data; and the fourth message comprises a positioning response, wherein in a case that the positioning request comprises an SL-PRS measurement or reporting request, the positioning response comprises a time-frequency resource for SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback of the SL-PRS; in a case that the positioning request comprises a location information reporting or feedback request, the positioning response comprises location information of a target terminal; in a case that the positioning request comprises an SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback request, the positioning response comprises measurement information of the target terminal; and the target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and a third terminal (figure 2 [msg 2015,2020 after the msg 2005]; and throughout).
Regarding claim 19:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as in claim 1 above, and further discloses a first terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory (see figures 1-2; para 128-134; figure 8 [blocks 810, 820, 830]; and see throughout), when executed by the processor, cause the first terminal to perform function as described above, thus claim 19 is rejected under teachings of prior art with similar rationale as in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as in claim 1 above, and further discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instructions, wherein the program or instructions (para 13; para 134, 143; see figures 8-9; and throughout disclosure), when executed by a processor of a first terminal, cause the first terminal to perform steps/function as above, thus claim 20 is rejected under teachings of prior art with similar rationale as in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7-14,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating et al. (US 2022/0393820) in view of Ko et al. (US 2022/0385423).
Regarding claim 3:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the target message further comprises at least one of: location reporting or feedback information, SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback information, a positioning response, or capability information.
However, Ko in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication where the target message further comprises at least one of: location reporting or feedback information, SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback information, a positioning response, or capability information (para 132 { LPP protocol, the target device and the location server may exchange mutual capability information, assistance data for positioning, and/or location information}; figures; and see throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Ko in Keating in order to provide determination of transmission parameter and SL-PRS for efficiently performing SL communication [14-15] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 7:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language in chain of dependent claims with multiple options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] except for specifically teaching wherein the at least one SL-PRS configuration set comprises: a target SL-PRS configuration set; the target SL-PRS configuration set comprises a configuration of at least one target SL-PRS; the first SL-PRS is one or more SL-PRSs in the at least one target SL-PRS; and the target SL-PRS configuration set comprises at least one of: identification information of the target SL-PRS configuration set, location information of a second target terminal, priority information of measurement of a target SL-PRS, priority information of transmission of the target SL-PRS, expected angle of departure (AOD) information, expected angle of arrival (AOA) information, or a configuration parameter of the target SL-PRS in the target SL-PRS configuration set.
However, Ko in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the at least one SL-PRS configuration set comprises: a target SL-PRS configuration set; the target SL-PRS configuration set comprises a configuration of at least one target SL-PRS; the first SL-PRS is one or more SL-PRSs in the at least one target SL-PRS; and the target SL-PRS configuration set comprises at least one of: identification information of the target SL-PRS configuration set, location information of a second target terminal, priority information of measurement of a target SL-PRS, priority information of transmission of the target SL-PRS, expected angle of departure (AOD) information, expected angle of arrival (AOA) information, or a configuration parameter of the target SL-PRS in the target SL-PRS configuration set (para 90 [configuration signaling for Sidelink]; para 98,154; and throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Ko in Keating in order to provide determination of transmission parameter and SL-PRS for efficiently performing SL communication [14-15] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 8:
Keating and Ko disclose all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language in chain of dependent claims with multiple options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the second SL-PRS configuration information comprises at least one of: bandwidth information of the SL-PRS; a sending start time of the SL-PRS; a sending end time of the SL-PRS; sending duration of the SL-PRS; measurement window information of the SL-PRS; configuration window information used for configuring the SL-PRS; a number of combs configured for the SL-PRS; a number of symbols of the SL-PRS; a target terminal set; a number of target terminals; identification information of a target terminal; a set of selected SL-PRSs; a resource of the selected SL-PRSs; identification information of the selected SL-PRSs; a resource set of the selected SL-PRSs; or a number of the selected SL-PRSs; or, the first SL-RPS configuration information comprises at least one of: a configuration parameter of the SL-PRS; a maximum number of frequency layers of the SL-PRS; positioning frequency layer information of the SL-PRS; a subcarrier spacing of the SL-PRS; a resource bandwidth of the SL-PRS; a start point of a physical resource block (PRB) of the SL-PRS; a frequency domain position start point of the SL-PRS; a comb size N of the SL-PRS; a cyclic prefix of the SL-PRS; an SL-PRS configuration of each frequency layer; identification information of the SL-PRS; physical cell identifier (PCI) of the SL-PRS; an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN); a cell global identifier; a maximum number of resource sets of the SL-PRS; resource set information of the SL-PRS; a resource set identifier of the SL-PRS; a periodicity and resource set slot offset of the SL-PRS; a resource repetition factor of the SL-PRS; a resource time gap of the SL-PRS; a number of symbols of the SL-PRS; a first muting option of the SL-PRS; a second muting option of the SL-PRS; resource power information of the SL-PRS; a maximum number of SL-PRS resources comprised in each SL-PRS resource set in the at least one SL-PRS resource set; resource information of the SL-PRS, a resource identifier of the SL-PRS, a sequence identifier of the SL-PRS, an resource element (RE) offset of the SL-PRS, a resource slot offset of the SL-PRS, or a resource symbol offset of the SL-PRS (see Keating, para 57 [configuration parameters for SL PRS], para 61,81 [bandwidth]; see Ko, para 87,140; and throughout).
Regarding claim 9:
Keating and Ko disclose all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language in chain of dependent claims with multiple options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the first SL-PRS configuration information comprises a configuration parameter of a dedicated resource; and the transmission of the first SL-PRS is performed based on the dedicated resource, wherein the dedicated resource comprises at least one of: a resource dedicated to scheduling of the SL-PRS or a resource dedicated to transmission of the SL-PRS; wherein the configuration parameter of the dedicated resource comprises at least one of: bandwidth information of the dedicated resource; a frequency domain position start point of the dedicated resource; information about a start resource block (RB) of the dedicated resource; numerology information of the dedicated resource; a subcarrier spacing of the dedicated resource; a cyclic prefix (CP) of the dedicated resource; a start time of the dedicated resource; an end time of the dedicated resource; duration of the dedicated resource; or pool information of the dedicated resource (Ko, para 109,121,138).
Regarding claim 10:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein the positioning assistance data comprises at least one of [Note: the independent claim 1, recites optional language with this dependent claim reciting one of the options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements]: except for specifically teaching, a time-frequency resource for sending an SL-PRS, a time-frequency resource for reporting or feeding back location information, a time-frequency resource for reporting or feeding back SL-PRS measurement, at least one SL-PRS configuration set, identification information of the at least one SL-PRS configuration set, a configuration parameter of the SL-PRS in each SL-PRS configuration set, recognition information of a first target terminal, recognition information of a second target terminal, a region identifier, a communication range, a positioning range, quality of service (QoS) information related to positioning, priority information of measurement of a target SL-PRS, or priority information of transmission of the target SL-PRS; wherein the first target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and a third terminal, and the second target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal.
However, Ko in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein at least one of [Note: the independent claim 1, recites optional language with this dependent claim reciting one of the options]: except for specifically teaching, a time-frequency resource for sending an SL-PRS, a time-frequency resource for reporting or feeding back location information, a time-frequency resource for reporting or feeding back SL-PRS measurement, at least one SL-PRS configuration set, identification information of the at least one SL-PRS configuration set, a configuration parameter of the SL-PRS in each SL-PRS configuration set, recognition information of a first target terminal, recognition information of a second target terminal, a region identifier, a communication range, a positioning range, quality of service (QoS) information related to positioning, priority information of measurement of a target SL-PRS, or priority information of transmission of the target SL-PRS; wherein the first target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and a third terminal, and the second target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal (para 114,314 [time/freq resources]; figures; and see throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Ko in Keating in order to provide determination of transmission parameter and SL-PRS for efficiently performing SL communication [14-15] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 11:
Keating and Ko disclose all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language in chain of dependent claims with multiple options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the positioning assistance data comprises positioning assistance data of at least one target terminal, and the positioning assistance data further comprises at least one of: location information of the at least one target terminal, SL-PRS measurement information of the at least one target terminal, type information of the at least one target terminal, expected angle of departure (AOD) information corresponding to a target terminal, or expected angle of arrival (AOA) information corresponding to the target terminal, wherein the location information comprises at least one of: absolute location information, relative location information, trajectory information, path information, speed information, or acceleration information; the SL-PRS measurement information comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement information, reference signal time difference measurement information, receive-transmit time difference measurement information, arrival time measurement information, reference signal recognition information, reference signal received power information, angle measurement information, or transmission reception point identification information; and the type information is used to indicate any one of following: whether the target terminal supports the SL-PRS, or whether the target terminal supports an SL positioning method, or whether the target terminal is indicated as a road side unit (RSU) device, and whether the target terminal is a terminal of a specific type or a common terminal (Ko, para 124,128,132 [assistance info, and location information]).
Regarding claim 12:
Keating and Ko disclose all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language in chain of dependent claims with multiple options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback information comprises at least one of: recognition information of a first target terminal, recognition information of a second target terminal, location information of the second target terminal; or SL-PRS measurement information, wherein the SL-PRS measurement information comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement information, reference signal time difference measurement information, receive-transmit time difference measurement information, arrival time measurement information, reference signal recognition information, reference signal received power information, angle measurement information, or transmission reception point identification information; the location information comprises at least one of: absolute location information, relative location information, trajectory information, path information, speed information, or acceleration information; wherein the first target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and a third terminal, and the second target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal (Ko, para 313 [include ID information of a wireless device]).
Regarding claim 13:
Keating and Ko disclose all of the subject matter as described above [Note: optional language in chain of dependent claims with multiple options] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements] wherein the positioning response comprises at least one of: error indication information, error type information, no available resource information, error cause information, acknowledgment (ACK) information, negative acknowledgment (NACK) information, information of not supporting on-demand selection of a positioning reference signal (PRS), identification information of at least one SL-PRS configuration set, request success indication information or request failure indication information, configuration success indication information or configuration failure indication information, a configuration parameter of an SL-PRS in the at least one SL-PRS configuration set, recognition information of a first target terminal, recognition information of a second target terminal, a region identifier, a communication range, a positioning range, quality of service (QoS) information related to positioning, a time-frequency resource for sending the SL-PRS, or a time-frequency resource for reporting or feeding back SL-PRS measurement; wherein the first target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and a third terminal, and the second target terminal is any one of following: the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal; or, the capability information comprises at least one of: a capability of processing an SL-PRS; or a capability of an SL positioning method, wherein the capability of processing the SL-PRS comprises at least one of: a capability of simultaneously processing the SL-PRS and a downlink (DL) PRS, a capability of simultaneously processing the SL-PRS and a uplink (UL) PRS, an SL-PRS buffer type, a frequency band supported by the SL-PRS, a number of frequency bands supported by the SL-PRS, a capability of supporting carrier aggregation, a maximum capability of processing the SL-PRS, duration of the SL-PRS, or a number of sent SL-PRSs; the capability of the SL positioning method comprises at least one of: an SL-PRS measurement capability, a positioning mode, a multi-beam sending or measurement capability, quasi-co-location (QCL), a capability of a path loss reference signal, a capability of supporting multi-path measurement or reporting, or a capability of supporting first-path measurement or reporting; and the SL-PRS measurement capability comprises at least one of: a maximum number of measured transmit terminals or a number of measured frequency layers (Ko, para 63 [acknowledged, and error correction]; para 132).
Regarding claim 14:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that the target message comprises any one of following: indication information indicating in-coverage; and indication information indicating out-of-coverage.
However, Ko in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication where target message comprises any one of following: indication information indicating in-coverage; and indication information indicating out-of-coverage (para 90 [out-of-coverage]; para 103 [within and out of range]; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Ko in Keating in order to provide determination of transmission parameter and SL-PRS for efficiently performing SL communication [14-15] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 16:
Keating discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein in a case that the target device is the second terminal or the third terminal, transmission of the target message is performed through one or more of following messages [Note: contingent/conditional language, when the condition is not met, i.e. when this is not the case then these claim steps/functions are not executed] [The claim language should positively recite the required elements]: except for specifically teaching, sidelink control information (SCI); a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); a proximity communication long term evolution positioning protocol (PC5-LPP) message; and a proximity communication radio resource control (PC5-RRC) message; wherein the target message comprises time domain offset information; and the time domain offset information comprises at least one of: offset information between SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback and an SL-PRS; offset information between location information reporting or feedback and the SL-PRS; offset information between the positioning request and the SL-PRS; offset information between the positioning request and the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback; offset information between the SCI and the SL-PRS; offset information between the SCI and the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback; offset information between the SCI and the location information reporting or feedback; or offset information between the SCI and the positioning request.
However, Ko in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein in a case that the target device is the second terminal or the third terminal, transmission of the target message is performed through one or more of following messages [Note: contingent/conditional language, when the condition is not met, i.e. when this is not the case then these claim steps/functions are not executed]: sidelink control information (SCI) (Ko, para 109-110); a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (para 99); a proximity communication long term evolution positioning protocol (PC5-LPP) message; and a proximity communication radio resource control (PC5-RRC) message (see Ko, para 178); wherein the target message comprises time domain offset information; and the time domain offset information comprises at least one of: offset information between SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback and an SL-PRS; offset information between location information reporting or feedback and the SL-PRS; offset information between the positioning request and the SL-PRS; offset information between the positioning request and the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback; offset information between the SCI and the SL-PRS; offset information between the SCI and the SL-PRS measurement reporting or feedback; offset information between the SCI and the location information reporting or feedback; or offset information between the SCI and the positioning request (and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Ko in Keating in order to provide determination of transmission parameter and SL-PRS for efficiently performing SL communication [14-15] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bao et al. (US 2024/0365278) discloses a system and method for determining sidelink positioning reference signal sequence.
Manolakos et al. (US 2024/0129884) discloses a system and method for peer assisted revision of positioning assistance data.
Satyam Dwivedi (Positioning in 5G networks); published February 2021; rXiv:2102.03361v1; 7 pages.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631