Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2022/0322273 (Agnihotri et al.).
As to claims 1 and 11, Agnihotri teaches a base station (404, fig 4B) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising (see figure 4B): a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: receive, from a location management function (LMF) entity,
a transmission reception point (TRP) information request message including at least one TRP identification (ID) (see step 610, fig 6, and paragraphs 114 and 115, information TRPs specified by TRP IDs requested by LMF in TRP INFORMATION REQUEST), and
transmit, to the LMF entity, a TRP information response message including first indication information indicating that a TRP corresponding to the at least one TRP ID is a moving cell (see step 620, fig 6, and paragraphs 115 and 117, TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE can indicate that the TRP is mobile).
As to claims 6 and 16, Agnihotri teaches a location management function (LMF) (406, fig 4C) entity in a wireless communication system, the LMF entity comprising (see figure 4C): a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver, and configured to:
transmit, to a base station, a transmission reception point (TRP) information request message including a TRP identification (ID) (see step 610, fig 6, and paragraphs 114 and 115, information TRPs specified by TRP IDs requested by LMF in TRP INFORMATION REQUEST), and
receive, from the base station, a TRP information response message including indication information indicating that a TRP corresponding to the TRP ID is a moving cell (see step 620, fig 6, and paragraphs 115 and 117, TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE can indicate that the TRP is mobile).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-9, 12-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agnihotri in view of US 2023/0354250 (Shimoda et al.).
As to claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the TRP information request message further includes at least one type of TRP information, and wherein the at least one type of TRP information includes a speed of the moving cell and time information of measurement for the TRP information.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information about the content of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE comprising both the speed of a moving cell, measurement information and time information (see Shimoda, paragraphs 208-220, 247-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the TRP information request message further includes second indication information indicating a periodic report with period information, and wherein the TRP information response message is transmitted periodically based on the period information.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information inducing a periodic transmission of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE (see Shimoda, paragraphs 240, 247-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the TRP information request message further includes second indication information indicating an event driven report with threshold information, and wherein the TRP information response message is transmitted based on the threshold information.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information inducing event based transmission of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE based on various thresholds (see Shimoda, paragraphs 241-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agnihotri in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
As to claims 5 and 15, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that a cell is added or removed, transmit, to the LMF entity, the TRP information response message including information associated with the cell.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a base station managing multiple cells to add cells. This teaching in view of Agnihotri’s teachings would result in the TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE indicating TRP information corresponding to an added cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 10 and 20, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that a cell is added or removed to the base station, receiving, from the base station, the TRP information response message including information associated with the cell.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a base station managing multiple cells to add cells. This teaching in view of Agnihotri’s teachings would result in the TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE indicating TRP information corresponding to an added cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2025/0212160 (Chen et al.). US 2024/0147407 (Zorghu et al.).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641