Priority
The present application claims priority to the following applications: PCT/CN2021/109547 and PCT/CN2022/108923, with effective filing dates of 30 July 2021 and 29 July 202, respectively.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed, 8 May 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, 35, and 36) and species of Compound 6 (
) in the reply filed 8 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 38 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group (Group II: claim 38), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 3-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 3 specifies a degron selected from:
, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 4 specifies a degron selected from
, which does not read on the elected species.
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, and 35-36 are pending and under examination in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “…R4 is independently methyl, ethyl, propyl, butyl, pentyl, hexyl, heptyl, octyl…” and the claim also recites “…preferably R4 is selected from -CH3, -OCH3, -NHCH3, -CHF2, and -C(CH3)2OH…”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Dependent claims 5-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, and 36 are included for depending on a rejected claim and not reciting limitations that resolve the ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong (WO 2021/000935, filed 3 July 2020) in view of Linney (Exp. Opin. Therap. Patents¸ 2021, 31(10), 893-910), Vara (ACS Med. Chem. Lett., 2021, 12, 653-661), Jin (WO 2020/227325, published 5 May 2020, see IDS filed 21 May 2024), and Mainolfi (WO 2019/140387, published 14 Jan 2019).
Zhong teaches HPK1 inhibitors having general structures:
and
(abstract). Zhong teaches that HPK1 (also known as MAP4K1) is a protein kinase that is predominantly expressed in lymphoid organs/tissues and in all cell types in the hematopoietic compartment (page 1, paragraph 2). Zhong teaches that the ATP-binding site of HPK1 includes Lys-46 and that mutation of Lys-46 to methionine abolishes catalytic activation of HPK1 (page 1, paragraph 5). Zhong teaches that HPK1 plays dual and opposite roles in JNK activation and TCR signaling (page 3, paragraph 3). Zhong teaches that HPK1 can also control antitumor immunity via T- and B-lymphocyte-dependent mechanisms and that adoptive transfer of HPK1 deficient T cells were more effective in controlling tumor growth and metastasis than wild-type T cells (page 5, paragraph 3). Zhong teaches that bone marrow-derived dendritic cells from HPK1 knockout mice were more efficient to mount a T cell response to eradicate Lewis lung carcinoma as compared to wild-type bone marrow-derived dendritic cells (page 5, paragraph 3). Zhong specifically teaches
(Example 38, page 233) and
(Example 50, page 242).
Regarding claim 1, Zhong fails to teach an HPK1 degrader.
Linney teaches HPK1 inhibitors in the recent patent literature (abstract). Linney teaches that HPK1 is a negative regulator of T-cell function and that inhibition of HPK1 leads to increased T-cell proliferation and cytokine production and thus is an attractive approach for the immunotherapy of cancer (page 893, column 2, paragraph 2; page 894, column 1, paragraph 1). Linney teaches the importance of the hinge binding to Cys91 and Glu93 residues in the binding of HPK1 ligand/inhibitor to HPK1 (page 895, column 1, paragraph 2; Figure 2). Linney specifically teaches Compound 37:
(Figure 8, page 899), wherein the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent (figure 8, page 899).
Vara teaches HPK1 inhibitors and structure-activity-relationships (SAR) around an inhibitor scaffold (abstract). Vara teaches that HPK1 inhibition is able to circumvent potential immune-evasive events via potentiation of T cell-mediated killing of tumor cells (page 653, column 1, paragraph 1; page 653, column 2, paragraph 1). Vara teaches the generic formula modeled in a schematic of the binding pocket:
(Figure 2) as well as crystal structures of compounds of interest in the binding pocket of HPK1 (Figure 3). Vara investigates the SAR surrounding the ortho-substitution of the phenyl ring in the eastern fragment (Tables 2 and 4). Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions (Figure 2, page 655; Figure 6, page 658).
Jin teaches HPK1 degraders and that the HPK1 degraders therein are expected to overcome resistance that is inherent to HPK1 inhibitors regardless of whether the resistance is due to drugs used in prior treatments or whether acquired resistance was caused by gene mutation, amplification, or otherwise (page 1, lines 5-8; page 1, lines 18-21). Jin specifically teaches the degraders,
(Example 181, page 381) and
(Example 188, page 382). Jin specifically teaches that Example 188 (HC90-50) was selected as a lead due to activity (Example 351, page 413). While Jin teaches that the piperazine is adjacent to the POI ligand instead of the cereblon (E3 ligase) ligand, Jin contemplates the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357) and that the HC58 series of HPK1 degraders were able to reduce the expression level of HPK1 protein in Jurkat T cell line by approximately 75% (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A).
Mainolfi teaches ligands for binding and modulating the activity of cereblon ([0001]). Mainolfi teaches that many diseases are associated with abnormal ubiquitin-proteasome pathway , which plays a key role in the degradation of short-lived and regulatory proteins important in a variety of basis cellular processes ([0002]-[0003]). Mainolfi teaches that aberrations in the process are implicated in the pathogenesis of several diseases (both inherited and acquired) and that cereblon interacts with damaged DNA binding protein 1 and forms an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex with Cullin 4 such that proteins recognized by cereblon are ubiquitinated and degraded by proteasomes [0004]; [0005]). Mainolfi teaches that thalidomide and lenalidomide, cereblon binders, are associated with teratogenicity and cytotoxicity, respectively ([0006]) and thus new cereblon ligands are needed ([0007]). Mainolfi specifically teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]), which has activity of 10-100 uM (page 224).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the POI ligand (
) of Zhong to (1) be an 7-azaindole core as taught by both Zhong (
) and Linney (
) to optimize potency; (2) to utilize the fused phenyl-piperidine of Zhong as the exit vector as taught by Vara (
); (3) to optimize the potency of the POI ligand by capitalizing on hydrophobic interactions by moving the di-substituted amide of
from the ortho-position of the phenyl to the para-position; (4) to include a linker as taught by Jin (
) and orient the piperazine toward the E3 ligase ligand instead of the POI ligand as taught by Jin (with Compound 18); and (5) to incorporate a minimalist cereblon linker that lacks teratogenic effects as taught by Mainolfi (
) to arrive at Compound 6:
(a compound of Formula (I)). One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Zhong teaches HPK1 inhibitors having general structures:
and
,
-Zhong teaches that HPK1 (also known as MAP4K1) is a protein kinase that is predominantly expressed in lymphoid organs/tissues and in all cell types in the hematopoietic compartment,
-Zhong teaches that the ATP-binding site of HPK1 includes Lys-46 and that mutation of Lys-46 to methionine abolishes catalytic activation of HPK1,
-Zhong teaches that HPK1 plays dual and opposite roles in JNK activation and TCR signaling,
-Zhong teaches that HPK1 can also control antitumor immunity via T- and B-lymphocyte-dependent mechanisms and that adoptive transfer of HPK1 deficient T cells were more effective in controlling tumor growth and metastasis than wild-type T cells,
-Zhong teaches that bone marrow-derived dendritic cells from HPK1 knockout mice were more efficient to mount a T cell response to eradicate Lewis lung carcinoma as compared to wild-type bone marrow-derived dendritic cells,
-Zhong teaches Example 38:
and Example 50:
,
-Linney teaches HPK1 inhibitors in the recent patent literature,
-Linney teaches that HPK1 is a negative regulator of T-cell function and that inhibition of HPK1 leads to increased T-cell proliferation and cytokine production and thus is an attractive approach for the immunotherapy of cancer,
-Linney teaches the importance of the hinge binding to Cys91 and Glu93 residues in the binding of HPK1 ligand/inhibitor to HPK1,
-Linney teaches Compound 37:
, which the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent,
-Vara teaches HPK1 inhibitors and structure-activity-relationships (SAR) around an inhibitor scaffold,
-Vara teaches that HPK1 inhibition is able to circumvent potential immune-evasive events via potentiation of T cell-mediated killing of tumor cells,
-Vara teaches the generic formula modeled in a schematic of the binding pocket:
(Figure 2) as well as crystal structures of compounds of interest in the binding pocket of HPK1 (Figure 3),
-Vara investigates the SAR surrounding the ortho-substitution of the phenyl ring in the eastern fragment,
-Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions,
-Jin teaches HPK1 degraders and that the HPK1 degraders therein are expected to overcome resistance that is inherent to HPK1 inhibitors regardless of whether the resistance is due to drugs used in prior treatments or whether acquired resistance was caused by gene mutation, amplification, or otherwise,
-Jin teaches specifically teaches the degraders,
(Example 181) and
(Example 188),
-Jin teaches Example 188 (HC90-50) was selected as a lead due to activity,
-While Jin teaches that the piperazine is adjacent to the POI ligand instead of the cereblon (E3 ligase) ligand, Jin contemplates the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
; HC58-35) and that the HC58 series of HPK1 degraders were able to reduce the expression level of HPK1 protein in Jurkat T cell line by approximately 75%,
-Mainolfi teaches ligands for binding and modulating the activity of cereblon,
-Mainolfi teaches that many diseases are associated with abnormal ubiquitin-proteasome pathway , which plays a key role in the degradation of short-lived and regulatory proteins important in a variety of basis cellular processes,
-Mainolfi teaches that aberrations in the process are implicated in the pathogenesis of several diseases (both inherited and acquired) and that cereblon interacts with damaged DNA binding protein 1 and forms an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex with Cullin 4 such that proteins recognized by cereblon are ubiquitinated and degraded by proteasomes,
-Mainolfi teaches that thalidomide and lenalidomide, cereblon binders, are associated with teratogenicity and cytotoxicity, respectively and thus new cereblon ligands are needed, and
-Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20), which has activity of 10-100 uM.
Further, structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved
properties. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 1558, 34 USPQ2d 1210, 1214 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Additionally, structural similarities have been found to support a prima facie case of obviousness. See, e.g., In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1093- 95, 197 USPQ 601, 610-11 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers); In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 460, 195 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1977) (adjacent homologs and structural isomers); In re Hoch, 428 F.2d 1341, 1344, 166 USPQ 406, 409 (CCPA 1970) (acid and ethyl ester); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 240, 138 USPQ 39, 41 (CCPA 1963) (omission of methyl group from pyrazole ring). Generally, some teaching of a structural similarity will be necessary to suggest selection of the claimed species or subgenus. The closer the physical and/or chemical similarities between the claimed species or subgenus and any exemplary species or subgenus disclosed in the prior art, the greater the expectation that the claimed subject matter will function in an equivalent manner to the genus. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1904 (and cases cited therein). See MPEP § 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). As the compound of Zhong, Linney, and Vara differs from the elected species of the claimed invention via a methyl, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to have similar properties and thus would contemplate making them to try and obtain compounds with improved properties. Thus, the combination of Zhong, Linney, and Vara teaches the inhibitor,
.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to predictably arrive at a compound of Formula (I):
.
Regarding claim 5, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]).
Regarding claim 6, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]).
Regarding claim 9, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]), wherein R8 is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L1 is *L1-C2H4C(O)-**L1.
Regarding claim 12, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L1 is *L1-C2H4C(O)-**L1.
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L2 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L2 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L3 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 16, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L3 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 17, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that
is a piperazine.
Regarding claim 18, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that the linker is
.
Regarding claim 26, Zhong specifically teaches
(Example 38, page 233). Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions (Figure 2, page 655; Figure 6, page 658). Thus, the combination of Zhong and Vara teaches
.
Regarding claim 28, Zhong teaches
(Example 38, page 233) and
(Example 50, page 242), wherein R5 and R6 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 31, Zhong teaches
(Example 38, page 233) and
(Example 50, page 242), wherein X1 is -CH2- and X2 is -CH2CH2-.
Regarding claim 35, Zhong teaches
(Example 38, page 233) and
(Example 50, page 242). Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions (Figure 2, page 655; Figure 6, page 658). Thus, the combination of Zhong and Vara teaches
. Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that the linker is
. Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]). Thus, the combination of Zhong, Linney, Vara, Jin, and Mianolfi teaches Compound 6:
.
Regarding claim 36, Zhong teaches compositions of the compounds therein (page 9, paragraph 7). Additionally, Jin teaches compositions of the degraders therein (page 1, lines 5-9), and Mainolfi teaches compositions thereof (abstract).
Double Patenting
3. Claim 1, 5-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 16, and 25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,454,534 in view of Linney (Exp. Opin. Therap. Patents¸ 2021, 31(10), 893-910), Vara (ACS Med. Chem. Lett., 2021, 12, 653-661), Jin (WO 2020/227325, published 5 May 2020, see IDS filed 21 May 2024), and Mainolfi (WO2019/140387, published 14 Jan 2019).
U.S. Patent No. 12,454,534 teaches compounds of Formula (I):
and specifically teaches the compound,
(claims 1, 16, and 25).
Regarding claim 1, ‘534 fails to teach an HPK1 degrader.
Linney teaches HPK1 inhibitors in the recent patent literature (abstract). Linney teaches that HPK1 is a negative regulator of T-cell function and that inhibition of HPK1 leads to increased T-cell proliferation and cytokine production and thus is an attractive approach for the immunotherapy of cancer (page 893, column 2, paragraph 2; page 894, column 1, paragraph 1). Linney teaches the importance of the hinge binding to Cys91 and Glu93 residues in the binding of HPK1 ligand/inhibitor to HPK1 (page 895, column 1, paragraph 2; Figure 2). Linney specifically teaches Compound 37:
(Figure 8, page 899), wherein the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent (figure 8, page 899).
Vara teaches HPK1 inhibitors and structure-activity-relationships (SAR) around an inhibitor scaffold (abstract). Vara teaches that HPK1 inhibition is able to circumvent potential immune-evasive events via potentiation of T cell-mediated killing of tumor cells (page 653, column 1, paragraph 1; page 653, column 2, paragraph 1). Vara teaches the generic formula modeled in a schematic of the binding pocket:
(Figure 2) as well as crystal structures of compounds of interest in the binding pocket of HPK1 (Figure 3). Vara investigates the SAR surrounding the ortho-substitution of the phenyl ring in the eastern fragment (Tables 2 and 4). Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions (Figure 2, page 655; Figure 6, page 658).
Jin teaches HPK1 degraders and that the HPK1 degraders therein are expected to overcome resistance that is inherent to HPK1 inhibitors regardless of whether the resistance is due to drugs used in prior treatments or whether acquired resistance was caused by gene mutation, amplification, or otherwise (page 1, lines 5-8; page 1, lines 18-21). Jin specifically teaches the degraders,
(Example 181, page 381) and
(Example 188, page 382). Jin specifically teaches that Example 188 (HC90-50) was selected as a lead due to activity (Example 351, page 413). While Jin teaches that the piperazine is adjacent to the POI ligand instead of the cereblon (E3 ligase) ligand, Jin contemplates the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357) and that the HC58 series of HPK1 degraders were able to reduce the expression level of HPK1 protein in Jurkat T cell line by approximately 75% (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A).
Mainolfi teaches ligands for binding and modulating the activity of cereblon ([0001]). Mainolfi teaches that many diseases are associated with abnormal ubiquitin-proteasome pathway , which plays a key role in the degradation of short-lived and regulatory proteins important in a variety of basis cellular processes ([0002]-[0003]). Mainolfi teaches that aberrations in the process are implicated in the pathogenesis of several diseases (both inherited and acquired) and that cereblon interacts with damaged DNA binding protein 1 and forms an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex with Cullin 4 such that proteins recognized by cereblon are ubiquitinated and degraded by proteasomes [0004]; [0005]). Mainolfi teaches that thalidomide and lenalidomide, cereblon binders, are associated with teratogenicity and cytotoxicity, respectively ([0006]) and thus new cereblon ligands are needed ([0007]). Mainolfi specifically teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]), which has activity of 10-100 uM (page 224).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the POI ligand (
) of ‘534 to (1) be an 7-azaindole core as taught by ‘ Linney (
) to optimize potency; (2) to utilize the fused phenyl-piperidine of ‘534 as the exit vector as taught by Vara (
); (3) to include a linker as taught by Jin (
) and orient the piperazine toward the E3 ligase ligand instead of the POI ligand as taught by Jin (with Compound 18); and (4) to incorporate a minimalist cereblon linker that lacks teratogenic effects as taught by Mainolfi (
) to arrive at Compound 6:
(a compound of Formula (I)). One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘534 teaches compounds of Formula (I):
,
-‘534 teaches the compound,
,
-Linney teaches HPK1 inhibitors in the recent patent literature,
-Linney teaches that HPK1 is a negative regulator of T-cell function and that inhibition of HPK1 leads to increased T-cell proliferation and cytokine production and thus is an attractive approach for the immunotherapy of cancer,
-Linney teaches the importance of the hinge binding to Cys91 and Glu93 residues in the binding of HPK1 ligand/inhibitor to HPK1,
-Linney teaches Compound 37:
, which the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent,
-Vara teaches HPK1 inhibitors and structure-activity-relationships (SAR) around an inhibitor scaffold,
-Vara teaches that HPK1 inhibition is able to circumvent potential immune-evasive events via potentiation of T cell-mediated killing of tumor cells,
-Vara teaches the generic formula modeled in a schematic of the binding pocket:
(Figure 2) as well as crystal structures of compounds of interest in the binding pocket of HPK1 (Figure 3),
-Vara investigates the SAR surrounding the ortho-substitution of the phenyl ring in the eastern fragment,
-Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions,
-Jin teaches HPK1 degraders and that the HPK1 degraders therein are expected to overcome resistance that is inherent to HPK1 inhibitors regardless of whether the resistance is due to drugs used in prior treatments or whether acquired resistance was caused by gene mutation, amplification, or otherwise,
-Jin teaches specifically teaches the degraders,
(Example 181) and
(Example 188),
-Jin teaches Example 188 (HC90-50) was selected as a lead due to activity,
-While Jin teaches that the piperazine is adjacent to the POI ligand instead of the cereblon (E3 ligase) ligand, Jin contemplates the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
; HC58-35) and that the HC58 series of HPK1 degraders were able to reduce the expression level of HPK1 protein in Jurkat T cell line by approximately 75%,
-Mainolfi teaches ligands for binding and modulating the activity of cereblon,
-Mainolfi teaches that many diseases are associated with abnormal ubiquitin-proteasome pathway , which plays a key role in the degradation of short-lived and regulatory proteins important in a variety of basis cellular processes,
-Mainolfi teaches that aberrations in the process are implicated in the pathogenesis of several diseases (both inherited and acquired) and that cereblon interacts with damaged DNA binding protein 1 and forms an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex with Cullin 4 such that proteins recognized by cereblon are ubiquitinated and degraded by proteasomes,
-Mainolfi teaches that thalidomide and lenalidomide, cereblon binders, are associated with teratogenicity and cytotoxicity, respectively and thus new cereblon ligands are needed, and
-Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20), which has activity of 10-100 mM.
Further, structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved
properties. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 1558, 34 USPQ2d 1210, 1214 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Additionally, structural similarities have been found to support a prima facie case of obviousness. See, e.g., In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1093- 95, 197 USPQ 601, 610-11 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers); In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 460, 195 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1977) (adjacent homologs and structural isomers); In re Hoch, 428 F.2d 1341, 1344, 166 USPQ 406, 409 (CCPA 1970) (acid and ethyl ester); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 240, 138 USPQ 39, 41 (CCPA 1963) (omission of methyl group from pyrazole ring). Generally, some teaching of a structural similarity will be necessary to suggest selection of the claimed species or subgenus. The closer the physical and/or chemical similarities between the claimed species or subgenus and any exemplary species or subgenus disclosed in the prior art, the greater the expectation that the claimed subject matter will function in an equivalent manner to the genus. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1904 (and cases cited therein). See MPEP § 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). As the compound of ‘534, Linney, and Vara differs from the elected species of the claimed invention via a methyl, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to have similar properties and thus would contemplate making them to try and obtain compounds with improved properties. Thus, the combination of ‘534, Linney, and Vara teaches the inhibitor,
.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to predictably arrive at a compound of Formula (I):
.
Regarding claim 5, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]).
Regarding claim 6, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]).
Regarding claim 9, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]), wherein R8 is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L1 is *L1-C2H4C(O)-**L1.
Regarding claim 12, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L1 is *L1-C2H4C(O)-**L1.
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L2 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L2 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L3 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 16, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L3 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 17, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that
is a piperazine.
Regarding claim 18, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that the linker is
.
Regarding claim 26, ‘534 teaches the compound,
(claims 1, 16, and 25), which teaches
.
Regarding claim 28, ‘534 teaches the compound,
(claims 1, 16, and 25), wherein R5 and R6 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 31, ‘534 teaches the compound,
(claims 1, 16, and 25), wherein X1 is -CH2- and X2 is -CH2CH2-.
Regarding claim 35, ‘534 teaches the compound,
(claims 1, 16, and 25). Linney specifically teaches Compound 37:
(Figure 8, page 899), wherein the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent (figure 8, page 899). Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that the linker is
. Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]). Thus, the combination of ‘534, Linney, Vara, Jin, and Mianolfi teaches Compound 6:
.
4. Claim 1, 5-6, 9, 11-18, 26, 28, 31, and 35-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, and 12 of U.S. Application No. 18/924,058 in view of Linney (Exp. Opin. Therap. Patents¸ 2021, 31(10), 893-910), Vara (ACS Med. Chem. Lett., 2021, 12, 653-661), Jin (WO 2020/227325, published 5 May 2020, see IDS filed 21 May 2024), and Mainolfi (WO2019/140387, published 14 Jan 2019).
U.S. Application No. 18/924,058 teaches compounds of Formula (I):
and compositions thereof (claims 1, 4, and 12).
Regarding claim 1, ‘058 fails to teach an HPK1 degrader.
Linney teaches HPK1 inhibitors in the recent patent literature (abstract). Linney teaches that HPK1 is a negative regulator of T-cell function and that inhibition of HPK1 leads to increased T-cell proliferation and cytokine production and thus is an attractive approach for the immunotherapy of cancer (page 893, column 2, paragraph 2; page 894, column 1, paragraph 1). Linney teaches the importance of the hinge binding to Cys91 and Glu93 residues in the binding of HPK1 ligand/inhibitor to HPK1 (page 895, column 1, paragraph 2; Figure 2). Linney specifically teaches Compound 37:
(Figure 8, page 899), wherein the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent (figure 8, page 899).
Vara teaches HPK1 inhibitors and structure-activity-relationships (SAR) around an inhibitor scaffold (abstract). Vara teaches that HPK1 inhibition is able to circumvent potential immune-evasive events via potentiation of T cell-mediated killing of tumor cells (page 653, column 1, paragraph 1; page 653, column 2, paragraph 1). Vara teaches the generic formula modeled in a schematic of the binding pocket:
(Figure 2) as well as crystal structures of compounds of interest in the binding pocket of HPK1 (Figure 3). Vara investigates the SAR surrounding the ortho-substitution of the phenyl ring in the eastern fragment (Tables 2 and 4). Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions (Figure 2, page 655; Figure 6, page 658).
Jin teaches HPK1 degraders and that the HPK1 degraders therein are expected to overcome resistance that is inherent to HPK1 inhibitors regardless of whether the resistance is due to drugs used in prior treatments or whether acquired resistance was caused by gene mutation, amplification, or otherwise (page 1, lines 5-8; page 1, lines 18-21). Jin specifically teaches the degraders,
(Example 181, page 381) and
(Example 188, page 382). Jin specifically teaches that Example 188 (HC90-50) was selected as a lead due to activity (Example 351, page 413). While Jin teaches that the piperazine is adjacent to the POI ligand instead of the cereblon (E3 ligase) ligand, Jin contemplates the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357) and that the HC58 series of HPK1 degraders were able to reduce the expression level of HPK1 protein in Jurkat T cell line by approximately 75% (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A).
Mainolfi teaches ligands for binding and modulating the activity of cereblon ([0001]). Mainolfi teaches that many diseases are associated with abnormal ubiquitin-proteasome pathway , which plays a key role in the degradation of short-lived and regulatory proteins important in a variety of basis cellular processes ([0002]-[0003]). Mainolfi teaches that aberrations in the process are implicated in the pathogenesis of several diseases (both inherited and acquired) and that cereblon interacts with damaged DNA binding protein 1 and forms an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex with Cullin 4 such that proteins recognized by cereblon are ubiquitinated and degraded by proteasomes [0004]; [0005]). Mainolfi teaches that thalidomide and lenalidomide, cereblon binders, are associated with teratogenicity and cytotoxicity, respectively ([0006]) and thus new cereblon ligands are needed ([0007]). Mainolfi specifically teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]), which has activity of 10-100 uM (page 224).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the POI ligand (
) of ‘058 to (1) be an 7-azaindole core as taught by Linney (
) to optimize potency; (2) to utilize the fused phenyl-piperidine of ‘058 as the exit vector as taught by Vara (
); (3) to include a linker as taught by Jin (
) and orient the piperazine toward the E3 ligase ligand instead of the POI ligand as taught by Jin (with Compound 18); and (4) to incorporate a minimalist cereblon linker that lacks teratogenic effects as taught by Mainolfi (
) to arrive at Compound 6:
(a compound of Formula (I)). One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘058 teaches compounds of Formula (I):
and compositions thereof,
-Linney teaches HPK1 inhibitors in the recent patent literature,
-Linney teaches that HPK1 is a negative regulator of T-cell function and that inhibition of HPK1 leads to increased T-cell proliferation and cytokine production and thus is an attractive approach for the immunotherapy of cancer,
-Linney teaches the importance of the hinge binding to Cys91 and Glu93 residues in the binding of HPK1 ligand/inhibitor to HPK1,
-Linney teaches Compound 37:
, which the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent,
-Vara teaches HPK1 inhibitors and structure-activity-relationships (SAR) around an inhibitor scaffold,
-Vara teaches that HPK1 inhibition is able to circumvent potential immune-evasive events via potentiation of T cell-mediated killing of tumor cells,
-Vara teaches the generic formula modeled in a schematic of the binding pocket:
(Figure 2) as well as crystal structures of compounds of interest in the binding pocket of HPK1 (Figure 3),
-Vara investigates the SAR surrounding the ortho-substitution of the phenyl ring in the eastern fragment,
-Vara teaches Compound 27 in the binding pocket and shows that there is room for substitution at the para-position of the phenyl ring to capitalize on hydrophobic interactions,
-Jin teaches HPK1 degraders and that the HPK1 degraders therein are expected to overcome resistance that is inherent to HPK1 inhibitors regardless of whether the resistance is due to drugs used in prior treatments or whether acquired resistance was caused by gene mutation, amplification, or otherwise,
-Jin teaches specifically teaches the degraders,
(Example 181) and
(Example 188),
-Jin teaches Example 188 (HC90-50) was selected as a lead due to activity,
-While Jin teaches that the piperazine is adjacent to the POI ligand instead of the cereblon (E3 ligase) ligand, Jin contemplates the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
; HC58-35) and that the HC58 series of HPK1 degraders were able to reduce the expression level of HPK1 protein in Jurkat T cell line by approximately 75%,
-Mainolfi teaches ligands for binding and modulating the activity of cereblon,
-Mainolfi teaches that many diseases are associated with abnormal ubiquitin-proteasome pathway , which plays a key role in the degradation of short-lived and regulatory proteins important in a variety of basis cellular processes,
-Mainolfi teaches that aberrations in the process are implicated in the pathogenesis of several diseases (both inherited and acquired) and that cereblon interacts with damaged DNA binding protein 1 and forms an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex with Cullin 4 such that proteins recognized by cereblon are ubiquitinated and degraded by proteasomes,
-Mainolfi teaches that thalidomide and lenalidomide, cereblon binders, are associated with teratogenicity and cytotoxicity, respectively and thus new cereblon ligands are needed, and
-Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20), which has activity of 10-100 uM.
Further, structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved
properties. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 1558, 34 USPQ2d 1210, 1214 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Additionally, structural similarities have been found to support a prima facie case of obviousness. See, e.g., In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1093- 95, 197 USPQ 601, 610-11 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers); In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 460, 195 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1977) (adjacent homologs and structural isomers); In re Hoch, 428 F.2d 1341, 1344, 166 USPQ 406, 409 (CCPA 1970) (acid and ethyl ester); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 240, 138 USPQ 39, 41 (CCPA 1963) (omission of methyl group from pyrazole ring). Generally, some teaching of a structural similarity will be necessary to suggest selection of the claimed species or subgenus. The closer the physical and/or chemical similarities between the claimed species or subgenus and any exemplary species or subgenus disclosed in the prior art, the greater the expectation that the claimed subject matter will function in an equivalent manner to the genus. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1904 (and cases cited therein). See MPEP § 2144.08(II)(A)(4)(c). As the compound of ‘058, Linney, and Vara differs from the elected species of the claimed invention via a methyl, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to have similar properties and thus would contemplate making them to try and obtain compounds with improved properties. Thus, the combination of ‘058, Linney, and Vara teaches the inhibitor,
.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to predictably arrive at a compound of Formula (I):
.
Regarding claim 5, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]).
Regarding claim 6, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]).
Regarding claim 9, Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]), wherein R8 is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L1 is *L1-C2H4C(O)-**L1.
Regarding claim 12, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L1 is *L1-C2H4C(O)-**L1.
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L2 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L2 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L3 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 16, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that L3 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 17, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that
is a piperazine.
Regarding claim 18, Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that the linker is
.
Regarding claim 26, ‘058 teaches the compound,
(claims 1 and 4), which teaches
.
Regarding claim 28, ‘058 teaches the compound,
(claims 1 and 4), wherein R5 and R6 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 31, ‘058 teaches the compound,
(claims 1 and 4), wherein X1 is -CH2- and X2 is -CH2CH2-.
Regarding claim 35, ‘058 teaches the compound,
(claims 1 and 4). Linney specifically teaches Compound 37:
(Figure 8, page 899), wherein the red atoms are the putative hinge binder, the amide (western fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the P loop, and the phenyl fragment (eastern fragment) comprises the proposed substituents toward the solvent (figure 8, page 899). Jin teaches Example 188:
(page 382). Additionally, Jin teaches the piperazine adjacent to the E3 ligase ligand in other compounds, such as Compound 18 (
, HC58-35; page 357), which showed good activity in Jurkats (Example 348, page 412; Figure 1A). Accordingly, Jin teaches that the linker is
. Mainolfi teaches the cereblon binder,
(I-20, Example 8, [00383]). Thus, the combination of ‘058, Linney, Vara, Jin, and Mianolfi teaches Compound 6:
.
Regarding claim 36, ‘058 teaches a composition of the compound,
(claims 1, 4, and 12).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622