DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 herein acted on the merits.
Priority
This Application filed on 01/25/2024 is a CON of PAT 11918572 filed on 01/27/2023 which has a PRO 63/267,256 filed on 01/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 11/18/25 and 12/19/25, is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-20 over Nanjing et al. (CN 113827547 A - IDS)) is not persuasive. The rejection is herewith maintained. Applicant argues the reference does not teach nerve block for at least 72 hours as now claimed.
The Examiner points out Nanjing et al. teaches “a preparation provided by the invention is applied in a single dose, and the contained dose can achieve the effects of relieving pain and blocking nerves, and can be used for preventing or relieving local pain.” “The formulation continues to be effective for at least 48 to 72 hours after administration. In some embodiments, the formulation is administered for at least 72 hours after effective treatment is continued.” The arguments are not persuasive.
The Applicant has not made any arguments against the ODP rejection of record. The rejection is herewith maintained.
The newly modified rejections are as below addressing the claim amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 10500281 B2)).
Shen et al. teaches a controlled release semi-solid pharmaceutical composition comprising the semi-solid lipid vehicle gel and a local anesthetics agent. The exemplified local anesthetics agent is bupivacaine used for sciatic nerve block. The semi-solid lipids useful in the formulation described herein are a mixture of one or more monoglycerides, diglycerides, or triglycerides. Bupivacaine can be readily converted to a salt with saturated or unsaturated fatty acids such as lauric acid, myristic acid, palmitic acid, and oleic acid. In addition, polyglyceryl esters with an HLB value of less than 4 and molecular weight of less than 2,000 Dalton (Da), such as polyglyceryl-2-diisostearate (HLB=3.8), polyglyceryl-10-decaoleate (HLB=3.5), or polyglyceryl ester of mixed vegetable fatty acids (HLB=2.5), are also useful semi-solid vehicle. The formulation provide a sustained drug release over a period of days to a month resulting in increased duration of pharmacological action, and reduced frequency of drug administration. The formulation has shear thinning properties ( of a fluid or gel material when mixed or agitated).
While the reference teaches the composition of the claims, the reference fails to teach the weight ratios, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use of bupivacaine, the lipophilic oil, structuring agents in the claimed amounts. The motivation to use bupivacaine, the lipophilic oil, structuring agents in the amounts claimed is because Shen teaches a long-acting local anesthetic that could safely release pain medication over two to four days that truly relieve pain without systemic side effects would potentially provide a significant advantage over the leading drugs used to treat post-operative pain. Hence, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results. Additionally, since the general conditions of the claim are taught in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable amounts of bupivacaine, the lipophilic oil, structuring agents involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 10500281 B2)), as applied to claims 1-14, in view of Nanjing et al. (CN 113827547 A - IDS)).
Shen et al. is as discussed above.
Shen et al. fails to teach the castor oil as claimed.
Nanjing et al. teaches a pharmaceutical composition (Pg. 4 Para 1) a sustained-release preparation composition; (Pg. 10 Para 1) made of different liquid oils ( table 4-1) comprising: a lipophilic oil (Pg. 4 Para 8 a. liquid oil; Pg. 19 Para 4 ) Different natural vegetable oils and synthetic oil medium chain triglycerides are selected for study, a therapeutic agent, salt, ion pair thereof, or prodrug thereof dispersed in the lipophilic oil (Pg. 16 Para 1 mixing liquid oil, gelator, ropivacaine, the meloxicam concentrated solution and benzyl alcohol at 70, heating while stirring until a transparent and uniform solution is formed} and a structuring agent (Pg. 4 Para 8 .b. At least one pharmaceutically acceptable gelator, Pg. 5 Para 3) The gelator is selected from glyceryl distearate (at least a portion of which Is not dissolved in the lipophilic oil and forms a gel (Pg. 10 Para 1) Example 4 Oleogel compositions containing different liquid oils: Pg. 8 Para 4 The term oleogel refers to a thermally reversible, semi-solid dispersion with certain viscoelasticity resulting from the addition of a gelator to a liquid. The reference teaches the lipophilic oil comprises a monoglyceride, diglyceride, triglyceride, medium-chain triglyceride oil, sesame oil, soybean oil, castor oil, vegetable oil, tributyrin oil, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8, a. liquid oil Pg. 10 Para 1) The reference teaches different natural vegetable oils and synthetic oil medium chain triglycerides.
Nanjing teacehs the triglyceride is 4 saturated triglyceride, a monounsaturated triglyceride, or a polyunsaturated triglyceride (Pg. 10 Para 4 different natural vegetable oils and synthetic oil medium chain triglycerides are taught). Nanjing teaches the pharmaceutical composition wherein the triglyceride comprises a medium-chain triglyceride, a short-chain triglyceride, long-chain triglyceride, or a mixture thereof (Fig. 10 Para 1) and (Pg. 10 Para 7). Nanjing teaches the structuring agent comprises tristearin, glyceryl distearate, glycerol monostearate, glyceryldibehenate, cholesterol, trimyristin, glyceryl dimyristin, glyceryl monomyristin, trilaurin, glyceryl dilaurin, glyceryl monolaurin, tripalmitin, glyceryl dipalmitin, glyceryl monopalmitin, cholesterol, a polyglyceride ester of a fatty acid, a polyglycerol ester of a fatty acid, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8). Nanjing teaches the pharmaceutical composition structuring agent comprises glycerol monostearate, glyceryl distearate, tristearin, glycerol rmonopalmitin, glycerol dipalmitin, tripalmitin, glycerol monomyristin, glycerol dimyristin, trimyristin, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8).
Nanjing teaches the therapeutic agent comprises an analgesic agent, anesthetic agent, anti-inflammatory agent, a sympaitholytic agent, an anxiolytic agent, a cannabinoid, or a mixture thereof dispersed in the Hpophilic oil (Pg. 10 Para 7 mixing liquid oll, gelator, ropivacaine, the meloxicam concentrated solution and benzyl aicohal at 70, heating while stirring until a fansparent and uniform solution is formed; See instant Specification Para [0042] Non-limiting examples of COX-2 inhibitors can include... meloxicam}. Nanjing teaches the analgesic agent, anesthetic agent, or both present in arnount sufficient to reduce pain in a subject (Pg. 7 Para 27) The preparation provided by the invention is applied in a single dose, and the contained dose can achieve the effects of relieving pain and nerves, and can be used for preventing or relieving local pain. Nanjing teaches the analgesic agent (Pg. 10 Para 1 mixing liquid oil, gelator, ropivacaine, the meloxicam concentrated solution and benzyl alcohol. heating while stirring until a transparent and uniform solution is formed; See instant Specification Para [0042] Non-limiting examples of COX-2 inhibitors can include... meloxicam). Nanjing teaches the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatary drug comprises ibuprofen, naproxen, diclofenac, mefenamis acid, indomethacin, cannabidiol, an ion pair thereof, a salt thereof, or a mixture (Pg. 5 Para 5). Nanjing teaches the anesthetic agent comprises an ester- based local anesthetic, an amide-based local anesthetic, or a prodrug, or ion pair thereof, or salt thereof, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 5 Para 5).The ester-based local anesthetic comprises procaine, amethocaine, benzocaine, tetracaine, or a prodrug, or ion pair thereof, or salt thereof, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 8 Para 5 }. Nanjing teaches the local amide-based anesthetic comprises lidocaine, prilocaine, bupivacaine, levobupivacaine, ropivacaine, mepivacaine, dibucaine, etidacaine, a prodrug, or ion pair thereof, or salt thereof, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 5 Para 8). Nanjing teaches the amide-based local anesthetic is an ion pair, or salt, comprising of bupivacaine butyrate, bupivacaine palmitate, bupivacaine laureate, bupivacaine myristate, bupivacaine stearate, bupivacaine hydroxystearate, bupivacaine oleate, bupivacaine ricinolate (anesthetic and hydrophoibic ion paring agent together), bupivacaine docusate (Pg. 5 Para 6). In some embodiments, the viscosity of the composition is in the range of 5000 to 10000cP at 30 ℃. The reference teaches sustained-release analgesic systems, has sustained and stable release of analgesic active ingredients, can be injected for administration, is suitable for stable and convenient local administration, and has good tolerance and little side effect for patients. the formulation further comprises a packaging filled with the formulation, the packaging being selected from one or more of the following: penicillin bottles, pre-filled syringes and clamping bottles, reads on the kit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use castor oil in the claimed amounts. The motivation to use castor oil in the amounts claimed is because Nanjing teaches monoglyceride, diglyceride, triglyceride, medium-chain triglyceride oil, sesame oil, soybean oil, castor oil, vegetable oil, tributyrin oil, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8, a. liquid oil Pg. 10 Para 1) are interchangeable lipophilic oils. Hence, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results. Additionally, since the general conditions of the claim are taught in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable amounts of castor oil involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nanjing et al. (CN 113827547 A - IDS)).
Nanjing et al. teaches a pharmaceutical composition (Pg. 4 Para 1) a sustained-release preparation composition; (Pg. 10 Para 1) made of different liquid oils ( table 4-1) comprising: a lipophilic oil (Pg. 4 Para 8 a. liquid oil; Pg. 19 Para 4 ) Different natural vegetable oils and synthetic oil medium chain triglycerides are selected for study, a therapeutic agent, salt, ion pair thereof, or prodrug thereof dispersed in the lipophilic oil (Pg. 16 Para 1 mixing liquid oil, gelator, ropivacaine, the meloxicam concentrated solution and benzyl alcohol at 70, heating while stirring until a transparent and uniform solution is formed} and a structuring agent (Pg. 4 Para 8 .b. At least one pharmaceutically acceptable gelator, Pg. 5 Para 3) The gelator is selected from glyceryl distearate (at least a portion of which Is not dissolved in the lipophilic oil and forms a gel (Pg. 10 Para 1) Example 4 Oleogel compositions containing different liquid oils: Pg. 8 Para 4 The term oleogel refers to a thermally reversible, semi-solid dispersion with certain viscoelasticity resulting from the addition of a gelator to a liquid. The reference teaches the lipophilic oil comprises a monoglyceride, diglyceride, triglyceride, medium-chain triglyceride oil, sesame oil, soybean oil, castor oil, vegetable oil, tributyrin oil, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8, a. liquid oil Pg. 10 Para 1) The reference teaches different natural vegetable oils and synthetic oil medium chain triglycerides.
Nanjing teaches the triglyceride is 4 saturated triglyceride, a monounsaturated triglyceride, or a polyunsaturated triglyceride (Pg. 10 Para 4 different natural vegetable oils and synthetic oil medium chain triglycerides are taught). Nanjing teaches the pharmaceutical composition wherein the triglyceride comprises a medium-chain triglyceride, a short-chain triglyceride, long-chain triglyceride, or a mixture thereof (Fig. 10 Para 1) and (Pg. 10 Para 7). Nanjing teaches the structuring agent comprises tristearin, glyceryl distearate, glycerol monostearate, glyceryldibehenate, cholesterol, trimyristin, glyceryl dimyristin, glyceryl monomyristin, trilaurin, glyceryl dilaurin, glyceryl monolaurin, tripalmitin, glyceryl dipalmitin, glyceryl monopalmitin, cholesterol, a polyglyceride ester of a fatty acid, a polyglycerol ester of a fatty acid, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8). Nanjing teaches the pharmaceutical composition structuring agent comprises glycerol monostearate, glyceryl distearate, tristearin, glycerol rmonopalmitin, glycerol dipalmitin, tripalmitin, glycerol monomyristin, glycerol dimyristin, trimyristin, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 4 Para 8).
Nanjing teaches the therapeutic agent comprises an analgesic agent, anesthetic agent, anti-inflammatory agent, a sympaitholytic agent, an anxiolytic agent, a cannabinoid, or a mixture thereof dispersed in the Hpophilic oil (Pg. 10 Para 7 mixing liquid oll, gelator, ropivacaine, the meloxicam concentrated solution and benzyl aicohal at 70, heating while stirring until a fansparent and uniform solution is formed; See instant Specification Para [0042] Non-limiting examples of COX-2 inhibitors can include... meloxicam}. Nanjing teaches the analgesic agent, anesthetic agent, or both present in arnount sufficient to reduce pain in a subject (Pg. 7 Para 27) The preparation provided by the invention is applied in a single dose, and the contained dose can achieve the effects of relieving pain and nerves, and can be used for preventing or relieving local pain. Nanjing teaches the analgesic agent (Pg. 10 Para 1 mixing liquid oil, gelator, ropivacaine, the meloxicam concentrated solution and benzyl alcohol. heating while stirring until a transparent and uniform solution is formed; See instant Specification Para [0042] Non-limiting examples of COX-2 inhibitors can include... meloxicam). Nanjing teaches the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatary drug comprises ibuprofen, naproxen, diclofenac, mefenamis acid, indomethacin, cannabidiol, an ion pair thereof, a salt thereof, or a mixture (Pg. 5 Para 5). Nanjing teaches the anesthetic agent comprises an ester- based local anesthetic, an amide-based local anesthetic, or a prodrug, or ion pair thereof, or salt thereof, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 5 Para 5).The ester-based local anesthetic comprises procaine, amethocaine, benzocaine, tetracaine, or a prodrug, or ion pair thereof, or salt thereof, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 8 Para 5 }. Nanjing teaches the local amide-based anesthetic comprises lidocaine, prilocaine, bupivacaine, levobupivacaine, ropivacaine, mepivacaine, dibucaine, etidacaine, a prodrug, or ion pair thereof, or salt thereof, or a mixture thereof (Pg. 5 Para 8). Nanjing teaches the amide-based local anesthetic is an ion pair, or salt, comprising of bupivacaine butyrate, bupivacaine palmitate, bupivacaine laureate, bupivacaine myristate, bupivacaine stearate, bupivacaine hydroxystearate, bupivacaine oleate, bupivacaine ricinolate (anesthetic and hydrophoibic ion paring agent together), bupivacaine docusate (Pg. 5 Para 6). In some embodiments, the viscosity of the composition is in the range of 5000 to 10000cP at 30 ℃. The reference teaches sustained-release analgesic systems, has sustained and stable release of analgesic active ingredients, can be injected for administration, is suitable for stable and convenient local administration, and has good tolerance and little side effect for patients. the formulation further comprises a packaging filled with the formulation, the packaging being selected from one or more of the following: penicillin bottles, pre-filled syringes and clamping bottles, reads on the kit. The formulation continues to be effective for at least 48 to 72 hours after administration. In some embodiments, the formulation is administered for at least 72 hours after effective treatment is continued. The preparation provided by the invention is applied in a single dose, and the contained dose can achieve the effects of relieving pain and blocking nerves, and can be used for preventing or relieving local pain.
While the reference teaches the composition of the claims, the reference fails to teach a specific formulation and the amounts, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use of bupivacaine, the liquid oil, gelator, structuring agents in the claimed amounts. The motivation to use bupivacaine, the liquid oil, gelator, structuring agents in the amounts claimed is because Nanjing teaches the anesthetic formulation is suitable for stable and convenient local administration, and has good tolerance and little side effect for patients. Hence, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results. Additionally, since the general conditions of the claim are taught in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable amounts of bupivacaine, the liquid oil, gelator, structuring agents involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11918572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because an injectable pharmaceutical composition, comprising: a lipophilic oil; a hydrophobic ion pairing agent and an anesthetic dispersed in the lipophilic oil; and a structuring agent at least a portion of which is not dissolved in the lipophilic oil and forms a gel, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is free of a rheological modifier, whereas the patented case an injectable pharmaceutical composition, comprising: bupivacaine in a range of from about 3 wt % to about 7 wt % of the pharmaceutical composition; medium-chain triglyceride oil in a range of from about 39.5 wt % to about 46.5 wt % of the pharmaceutical composition; a castor oil in a range of from about 39.5 wt % to about 46.5 wt % of the pharmaceutical composition; and tristearin in a range of from about 0.5 wt % to about 6 wt % of the pharmaceutical composition, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is free of a rheological modifier and a wt:wt ratio of the medium-chain triglyceride to castor oil is about 50:50. The claims overlap in specific components and amounts.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622