DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 specifies “a curing time for the polyurea coating is less than equal to 20 min.” The word “min.” should be spelled out completely. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagahama et al., (US 20200321576 A1), hereinafter Nagahama.
Regarding Claim 1, Nagahama discloses a battery pack for a power tool, comprising:
a housing assembly; ([0038] comprises a housing)
a battery cell module disposed in the housing assembly and comprising at least a plurality of battery cells; ([0038] which houses the plurality of battery cells)
a circuit board disposed in the housing assembly and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells; ([0038] a circuit board, which is fixed to the cell holder and is electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells)
a battery terminal electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells to connect the plurality of battery cells to the power tool for transmitting electric power; and ([0042] pair of electric-power terminals is electrically connected to the battery cells and outputs, to the electrical device)
a polyurea coating applied to at least a part of the housing assembly. ([0050] The front-surface side of the circuit board is coated with coatings. The coatings are composed of, for example, urethane resin (polyurethane), epoxy resin, polyurea, or the like. As polyurea is one out of four listed options, sufficient specificity exists for anticipation.)
Regarding Claim 2, Nagama discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
the polyurea coating is applied to at least one of the battery cell module, the circuit board, and a connector connecting the plurality of battery cells. ([0050] The front-surface side of the circuit board is coated with coatings. The coatings are composed of, for example, urethane resin (polyurethane), epoxy resin, polyurea, or the like)
Regarding Claim 11, Nagahama discloses a power tool, comprising:
a tool body; ([0038] power supply for supplying electrical power to an electrical device such as a power tool)
an electric motor disposed in the tool body; and ([0038] power supply for supplying electrical power to an electrical device)
a power interface configured to be connected to a battery pack for supplying power to the electric motor; ([0038] mountable on and demountable (removable) from the electrical device.)
wherein the battery pack comprises:
a housing assembly; ([0038] comprises a housing)
a battery cell module disposed in the housing assembly and comprising at least a plurality of battery cells; ([0038] which houses the plurality of battery cells)
a circuit board disposed in the housing assembly and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells; ([0038] a circuit board, which is fixed to the cell holder and is electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells)
a battery terminal electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells to connect the plurality of battery cells to the power interface for transmitting electric power; and ([0042] pair of electric-power terminals is electrically connected to the battery cells and outputs, to the electrical device)
a polyurea coating applied to at least a part of the housing assembly. ([0050] The front-surface side of the circuit board is coated with coatings. The coatings are composed of, for example, urethane resin (polyurethane), epoxy resin, polyurea, or the like)
Regarding Claim 12, Nagama discloses the power tool of claim 11, wherein
the polyurea coating is applied to at least one of the tool body, the battery cell module, the circuit board, and a connector connecting the plurality of battery cells. ([0050] The front-surface side of the circuit board is coated with coatings. The coatings are composed of, for example, urethane resin (polyurethane), epoxy resin, polyurea, or the like)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama et al., (US 2020/0321576A1), hereinafter Nagahama, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Li et al., (US 2015/0140411A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 3 Nagahama teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the battery cell module further comprises:
a cell holder configured to support the plurality of battery cells, and ([0038] a cell holder (battery cell holder) which holds the plurality of battery cells)
Nagahama does not teach
the polyurea coating is applied to the cell holder and/or at least one of the plurality of battery cells.
Li teaches a battery pack with a plurality of battery cells secured together with an external clamp positioned about the group of battery cells [0038], and a polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or an entirety of the clamp of the battery pack [0039] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating from Li into the cell holder of Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 4. Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 3, wherein
the cell holder comprises a portion that is exposed after the battery pack is assembled, and the polyurea coating is applied to an external surface of the exposed cell holder.
Li teaches a battery pack with a plurality of battery cells secured together with an external clamp positioned about the group of battery cells [0038], and a polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or an entirety of the clamp of the battery pack [0039] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating from Li into the cell holder of Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 5, Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
the polyurea coating is applied to at least a part of an external surface and/or at least a part of an internal surface of the housing assembly.
Li teaches the polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or the entirety of battery cell. The coating may be applied to the cell casing and, in some embodiments, completely cover the casing, and may completely cover the battery cell [0039] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating from Li into the cell holder of Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 6, Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
a thickness of the polyurea coating applied to the at least a part of the housing assembly is less than or equal to 5 mm.
Li teaches the polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or the entirety of, the battery cell and casing [0039]. Li also teaches the polyurea coating may be formed in one or more layers to establish a total coating thickness of 0.05-1.5 mm [0046] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. The polyurea coating thickness range falls within the claimed range (less than or equal to 5 mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating thickness range from Li into Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 7, Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
a curing time for the polyurea coating is controllable.
Li teaches that heated forced air or a heat cure can be applied to accelerate final cure [0042], which is an advantage over wrapping with polyimide/polypropylene films and dip coating, requiring significant processing time and expense [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the controllable curing time for the polyurea coating thickness range from Li into Nagahama to save time and expense in the manufacturing process.
Regarding Claim 8, Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
a curing time for the polyurea coating is less than equal to 20 min.
Li does not specifically teach a curing time of less than or equal to 20 minutes. Claim 8 is considered a product-by-process claim. Nagahama as modified by Li teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding Claim 14, Nagahama does not teach the power tool of claim 11, wherein
a curing time for the polyurea coating is less than equal to 20 min.
Li does not specifically teach a curing time of less than or equal to 20 minutes. Claim 8 is considered a product-by-process claim. Nagahama as modified by Li teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding Claim 15, Nagahama teaches the power tool of claim 11, wherein
the battery cell module further comprises a cell holder configured to support the plurality of battery cells, and
Nagahama does not teach
the polyurea coating is applied to the cell holder and/or at least one of the plurality of battery cells.
Li teaches a battery pack with a plurality of battery cells secured together with an external clamp positioned about the group of battery cells [0038], and a polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or an entirety of the clamp of the battery pack [0039] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating from Li into the cell holder of Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 16, Nagahama does not teach the power tool of claim 15, wherein
the cell holder comprises a portion that is exposed after the battery pack is assembled, and the polyurea coating is applied to an external surface of the exposed cell holder.
Li teaches a battery pack with a plurality of battery cells secured together with an external clamp positioned about the group of battery cells [0038], and a polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or an entirety of the clamp of the battery [0039] pack in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating from Li into the cell holder of Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 17, Nagahama does not teach the power tool of claim 11, wherein
the polyurea coating is applied to at least a part of an external surface and/or at least a part of an internal surface of the housing assembly.
Li teaches the polyurea coating may be applied to portions of, or the entirety of battery cell. The coating may be applied to the cell casing and, in some embodiments, completely cover the casing, and may completely cover the battery cell [0039] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating from Li into the cell holder of Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Regarding Claim 18, Nagahama does not teach the power tool of claim 11, wherein
a thickness of the polyurea coating applied to the at least part of the housing assembly is less than or equal to 5 mm.
Li teaches the polyurea coating may be formed in one or more layers to establish a total coating thickness of 0.05-1.5 mm [0046] in order to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system [0004]. The polyurea coating thickness range falls within the claimed range (less than or equal to 5 mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the polyurea coating thickness range from Li into Nagahama to provide thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, as well as abrasion and corrosion resistance to the battery system.
Claims 9, 10, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama et al., (US 2020/0321576A1), hereinafter Nagahama, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Elfering et al., (US 2018/0366697A1), hereinafter Elfering.
Regarding Claim 9, Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
the circuit board comprises a substrate, an electronic component supported on the substrate, and
a base coating applied to at least the electronic component, wherein
the polyurea coating is applied to the base coating.
Elfering teaches a battery pack with an outer housing, a cell module, a plurality of battery cells, a controller operable to control the operation of the battery pack, and a terminal electrically connected to the battery cells and operable to connect the battery cells to an electrical device for power transfer (Abstract, [0006]). Elfering also teaches the controller includes a substrate, an electronic component supported on the substrate, and a base coating applied to at least the electronic component, and the vapor-deposited coating may be applied over the base coating. The base coating may be applied to the substrate and the electronic component [0008] to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base coating on the circuit board substrate of Elfering under the polyurea coating in Nagahama in order to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack.
Regarding Claim 10, Nagahama does not teach the battery pack of claim 9, wherein
- the base coating is applied to the substrate and the electronic component.
Elfering teaches the controller includes a substrate, an electronic component supported on the substrate, and a base coating applied to at least the electronic component, and the vapor-deposited coating may be applied over the base coating. The base coating may be applied to the substrate and the electronic component [0008] to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base coating on the circuit board substrate of Elfering under the polyurea coating in Nagahama in order to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack.
Regarding Claim 19, Nagahama does not teach the power tool of claim 11, wherein
the circuit board comprises a substrate, an electronic component supported on the substrate, and
a base coating applied to at least the electronic component, wherein
the polyurea coating is applied to the base coating.
Elfering teaches a battery pack with an outer housing, a cell module, a plurality of battery cells, a controller operable to control the operation of the battery pack, and a terminal electrically connected to the battery cells and operable to connect the battery cells to an electrical device for power transfer (Abstract, [0006]). Elfering also teaches the controller includes a substrate, an electronic component supported on the substrate, and a base coating applied to at least the electronic component, and the vapor-deposited coating may be applied over the base coating. The base coating may be applied to the substrate and the electronic component [0008] to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base coating on the circuit board substrate of Elfering under the polyurea coating in Nagahama in order to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack.
Regarding Claim 20, Nagahama, as modified by Li, does not teach the power tool of claim 19, wherein
the base coating is applied to the substrate and the electronic component.
Elfering teaches the controller includes a substrate, an electronic component supported on the substrate, and a base coating applied to at least the electronic component, and the vapor-deposited coating may be applied over the base coating. The base coating may be applied to the substrate and the electronic component [0008] to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the base coating on the circuit board substrate of Elfering under the polyurea coating in Nagahama in order to help inhibit or prevent fluid/material intrusion into and/or short circuit of a battery cell, battery cells, or a battery pack.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama et al., (US 2020/0321576A1), hereinafter Nagahama, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Song et al., (CN 109134813A), hereinafter Song.
Regarding Claim 13, Nagahama teaches the power tool of claim 11, further comprising:
a tool accessory, ([0038] power storage device that serves as a power supply for supplying electric power to an electrical device (not shown) such as a power tool) wherein
Nagahama does not teach:
the polyurea coating is applied to at least the tool accessory.
Song teaches a polyurea coating that has high thermal stability, high tensile strength and toughness, high chemical corrosion resistance, and excellent electrical insulation properties, and can be used as an insulating material or encapsulation material for electronic and electrical devices [0045]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to apply the polyurea coating on the electrical device in Song to the tool accessory in Nagahama in order to impart toughness, corrosion resistance, and electrical insulation to the tool accessory.
Conclusion
/MARIO R GAMBOA/Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729