DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 depends upon itself, thus rendering the claim as unclear to what claim it depends upon. For examination purposes, claim 13 is interpreted to be dependent upon claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 5,885,526, hereinafter Chu.
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches a sensor (figure 1), comprising: a top cover (item 10) having at least one opening (item 12) through the top cover (figure 1), wherein the top cover has a first side (top side of item 10) and a second side opposite the first side (bottom side of item 10); a porous membrane (item 13) disposed on a first side of a membrane support (the membrane support is not positively recited and therefore not required, but is taught as the top layer of item 15 and figure 3), wherein the porous membrane has a first side (the top side of item 13) and a second side (the bottom side of item 13) opposite the first side of the porous support (figure 1), wherein the porous membrane includes a plurality of pores that extend from the first side of the porous membrane to the second side of the porous membrane (column 5, lines 54-65), wherein the membrane support (not positively recited) has a second side (the bottom side of the top layer of item 15) opposite the first side (the top side of the top layer of item 15) of the membrane support (figure 1), wherein the second side of the top cover is disposed on the first side of the membrane support (figure 3); an absorbent layer (the bottom layers of item 15) having a first side (the upper side of the bottom layers of item 15) and a second side (the bottom side of the bottom layers of item 15) opposite the first side (figure 1), wherein the second side of the membrane support is disposed on the first side of the absorbent layer (figure 3), wherein the absorbent layer has the characteristic of being able to absorb a fluid (column 7, lines 7-24); and a bottom cover (item 16) having a first side (the upper side of item 16) and a second side (the bottom side of item 16) opposite the first side (figure 1), wherein the second side of the absorbent layer is disposed on the first side of the bottom cover (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Chu teaches the porous membrane is aligned with the opening in the top cover (figure 1 and 3) so that the porous membrane is accessible from the first side of the top cover so that a sample fluid is able to contact the porous membrane through the opening of the top cover (figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Chu teaches the plurality of pores has about the same diameter from the first side of the porous membrane to the second side of the porous membrane (column 5, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 12, Chu teaches the porous membrane includes at least one type of binding agent, wherein each type of binding agent has an affinity for a different type of target (columns 9-10, lines 56-14).
Regarding claim 13, Chu teaches the binding agent is bonded to the surface of the pores of the porous membrane (columns 9-10, lines 56-14).
Regarding claim 15, Chu teaches a sensor (figure 1), comprising: a porous membrane (item 13) disposed on a first side of a membrane support (the membrane support is not positively recited and therefore not required, but is taught as the top layer of item 15 and figure 3), wherein the porous membrane has a first side (the top side of item 13) and a second side (the bottom side of item 13) opposite the first side of the porous support (figure 1), wherein the porous membrane includes a plurality of pores that extend from the first side of the porous membrane to the second side of the porous membrane (column 5, lines 54-65), wherein the membrane support (not positively recited) has a second side (the bottom side of the top layer of item 15) opposite the first side (the top side of the top layer of item 15) of the membrane support (figure 1); and an absorbent layer (the bottom layers of item 15) having a first side (the upper side of the bottom layers of item 15) and a second side (the bottom side of the bottom layers of item 15) opposite the first side (figure 1), wherein the second side of the membrane support is disposed on the first side of the absorbent layer (figure 3), wherein the absorbent layer has the characteristic of being able to absorb a fluid (column 7, lines 7-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of United States Application Publication No. 2003/0040124, hereinafter LaBorde.
Regarding claim 3, Chu teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Chu fails to teach the porous membrane is not aligned with the opening in the top cover; and further comprising a pathway from the opening in the top cover to the porous membrane, wherein the fluid flows through the pathway from the opening in the top cover to the porous membrane.
LaBorde teaches an assay strip in which the porous membrane (LaBorde, item 13) is not aligned with the opening in the top cover (LaBorde, figure 2) and a pathway from the opening in the top cover to the porous membrane (LaBorde, item 19).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., the membrane is not aligned with the opening in the top cover) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., the membrane is aligned with the opening in the top cover) with other component(s) (i.e., the membrane is not aligned with the opening in the top cover), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., the membrane being aligned with the membrane not being aligned with the opening in the top cover), and the results of the substitution (i.e., detection) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute the membrane being aligned with the opening in the top cover of reference Chu with the membrane not being aligned with the opening in the top cover of reference LaBorde, since the result would have been predictable. Further, in moving the membrane, the pathway of LaBorde would also be added to allow for the fluid to come into contact with the membrane.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Zhao, Yiliang, et al., “Flow-Through Porous Silicon Membranes for Real-Time Label-Free Biosensing,” Anal. Chem., Vol. 88 (2016), pgs. 10940-10948, hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 4, Chu teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Chu fails to teach the porous membrane is selected from a porous silicon membrane, a porous alumina membrane, a porous silicon dioxide membrane, a porous germanium membrane, a porous germania membrane, or a porous indium phosphide membrane.
Zhao teaches a porous silicon membrane which is utilized for biosensing as it would allow for systems with parallel microarrays for rapid and multiplexed label-free biosensing (Zhao, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a porous silicone membrane as the membrane because it would allow for rapid and multiplexed label-free biosensing (Zhao, abstract).
Claim(s) 5, 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu.
Regarding claim 5, Chu teaches the porous membrane has a thickness of 0.05 to 3.0mm.
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the porous membrane thickness in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Chu teaches each of the pores of the plurality of pores independently has a diameter of about 0.1 to 12 microns.
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the pore size in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 14, Chu teaches that that thickness of the absorbent body (item 15) can be altered to achieve the properties of the analytical device and flow rate of sample and reagents desired (column 7, lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum thickness of the top layer of item 15 (membrane support) to a range of 0.5 to 1.5 mm which would allow for the desired properties of the analytical device and flow rate of sample and reagents to be achieved (column 7, lines 25-34) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum thickness of the bottom layers of item 15 (membrane support) to a range of 0.5 to 1.5 mm which would allow for the desired properties of the analytical device and flow rate of sample and reagents to be achieved (column 7, lines 25-34) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Ge, D.H., et al., “Formation of macro-meso-microporous multilayer structures,” Electrochimica Acta, Vol. 88 (2013), pgs. 141-146, hereinafter Ge.
Regarding claim 8, Chu teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Chu fails to teach the porous membrane is a stratified porous membrane, wherein the stratified porous membrane has at least two strata and each stratum have a plurality of pores, wherein the pores of one stratum as compared to other strata have a diameter that is different by at least 10 nm.
Ge teaches the porous membrane is a stratified porous membrane, wherein the stratified porous membrane has at least two strata and each stratum have a plurality of pores, wherein the pores of one stratum as compared to other strata have a diameter that is different by at least 10 nm (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the porous membrane of Hu in view of Zhao to comprise the multilayer porous structure taught by Ge because Ge teaches multilayer structures are expected to improve mass transport and enhance optical signal response in silicon-based biological and chemical sensors (Ge, page 146, column 1, paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu and Ge as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2008/0020192, hereinafter Yen.
Regarding claim 9, modified Chu teaches the stratified porous membrane has a first stratum, a second stratum, and third strata, wherein the first stratum is on the first side of the porous membrane and the third stratum is on the second side of the porous membrane, wherein the second stratum is positioned between the first stratum and third stratum, wherein the first stratum has a first plurality of pores, the second stratum has a second plurality of pores, and the third stratum has a third plurality of pores (Ge, abstract, and Fig. 5).
Chu and Ge fail to teach the first plurality of pores and the third plurality of pores have about the same diameter, wherein the second plurality of pores have a smaller diameter than the first plurality of pores and the third plurality of pores.
Yen teaches the first plurality of pores and the third plurality of pores can have identical properties including pore size if desired (Yen, paragraph [0060]) and that the second plurality of pores have a smaller diameter than the first plurality of pores and the third plurality of pores (Yen, paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the membrane with the layering and pore size selection taught by Yen because Yen teaches that asymmetric membranes where the layers differ in pore size are useful in extending the life of the membrane (Yen, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 10, Chu, Ge and Yen teach all limitations of claim 9; however, they fail to specifically teach the first stratum and the third stratum have a thickness of about 0.5 to 3 µm and the second stratum has a thickness of about 0.5 to 50 µm.
Yen further teaches that layer thickness uniformity can be manipulated by controlling the viscosity, temperature and extrudate output of each polymer/porogen solution to produce membranes useful for filtration that have increased flux, decreased pressure drop, and greater retention (Yen, paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum membrane thickness, to a range of 0.5 to 3 µm for the first and third stratum and 0.5 to 50 µm for the second stratum which would allow to achieve membranes with desired transport properties (Yen, paragraph [0063]) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 11, Chu, Ge and Yen teach all limitations of claim 9, however, they fail to specifically teach the first plurality of pores have a diameter of about 50 to 80 nm, wherein the third plurality of pores have a diameter of about 50 to 80 nm, wherein the second plurality of pores have a diameter of about 20 to 40 nm.
Yen teaches that pore size is controlled by selecting different polymer/porogen compositions for each layer, and that multilayer porous membranes are formed through controlled processing conditions that determine final structural properties (Yen, paragraphs [0063]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the membrane pores of modified Hu as taught by Yen because Yen teaches that effective pore size of each layer is controlled by providing different polymer/porogen compositions for each layer (Yen, paragraph 0063). One of ordinary skill in the art would know to use Yen’s layer specific composition control to selectively set pore diameters within the claimed ranges of 50 to 80 nm for the first and third strata and 20 to 40 nm for the second stratum, as it would have been a predictable implementation of known pore-structure control techniques in multilayer membrane fabrication.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796