DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2020/0110287).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses, a rotating replacement lens structure for spectacles (Figs. 3-27), comprising:
a spectacle frame (11, 100), having an inlay groove (2, 13) with an opening facing downwards (see Fig. 8), a front side wall (23, 211) and a rear side wall (212) formed corresponding to the inlay groove by the arrangement of the inlay groove (see Figs. 5-8), a through hole (221, 224, 225, 226) on the rear side wall that passes through the thickness of the rear side wall so that the through hole is communicated with the inlay groove (Para. 0055-0056 and see Figs. 13-19), and a first guide portion provided on a peripheral wall of the through hole (see Figs. 13-19);
a rotating component (3, 32, 33, 34, 331), capable of rotating along an axis of the through hole, wherein the rotating component has a shaft portion (32) correspondingly inserted into the through hole (see Fig. 15), a second guide portion (33, 331) provided on an outer periphery of the shaft portion, wherein the second guide portion and the first guide portion are correspondingly spirally engaged (Para. 0046-0047 and 0054), wherein the shaft portion has a rear end portion (see portion of 32 adjacent to 33) and a front end portion (see portion of 32 adjacent to 311) opposite to each other, and a rotatable force applying portion (3, 31) arranged at the front end portion (Para. 0046-0047 and 0054); and
a spectacle lens (4, 41), having an upper edge embedded in the inlay groove of the spectacle frame correspondingly (see Figs. 13-19), and having a locking hole (421, 422, 423) arranged corresponding with a through hole (Para. 0053),
wherein when the upper edge of the spectacle lens is embedded into the inlay groove (see Figs. 13-19), rotate the rotatable force applying portion in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction to make the rear end portion of the rotating component rotate to enter or leave the locking hole of the spectacle lens (Para. 0055-0056) according to the engagement between the first guide portion and the second guide portion (Para. 0046-0047 and 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses, the rotatable force applying portion protrudes and extends radially from the front end portion to one side (Para. 0055-0056 and see Figs. 13-19), wherein the rotatable force applying portion has a force application convex body (3, 31, 36, 37) disposed on a surface thereof away from the shaft portion.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame includes a positioning slot (421, 422, 423) provided on the surface of the rear side wall, away from the inlay groove, and adjacent to the through hole (see Figs. 5 and 13-19), wherein the rotatable force applying portion includes a positioning protrusion (34, 331) corresponding to the positioning slot and provided on the rotatable force applying portion of the rotating component (see Figs. 5 and 13-19), wherein when the positioning protrusion correspondingly enters the positioning slot and is engaged with the positioning slot, the rotating component is positioned (Para. 0046-0047, 0053-0056 and see Figs. 5 and 13-19).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses, the rotatable force applying portion extends radially outward from the outer periphery of the front end portion (see Figs. 5 and 13-19), and the diameter of the rotatable force applying portion is larger than the diameter of the front end portion (see Figs. 5 and 13-19), wherein the rotatable force applying portion has a convex pattern arranged on a periphery wall surface thereof (see 3, 31, 36, 37).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame has a recessed area provided on the surface of the rear side wall facing the human face, the through hole is located in the recessed area (see 22, 214, 223), and the recessed area accommodates the rotatable force applying portion (see Figs. 5, 7 and 13).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame has a downward-opening notch disposed in the recessed area (see 22, 214, 221, 224, 225, 226).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame has a recessed area provided on the surface of the rear side wall facing the human face, the through hole is located in the recessed area (see 22, 214, 223), and the recessed area accommodates the rotatable force applying portion (see Figs. 5, 7 and 13).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame has a downward-opening notch disposed in the recessed area (see 22, 214, 221, 224, 225, 226).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame has a recessed area provided on the surface of the rear side wall facing the human face, the through hole is located in the recessed area (see 22, 214, 223), and the recessed area accommodates the rotatable force applying portion (see Figs. 5, 7 and 13).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses, the spectacle frame has a downward-opening notch disposed in the recessed area (see 22, 214, 221, 224, 225, 226).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huang (US 2007/0195258), Park (JP 3179613), Chen (US 2017/0336648) and Belbey et al. (US 8,469,510) discloses a rotating replacement lens structure for spectacles that includes a spectacle frame, a rotating component and a spectacle lens.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 12/22/2025