DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mariotti (EP 2116647 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mariotti discloses an air recycling module, comprising:
a housing (housing that encases the flow diverter 7 shown in Fig. 4), wherein the housing further comprises:
a first air input opening (Fig. 4: discharge opening of duct 6);
a first air output opening (Fig. 4: opening into duct 11); and
a second air output opening (Fig. 4: opening into duct 8);
a first damper (flow diverter 7) configured to control a flow of air passing through the first air output opening;
a first damper motor configured to control the position of the first damper (para. 60);
a damper controller configured to operate the first damper motor (para. 60);
a power port configured to connect to a power source (this feature is inherent since the dryer requires an electrical power source);
a first sensor (temperature sensor 13) configured to measure a first characteristic of a flow of air passing through the first air input opening (para. 60); and
a second sensor (humidity sensor 14) configured to measure a second characteristic of the flow of air passing through the first air input opening (para. 60),
wherein the first sensor is configured to generate a first sensor signal, wherein the second sensor is configured to generate a second sensor signal, wherein the damper controller is configured to receive and configured to process the first sensor signal and the second sensor signal (paras. 46-48), wherein the damper controller is further configured to control the operation of the damper by controlling the damper motor (para. 60); and
wherein the position of the damper is based, at least in part, on the first sensor signal and the second sensor signal (paras. 46-48).
Regarding claim 2, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, wherein the first air input opening is configured to receive air output from a dryer machine exhaust outlet (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, wherein the first air output opening is configured to couple with a ducting (Fig. 2: ducting downstream the fan 4 and upstream the drum 2), and wherein the ducting is configured to route a flow of air passing the first damper toward a dryer machine inlet (inlet into the drum 2).
Regarding claim 4, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, wherein the first sensor is a temperature sensor (13).
Regarding claim 5, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, wherein the second sensor is a humidity sensor (14).
Regarding claim 8, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, wherein the damper controller is configured to compare the first sensor signal with a first threshold value, and wherein the damper controller is configured to compare the second sensor signal with a second threshold value (paras. 46-48).
Regarding claim 9, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 8, wherein the damper is adjusted to a closed position when the first sensor signal is less than the first threshold value (~70 deg. C) or when the second sensor signal is greater than the second threshold value (claim 3).
Regarding claim 10, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 8, wherein the damper is adjusted to an open position (transition from third to the fourth step) when the first sensor signal is greater than the first threshold value (60 deg. C or more) and the second sensor signal is less than the second threshold value (threshold value between 90-95% during the transition between the second and third step) (paras. 47, 48).
Regarding claim 11, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 8, wherein the first sensor signal represents a temperature, and wherein the second sensor signal represents a humidity (paras. 46-48).
Regarding claim 15, Mariotti discloses a method of air recycling, comprising (see rejection of claim 1 for citations): (a) receiving air output by a dryer machine; (b) measuring a one or more characteristics of the dryer machine air output; (c) determining if the one or more dryer machine air output characteristics meet a on or more requirements; (d) causing the dryer machine air output to be routed back to a dryer machine air inlet if it is determined in (c) that the one or more dryer machine air output characteristics meet the one or more requirements; and (e) causing the dryer machine air output to not be routed back to a dryer machine air inlet if it is determined in (c) that the one or more dryer machine air output characteristics do not meet the one or more requirements.
Regarding claim 16, Mariotti discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein measuring of one or more characteristics of the dryer machine air output is performed, at least in part, by a temperature sensor (13).
Regarding claim 17, Mariotti discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein measuring of one or more characteristics of the dryer machine air output is performed, at least in part, by a humidity sensor (14).
Regarding claim 18, Mariotti discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the one or more requirements is a requirement that the received air output by the dryer machine has temperature greater than a threshold temperature value (claim 3).
Regarding claim 19, Mariotti discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the one or more requirements is a requirement that the received air output by the dryer machine has humidity less than a threshold humidity value (see rejection of claim 10).
Regarding claim 20, Mariotti discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the causing of (c) and (d) is performed, at least in part, by adjusting a damper configured to control the amount of air output by a dryer machine that is routed back to a dryer machine air inlet (para. 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mariotti (EP 2116647 A1) alone.
Regarding claim 6, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, except wherein the damper controller includes a processor configured to execute code stored in a memory, and wherein the code stored in the memory when executed by the processor causes the processor to output a motor control signal to the damper motor.
However, Official Notice is taken that this feature, i.e., a computer controller, is well-known and common knowledge, and it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mariotti’s control unit to be the computer controller recited in claim 6, since computer controllers are cheap, ubiquitous, and can be programmed to perform the various functions.
Regarding claim 7, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, except wherein the damper controller includes a plurality of switches, wherein the plurality of switches is configured to perform a logic circuit, and wherein the logic circuit is configured to output a motor control signal.
However, Official Notice is taken that this feature, i.e., a computer controller, is well-known and common knowledge (note: a computer operates by using transistor switches and logic gates). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mariotti’s control unit to be the computer controller having the features recited in claim 7, since computer controllers are cheap, ubiquitous, and can be programmed to perform the various functions.
Regarding claim 12, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, except wherein the housing is constructed of stainless steel. However, Official Notice is taken that this feature is well-known and common knowledge, and it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mariotti’s housing to be constructed of stainless steel, since stainless steel is strong and rust resistant.
Regarding claim 13, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, except wherein the housing is constructed of aluminum. However, Official Notice is taken that this feature is well-known and common knowledge, and it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mariotti’s housing to be constructed of aluminum, since it is strong and lightweight.
Regarding claim 14, Mariotti discloses the air recycling module of Claim 1, except wherein the power port is configured to attach to a power cord, and wherein the power cord is configured to couple with an alternating current power outlet. However, Official Notice is taken that this feature is well-known and common knowledge, and it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mariotti wherein the power port is configured to attach to a power cord, and wherein the power cord is configured to couple with an alternating current power outlet. The motivation to combine is so that the air recycling module can receive power from a household circuit.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762