Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 4/7/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0322273 (Agnihotri et al.) in view of US 2024/0267880 (Hao) in view of US 2023/0354250 (Shimoda et al.).
As to claims 1 and 11, Agnihotri teaches a base station (404, fig 4B) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising (see figure 4B): a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: receive, from a location management function (LMF) entity,
a transmission reception point (TRP) information request message including at least one requested TRP identification (ID) (see step 610, fig 6, and paragraphs 114 and 115, information TRPs specified by TRP IDs requested by LMF in TRP INFORMATION REQUEST), and
transmit, to the LMF entity based on at least one type of the TRP information, a TRP information response message including information on at least one TRP corresponding to the at least one TRP ID (see step 620, fig 6, and paragraphs 115 and 117, TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE can indicate that the TRP is mobile);
wherein the type of TRP information includes, a physical cell ID (PCI), a cell global identity (CGI), a frequency information absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), configuration information on a positioning reference signal (PRS), information of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a spatial direction information, geographical coordinates, information about an on-demand PRS, TRP Tx timing error group (TEG) association information, and TRP location information (see paragraph 115).
What is lacking from Agnihotri is the TRP information request message including at least one requested type of TRP information such that the TRP information response is transmitted based on that at least one requested type TRP information.
In analogous art, Hao teaches an LMF sending a TRP information request to an access network device comprising a TRP information type (~requested type of TRP information) (see Hao, paragraph 221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to ensure that TRP information is provided only as needed.
What is further lacking from Agnihotri is and wherein the TRP information response message includes location of the TRP, velocity of the TRP, and information on a time point at which the location of the TRP is obtained.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information about the content of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE comprising both the speed of a moving cell, measurement information and time information (see Shimoda, paragraphs 208-220, 247-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 6 and 16, Agnihotri teaches a location management function (LMF) (406, fig 4C) entity in a wireless communication system, the LMF entity comprising (see figure 4C): a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver, and configured to:
transmit, to a base station, a transmission reception point (TRP) information request message including at least one requested TRP identification (ID) (see step 610, fig 6, and paragraphs 114 and 115, information TRPs specified by TRP IDs requested by LMF in TRP INFORMATION REQUEST), and
receive, from the base station based on at least one type of TRP information, a TRP information response message including information on at least one TRP corresponding to the at least one TRP ID (see step 620, fig 6, and paragraphs 115 and 117, TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE can indicate that the TRP is mobile),
wherein the type of TRP information includes, a physical cell ID (PCI), a cell global identity (CGI), a frequency information absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), configuration information on a positioning reference signal (PRS), information of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a spatial direction information, geographical coordinates, information about an on-demand PRS, TRP Tx timing error group (TEG) association information, and TRP location information (see paragraph 115).
What is lacking from Agnihotri is the TRP information request message including at least one requested type of TRP information such that the TRP information response is transmitted based on that at least one requested type TRP information.
In analogous art, Hao teaches an LMF sending a TRP information request to an access network device comprising a TRP information type (~requested type of TRP information) (see Hao, paragraph 221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to ensure that TRP information is provided only as needed.
What is further lacking from Agnihotri is and wherein the TRP information response message includes location of the TRP, velocity of the TRP, and information on a time point at which the location of the TRP is obtained.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information about the content of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE comprising both the speed of a moving cell, measurement information and time information (see Shimoda, paragraphs 208-220, 247-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the TRP information request message further includes indication information indicating a periodic report with period information, and wherein the TRP information response message is transmitted periodically based on the period information.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information inducing a periodic transmission of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE (see Shimoda, paragraphs 240, 247-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the TRP information request message further includes indication information indicating an event driven report with threshold information, and wherein the TRP information response message is transmitted based on the threshold information.
In analogous art, Shimoda teaches an LMF sending a TRP INFORMATION REQUEST comprising information inducing event based transmission of a TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE based on various thresholds (see Shimoda, paragraphs 241-257 and 301-302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agnihotri in view of Hao and Shimoda, applied to claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 above, and further in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
As to claims 5 and 15, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that a cell is added or removed, transmit, to the LMF entity, the TRP information response message including information associated with the cell.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a base station managing multiple cells to add cells. This teaching in view of Agnihotri’s teachings would result in the TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE indicating TRP information corresponding to an added cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF.
As to claims 10 and 20, what is lacking from Agnihotri is wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that a cell is added or removed to the base station, receiving, from the base station, the TRP information response message including information associated with the cell.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a base station managing multiple cells to add cells. This teaching in view of Agnihotri’s teachings would result in the TRP INFORMATION RESPONSE indicating TRP information corresponding to an added cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Agnihotri, so as to improve the quality of the information provided by the base station to the LMF
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641