DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13, and 22-24 are pending in the application. Claims 22-24 have been withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a robotic arm” in line 7. It should recite “the robotic arm”.
Claim 1 recites “a retractor” in line 9. It should recite “the retractor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (U.S PGPub 2020/0289224 A1) in view of Stanton et al. (U.S PGPub 2018/0014890 A1), Wilson (U.S Patent 9,386,974 B2), Cavanagh (U.S PGPub 2015/0100067 A1), and Gregerson et al. (U.S PGPub 2020/0078097 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson teaches a brain surgery system having a robotic arm for guiding insertion of a retractor into a subject brain (Abstract) (the “brain surgery system” and “for insertion of a retractor into a subject brain” are considered statements of intended use, and the system of Johnson is capable of being used for brain surgery), the system comprising:
an imaging system (Fig. 12B, 1306) comprising a radiation source and a detector adapted to measure radiation emitted by the radiation source [0093], the detector being further adapted to output imaging data based on the measured radiation [0093];
a computer (Fig. 5, 408) system having at least one processor and memory [0065] (a computer necessarily contains at least one processor and memory);
a robotic arm (Fig. 1, 104) [0049] controlled by software executing on said at least one processor [0065]; and
an end effector (Fig. 20, 1600) attached to the robotic arm [0142]-[0143] and adapted to hold a retractor (Fig. 20, 608) [0076]+[0142], the end effector comprising:
a linear slide (Fig. 20, 1604) having a fixed portion (Fig. 20, 1606) adapted to attach to the robotic arm (Fig. 20, 1606 attaches to arm through 1600) and a movable portion (Fig. 20, 1608) [0144], the linear slide being adapted to move the retractor in a longitudinal direction of the retractor (Fig. 20+21, the moving portion 1608 moves in a longitudinal direction of the instrument) to insert the retractor into the subject brain [0145] (inserting the retractor into the brain is considered a statement of intended use, the linear slide is capable of being used to insert retractor 608 into a patient’s brain); and
a stand (Fig. 20, 1610) affixed to the linear slide (Fig. 20, 1608) and adapted to hold the retractor (Fig. 20, 608) [0145]
wherein the computer system is adapted to receive the imaging data [0088] and to control the robotic arm to move the end effector to the insertion position and insertion orientation [0123]+[0127] (A desired trajectory would be an insertion position and orientation).
Johnson fails to explicitly teach the robotic arm is mounted on the imaging system. Johnson further fails to explicitly teach wherein the retractor comprises a vial with a trocar positioned within an interior of the vial, the retractor being adapted to be inserted into a subject brain, wherein the retractor is adapted to allow removal of the trocar from the retractor while leaving the vial in place in the subject brain.
Stanton teaches a retractor system (Abstract). This system uses a robotic arm (Fig. 3, 301) mounted to an imaging device (Fig. 3, 303) to use the medical instrument [0038]. Stanton further teaches wherein the retractor comprises a vial (Fig. 5B, 505) with a trocar (Fig. 5B, 509) positioned within an interior of the vial [0054]-[0056] (dilator is a vial, and the awl or similar device is a trocar), wherein the retractor is adapted to allow removal of the trocar from the retractor while leaving the vial in place in the subject brain [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the method of mounting the robotic arm of Johnson to mount it on an imaging device, as taught by Stanton, as the substitution for one known method of mounting a robotic arm with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of mounting the robotic arm to an imaging device are reasonably predictable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tool so is a vial and trocar, as taught by Stanton, because this tool improves the safety and speed of minimally invasive procedures, as recognized by Stanton [0002].
The combination of references fails to teach the tool is a retractor adapted to be inserted into a subject brain.
Wilson teaches a system performing brain surgery (Abstract). This system uses a vial (Fig. 1, 12) and trocar (Fig. 1, 14) (Col 7, lines 14-20) as a retractor system for brain surgery (Col 7, lines 42-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the retractor on a patient’s brain, as taught by Wilson, because this allows the user to operate further inside the brain than otherwise possible, thereby being able to treat more patients, as recognized by Wilson (Col 5-6, lines 62-12).
Johnson fails to explicitly teach the computer system is adapted to determine an insertion position and an insertion orientation based at least in part on an insertion point.
Cavanagh teaches a method for surgical insertion (Abstract). This system has a computer (Fig. 1, 111) [0019] which determine an optimal entry point (an insertion point) and orientation based on acquired image data [0019]-[0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the computer determine the entry point and trajectory, as taught by Cavanagh, because this improves the accuracy of placing the medical device, as recognized by Cavanagh [0003].
The combination fails to explicitly teach the insertion position and orientation is based on a target location and wherein the computer system is configured to determine the insertion position and the insertion orientation such that, when the end effector is at the insertion position: (i) the insertion orientation is aligned with an axis passing through the target location and the insertion point; and (ii) the retractor is spaced apart from the insertion point in an outward direction along the axis passing through the target location and the insertion point.
Gregerson teaches a system for performing robotic assisted surgery (Abstract). This system positions an end effector based on a target location [00699]. This system has a computer system (Fig. 1, 113) [0038] which is configured to determine the insertion position [0035] and the insertion orientation [0056] such that, when the end effector is at the insertion position [0056]: (i) the insertion orientation is aligned with an axis passing through the target location and the insertion point (Fig. 6C, 611) [0073] and (ii) the retractor is spaced apart from the insertion point in an outward direction along the axis passing through the target location and the insertion point (Fig. 6C, 102 is spaced apart from body 200 (insertion point) in an outward direction by an offset distance d) [0035]+[0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to have the insertion position based on the target location and spaced apart from the insertion point, as taught by Gregerson, because this increases the safety of the system by insuring the instrument cannot be advanced into the body further than the target location, as recognized by Gregerson [0073]-[0074]. One of ordinary skill would recognize that, in the combined system, the retractor would be spaced apart from the insertion point.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson further teaches wherein the linear slide comprises a sensor to measure movement of the movable portion relative to the fixed portion [0147].
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson further teaches wherein the stand (Fig. 20, 1610) is at a distal end of the movable portion of the linear slide (Fig. 20, 1608) and extends in a direction substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the movable portion of the linear slide (Fig. 20, 1610 extends in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of 1608) [0145].
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson fails to explicitly teach wherein the trocar comprises, at a proximal end, a base portion adapted to be in communication with a corresponding base portion of the vial, wherein the base portion of the trocar and the base portion of the vial cooperate to prevent separation of the trocar and the vial as the retractor is inserted into and/or retracted from the subject brain.
Stanton further teaches wherein the trocar comprises, at a proximal end, a base portion (Fig. 5B, 515) and a corresponding base portion of the vial (Fig. 5B, 506).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tool so is a vial and trocar, as taught by Stanton, because this tool improves the safety and speed of minimally invasive procedures, as recognized by Stanton [0002].
Stanton is silent regarding the base portions in communication adapted to be in communication with each other, or wherein the base portion of the trocar and the base portion of the vial cooperate to prevent separation of the trocar and the vial as the retractor is inserted into and/or retracted from the subject brain.
Wilson further teaches the base portions in communication with each other (Fig. 7-8, the handle 26 of trocar interacts with proximal portion of 12) (Col 7, lines 49-53)+(Col 9, lines 25-28), or wherein the base portion of the trocar and the base portion of the vial cooperate to prevent separation of the trocar and the vial as the retractor is inserted into the subject brain (Fig. 7-8, the handle 26 of trocar interacts with proximal portion of 12) (Col 7, lines 49-53)+(Col 9, lines 25-28) (as the handle 26 is wider than the cannula, as the trocar is push in the base portion would push into cannular, which prevents separation of the trocar and the cannula (vial)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the retractor on a patient’s brain, as taught by Wilson, because this allows the user to operate further inside the brain than otherwise possible, thereby being able to treat more patients, as recognized by Wilson (Col 5-6, lines 62-12).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson further teaches a controller (Fig. 5, 538) [0058] and being configured to control the robotic arm based on communication with the software executing on said at least one processor [0065]+[0067] (the controller controls the robotic arm, which in turn is controlled by the software running on a computer).
Johnson is silent regarding the controller containing a processor.
Stanton further teaches a controller can be a processor [0074].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the controller of Johnson with a processor, as taught by Stanton, as the substitution for one known controller with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a processor as a controller are reasonably predictable.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Stanton, Wilson, Cavanagh, and Gregerson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garcia Kilroy et al. (U.S PGPub 2018/0116741 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson fails to explicitly teach wherein the end effector comprises a knob turnable to move the movable portion relative to the fixed portion.
Garcia Kilroy teaches a robotic surgical assembly (Abstract). This system uses a turnable object to move the movable portion relative to the fixed portion [0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the method of moving the movable portion to using a turnable object, as taught by Garcia, as the substitution for one known method of actuating the movable portion with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of turning the object to create linear motion are reasonably predictable.
The combination fails to explicitly teach a knob.
Stanton teaches the actuator for retracting or extending the guide can be a knob (Claims 14-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system to include a knob for motion, as taught by Stanton, because this allow the user to manually move the movable portion to the fixed position, thereby increasing the ease of using the linear slide.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Stanton, Wilson, Cavanagh, and Gregerson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garcia Kilroy et al. and Grover et al. (U.S PGPub 2017/0273749 A1)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson further teaches wherein the fixed portion of the linear slide comprises at least one rail [0144], and the movable portion of the linear slide comprises a bar in communication with said at least one rail and adapted to move along said at least one rail [0145].
Johnson fails to explicitly teach wherein the bar is a substantially flat plate positioned between said at least one rail and a second rail.
Garcia Kilroy teaches a tool holder for robotic surgery (Abstract). This system has a linear guide (Fig. 3A, 310) with a moving portion which is a plate (Fig. 3A, 322) positioned between at least one rail and a second rail (Fig. 3A, 316) [0070]-[0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to have the moving portion be between at least one rail and a second rail, as taught by Garcia Kilroy, as the substitution for one known linear slide member with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a bar and two rails as the linear guide are reasonably predictable.
The combination is silent on the bar being a substantially flat plate.
Grover teaches a robotically controlled surgical system (Abstract). This system has a substantially flat plate as a mounting bracket (Fig. 5, 150) [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the mounting carriage of the combination to be a substantially flat plate, as taught by Grover, as the substitution for one known mounting carriage with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a substantially flat plated mounting carriage are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson fails to explicitly teach wherein the bar comprises two guides affixed to an underside thereof, the guides extending in a longitudinal direction of the bar and being positioned to engage with said at least one rail and the second rail, respectively.
Garcia Kilroy further teaches wherein the bar comprises two guides affixed to an underside thereof (Fig. 3B, 322 has guides on underside) [0071]-[0072], the guides extending in a longitudinal direction of the bar (See annotated figure below) and being positioned to engage with said at least one rail and the second rail, respectively [0071]-[0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the mounting carriage of the combination to be a substantially flat plate, as taught by Grover, as the substitution for one known mounting carriage with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a substantially flat plated mounting carriage are reasonably predictable.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Stanton, Wilson, Cavanagh, and Gregerson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S PGPub 2024/0009840 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson further teaches wherein the stand comprises an elongate portion (Fig. 20, 1610 is elongate, and has an elongate portion) and a clamp portion adapted to hold the retractor in place [0145], wherein the stand further comprises a base portion affixed to the linear slide (Fig. 20, 1610 the portion affixed to 1608 is the base portion).
Johnson fails to explicitly teach a receptacle to receive and lock in place the elongate portion of the stand.
Huang teaches a surgical robot system (Abstract). This system uses an end flange to connect the support to the linear slide block [0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system so the support member locks in place to the linear member, as taught by Huang, because this allows the user to better choose the retractor and the stand based on the needs of the patient, thereby increasing the quality of surgery, as taught by Huang [0051]. One of ordinary skill would recognize the end flange of Huang would be connected into a receptacle, as taught by Johnson (Fig. 9B, 604 and 1206 shows an end flange connecting to a robotic arm, and the flange is described as connecting with depressions (i.e. receptables) for connection [0077].
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Stanton, Wilson, Cavanagh, and Gregerson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stoianovici et al. (U.S Patent 7,822,466 B2).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Johnson further teaches wherein the computer system is adapted to execute software on said at least one processor [0065].
Johnson fails to explicitly teach displaying the imaging data on a display to provide one or more images; receiving a user input specifying a target location within a selected one of said one or more images of the subject brain; and receiving a user input specifying an insertion point of the retractor.
Stoianovici teaches a system for minimally invasive surgery (Abstract). This system displaying the imaging data on a display to provide one or more images (Col 12, lines 40-52), receiving a user input specifying a target location within a selected one of said one or more images of the subject brain (Col 12, lines 40-52); and receiving a user input specifying an insertion point of the retractor (Col 12, lines 40-52) (entry point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to receive user input specifying the entry and target position, as taught by Stoianovici, because this reduces the radiation exposure of the physician, thereby increasing the safety of the procedure, as recognized by Stoianovici (Col 16, lines 26-33). One of ordinary skill would recognize that, in the combination, the insertion point would be of the retractor of Stanton.
The combination is silent regarding the system including images of the subject’s brain.
Wilson teaches a system performing brain surgery (Abstract). This system uses a vial (Fig. 1, 12) and trocar (Fig. 1, 14) (Col 7, lines 14-20) as a retractor system for brain surgery (Col 7, lines 42-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the retractor on a patient’s brain, as taught by Wilson, because this allows the user to operate further inside the brain than otherwise possible, thereby being able to treat more patients, as recognized by Wilson (Col 5-6, lines 62-12). One of ordinary skill would recognize that, in the combination, the image’s would be of the subject’s brain as the procedure of Wilson is being performed on the brain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Gregerson was brought in to teach the argued features. Claims 1 remains rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/SEAN D MATTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798