DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of group III (Claims 42-48) in the reply filed on 30 October 2025 is acknowledged. Group II (Claim 33-41) are withdrawn from consideration.
Further, the Examiner will withdraw the restriction requirement of Group I since group III depends from claim 1. Thus, claims 1-32, 42-48 will be examined in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
vibration transfer members ([0153] vibration transfer member 533) in claims 1-11,13-23, 48;
display member ([0156] display member 100) in claims 42,43,45-48;
vibration generating apparatuses ([0269] vibration generating apparatuses 500-1, 500-2, and 500-3) in claims 42,43; and
sound generating apparatuses ([0282] sound generating apparatuses 610 and 620) in claim 47
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-32, 42, 45-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam (US 20210026590 A1) in view of Kim (KR 101664257 B1).
Claim 1. Nam teaches a vibration apparatus (Figs. 4,6, 15, and 16), comprising:
a vibration generating part
([0234] a vibration generating module 700 may include a first sound generator 710, a second sound generator 730, a third sound generator 750, and a fourth sound generator 770.
[0185] The first sound generator 710 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may further include a bobbin protection member 719. [0240] device 751 a piezoelectric material layer having a piezoelectric effect);
and a vibration transfer part coupled to the vibration generating part
([0186] The bobbin protection member 719 may be disposed on (connected to) a front surface (or a front end portion) of the bobbin 714 and may transfer a raising and lowering motion (or vibration) of the bobbin 714 to the rear surface of the display panel 200.)
, the vibration transfer part including a plurality of vibration transfer members spaced apart from one another
(Fig. 4; [0152] The vibration generating module 700 may include one sound generator or a plurality of sound generators 710 and 730.).
Nam further teaches the process of generating sound in the forward region ([0158] e.g. a vertical movement (or vibration) of the bobbin 714) but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members is configured to convert an in-plane vibration mode of the vibration generating part into an out-plane vibration mode.
However, Kim teaches wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members is configured to convert an in-plane vibration mode of the vibration generating part into an out-plane vibration mode
(Page 3/4- The horizontal movement of the piezoelectric element 18 is converted into the vertical movement of the displacement amplifying bodies 16a and 16b by the connecting portion 20.
(e.g. the in-plane vibration mode may be a horizontal-direction vibration), the out-plane vibration mode may be a vertical-direction vibration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the process of converting an in-plane vibration mode of the vibration generating part into an out-plane vibration mode as taught by Kim within the system of Nam for the purpose of enhancing the system to utilize the kinetic energy of the horizontal displacement to amplify and excite a response vertically to the display.
Claim 2. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members comprise a metal material or a plastic material
(Nam [0163][0164] The first sound generator 710...The base plate 711 may include a metal material having magnetism like iron (Fe). The base plate 711 may be a “lower plate,” a “base frame,” or a “yoke,” but the term is not limited thereto.).
Claim 3. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an adhesive member between the vibration generating part and each of the plurality of vibration transfer members
(Nam [0187] The first adhesive member may be between the back plate 250 of the display panel 200 and the bobbin protection member 719.).
Claim 4. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members includes a line shape
(Nam [0144] The line hole 660 may have a size and a shape each enabling a driving signal cable of the vibration generating module 700, ).
Claim 5. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members includes at least one or more transfer portions
(Nam [0169] The magnet 712, the center pole 713, the bobbin 714, and the coil 715 may each be a magnetic force circuit unit or a magnetic force vibration unit, which is on the base plate 711 to vibrate the display panel 200.
[0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.).
Claim 6. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration transfer part comprises:
a first vibration transfer member connected to a periphery portion of the vibration
generating part
([0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.)
; and a second vibration transfer member connected to a center portion of the vibration
generating part and surrounded by the first vibration transfer member
([0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.).
Claim 7. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first vibration transfer member and the second vibration transfer member have a same center point
([0167] In this case, the base plate 711 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure may include a rear protrusion portion 711a inserted into the first hole 641 provided in the forming portion 630 of the first support 600. The rear protrusion portion 711a may protrude from the base plate 711 to the first support 600 to include a groove portion that accommodates the magnet 712 and the bobbin 714,).
Claim 8. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 6, wherein each of the first vibration transfer member and the second vibration transfer member includes at least one or more transfer portions
([0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.).
Claim 9. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration transfer part further comprises a base member between the vibration generating part and the plurality of vibration transfer members
([0167] In this case, the base plate 711 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure may include a rear protrusion portion 711a inserted into the first hole 641 provided in the forming portion 630 of the first support 600. ).
Claim 10. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein the base member and the plurality of vibration transfer members comprise a metal material or a plastic material
((Nam [0163][0164] The first sound generator 710...The base plate 711 may include a metal material having magnetism like iron (Fe). The base plate 711 may be a “lower plate,” a “base frame,” or a “yoke,” but the term is not limited thereto.)).
Claim 11. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members protrudes from the base member
(Nam [0167] The rear protrusion portion 711a may protrude from the base plate 711 to the first support 600 to include a groove portion that accommodates the magnet 712 and the bobbin 714,).
Claim 12. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 9, further comprising an adhesive member between the vibration generating part and the base member
([0166] The base plate 711 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be on a bottom surface of the forming portion 630 of the first support 600 using a fixing member such as an adhesive or a double-sided tape.).
Claim 13. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members includes a line shape
(Nam [0144] The line hole 660 may have a size and a shape each enabling a driving signal cable of the vibration generating module 700, ).
Claim 14. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members includes at least one or more transfer portions
(Nam [0169] The magnet 712, the center pole 713, the bobbin 714, and the coil 715 may each be a magnetic force circuit unit or a magnetic force vibration unit, which is on the base plate 711 to vibrate the display panel 200.
[0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.).
Claim 15. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein the vibration transfer part comprises:
a first vibration transfer member connected to a periphery portion of the vibration
generating part
(Nam [0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.);
and a second vibration transfer member connected to a center portion of the base member and
surrounded by the first vibration transfer member
([0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.).
Claim 16. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first vibration transfer member and the second vibration transfer member have a same center point
(Nam [0167] In this case, the base plate 711 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure may include a rear protrusion portion 711a inserted into the first hole 641 provided in the forming portion 630 of the first support 600. The rear protrusion portion 711a may protrude from the base plate 711 to the first support 600 to include a groove portion that accommodates the magnet 712 and the bobbin 714,).
Claim 17. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 15, wherein each of the first vibration transfer member and the second vibration transfer member includes at least one or more transfer portions
(Nam [0169] The magnet 712, the center pole 713, the bobbin 714, and the coil 715 may each be a magnetic force circuit unit or a magnetic force vibration unit, which is on the base plate 711 to vibrate the display panel 200.
[0178] The center pole 713 may be accommodated or inserted into the bobbin 714 and may guide raising or lowering of the bobbin 714.).
Claim 18. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration transfer part further comprises:
a base member between the vibration generating part and the plurality of vibration transfer
members
(Nam [0167] In this case, the base plate 711 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure may include a rear protrusion portion 711a inserted into the first hole 641 provided in the forming portion 630 of the first support 600. ).
; and an adhesive member between the base member and each of the plurality of vibration
transfer members
(Nam [0166] The base plate 711 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be on a bottom surface of the forming portion 630 of the first support 600 using a fixing member such as an adhesive or a double-sided tape.).
Claim 19. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members is configured as a different material from the base member
(Nam [0176] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the bobbin 714 may include a structure including a material obtained by processing pulp or paper, Al or Mg or an alloy thereof, or synthetic resin such as polyimide.
[0164] The base plate 711 may include a metal material having magnetism like iron (Fe).
[0126]For example, the first support 600 may include one material of Al, an Al alloy, a Mg alloy, an iron-nickel (Fe—Ni) alloy, and stainless steel, or an alloy thereof or may have a junction structure).
Claim 20. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members is configured as a material having stiffness which is greater than the base
Member
(Nam [0177] Also, because the polyimide film is good in thermal and mechanical stiffness, the polyimide film may enhance the reliability of the bobbin 714,).
Claim 21. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of vibration transfer members is configured to have a thickness different from the base member
(Nam [0182] the first sound generator 710 may have a relatively thin thickness so as to reduce a thickness of the display apparatus or slim the display apparatus. Due to this, when a height (or a thickness) of the bobbin 714 is reduced).
Claim 22. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 18, wherein:
the base member comprises a metal material or a plastic material
((Nam [0163][0164] The first sound generator 710...The base plate 711 may include a metal material having magnetism like iron (Fe). The base plate 711 may be a “lower plate,” a “base frame,” or a “yoke,” but the term is not limited thereto.).
); and each of the plurality of vibration transfer members comprises a metal material or a plastic
material different from the base member
(Nam [0176] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the bobbin 714 may include a structure including a material obtained by processing pulp or paper, Al or Mg or an alloy thereof, or synthetic resin such as polyimide.).
Claim 23. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 18, wherein the vibration transfer part further comprises:
a first connection part configured at base member
([0144] a second line hole 663 in the bottom surface 631 of the forming portion 630 adjacent to the second hole 643.
[0154] For example, a portion of a rear surface of the first sound generator 710 may be inserted or accommodated into the first hole 641 in the first region of the forming portion 630)
; and a second connection part configured at each of the plurality of vibration transfer members
corresponding to the first connection part
([0136] The forming portion 630 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a bottom surface 631 facing the rear surface of the display panel 200 and an inclined surface 633 between the first plate 610 and the bottom surface 631.).
Claim 24. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 23, wherein:
the first connection part comprises a groove
(Nam [0200] Each of the plurality of boss portions 635 may include a hole that protrudes from the bottom surface of the forming portion 630 overlapping the periphery portion of the base plate 711 and is connected to a corresponding second connection member 701 of the plurality of second connection members 701.);
and the second connection part comprises a protrusion accommodated in the groove
([0135] The forming portion 630 may be concavely provided (or connected) to have a tetragonal shape from a front surface of the first plate 610 facing the rear surface of the display panel 200. The forming portion 630 may protrude from the first plate 610 in a rearward direction opposite to a forward direction toward the rear surface of the display panel 200,).
Claim 25. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a first cover member
([0062] he front member 100 may cover (or overlay) the front surface of the display panel 200 to protect the display panel 200 from an external impact. Also, the front member 100 may vibrate along with the vibration of the display panel 200 to generate a sound DVS.);
a second cover member
([0129] The first plate 610 (or a supporting plate) may be disposed on the rear surface of the display panel 200. For example, the first plate 610 may be disposed to face the rear surface (or a backside) of the display panel 200 and may cover (or overlay) the rear surface of the display panel 200.)
; and a vibration part between the first cover member and the second cover member, the
vibration part including a piezoelectric material
([0241] The first piezoelectric device 751 may include a piezoelectric material layer having a piezoelectric effect.).
Claim 26. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 25, wherein the vibration part includes a vibration layer, a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer, and
wherein each of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer is disposed at other
portion, except a periphery portion of the vibration layer
([0114] For example, the second support 400 may include a double-sided tape or a double-sided foam tape each including a vibration absorbing layer (or an elastic layer), (e.g. vibration layer)
[0076] The light-emitting device layer according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may have a top emission structure (or a front emission structure) where light emitted from the light-emitting device passes through the encapsulation layer 230 and is transferred (or outputted) toward the front member 100. (e.g. first layer)
[0090] According to another embodiment of the present disclosure, the touch electrode layer may be directly on the encapsulation layer 230, based on an in-cell type. For example, when the light-emitting device layer has the top emission structure, an in-cell type touch electrode layer may be directly on the front surface of the encapsulation layer 230. (e.g. second layer)
Fig. 16 shows first and second layers that are away from periphery).
Claim 27. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 25, wherein:
the vibration generating part further comprises a signal supply member electrically connected to the vibration part
(Fig 5 [0143])
; and a portion of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member
and the second cover member
([0143] One portion of the signal transfer member 350 may be connected to the PCB 330 between the rear surface of the display panel 200 and the first support 600, and the other portion of the signal transfer member 350 may pass through the cable hole 650).
Claim 28. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 27, wherein the signal supply member is integrated into the vibration generating part
([0143] One portion of the signal transfer member 350 may be connected to the PCB 330 between the rear surface of the display panel 200 and the first support 600).
Claim 29. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the vibration generating part comprises:
a first vibration generating part
([0250] The first protection member 755);
a second vibration generating part stacked on the first vibration generating part
([0250] the first piezoelectric device 751);
and an intermediate adhesive member between the first vibration generating part and the
second vibration generating part
([0250] The first protection member 755 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a cross-sectional insulation tape or an insulation cross-sectional foam tape each having an adhesive layer on the rear surface of the first piezoelectric device 751),
and wherein one of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part is connected to the vibration transfer part
([0237] The third sound generator 750 may vibrate a third rear surface of the display panel 200 to output sound of a second sound band, ).
Claim 30. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 29, wherein each of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part comprises:
a first cover member
([0062] he front member 100 may cover (or overlay) the front surface of the display panel 200 to protect the display panel 200 from an external impact. Also, the front member 100 may vibrate along with the vibration of the display panel 200 to generate a sound DVS.);
a second cover member
([0129] The first plate 610 (or a supporting plate) may be disposed on the rear surface of the display panel 200. For example, the first plate 610 may be disposed to face the rear surface (or a backside) of the display panel 200 and may cover (or overlay) the rear surface of the display panel 200.)
; and a vibration part between the first cover member and the second cover member, the
vibration part including a piezoelectric material
([0241] The first piezoelectric device 751 may include a piezoelectric material layer having a piezoelectric effect.).
Claim 31. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 30, wherein:
each of the first vibration generating part and the second vibration generating part further
comprises a signal supply member electrically connected to the vibration part
([0143] One portion of the signal transfer member 350 may be connected to the PCB 330 between the rear surface of the display panel 200 and the first support 600, and the other portion of the signal transfer member 350 may pass through the cable hole 650);
and a portion of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member
and the second cover member
([0143] One portion of the signal transfer member 350 may be connected to the PCB 330 between the rear surface of the display panel 200 and the first support 600).
Claim 32. Nam and Kim teach the vibration apparatus of claim 31, wherein the signal supply member is integrated into the first vibration generating part or the second vibration generating part
([0143] One portion of the signal transfer member 350 may be connected to the PCB 330 between the rear surface of the display panel 200 and the first support 600).
Claim 42. Nam and Kim teach a vehicular apparatus (Figs. 18 and 20), comprising:
a dashboard
([0257] the dashboard DB);
an instrument panel module at the dashboard, the instrument panel module including a
first display
([0257] The instrument panel module IPM may include a first display DIS1, which is disposed in the first region DA of the dashboard DB. );
a driver seat
([0282] driver seat sheet) DS);
a passenger seat
([0282] a passenger seat sheet) PS)
; and an infotainment module at one or more of the dashboard
([0282] the second and third displays DIS2 and DIS3 )
, the driver scat, and the passenger seat
([0283] The fourth display DIS4 may be disposed in or buried into a headrest of the driver seat DS, and the fifth display DIS5 may be disposed in or buried into a headrest of the passenger seat PS.),
the infotainment module including one or more second displays
([0274] an infotainment module ITM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a second display DIS2
[0276] The third display DIS3 may share a function of the second display DIS2.
[0282][0283] With reference to FIG. 20, an infotainment module ITM according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may further include a fourth display DIS4 ... and the fifth display DIS5),
wherein one or more of the first display and the one or more second displays comprise:
a display member configured to display an image
([0276] the third display DIS3 may transmit or receive image information... may display the received image information on a display panel.
[0285] fourth and fifth displays DIS4 and DIS5 may transmit or receive image information);
one or more vibration generating apparatuses configured to vibrate the display member
([0066] The display panel 200 may output the sound DVS according (or responding) to a vibration of the vibration generating module 700, or may generate a haptic feedback (or a haptic vibration) responding to the user touch.);
and a connection member between the display member and the one or more vibration
generating apparatuses
(Fig. 6 [0187] The bobbin protection member 719 may be disposed on (or coupled to) the rear surface of the display panel 200 using a first adhesive member. The first adhesive member may be between the back plate 250 of the display panel 200 and the bobbin protection member 719.),
wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 4 and 6).
Claim 45. Nam and Kim teach the vehicular apparatus of claim 42, wherein the display member comprises:
a display panel including a plurality of pixels configured to display the image
(Nam[0070] a pixel array substrate 210 including a pixel array layer 213 having a plurality of pixels);
and a touch panel coupled to the display panel
(Nam [0066] The display panel 200 may act as a touch sensor that senses a user touch applied to the front member 100
[0259] the first display DIS1 may display an image, corresponding to vehicle driving information provided from a vehicle host system, on a display panel.).
Claim 46. Nam and Kim teach the vehicular apparatus of claim 42, wherein the display member comprises:
a front member
Nam Fig. 15. [0066] the front member 100;
a display panel at a rear surface of the front member, the display panel including a
plurality of pixels configured to display the image
([0070] a pixel array substrate 210 including a pixel array layer 213 having a plurality of pixels)
; and a touch panel between the front member and the display panel
([0089] an add-on type touch panel may be disposed on or coupled to the encapsulation layer 230 or the optical film, and when the light-emitting device layer has the bottom emission structure, the add-on type touch panel may be disposed on or coupled to the rear surface of the pixel array substrate 210.).
Claim 47. Nam and Kim teach the vehicular apparatus of claim 42, wherein one or more of the first display and the one or more second display further comprise an acoustic apparatus including one or more sound generating apparatuses configured to vibrate the display member
([0110] may generate a driving signal including a sound signal or a haptic feedback signal to provide the driving signal to the control board 340. For example, the sound signal may be synchronized with the video data, or may not be synchronized with the video data.
[0130] thereby enhancing the vibration efficiency of the vibration generating module 700 to enhance the sound pressure level, quality, and reproduction band of a sound generated by a vibration of the display panel 200.).
Claim 48. Nam and Kim teach the vehicular apparatus of claim 47, wherein the one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise:
a vibration generating part
([0185] The first sound generator 710 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may further include a bobbin protection member 719.)
; and a vibration transfer part including a plurality of vibration transfer members and
configured to transfer a vibration of the vibration generating part to the display member
(([0186] The bobbin protection member 719 may be disposed on (connected to) a front surface (or a front end portion) of the bobbin 714 and may transfer a raising and lowering motion (or vibration) of the bobbin 714 to the rear surface of the display panel 200.)
Fig. 4;
[0152] The vibration generating module 700 may include one sound generator or a plurality of sound generators 710 and 730.).
Claim(s) 43 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam and Kim and further in view of Colgate (US 20150355714 A1).
Claim 43. Nam and Kim teach the vehicular apparatus of claim 42, wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses vibrates the display member according to a driving signal to generate an ultrasonic vibration at a surface of the display member.
However, Colgate teaches wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses vibrates the display member according to a driving signal to generate an ultrasonic vibration at a surface of the display member.
(Fig. 1[0015] One or more control devices can be provided to provide different modulated amplitudes of ultrasonic vibration at different haptic devices to vary friction felt by the user's appendage exploring the different haptic devices of the pattern.
[0053][0061] In one trial of the VFHD of FIG. 3, the amplitude of the ultrasonic vibrations was modulated on the tile substrates 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use ultrasonic vibration as taught by Colgate within the system of Nam for the purpose of enhancing the apparatus to detect the precise mapping and movement of the fingerprint on the display.
Claim 44. Nam, Kim and Colgate teach the vehicular apparatus of claim 43, wherein the driving signal is an amplitude modulation signal of an ultrasonic signal based on a low frequency signal
(Colgate [0030] FIG. 9C is a perspective view of a friction force profile generated by modulating the excitation voltage of the piezoelectric element to provide a step change of the excitation voltage.).
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689