DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “oblong hole” (claim 1, line 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Examiner notes reference character “16” identifies “oblong hole,” but it is not clearly evident what feature of the knife sharpening device corresponds to “oblong hole.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, lines 3-4 recite, “a slot for receiving a blade of a circular knife, the slot extending eccentrically in to the holder transversely to a longitudinal axis of the holder.” As currently written, the claim does not appear to specifically define “a longitudinal axis of the holder.” Therefore, it is unclear what features of the holder define the longitudinal axis of the knife sharpening device. Claim 1, lines 5-9 recite, “the at least one sharpening rod being movably guided transversely to the longitudinal axis of the housing between a rest position and a working position” [emphasis added]. This limitation defines a first direction in which the at least one sharpening rod is moved relative to the housing. However, claim 1, lines 13-15 recite, “a spring mounted on the holder and acting on the sharpening rod, wherein the spring is configured to push the at least one sharpening rod with the attached sharpening insert in a direction of the longitudinal axis of the housing and in the slot of the housing to the rest position…” [emphasis added]. As currently written, claim 1, lines 13-15 define a second direction in which the sharpening rod moves relative to the housing which is distinct from the first direction defined in claim 1, lines 5-9. First, the at least one sharpening rod is movably guided transversely to [i.e., perpendicular or orthogonal to] the longitudinal axis of the housing. Subsequently, the spring pushes the at least one sharpening rod in a direction of the longitudinal axis of the housing. This can be interpreted as being a direction that is parallel to or in the same direction as the longitudinal axis of the housing. Therefore, it is unclear what can or cannot be included within the scope of claim 1 for the aforementioned issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US Patent 1,041,631) in view of Spreitz et al (DE 10052439), herein referred to as Spreitz, and further in view of Lee (US Patent 5,163,251). Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a knife sharpening device (fig. 1) comprising: a holder (1, 6), comprising a housing (1, 6), the holder has: a slot (2, 3) for receiving a blade (2) of a knife (i.e., capable of receiving a circular knife), the slot extending eccentrically into the holder (fig. 1, i.e., offset from the center thereof) transversely to a longitudinal axis (annotated fig. 3) of the holder (1, 6), and at least one sharpening rod (holding member 10), the at least one sharpening rod (10) having a proximal end (with extension 12 that receives pin 13) and a distal end (lower end thereof), the proximal end being pivotally mounted (upon pin 13) on the holder (page 1, lines 61-67), the at least one sharpening rod (10) being movably guided transversely to the longitudinal axis of the housing between a rest position (annotated fig. 1 – dashed line identifies higher point of intersection between inserts 15 when compared to position depicted in fig. 2, indicating inserts 15 are closer to one another) and a working position (annotated fig. 2 – dashed line identifies lower point of intersection, indicating inserts 15 are pivoted away from one another by knife received in slot 2, 3), at least one first sharpening insert (e.g., insert 15 on right-hand side of fig. 2) is arranged on the sharpening rod (10), a spring (16) mounted on the holder (fig. 2) and acting on the sharpening rod (10), wherein the spring is configured to push the at least one sharpening rod (10) with the attached sharpening insert (15) in a direction of the longitudinal axis of the housing (each sharpening rod 10 is pushed toward the other) and into the slot (2, 3) of the housing to the rest position (page 1, lines 72-77), wherein the at least one sharpening rod (10) is pivoted against the force of the spring into the working position (the downward force of knife into slot 2, 3 between sharpening inserts 15 forces sharpening rods 10 away from one another), and at least one additional sharpening insert (e.g., insert 15 on left-hand side of fig. 2).
• Johnson fails to disclose the at least one sharpening rod (10) being movably guided transversely to the longitudinal axis of the housing between the rest position (fig. 1) and the working position (fig. 2) via a pin disposed in an oblong hole at or adjacent to the distal end of the at least one sharpening rod. However, Spreitz (DE 100 52 439) teaches it is known in the art of knife sharpening devices at least one sharpening rod (4, 5) being movably guided (indicated by arrows 16, 17) transversely to the longitudinal axis of the housing (parallel to longitudinal axis of knife blade 21; fig. 1) between the rest position (translation, lines 1-6 of the Description) and the working position (i.e., position depicted in fig. 1) via a pin (reduced diameter portion 27 of pins 25, 26) disposed in an oblong hole (12, 13) at or adjacent to the distal end of the at least one sharpening rod. Spreitz teaches the aforementioned guiding structure is used in combination with respective pivots (14, 15) at opposite ends of sharpening rods (4, 5). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the at least one sharpening rod of Johnson such that the at least one sharpening rod (10) includes a pin disposed in an oblong hole at or adjacent to the distal end of the at least one sharpening rod for movably guiding the sharpening rod transversely to the longitudinal axis of the housing between the rest position and the working position in order to provide additional guidance for the sharpening rod in the housing and moreover, to provide additional stopping features provided by ends of the oblong slots. Additionally, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention because all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results. •The modified knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above fails to disclose the at least one additional sharpening insert is positioned on an outer side of the holder. However, Lee (US Patent 5,163,251) teaches it is known in the art of knife sharpening devices to provide at least one additional sharpening insert (2) positioned on an outer side (i.e., in notch 15, 15’) of a holder (formed by frames 1, 1’). Lee teaches the at least one additional sharpening insert (2) is provided in addition to at least one sharpening insert (abrasive rod(s) 2) mounted in holder (1, 1’) for sharpening a blade inserted into a beveled slot (12) for the purpose of “removing the burr from the sharp edge of the knife having been sharpened” (col. 3, lines 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Lee such that at least one additional sharpening insert is positioned on an outer side of the holder in order to allow “for sharpening all kinds of knives and … for removing the burr from the sharp edge of the knife having been sharpened” (Lee, col. 3, lines 14-17). In other words, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention in order to facilitate a final honing of the blade after the initial sharpening has been performed with the at least one sharpening insert provided in the slot. Regarding claim 2, the modified knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above includes the holder (1, 6) comprises a housing (1) that includes at least two housing halves (e.g., Johnson, outer housing portions 1). To the extent it can be argued the two outer housing portions (1) of Johnson do not correspond to “at least two housing halves,” Lee teaches it is known in the art of knife sharpening devices to form a holder (1, 1’) from two housing halves (1, 1’), wherein each housing half is provided with the requisite pairs of holding features (e.g., 101 and 102, 181 and 182, 191 and 192) for supporting abrasive rods (2) within the holder (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Hepworth such that the holder comprises a housing that includes at least two housing halves in order to facilitate manufacture of the device with fewer pieces (i.e., two pieces versus three pieces).
Regarding claim 3, the modified knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above includes the slot (Johnson 2, 3) has an open end (Johnson flared opening 3) and an opposite closed end (Johnson annotated fig. 1), the open end has a lead in taper (i.e., flared opening), one side of the slot has a portion with a straight profile adjacent to the closed end (Johnson annotated fig. 1), and a second side of the slot has a portion with a curved profile adjacent to closed end (Johnson annotated fig. 1). Regarding claim 5, the modified knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above includes the additional sharpening insert (i.e., abrasive rod 2 in notch 15, as taught by Lee) is a honing surface (the function of “removing the burr from the sharp edge of the knife having been sharpened,” described in col. 3, lines 15-17 of Lee is interpreted as providing a surface of honing). Regarding claim 7, the modified knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above includes wherein the pin is on the at least one sharpening rod (as taught by Spreitz).
As best understood, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US Patent 1,041,631), Spreitz (DE 10052439) and Lee (US Patent 5,163,251) in view of Meade et al (US Patent 2,249,218), herein referred to as Meade. Regarding claim 4, the modified knife cutting device of Johnson substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose wherein in [an] area of [a] side with [a] straight profile, at least one shoulder protrudes from the outer side of the housing half of the holder. However, the teaching of the following references is pertinent to this limitation: A. Meade teaches it is known in the art of knife sharpening devices to provide in the area of the side with the straight profile (i.e., from the edge of slot 21), at least one shoulder (guard flange(s) 23) protrudes from the outer side (e.g., see figs. 1, 9 and 10) of the housing (casing 20) of the holder (fig. 10). B. Lee teaches it is known in the art of knife sharpening devices for one side of the slot (12, 12’) to have a straight profile (annotated fig. 2) which extends farther than the other side of the slot (i.e., “curved profile” side, annotated fig. 2). At an end portion of the straight profile side of the slot, a cusp is formed between the straight profile portion and a curved surface portion (13, 13’) that defines a hand-gripping portion of holder (1, 1’), as shown in fig. 5. The cusp is similar to the claimed “shoulder” and is formed on each housing half (1, 1’) of the holder. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Meade and Lee such that the area of the slot with a straight profile includes at least one shoulder protrudes from the outer side of the housing half of the holder in order to “protect the thumb and fingers of the hand which holds the casing steady while the device is in use” (Meade, page 2, col. 1, lines 69-71).
As best understood, claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US Patent 1,041,631), Spreitz (DE 10052439) and Lee (US Patent 5,163,251) in view of Schmidt (US Patent 2,448,629). Regarding claim 5, the modified knife cutting apparatus of Johnson substantially disclosed above includes the additional sharpening insert (as taught by Lee) is a honing surface (Lee, col. 3, lines 15-17). The cited portion of the Lee disclosure describes what may be interpreted as a honing function but does not explicitly state the additional sharpening insert is a honing surface. Thus, to the extent it can be argued the modified knife cutting apparatus of Johnson substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose the additional sharpening insert is a honing surface, Schmidt teaches it is known in the art of knife sharpening devices to provide a main sharpening insert (3) with corresponding slots (8, 9) and at least one additional sharpening insert (17), wherein Schmidt states in col. 3, lines 59-64, “handle 2 may be readily employed as a means for mounting a cylindrical hone or sharpening stone which may be employed to complete the sharpening operation, the stone 17 being cemented in a semi-cylindrical depression formed in the handle 2” [emphasis added]. Schmidt teaches handle (2) is an extension of holder (1) in which main sharpening insert (3) and slots (8, 9) are formed.
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the knife sharpening device of Johnson substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Schmidt such that the at least one additional sharpening insert is a honing surface in order to allow the user to complete the sharpening operation with a single knife sharpening device rather than searching for a separate honing device to finish a respective sharpening operation and/or to increase the utility of the knife sharpening device by providing both of a sharpening function and a honing function in one device, thereby eliminating the need to carry multiple tools configured to perform each function separately.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Millman (US Patent 5,040,435) discloses a knife sharpening device with sharpening sticks mounted on sliding pivot points. Wu (US Patent 7,172,500) discloses a knife sharpening device.
Chantry (GB 304,885) discloses a knife sharpening device. Inman (GB 2134020) discloses a knife sharpening device with pivotable sharpening members.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL A DAVIES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724 March 5, 2026
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724