DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozden et al (US 2007/0,146,212; hereinafter Ozden) in view of Hu (CN 208,433,511).
Regarding claim 1, Ozden disclose an electronic device, comprising a first feed source attached to first port (16), a second feed source attached to second port (20), a first matching circuit (HB resonant matching circuit 30), a second matching circuit (LB resonant matching circuit 40), a first radiator (HB coupling element 12), and a second radiator (LB coupling element 18), wherein the first feed source is electrically connected to the first radiator (12) through the first matching circuit (30), the second feed source is electrically connected to the second radiator (18) through the second matching circuit (40) (paragraphs [0034]-[0035], [0001]; Fig. 2), and the first radiator (HB coupling element 12) is coupled to the second radiator (LB coupling element 18) (¶ [0034]; Fig. 1); and under the action of a first excitation signal input by the first feed source attached to first port 16, the first radiator (12) operates in a first band (high band (HB) 1800/1900 MHz) and the second radiator (18) operates in a second band (low (LB) band 850/900 MHz); and under the action of a second excitation signal input by the second feed source attached to second port (20), the second radiator (18) operates in a third band and the first radiator operates in a fourth band (the antenna module enables such multi-band reception in a particularly small volume by the position at which the coupling elements electrically connect to the ground plane, the size and shape of the coupling elements themselves, and by the specific matching circuits employed, whereas the coupling elements are resonant at their resonant frequencies, those of embodiments described herein need not be resonant at their operating frequencies, the location, size and shape of the coupling elements 12, 18 can be chosen individually to achieve the best available performance, radiators 12 and 18 have different sizes and resonance frequencies and inherently operate in different frequencies, using dual resonant matching circuits to achieve a multi/quad band frequency response by generating resonances at both the GSM850/900 and GSM1800/1900 bands with four resonances in total, e.g. in four or multiple operating bands depending on the first or second excitation signals;
Fig. 3; paragraphs [0009]-[0010], [0029]-[0033], [0041]-[0042], [0045]-[0047]). Ozden do not explicitly disclose a first and second feed source and wherein the first band, the second band, the third band, and the fourth band are different. In the same field of endeavor, Hu disclose first feed source (1211) and second feed source (1221) and wherein the first band, the second band, the third band, and the fourth band are different (the first antenna structure 101 can be a 2G, 3G, 4G, or 5G antenna, the first antenna structure 101 and the second antenna structure 102 can be a 2G, 3G, 4G, or 5G antenna, e.g. the first/second antenna can be an LTE antenna that can realize the multiplexing of a 4G and 5G signal (paragraphs [0014], [0040]-[0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to have a feed structure that provides the resonant excitation signals to enable switching between multiple different frequency bands (Hu; paras. [0040-[0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Ozden and Hu disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first matching circuit (30) and the second matching circuit (40) each comprises a filter circuit (resonant matching circuit 30 and 40 operate or act as band-pass filters; Ozden; paras. [0031], [0047], [0043]-[0044]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozden et al (US 2007/0,146,212) in view of Hu (CN 208,433,511) further in view of Komukai et al (JP 2013,247,503; hereinafter Komukai).
Regarding claim 7, Ozden and Hu disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein they do not disclose the electronic device further comprises a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator and the second radiator are connected to each other through the first controller, and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value. In the same field of endeavor, Komukai disclose a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator (13, 52) and the second radiator (14, 53) are connected to each other through the first controller (60, 57), and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor (sensor 15; paras. [0057]-[0058], [0073]-[0075], [0088]; Fig. 6); and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value (a high-frequency current that flows when the first conductor radiator and the second conductor radiator are connected with the switch controller switching to a closed state at the time the SAR sensor 15 detected a certain distance between the mobile device and the human body in proximity to the mobile device, paragraphs [0003], [0082], [0086], [0092]-[0093], [0100]-[0102]; Figs. 6-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to detect the specific absorption ratio and reduce the SAR value using the current spreading effect (Komukai;
¶ [0102]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozden et al (US 2007/0,146,212) in view of Hu (CN 208,433,511) further in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0,380,095; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 20, Ozden and Hu disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein they do not explicitly disclose a distance between the first radiator and the second radiator is 0.5 mm - 2 mm. In the same field of endeavor, Wang disclose a distance between the first radiator and the second radiator is between 0 mm - 2 mm (¶ [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to limit the distance between the first radiator and the second radiator in order to better satisfy a coupling requirement between the two radiators (Wang; ¶ [0084]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Ozden and Hu disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the first radiator comprises a first body, a first sub-radiator, a second sub-radiator, a third sub-radiator, and a fourth sub-radiator, wherein the first sub-radiator, the second sub-radiator, and the third sub-radiator are all located on a first side of the first body, the first sub-radiator, the second sub-radiator, and the third sub-radiator are spaced apart from each other, and the fourth sub-radiator is located on a second side of the first body; and the second radiator comprises a second body, a fifth sub-radiator, and a sixth sub-radiator, wherein the fifth sub-radiator is located on a first side of the second body, the sixth sub-radiator is located on a second side of the second body, the fifth sub-radiator is arranged facing the second side of the first body, the fifth sub-radiator is arranged at least partially opposite the fourth sub-radiator, and the fifth sub-radiator is apart from the fourth sub-radiator.
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the second body comprises a first end portion and a second end portion, wherein the fifth sub-radiator is connected to the first end portion, and the sixth sub-radiator is connected to the second end portion.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein lengths of the first sub-radiator, the second sub-radiator, the third sub-radiator, the fourth sub-radiator, the fifth sub-radiator, and the sixth sub-radiator are all different.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the first sub-radiator, the second sub-radiator, and the third sub-radiator are arranged sequentially and the lengths of the first sub-radiator, the second sub-radiator, and the third sub-radiator are in ascending or descending order.
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the length of the fifth sub-radiator is less than the length of the sixth sub-radiator.
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator and the second radiator are connected to each other through the first controller, and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value.
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 3, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator and the second radiator are connected to each other through the first controller, and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value.
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator and the second radiator are connected to each other through the first controller, and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value.
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator and the second radiator are connected to each other through the first controller, and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value.
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 6, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first controller and a specific absorption ratio (SAR) sensor for detecting a human body, wherein the first radiator and the second radiator are connected to each other through the first controller, and the second radiator is connected to the SAR sensor; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a first distance, the first controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a first value; and in a case that the SAR sensor has detected that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a second distance, the first controller is adjusted such that the current flowing from the first radiator through the first controller into the second radiator is a second value, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first value is less than the second value.
Regarding claim 13, Ozden and Hu disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device further comprises a second controller, and the first radiator and the second radiator are connected through the second controller, and the first matching circuit comprises a first antenna tuner, and/or the second matching circuit comprises a second antenna tuner; wherein in a case that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a third distance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a third value, the first antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the first radiator to a first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the second radiator to a second impedance; in a case that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a fourth distance, the input impedance of the first radiator is a third impedance, the input impedance of the second radiator is a fourth impedance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a fourth value, the first antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the first radiator from the third impedance to the first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the second radiator from the fourth impedance to the second impedance; and the third impedance is different from the first impedance, the fourth impedance is different from the second impedance, the third distance is greater than the fourth distance, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the electronic device further comprises a second controller, and the first radiator and the second radiator are connected through the second controller, and the first matching circuit comprises a first antenna tuner, and/or the second matching circuit comprises a second antenna tuner; wherein in a case that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a third distance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a third value, the first antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the first radiator to a first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the second radiator to a second impedance; in a case that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a fourth distance, the input impedance of the first radiator is a third impedance, the input impedance of the second radiator is a fourth impedance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a fourth value, the first antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the first radiator from the third impedance to the first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the second radiator from the fourth impedance to the second impedance; and the third impedance is different from the first impedance, the fourth impedance is different from the second impedance, the third distance is greater than the fourth distance, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 3, wherein the electronic device further comprises a second controller, and the first radiator and the second radiator are connected through the second controller, and the first matching circuit comprises a first antenna tuner, and/or the second matching circuit comprises a second antenna tuner; wherein in a case that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a third distance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a third value, the first antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the first radiator to a first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the second radiator to a second impedance; in a case that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a fourth distance, the input impedance of the first radiator is a third impedance, the input impedance of the second radiator is a fourth impedance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a fourth value, the first antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the first radiator from the third impedance to the first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the second radiator from the fourth impedance to the second impedance; and the third impedance is different from the first impedance, the fourth impedance is different from the second impedance, the third distance is greater than the fourth distance, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the electronic device further comprises a second controller, and the first radiator and the second radiator are connected through the second controller, and the first matching circuit comprises a first antenna tuner, and/or the second matching circuit comprises a second antenna tuner; wherein in a case that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a third distance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a third value, the first antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the first radiator to a first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the second radiator to a second impedance; in a case that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a fourth distance, the input impedance of the first radiator is a third impedance, the input impedance of the second radiator is a fourth impedance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a fourth value, the first antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the first radiator from the third impedance to the first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the second radiator from the fourth impedance to the second impedance; and the third impedance is different from the first impedance, the fourth impedance is different from the second impedance, the third distance is greater than the fourth distance, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the electronic device further comprises a second controller, and the first radiator and the second radiator are connected through the second controller, and the first matching circuit comprises a first antenna tuner, and/or the second matching circuit comprises a second antenna tuner; wherein in a case that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a third distance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a third value, the first antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the first radiator to a first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the second radiator to a second impedance; in a case that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a fourth distance, the input impedance of the first radiator is a third impedance, the input impedance of the second radiator is a fourth impedance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a fourth value, the first antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the first radiator from the third impedance to the first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the second radiator from the fourth impedance to the second impedance; and the third impedance is different from the first impedance, the fourth impedance is different from the second impedance, the third distance is greater than the fourth distance, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 6, wherein the electronic device further comprises a second controller, and the first radiator and the second radiator are connected through the second controller, a first matching circuit comprises a first antenna tuner, and/or a second matching circuit comprises a second antenna tuner wherein in a case that a distance between a human body and the electronic device is a third distance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a third value, the first antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the first radiator to a first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts an input impedance of the second radiator to a second impedance; in a case that the distance between the human body and the electronic device is a fourth distance, the input impedance of the first radiator is a third impedance, the input impedance of the second radiator is a fourth impedance, the second controller is adjusted such that a current flowing from the first radiator through the second controller into the second radiator is a fourth value, the first antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the first radiator from the third impedance to the first impedance, and the second antenna tuner adjusts the input impedance of the second radiator from the fourth impedance to the second impedance; and the third impedance is different from the first impedance, the fourth impedance is different from the second impedance, the third distance is greater than the fourth distance, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648