DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4, 11, 13, 16, 19, 23-24 are amended.
Claims 1-24, 26, 28-29 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24, 26, 28-29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alawieh (US 20230314547).
Regarding Claim 1, Alawieh discloses the following limitations:
A method of wireless communication performed by a sensing node, comprising: (Alawieh - [0044] According to another embodiment, a method for signaling the LOS channel condition within an inventive communication system may have the steps of (DL Procedure): NW checks UE capability for phase processing or channel state detection; Configure the UE to receive one or more PRS resource for phase processing or channel state detection; Provide UE with the PRS configuration and/or indicate resources to process coherently; UE process the PRS resources and/or report the phase measurements for multiple snapshots or the Movement information w.r.t. the PRS measurements or a LOS/NLOS/OLOS condition based on the PRS measurements within a TRP resource set.)
obtaining one or more multipath measurements of one or more sensing signals associated with one or more radio propagation paths; and (Alawieh - [0163] NLOS: direct LOS propagation is blocked or strongly attenuated and the link between the transmitting and receiving antenna results from one or more multipath components (MPCs). [0173] Similar channel characteristics (RMS Delay Spread and Shadow Fading) Based on the above, the channel characterization enables the responsible entity to classify a Tx-Rx link as LOS, NLOS or OLOS. The MPC types gives an additional indication on the classified quality and uncertainty as well.)
obtaining radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths based on the one or more multipath measurements; and (Alawieh - [0044], [0173])
wherein the radio propagation paths information comprises a sequence of propagation events information associated with at least one radio propagation path, (Alawieh - [Fig. 7] [0044], [0173])
the sequence of propagation events information representing a sequence of propagation events including one or more propagation events each associated with the at least one radio propagation path and each representing at least one propagation mechanism comprising (Alawieh - [Fig. 7], [0044], [0167-172] MPC and LOS correlation [0173])
reflection, (Alawieh - [0171] Reflection from edges or diffraction (knife edge obstacle), OLOS (obstructed LOS, cf. FIG. 7) is used to describe this impact:)
refraction, (Alawieh – [0068] width of a correlation lobe (near refractions causes the lobe to get wider and hence, effect the TOA quality);)
diffraction, (Alawieh - [0171])
scattering, or any combination thereof, (Alawieh – [0225] The phase difference is used to recognize state change (i.e., LOS/NLOS). In case the LOS path is blocked or obstructed, a NLOS scattering cluster (with multiple subpaths) can be considered as a virtual TRP 13 from the point of view of the UE as seen in FIGS. 5a, 5b. FIG. 5a illustrates the LOS situation, while FIG. 5b illustrates the NLOS situation.)
wherein the sequence of propagation events information comprises an indication of locations of the propagation events along a given radio propagation path of the at least one radio propagation path, the indication of locations identifying one or more locations of one or more objects corresponding to the at least one propagation mechanism. (Alawieh – [Fig. 7], [0044], [0042] According to an embodiment, a transceiver for receiving a receive signal or a plurality of receive signals to be used for position determination over multiple points of time may have: a measurement unit configured to perform a measurements to detect an information on a first arriving path, the information includes a time or a direction for the first arriving path; and a channel state analyzer configured to estimate a LOS channel condition to determine a channel state information describing the condition of the first arriving path. [0162] LOS, NLOS and OLOS reception: Physical objects along the signal propagation path such as buildings or movable objects can either block the LOS propagation or cause that of the propagating transmitted signal to be reflected.)
Regarding Claim 2, Alawieh further discloses:
further comprising: reporting, to a sensing entity, the one or more multipath measurements and the radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths. (Alawieh – [Fig. 9B], [0044], [0003] The arrows 108.sub.1, 108.sub.2 and 108.sub.3 schematically represent uplink/downlink connections for transmitting data from a user UE.sub.1, UE.sub.2 and UE.sub.3 to the base stations gNB.sub.2, gNB.sub.4 or for transmitting data from the base stations gNB.sub.2, gNB.sub.4 to the users UE.sub.1, UE.sub.2, UE.sub.3. [0047] Sidelink Procedure (RTT)):…One or multiple UEs reports.)
Regarding Claim 3, Alawieh further discloses:
further comprising: receiving a radio propagation configuration for obtaining the radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths. (Alawieh – [Fig. 9B], [0003], [0044])
Regarding Claim 4, Alawieh discloses the following limitations:
A sensing node, comprising: (Alawieh – [Fig. 9B], [0003], [0044])
one or more memories; (Alawieh – [0277] The computer system 500 includes one or more processors…The computer system 500 includes a main memory 506)
one or more transceivers; and (Alawieh – [0042])
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (Alawieh – [0042], [0277])
obtain one or more multipath measurements of one or more sensing signals associated with one or more radio propagation paths; and (Alawieh - [0044], [0173])
obtain radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths based on the one or more multipath measurements; and (Alawieh - [0044], [0173])
wherein the radio propagation paths information comprises propagation events information representing a sequence of propagation events each associated with at least one radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths and each representing at least one propagation mechanism selected from (Alawieh - [Fig. 7], [0044], [0167-0173])
reflection, (Alawieh - [0171])
refraction, (Alawieh – [0068])
diffraction, or (Alawieh - [0171])
scattering, or any combination thereof, (Alawieh – [0225])
wherein the sequence of propagation events information comprises an indication of locations of the propagation events along a given radio propagation path of the at least one radio propagation path, the indication of locations identifying one or more locations of one or more objects corresponding to the at least one propagation mechanism. (Alawieh – [Fig. 7], [0042], [0044], [0162])
Regarding Claim 5, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh - [0277])
report, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing entity, the one or more multipath measurements and the radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths. (Alawieh – [Fig. 9B], [0003], [0044], [0047], [0173])
Regarding Claim 6, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the radio propagation paths information reported to the sensing entity comprises: (Alawieh – [Fig. 9B], [0003], [0044], [0047], [0173])
reflection information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0171])
refraction information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0068])
diffraction information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0171])
scattering information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0225])
quality metric information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0044], [0173])
Regarding Claim 7, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the reflection information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths comprises: (Alawieh – [0044], [0171])
an indication that a given set of reflection information is associated with a given path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0171])
an indication of angles of reflections at a reflection point of the one or more radio propagation paths; an indication of a number of reflections associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0171], [0073] According to embodiments, the channel state analyzer is configured to perform a phase measurement to determine an angle of departure of a transmission signal and/or to determine an angle of arrival of the receive signal.)
an indication of a location associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0042])
Regarding Claim 8, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the refraction information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths comprises: (Alawieh – [0068], [0174] The UE can analyzes the correlation profile for the correlation lobe corresponding to the FAP for the different times (in this case corresponding to a new position on the track) based on the following steps:)
an indication that the refraction information is associated with a given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0068], [0174])
an indication of one or more angles of refraction associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0068], [0073], [0174])
an indication of a number of refractions associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0042], [0068], [0174])
an indication of a refraction point associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0042], [0068], [0174])
Regarding Claim 9, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the diffraction information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths comprises: (Alawieh – [0171])
an indication that the diffraction information is associated with a given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0171])
an indication of an angle of diffraction associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0073], [0171])
an indication of a type of diffraction associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0171])
an indication of a location of one or more diffraction points associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0042], [0044], [0171])
Regarding Claim 10, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the scattering information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths comprises: (Alawieh – [0225])
an indication that the scattering information is associated with a given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0225])
an indication of an angle of scattering associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0073], [0225])
an indication of a type of scattering associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044], [0225])
an indication of a number of scatterings associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0225])
an indication of a location of one or more scattering points associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0044], [0225])
Regarding Claim 11, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the sequence of propagation events information associated with the one or radio propagation paths comprises: (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
an indication of an ordered sequence of propagation events associated with a given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
an indication of quality metrics associated with the given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
Regarding Claim 12, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a radio propagation configuration for obtaining the radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths. (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
Regarding Claim 13, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the radio propagation configuration comprises: (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
an indication of a location of the sensing node; (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
an indication of one or more locations of one or more wireless devices used to obtain the radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0042] [0044])
an indication of one or more object shapes of the one or more objects associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [Fig. 7], [0162])
an indication of one or more object orientations for the one or more objects associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0147] FIGS. 5A-5B show schematic block diagrams for illustrating the usage of displacement and orientation information to identify a channel state according to embodiments, wherein 5A illustrates track and LOS reception and 5B virtual TRP position from NLOS reception;)
Regarding Claim 14, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
report, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing entity, an indication of radio propagation reporting capabilities of the sensing node. (Alawieh – [0042] [0044], [0047] [0185] According to embodiments, reporting channel state information can be performed: Based on this information derived the UE (as a measurement entity) can either report the measurements to a second entity (for LMF) or the UE can use this information to determine a LOS/OLOS/NLOS reception. [0186] For this case the UE (or/and TRP) reports the LMF the channel state: [0187] o Channel state: LOS, NLOS, OLOS [0188] Confidence (optional): is an integer providing an indication of the confidence in the provided channel state)
Regarding Claim 15, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the radio propagation reporting capabilities reported to the sensing entity comprise: (Alawieh – [0042] [0044], [0047], [0185-0188])
an indication of one or more methods used by the sensing node for reporting the radio propagation paths information; (Alawieh – [0042] [0044], [0185-0188])
an indication of radio propagation events used by the sensing node for reporting the radio propagation paths information; (Alawieh – [0042] [0044], [0185-0188])
an indication of one or more types of information that can be provided by the sensing node for reporting the radio propagation paths information; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0042] [0044], [0185-0188])
Regarding Claim 16, Alawieh discloses the following limitations:
A sensing entity, comprising: (Alawieh – [0003], [0009] When considering two UEs directly communicating with each other over the sidelink, both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs. [0195] For an Uplink-Downlink scenario both the UE and TRP are the measurement units. For sidelink, one or two communication UEs are the measurement units.)
one or more memories; (Alawieh – [0277])
one or more transceivers; and (Alawieh – [0042])
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (Alawieh – [0042], [0277])
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration for reporting multipath measurements of one or more sensing signals and radio propagation paths information associated with one or more radio propagation paths; and (Alawieh – [0003], [0044]
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a report including the multipath measurements and the radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; and (Alawieh – [0003], [0044])
wherein the radio propagation paths information comprises propagation events information representing a sequence of propagation events each associated with at least one radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths and each representing at least one propagation mechanism selected from (Alawieh - [Fig. 7] [0044], [0167-0173])
reflection, (Alawieh - [0171])
refraction, (Alawieh – [0068])
diffraction, (Alawieh - [0171])
scattering, or any combination thereof; (Alawieh – [0225])
wherein the sequence of propagation events information comprises an indication of locations of the propagation events along a given radio propagation path of the at least one radio propagation path, the indication of locations identifying one or more locations of one or more objects corresponding to the at least one propagation mechanism. (Alawieh – [Fig. 7], [0042], [0044], [0162])
Regarding Claim 17, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
model a multipath radio propagation environment based on the multipath measurements and radio propagation paths information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths received in the report. (Alawieh – [0273] In a first option, the information message includes a channel model indication which the channel analyzer uses as a reference to derive one or more parameters for the channel state estimation. The information can include a channel model indication which in one example is an indication on known channel models such as the channel models (UMi, Uma, InH, InF-DH, InF-SH ... ) in TR 38.901. In another example the channel indication may represent a scenario-defined model which is known or pre-configured to the channel analyzer.)
Regarding Claim 18, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the modeling of the multipath radio propagation environment comprises: (Alawieh – [0273])
constructing a digital twin of the multipath radio propagation environment; (Alawieh – [0273], [0049] Another embodiment may have a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for performing a channel state analysis)
calibrating the digital twin of the multipath radio propagation environment; (Alawieh – [0044], [0049], [0273])
generate a dataset for training a machine learning model of the multipath radio propagation environment; (Alawieh – [0044], [0049], [0273], [0184] The processing entity 10a responsible for the classification can use one or more of the information to determine the FAP LOS condition. The processing entity can apply machine learning approach based on this input information.)
augmenting the dataset used to train the machine learning model of the multipath radio propagation environment; (Alawieh – [0044], [0184], [0273])
monitor performance of the machine learning model of the multipath radio propagation environment; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0044], [0184], [0273])
Regarding Claim 19, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the report further comprises: (Alawieh – [0044], [0171])
reflection information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0171])
refraction information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0068])
diffraction information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0171])
scattering information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0225])
quality metric information associated with the one or more radio propagation paths. (Alawieh – [0044], [0173])
Regarding Claim 20, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the report comprises: an indication that a multipath measurement of the multipath measurements is associated with a given radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths; (Alawieh – [0044])
an indication of an angle of reflection from a reflection point associated with the given radio propagation path; an indication of a number of reflections associated with the given radio propagation path; (Alawieh – [0044], [0073], [0171])
location information relating to one or more reflection points radio propagation path; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0042], [0044], [0073], [0171])
Regarding Claim 21, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors configured to receive the report comprises the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a plurality of further reports including multipath measurements and radio propagation paths information associated with one or more radio propagation paths from a plurality of sensing nodes. (Alawieh – [0003], [0009], [0042])
Regarding Claim 22, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
receive, via the one or more transceivers, radio propagation reporting capabilities from one or more sensing nodes. (Alawieh – [0003], [0009], [0044])
Regarding Claim 23, Alawieh discloses the following limitations:
A sensing node, comprising: (Alawieh – [0044])
one or more memories; (Alawieh – [0277])
one or more transceivers; and (Alawieh – [0042])
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (Alawieh – [0042], [0277])
obtain one or more multipath measurements of one or more sensing signals reflected from a target object along one or more radio propagation paths; and (Alawieh – [0171])
report, via the one or more transceivers, one or more target path line-of-sight (LOS) indicators associated with the one or more multipath measurements, (Alawieh – [0042], [0044])
radio propagation paths information associated with one or more radio propagation paths based on the one or more multipath measurements, (Alawieh - [Fig. 7] [0044], [0167-0173])
wherein the radio propagation paths information comprises propagation events information representing a sequence of propagation events each associated with at least one radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths and each representing at least one propagation mechanism selected from (Alawieh - [Fig. 7] [0044], [0167-0173])
reflection, (Alawieh - [0171])
refraction, (Alawieh – [0068])
diffraction, (Alawieh - [0171])
scattering, or any combination thereof, (Alawieh – [0225])
wherein the sequence of propagation events information comprises an indication of locations of the propagation events along a given radio propagation path of the at least one radio propagation path, the indication of locations identifying one or more locations of one or more objects corresponding to the at least one propagation mechanism. (Alawieh – [Fig. 7], [0042], [0044], [0162])
Regarding Claim 24, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein: the sequence of propagation events are based on time of arrival (TOA) measurements associated with the at least one radio propagation path; (Alawieh – [Fig. 7], [0044], [0167-0173], [0033] A correlation receiver normally identifies the first arriving path (FAP) and derives based on the FAP the measurements needed for determining a UE position (example Time of Arrival ToA measurements derived on the time the FAP is detected [0199] According to embodiments, phase measurements can be used to detect a LOS/NLOS condition. The measurement entity can perform successive phase measurements on the FAP path on the RSs transmitted on multiple time or frequency instants. The measurement entity can make a hypothesis whether the link corresponds to a channel state (NLOS, OLOS or LOS) by comparing the behavior of the measurements and the expectation of each of the channel state.)
reference signal received power (RSRP) information associated with the at least one radio propagation path; (Alawieh – [0179] 3. Overall channel information (RSRP, K-factor)
reception-transmission (Rx-Tx) time difference information associated with the at least one radio propagation path; (Alawieh – [0035] TDOA (time difference of arrival))
Doppler information associated with the at least one radio propagation path; (Alawieh – [0044], [0050] Another embodiment may have a transceiver configured to receive a receive signal and having a position/motion detection entity configured to determine a position/motion of the transceiver or a position/motion of another transceiver, wherein the position/motion detection entity uses for the determination of the position/motion a channel state information classifying the receive signal as LOS state, NLOS state, OLOS state, or MPC state.)
reference signal received path power (RSRPP) information associated with the at least one radio propagation path; or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0179], [0034-0040] 5G positioning)
Regarding Claim 26, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
report, via the one or more transceivers, sensing signal measurement capabilities of the sensing node to a sensing entity. (Alawieh – [0042], [0044], [0047])
Regarding Claim 28, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
receive, via the one or more transceivers, (Alawieh – [0009], [0042])
further radio propagation paths information associated with at least one radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths based on one or more multipath measurements obtained by the sensing node, (Alawieh - [Fig. 7], [0044], [0167-0173])
wherein the further radio propagation paths information comprises propagation events information representing a sequence of propagation events each associated with at least one radio propagation path of the one or more radio propagation paths and each representing at least one propagation mechanism selected from (Alawieh - [Fig. 7], [0044], [0167-0173])
reflection, (Alawieh - [0171])
refraction, (Alawieh – [0068])
diffraction, (Alawieh - [0171])
scattering, or any combination thereof. (Alawieh – [0225])
Regarding Claim 29, Alawieh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: (Alawieh – [0277])
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, (Alawieh – [0042])
the radio propagation paths information. (Alawieh – [0044])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 12-14, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Alawieh does not disclose “wherein the sequence of propagation events information comprises an indication of locations of the propagation events along a given radio propagation path of the at least one radio propagation path, the indication of locations identifying one or more locations of one or more objects corresponding to the at least one propagation mechanism”. The examiner disagrees, Alawieh [0162] discloses “Physical objects along the signal propagation path such as buildings or movable objects can either block the LOS propagation or cause that of the propagating transmitted signal to be reflected” which maps to the BRI of “indication of locations” by indicating if signal propagation path is blocked by an object. This makes sense because it would indicate an object is either located on the propagation path or is not located on the propagation path.
Applicant argues, see page 13, that “the Office relies on Alawieh's disclosure of a 'virtual TRP' to map to the claimed objects”. The examiner disagrees, Alawieh – [0147] discloses “the usage of displacement and orientation information to identify a channel state” and the “FIGS. 5A-5B” represent the associated objects.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 15, filed 04/06/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Alawieh discloses the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648