DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the communication filed on 09/14/2026.
2. Claims 1-6, 10-17, and 19-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 09/14/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument 1: Butti fails to disclose "generating a confidence score indicative of a confidence that the common MAC address is being used by two or more devices" and performing "a predetermined action dependent on the confidence score exceeding a threshold confidence score," because Butti fails to disclose a confidence score as claimed.
Applicant’s support 1: Butti's disclosure relates to calculating a time difference and comparing it to a threshold to perform a decision. In contrast, the confidence score as claimed would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art as being calculated from parameters that may include, for example, time stamps and MAC address location. The time stamps of Butti are not, by themselves, "a confidence score indicative of a confidence that the common MAC address is being used by two or more devices.
Examiner’s response 1: In light of the case’s specification (e.g., para. 12, “… one device that is utilizing the common MAC address from communicating with other devices in the one or more networks …”; para. 16, “… determine MAC address usage statistics including at least one of: an indication of times at which MAC addresses have been used in the one or more networks … determining whether two or more devices are utilizing the common MAC address may be additionally based on the MAC address usage statistics …”; para. 25, “… determine MAC address usage statistics including at least one of: an indication of times at which MAC addresses have been used in the one or more networks … and generating the confidence score may be dependent on … the MAC address usage statistics …”; para. 70, “The MAC address usage statistics 114 may be used to determine whether the common MAC address … has been used substantially concurrently by two or more devices. For example, whether the MAC address has been used by the two devices … within a predefined period … it is more likely that the MAC address is being spoofed by a malicious device …”), the claimed “confidence score” is generated based on the times at which the MAC addresses have been used by two devices for communication over a network to detect spoofing MAC address in which a malicious device spoofs a MAC address of the other device for communication over a network.
The examiner directs applicant’s attention to see Butti, paras. 31, 33, 36-37, 42-44, where an illegitimate access point spoofs an MAC address of a legitimate access point to communicate frame(s) having same MAC address with the legitimate access point, wherein two recorded frame data communicated from two access points (e.g., one legitimate and the other illegitimate) are determined to have the same MAC address, wherein the difference (i.e., confidence score) between the two timestamp is computed, and wherein an illegitimate access point is detected to spoof an MAC address of a legitimate access point when the value of the difference is greater than a threshold, and wherein an alarm is generated and/or the frames are deleted. Thus, Butti discloses a difference is computed based on the timestamps of the two frames communicated from two access points to detect spoofing MAC address in which an illegitimate access point spoofs a MAC address of a legitimate access point for communication over a network.
Thus, in light of the case’s specification, Butti’s “difference”, which is computed based on the timestamps of the two frames communicated over a network, is reasonable to equate the claimed “confidence score”, which is generated based on the times at which the MAC addresses have been used by two devices for communication over a network, to detect spoofing MAC address (Note: see Butte, para. 32, where a timestamp of a frame comprises a time indication relating to the sending of the frame (i.e., a time at which a MAC address has been used by a device for sending/communicating over a network)).
Applicant’s argument 2: Yadav fails to disclose a "fingerprint confidence score indicative of a confidence in the set of characteristics included in the respective record.”
Applicant’s support 2: Yadav does not disclose a fingerprint confidence score, which measures the system's confidence that it has correctly identified the device's characteristics. The fingerprint confidence score is used to indicate a confidence that the device's characteristics are identified correctly, and forms part of the device fingerprint data. The device fingerprint data is then used to determine whether two or more devices are utilizing a common MAC address. In contrast, Yadav's reputation score is used to determine which nodes are trustworthy and is calculated using the "type of traffic" (e.g., DDoS attacks, port knocks, FIN scans) and by applying a mathematical weight and time-decay factor based on how long it has been since the last malicious event. While Yadav describes that the reputation score can include a confidence score, such a score is assigned to a device, for example based on a time of activity of the device. This is unlike the claimed fingerprint confidence score, which is assigned to characteristics of the device fingerprint data and not to the device itself. The two scores relate to two different hierarchical levels of a system: one relates to a device, while the other relates to characteristics of the device.
Examiner’s response 2: The examiner directs applicant’s attention to see Yadav, paras. 31, 48, 51-52, where network traffic/flows (i.e., records) are stored in network storage, wherein each traffic/flow includes a MAC address, characteristics, and a reputation score (i.e., fingerprint confidence score) associated with the characteristics including characteristic of spoof MAC address; see para. 65 where a reputation score includes a confidence score, wherein a confidence score is represented by a variance or confidence interval, wherein a reputation score is a description of the level of trust and calculated based on the reputation scores of nodes/entities (i.e., devices).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention is directed toward a method to detecting and/or mitigating Media Access Control address spoofing in computer networks. Claim 12 identifies the uniquely distinct features for monitoring network traffic to generate device fingerprint data, the device fingerprint data including a plurality of records, each record associated with one of a plurality of devices in the one or more networks and including a respective Media Access Control (MAC) address and a set of one or more characteristics associated with a respective device; determining whether two or more devices are utilizing a common MAC address based at least on the device fingerprint data, the determining comprising generating a confidence score indicative of a confidence that the common MAC address is being used by two or more devices; and performing a predetermined action dependent on the confidence score exceeding a threshold confidence score; wherein each record in the device fingerprint data includes a respective fingerprint confidence score indicative of a confidence in the set of characteristics included in the respective record, and wherein the confidence score is dependent on the fingerprint confidence scores associated with the two or more devices, and wherein the fingerprint confidence score for a said record is determined based on at least one of the following: an amount of data received in messages from the said device that are used to derive the respective set of characteristics; a number of messages used to derive the respective set of characteristics; whether the respective set of characteristics are inferred from the messages or explicitly signaled in the messages; and a type of messages received from the device, and wherein if the MAC address usage statistics indicate that two devices associated with the common MAC address in the device fingerprint data are located in the same network the confidence score will represent a higher confidence than if the MAC address usage statistics indicate that the two devices associated with the common MAC address in the device fingerprint data are not located in the same network; taken in combination with the remaining limitations of the independent claim are not found in and/or are not obvious in view of the closest recorded prior arts.
One of the closest prior arts, Butti et al. (US 2008/0250498 A1), discloses a method for detecting address spoofing in a wireless network. The other closest prior art, Fainberg et al. (US 2020/0213352 A1), discloses a method for detecting media access control (MAC) address spoofing. However, either singularly or in combination, Butti et al. and/or Fainberg et al. do/does not disclose the above uniquely distinct features taken in combination with the remaining limitations of the independent claim(s).
Therefore, claim 12 is in condition for allowance.
Claim Objections
7. Claim(s) 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 should be cancelled since the claim does not specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed in claim 14. The limitations in claim 19 are already included in claim 14.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10-11, 14-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butti et al. (US 2008/0250498 A1, hereafter Butti) in view of Yadav et al. (US 2016/0359897 A1, hereafter Yadav).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 14, and 20:
Butti discloses a network management device configured to control one or more networks, the network management device comprising a processor and storage, the storage comprising executable instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the network device to (see fig. 1):
monitor network traffic to generate device fingerprint data, the device fingerprint data including a plurality of records, each record associated with one of a plurality of devices in the one or more networks and including a respective Media Access Control (MAC) address and a set of one or more characteristics associated with a respective device (see para. 12 and/or 36 where radio/wireless communication channels (i.e., network traffic) are listened to retrieve frames/packets exchanged in network, wherein frame data (i.e., device fingerprint data) associated with the frames are stored/recorded in a table (i.e., records comprising frame data are generated to be stored in a table), wherein each stored frame data includes a MAC address and a timestamp (i.e., characteristic) associated with a frame sent from an access point (i.e., device));
determine whether two or more devices are utilizing a common MAC address based at least on the device fingerprint data, the determining comprising generating a confidence score indicative of a confidence that the common MAC address is being used by two or more devices; and perform a predetermined action dependent on the confidence score exceeding a threshold confidence score (see paras. 31, 33, 36-37, 42-44 where an illegitimate access point spoofs an MAC address of a legitimate access point to communicate frame(s) having same MAC address with the legitimate access point, wherein two recorded frame data communicated from two access points (e.g., one legitimate and the other illegitimate) are determined to have the same MAC address, wherein the difference between the timestamps of the two frames is computed, and wherein an illegitimate access point is detected to spoof an MAC address of a legitimate access point when the value of the difference is greater than a threshold, and wherein an alarm is generated and/or the frames are deleted).
Butti does not, but Yadav discloses:
wherein each record in the device fingerprint data includes a respective fingerprint confidence score indicative of a confidence in the set of characteristics included in the respective record, and wherein the confidence score is dependent on the fingerprint confidence scores associated with the two or more devices (see Yadav, paras. 31, 48, 51-52, where network traffic/flows (i.e., records) are stored in network storage, wherein each traffic/flow includes a MAC address, characteristics, and a reputation score (i.e., fingerprint confidence score) associated with the characteristics including characteristic of spoof MAC address; see para. 65 where a reputation score includes a confidence score, wherein a confidence score is represented by a variance or confidence interval, wherein a reputation score is a description of the level of trust and calculated based on the reputation scores of nodes/entities (i.e., devices)), and
wherein the fingerprint confidence score for a said record is determined based on at least one of the following: an amount of data received in messages from the said device that are used to derive the respective set of characteristics; a number of messages used to derive the respective set of characteristics; whether the respective set of characteristics are inferred from the messages or explicitly signaled in the messages; and a type of messages received from the device (see Yadav, paras. 51, 55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Butti's invention by enhancing it for each record in the device fingerprint data includes a respective fingerprint confidence score indicative of a confidence in the set of characteristics included in the respective record, and wherein the confidence score is dependent on the fingerprint confidence scores associated with the two or more devices, and wherein the fingerprint confidence score for a said record is determined based on at least one of the following: an amount of data received in messages from the said device that are used to derive the respective set of characteristics; a number of messages used to derive the respective set of characteristics; whether the respective set of characteristics are inferred from the messages or explicitly signaled in the messages; and a type of messages received from the device, as taught by Yadav, in order for determining the reputation score associated with the one or more nodes based on the type of traffic for the one or more flows associated with the one or more nodes (Yadav, para. 55).
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 15:
Butti discloses:
wherein monitoring network traffic to generate the device fingerprint data includes deriving the MAC address and set of characteristics associated with a said device of the plurality of devices from one or more messages received from said device (see paras. 11-13, and/or 33, 40), and
wherein the method includes at least one of:
performing passive scans of devices attached to the one or more networks to obtain messages from said devices, wherein a passive scan involves receiving communications transmitted between two or more devices in the one or more networks; or performing active scans of the devices attached to the one or more networks to obtain messages from said devices, wherein an active scan involves: transmitting a message to a said device in the one or more networks to trigger a response; and receiving the response from the said device in the one or more networks (see paras. 12 and/or 36).
Regarding claim(s) 3 and 16:
Butti discloses:
wherein if it is determined that two or more devices are utilizing the common MAC address, the predetermined action includes at least one of: preventing at least one device that is utilizing the common MAC address from communicating with other devices in the one or more networks; preventing all devices that are utilizing the common MAC address from communicating with other devices in the network; or generating an alert signal representative of an outcome of the determining whether the common MAC address is utilized by two or more devices (see paras. 12, 37, and/or 59).
Regarding claim(s) 5:
Butti discloses:
monitoring network traffic to determine MAC address usage statistics including at least one of: an indication of times at which MAC addresses have been used in the one or more networks; or an indication of which network the MAC addresses are used in, wherein determining whether two or more devices are utilizing the common MAC address is additionally based on the MAC address usage statistics (see paras. 33 and/or 57).
Regarding claim(s) 6:
Butti discloses:
wherein determining whether two or more devices are utilizing the common MAC address is based on:
a determination that two records in the device fingerprint data are associated with the common MAC address (see paras. 33, 36-37); and
at least one of: a determination that the common MAC address has been used substantially concurrently by two or more devices based on the MAC address usage statistics; or a determination that the two devices associated with the common MAC address in the device fingerprint data are located in the same network based on the MAC address usage statistics (see para. 33 where two access points communicate using the same MAC address at the same time (i.e., substantially concurrently)).
Regarding claim(s) 10:
Butti discloses:
monitoring network traffic to determine MAC address usage statistics including at least one of: an indication of times at which MAC addresses have been used in the one or more networks; and an indication of which of the one or more networks the MAC addresses are used in, wherein generating the confidence score is dependent on the device fingerprint data and the MAC address usage statistics (see paras. 31-33, 42-44).
Regarding claim(s) 11:
Butti discloses:
wherein if the MAC address usage statistics indicate that the common MAC address has been used substantially concurrently by two devices associated with the common MAC address in the device fingerprint data the confidence score will represent a higher confidence than if the MAC address usage statistics indicate that the common MAC address has not been used substantially concurrently by the two devices associated with the common MAC address in the device fingerprint data (see paras. 33, 38).
Regarding claim(s) 19:
Butti does not, but Yadav discloses:
wherein each record in the device fingerprint data includes a respective fingerprint confidence indicative of a confidence in the set of characteristics included in the respective record, and wherein the confidence score is dependent on the fingerprint confidence scores associated with the two or more devices (see Yadav, paras. 31, 48, 51-52, where network traffic/flows (i.e., records) are stored in network storage, wherein each traffic/flow includes a MAC address, characteristics, and a reputation score associated with the characteristics including characteristic of spoof MAC address; see para. 65 where a reputation score includes a confidence score, wherein a reputation score is calculated based on the reputation scores of nodes/entities (i.e., devices)).
9. Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butti, Yadav, and further in view of Fainberg et al. (US 2020/0213352 A1, hereafter Fainberg).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 17:
Butti discloses:
wherein the one or more networks each include at least one network device configured to connect the devices in the one or more networks (see fig. 1 and paras. 12, 50).
Butti does not, but Fainberg discloses:
wherein preventing devices utilizing the common MAC address from communicating with other devices in the one or more networks comprises instructing the at least one network device to: restrict communications that are received from devices utilizing the common MAC address; and restrict communications that are directed to devices utilizing the common MAC address (see Fainberg, paras. 25, 34 where devices that are spoofing MAC address(es) to utilize the same MAC address(es) with other device(s) on a network for communication are identified; see paras. 23, 26 where communication using the same MAC address is blocked; see paras. 37, 54 where traffic/communication via a port is restricted or blocked; see paras. 92-93 where a port is a source port or a destination port).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Butti's invention by enhancing it for preventing devices utilizing the common MAC address from communicating with other devices in the one or more networks comprises instructing the at least one network device to: restrict communications that are received from devices utilizing the common MAC address; and restrict communications that are directed to devices utilizing the common MAC address, as taught by Fainberg, in order for restricting traffic or communication on a port where a device that is spoofing a MAC address is communicatively coupled (Fainberg, para. 37).
10. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butti, Yadav, and further in view of Fainberg et al. (US 2021/0099473 A1, hereafter Fainberg).
Regarding claim(s) 13:
Butti does not, but Fainberg discloses:
wherein the sets of characteristics represented in the device fingerprint data each include at least one of: a device type; an operating system; an indication of software running on the device; a device model; an identification number associated with the device; or an indication of services provided by the device (see Fainberg, paras. 20-21, where properties (i.e., characteristics) from network traffic associated with a MAC address are monitored and stored, wherein properties include operating system (OS) data, DHCP device class, network function, connection type (e.g., wired or wireless), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Butti's invention by enhancing it for the sets of characteristics represented in the device fingerprint data each include at least one of: a device type; an operating system; an indication of software running on the device; a device model; an identification number associated with the device; or an indication of services provided by the device, as taught by Fainberg, in order for determining an anomaly based on properties associated with an entity (Fainberg, abstract).
Conclusion
/HUAN V DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499