Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 11, in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites two alternative steps. Claims 3-7 which depend from claim 1 recite additional limitations to the alternative step but never specifically require either the pretreatment or the partial dezincification steps. For clarity, it is suggested that applicant positively recite the step is required. For search and examination, claims 3-7 have been examined with each of the recitations being required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 102962072 (references are made to the provided machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, CN 102962072 discloses flaky copper zinc alloy promoter catalyst (Abstract, Description page 1). The CN reference further teaches a surface pretreatment step (page 2 and page 3, step (4)).
Regarding claim 11, the final product is a copper zinc alloy catalyst particle. It is the position of the examiner that the starting material would not impact the final product as claimed. It is noted that the particles are not limited by size or composition.
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 102728368 (references are made to the provided machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, CN 102962072 discloses a brass composite powder co-catalyst (Abstract). The CN reference further teaches a method of preparing a brass copper zinc alloy (Claim 1, steps 1 and 2) followed by a aging (heat treatment), grinding and sieving to form a copper zinc alloy co-catalyst (Claim 1, steps 3 and 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, after step 2 of the method disclosed by the CN reference, the copper zinc alloy particles are prepared from brass (claim 1 and Abstract). It is noted that the particles are not limited by size or composition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach the specific ultrasonic cleaning step required by claims 3-5 or the partial dezincification step required by claims 6-7.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742