DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 January 2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 03 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 August 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a thread must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference characters "4", “46” and "48" have been used to designate the terminal element. See para. [0031] and [0044].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, the limitation: “between 0.5mm and 3mm, or between 0.8mm and 2mm.” should read: -- between 0.5 mm and 3.0 mm, or between 0.8 mm and 2.0 mm. --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “A method for forming a terminal element for a power semiconductor module arrangement” (emphasis added) is confusing. What does “a power semiconductor module arrangement” mean. Unless otherwise defined the term arrangement, from Fig. 8 and the specification para. [0044], the claim deemed to read as a method for forming a terminal element. As best understood it appears that the limitation actually intends that “A method for forming a terminal element for a power semiconductor module”, or the like.
Claims 2-14 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 4466689).
[AltContent: textbox (second section)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figs. 2 and 6, Davis.
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches, a method for forming a terminal element (terminal 20, Figs. 1 to 6) for a power semiconductor module arrangement, the method comprising:
stamping a blank from a metal sheet (flat strip 81, Fig. 7, method of making the terminal 20 of this invention, a flat strip 81 of metallic material, see FIG. 7 is advanced through a progressive punch and die apparatus, col. 7, line 24), the blank comprising a first section (85, Fig. 7) and a second section (see annotated Fig. 6), wherein the second section is an elongated section having a length in a vertical direction that is at least twice a width of the second section in a first horizontal direction (see Figs. 6 and 7), and the first section is a rectangular section (see Fig. 7) having a width in the first horizontal direction that is greater than the width of the second section (see Fig. 6);
forming a thread (portion 22 is threaded internally to form the screw threads 39--39, Fig. 2, col. 8, line 31) on a surface of the first section (roll-formed blanks 85--85 from the strip 81 and then to weld the seam 33 and thread internally the portion 22 of each, col. 8, line 44); and
bending the first section to form a sleeve (blank is formed into a tube with the first portion, col. 3, line 15, the first portion 22 has been formed into a substantially cylindrical configuration, col. 7, line 68), wherein the sleeve comprises an opening facing in the vertical direction towards the second section (see Figs. 1-2 and 6).
Davis teaches in col. 4, line 36, terminal 20 comprises a first portion, designated generally by the numeral 22, sometimes called a barrel, which includes a wall 23 having a substantially cylindrical configuration and being about 1.2 cm in length; in col. 5, line 54, second portion 51 has a generally square cross-section and is about 1.5 cm in length; and in col. 7, line 3, a conductor-connection portion 68 (see FIGS. 1 and 2) having a length of about 1.1 cm. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Davis, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method forming the terminal element of Davis and to include a desired dimension so that it enables forming a high density terminal arrangement. Moreover, unless otherwise defined, the claimed dimensions represents an arbitrary selection between alternatives that perform the same function in substantially the same way, and the applicant has not demonstrated any unexpected results or functional advantages associated with the claimed design. There is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in selecting the width or length of the first section or the second section.
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the forming of the thread and the bending of the first section are performed simultaneously by wrapping the first section around a cylindrical tool comprising one or more protrusions formed on an outer circumference of the cylindrical tool (process of forming the threads is called roll-threading in which the lobes displace metallic material to form the thread instead of cutting chips, col. 5, line 14, in which it is obvious that the thread is formed by wrapping).
Regarding claim 3, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 2, wherein when the first section is wrapped around the cylindrical tool, the first section is pressed against the cylindrical tool such that the one or more protrusions are pressed into a material of the first section to form the thread (screw threads in the first portion 22 are roll-formed, col. 5, line 42, in which it is obvious that the first section is wrapped around a cylindrical tool).
Regarding claim 4, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the thread is formed before the bending of the first section, and wherein the first section is bent such that the thread is arranged on an inner surface of the sleeve (blanks have been engaged with a die having a threaded contour after which the blanks are formed into a cylindrical shape, col. 2, line 5).
Regarding claim 6, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the stamping of the blank metal sheet and the forming of the thread are performed simultaneously (threaded parts may be obtained from sheet metal entirely through a stamping operation, col. 1, line 45, Perrault (US 4266310), one of the references incorporates by Davis).
Regarding claim 8, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the forming of the thread is performed after the stamping of the blank (screw threads in the first portion 22 are roll-formed, col. 5, line 42).
Regarding claim 10, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the metal sheet has a thickness in a second horizontal direction of between 0.5mm and 3mm, or between 0.8mm and 2mm (portion 71 has a thickness of about 0.08 cm, col. 7, line 15).
Regarding claim 11, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the bending of the first section comprises bending two opposing sides of the first section toward each other (see Fig. 8A to 8F).
Regarding claim 12, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 11, wherein after the bending of the first section, the sleeve comprises a vertical gap between the two opposing sides of the first section (see butt seam 33 in Fig. 6 and Fig. 8F).
Regarding claim 13, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 12. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 12, further comprising connecting the two opposing sides of the first section to each other to close the vertical gap (see Figs. 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 14, Davis teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Davis further teaches, the method of claim 13, wherein the connecting of the two opposing sides of the first section to each other comprises a welding process (butted edge portions 31 and 32 which form a butt seam 33 are joined together such as by welding, col. 4, line 50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claims 7 and 9 would be allowable.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 would be allowable for disclosing a method for forming a terminal element for a power semiconductor module, wherein the thread is formed by an embossing tool.
Though, prior art of record Davis teaches. a method for forming a terminal element for a power semiconductor module, including forming a thread on the first section, Davis fails to teach, the thread is formed by an embossing tool.
Prior art of record Perrault does not teach, the thread is formed by an embossing tool.
Therefore, claims 5, 7 and 9 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Kojima (US 9985405) teaches, a method for forming a terminal element including, stamping a blank from a metal sheet, the blank comprising a first section and a second section, wherein the second section is an elongated section having a length in a vertical direction that is at least twice a width of the second section in a first horizontal direction, and the first section is a rectangular section having a width in the first horizontal direction that is greater than the width of the second section; and bending the first section to form a sleeve, wherein the sleeve comprises an opening facing in the vertical direction towards the second section.
Prior art Tonoike (US 9601840) teaches, a method for forming a terminal element including, stamping a blank from a metal sheet, the blank comprising a first section and a second section; and bending the first section to form a sleeve, wherein the sleeve comprises an opening facing in the vertical direction towards the second section.
Prior art Niles (US 4253234) teaches, a method for forming a terminal element including, stamping a blank from a metal sheet, the blank comprising a first section and a second section; and bending the first section to form a sleeve, wherein the sleeve comprises an opening facing in the vertical direction towards the second section.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729