DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendments filed on 02/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baerlocher et al. (US Pat. No. 7922573 hereinafter referred to as Baerlocher).
As per claim 1, Baerlocher teaches a gaming system (abstract) comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, item 12); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (Fig. 2, item 14), that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: communicate data that results in a display, by a display device, of a first digit set comprising multiple digits (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B and col. 24, lines 37-61 and col. 30, lines 29-41 shows digit sets which comprise an award in a game); communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a first lock covering a first one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B and col. 24, lines 37-61 and col. 30, lines 29-41 the lock in this case is the cover that rotates to reveal the digit sets wherein cover moving reveals or locks a digit based on whether the digit is shown. As shown by Fig. 13B this includes the moving where it covers up a previously revealed digit and as discussed in the cited section moving also reveals digits which would include the case where digits can be reveals and hidden at the same time); and communicate data that results in a display, by the display device,of the first lock uncovering the first one of the digits of the first digit set, the first lock moving from the first one of the digits of the first digit set to a second one of the digits of the first digit set, and the first lock covering the second one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B and col. 24, lines 37-61 and col. 30, lines 29-41 the lock in this case is the cover that rotates to reveal the digit sets wherein cover moving reveals or locks a digit based on whether the digit is shown. This would include moving the cover in a direction that would previously not shown but ends up covering up a previously shown. As shown by Fig. 13B this includes the moving where it covers up a previously revealed digit and as discussed in the cited section moving also reveals digits which would include the case where digits can be reveals and hidden at the same time since, as shown by Figs. 14-15A, different size windows can be used.).
As per claims 2 and 11, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to; communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a digit set based on the digits of the first digit set that are not covered by the first lock (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B).
As per claims 3 and 12, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a second lock covering a second one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 14-15A multiple windows can be used which reveal the underlying digits).
As per claims 4 and 13, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to; communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of the second lock uncovering the second one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 14-15A multiple windows can be used which reveal the underlying digits).
As per claims 5 and 14, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to- communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of the second lock uncovering the second one of the digits of the first digit set, the second lock moving from the second one of the digits of the first digit set to another one of the digits of the first digit set, and the second lock covering the second one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 14-15A multiple windows can be used which reveal the underlying digits).
As per claims 6 and 15, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of the second lock uncovering the other one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 14-15A multiple windows can be used which reveal the underlying digits).
As per claims 7 and 16, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a change to one of the digits of the first digit set not covered by the first lock (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B relative position in the digit set is changed which would be a change).
As per claims 8 and 17, Baerlocher teaches a system wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the processor to communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of changes to all of the digits of the first digit set that are not covered by the first lock (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B relative position in the digit set is changed which would be a change).
As per claim 10, Baerlocher teaches a gaming system (abstract) comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, item 12); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (Fig. 2, item 14), that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: communicate data that results in a display, by a display device, of a first digit set comprising at least four (Fig. 12, shows four) digits (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B and col. 24, lines 37-61 and col. 30, lines 29-41 shows digit sets which comprise an award in a game); communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of a first lock covering a first one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B and col. 24, lines 37-61 and col. 30, lines 29-41 the lock in this case is the cover that rotates to reveal the digit sets wherein cover moving reveals or locks a digit based on whether the digit is shown. As shown by Fig. 13B this includes the moving where it covers up a previously revealed digit and as discussed in the cited section moving also reveals digits which would include the case where digits can be reveals and hidden at the same time); and communicate data that results in a display, by the display device, of the first lock uncovering the first one of the digits of the first digit set, the first lock moving from the first one of the digits of the first digit set to a second one of the digits of the first digit set, and the first lock covering the second one of the digits of the first digit set (Figs. 6-8 and 12-13B and col. 24, lines 37-61 and col. 30, lines 29-41 the lock in this case is the cover that rotates to reveal the digit sets wherein cover moving reveals or locks a digit based on whether the digit is shown. This would include moving the cover in a direction that would previously not shown but ends up covering up a previously shown. As shown by Fig. 13B this includes the moving where it covers up a previously revealed digit and as discussed in the cited section moving also reveals digits which would include the case where digits can be reveals and hidden at the same time since, as shown by Figs. 14-15A, different size windows can be used.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have overcome the previous rejection but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically applicant has amended to only claim display steps which no longer reads as mental steps and therefore overcomes the 101 rejection. However applicant’s current claims have been broaden to read on displayed information which would read on Baerlocher, cited above, since the game rule features are now removed. Therefore a new 102 rejection is made. Examiner recommends applicant look to include features of the game to clarify away from only an animation of locking, or covering, digits in a digit set.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN L MYHR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 6/23/2026