DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 recites “The method of claim 22”. This appears to be a typographical error and should recite –The method of claim 23--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of co-pending Application No. 18/215,506. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the co-pending application the only difference is the co-pending application recites the additional limitation of “at least one extension bore…including a non-threaded portion” which is not recited in the current application. However, the co-pending application recites all the claim language of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parsons US 4640495.
Parsons discloses a saddle and extension assembly for a floor jack (see fig. 4 above) comprising: a jack saddle (58, 60) fastened to a mounting bracket of a lifting arm (56); an extension (16) including a flange (64, 66) and an extension saddle (68, 72, 74); at least one extension bore (77), formed off-center a central axis of the extension and the jack saddle and including a threaded portion (Fig. 2 below); and at least one extension fastener (76) operable to engage with the at least one extension bore to fasten the extension to the jack saddle (58).
As for claim 23, Parsons discloses a method of attaching an extension assembly (16) and extension saddle onto a floor jack (12, 14), comprising: providing a floor jack (12, 14) with a mounting bracket (58), the mounting bracket pivotally coupled (see Fig. 3) to an end of a lifting arm (56) of the floor jack; providing a jack saddle (58, 60) mounted to the mounting bracket; providing an extension (16); placing the extension onto the jack saddle (see Fig. 2); aligning at least one extension bore (77); providing at least one extension fastener (76); and inserting the at least one extension fastener into the at least one extension bore (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 24, Parsons discloses wherein: the at least one extension bore (77) comprises a first extension bore (77) and a second extension bore (77), and the at least one extension fastener (76) comprises a first extension fastener (76) and a second extension fastener (76); the method further comprising: inserting the first extension fastener (76) into the first extension bore (77) and engaging the first extension fastener with a threaded portion of the first extension bore; and inserting the second extension fastener into the second extension bore and engaging the second extension fastener with a threaded portion of the second extension bore (col. 6, lines 27-37).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Orr US 2748459.
Orr discloses a saddle and extension assembly for a floor jack (see fig. 1 above) comprising: a jack saddle (26) fastened to a mounting bracket of a lifting arm (27); an extension (shown in Fig. 4 and 5 below) including a flange (10) and an extension saddle (11; 14, 15, 16); at least one extension bore (not shown aligns with holes 22, 23 and 24, col. 2, lines 55-58), formed off-center a central axis of the extension and the jack saddle and including a threaded portion (Fig. 2); and at least one extension fastener (29) operable to engage with the at least one extension bore to fasten the extension to the jack saddle (col. 2, lines 55-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons US 4640495.
As for claim 7, Parsons discloses wherein: the flange (64) further comprises a first telescoping member (66); and the extension saddle (68, 72, 74) further comprises a second telescoping member (68), wherein: the second telescoping member (68) is operable to be received on the first telescoping member (66) of the flange. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, as a mere reversal of parts to provide the second telescoping member to be received in the first telescoping member as claimed (see In reGazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims in the application are deemed to be directed to a nonobvious improvement over the prior art. The claims recite method steps of adjusting a height adjustment mechanism on the extension, the height adjustment mechanism being operable to adjust a height and a rotation of the extension saddle relative to a flange (claim 25); and removing the extension from a storage assembly operable, wherein the storage assembly is to be stored on the body of the floor jack in a stored configuration (claims 26-27).
The prior art of Parsons teaches a laterally adjusted mechanism (70) for adjusting the brackets (68) relative to bracket (66) . The prior art of Orr teaches a height adjustable bracket (11, 12) for adjusting the bracket (12) relative to a fixed bracket (11). However, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest alone or in combination a height adjustment mechanism operable to adjust a rotation of the extension saddle relative to the flange. The prior art of record also fails to disclose, teach or suggest alone or in combination the claimed stored configuration and storage assembly as recited in the claims. For the above reasons, the claims overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723