DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 10 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 contains the trademark/trade name ZAL-45. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the type of ceramic material used and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 6716275 to Reed et al. (Reed).
With regard to claim 1, Reed discloses a fluid delivery tubing (Reed, abstract) for a high-temperature system (abstract, “used for high temperature gas separating processes”), the tubing comprising:
a ceramic wall (10, fig. 2, column 3, lines 58-63) comprising a low thermal conductivity porous composition (column 3, lines 45-57); and
an impermeable coating (12, fig. 2, column 3, lines 61-63) sealing the ceramic wall, wherein the impermeable coating has a thickness of less than or equal to 200 microns (column 7, lines 11-13 – 0.001-0.005 inches which is less than or equal to 200 microns).
With regard to claim 2, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the impermeable coating has a thickness of less than or equal to 100 microns (column 7, lines 11-13).
With regard to claim 3, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the ceramic wall defines an inner surface and an outer surface (shown in fig. 2, the ceramic wall has both inner and outer surfaces), wherein the impermeable coating is deposited on one or both of the inner surface or the outer surface (shown in fig. 2, the impermeable coating is deposited on the outer surface).
With regard to claim 5, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 3 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the impermeable coating is deposited on only the outer surface (shown in fig. 2).
With regard to claim 6, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein a matrix of the impermeable coating is nonporous (after processing the fused glass of the impermeable coating is nonporous).
With regard to claim 7, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the impermeable coating has a density higher than that of the ceramic wall (the porous material of the ceramic is less dense than the impermeable layer after hardening of the impermeable coating).
With regard to claim 8, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the ceramic wall comprises at least one of silicon carbide, zirconia, alumina, silica, or mullite (column 3, lines 45-57).
With regard to claim 11, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the impermeable coating comprises a ceramic or a glass (column 5, lines 14-16).
With regard to claim 12, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the impermeable coating has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that differs from a CTE of the ceramic wall by less than or equal to 1 ppm/ºC (claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 6716275 to Reed et al. (Reed).
With regard to claim 4, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 3 as set forth above, but does not further disclose wherein the impermeable coating is deposited on only the inner surface.
Reed discloses dipping the tubular ceramic into a solvent and glass mixture as one method of applying the impermeable coating. Reed also discloses other methods of application including spin coating (column 7, lines 17-20). When the pipe size is sufficiently large that dipping does not evenly distribute the glass particles, the spin coating approach can be used. In that scenario, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the impermeable coating first only on the inner surface prior to using one of the other disclosed methods to apply a coating to the outside of the ceramic pipe.
With regard to claim 9 and in view of the 112 rejection set forth above and in the interests of compact prosecution, the ZAL-45 limitation is considered to require only a commercially available alumina, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, but fails to further disclose wherein the ceramic wall comprises ZAL-45 alumina. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the tubing of Reed with a ceramic wall material made of commercially available material such as ZAL-45 in order to avoid the expensive production cost of creating such tubular members stock materials.
With regard to claim 10, Reed discloses the tubing of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not further disclose wherein the ceramic wall has a thermal conductivity of less than 0.5 W/mK.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to choose a ceramic material that has a thermal conductivity that is very low in order to allow use in elevated temperature applications. The rate of less than 0.5 W/mK would be a desirable target in order to ensure the final product was capable of use in its field of intended use of high temperature applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 11395988 discloses a ceramic material with a double skin membrane. USPNs 2005/0067038 and 2010/0040934 disclose similar alumina ceramic tubular member.
/DAVID R DEAL/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753