DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 11 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected embodiments of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/04/25.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8 and 14 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what the metes and bounds would be of the limitation “the plurality of enhanced sections having at least one enhanced physical property in relation to the primary yarn”, what would or would not be considered an enhanced physical property? Since the limitation can have endless interpretations, the limitation is being held as being indefinite.
Claim 18 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear how the “spandex” of claim 18 relates to the spandex of claim 14, is this another spandex plaiting yarn in addition to the spandex plaiting yarn of claim 14. It is unclear how many spandex plaiting yarns are required to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolmes et al. (US 7,178,323) in view of Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094).
In regard to claim 1, Kolmes et al. teaches a protective glove (figure 5) comprising: a primary yarn defining a palm section, thumb section, index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section, the primary yarn having an interior surface defining an interior surface of the glove and an exterior surface defining an exterior surface of the glove (see figure 5), the primary yarn comprising a first core strand comprising polyester, and a second core strand comprising stainless steel wire (see figure 3, column 10, lines 44-48 and column 7, lines 19-22 and lines 63-67), and at least one cover strand wrapped around the first core strand and the second core strand (see figure 3: column 8, lines 42-46).
However, Kolmes et al. fails to teach at least one plaiting yarn plaited to portions of the exterior surface of the primary yarn to form a plurality of enhanced sections formed on the exterior surface of the glove, the plurality of enhanced sections having at least one enhanced physical property in relation to the primary yarn.
Moreland et al. teaches a cut resistant glove having a liner layer (liner: 300) defining the glove structure and cut resistant plaited portions (paragraph 0031, identifier 430: plaited layer), the plaited portions are only located at specific locations on the glove where greater cut protection is desired (paragraph 0032 details how the glove can have plaited portions/zones as desired for use applications or desired properties).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the glove of Kolmes with plaited sections/zones along the glove liner as taught by Moreland et al., since the glove of Kolmes provided with plaiting zones/sections would provide the glove with additional exterior portions that would provide enhanced cut resistance along the glove zones/sections as needed providing a customized and more protective glove for the intended use (see paragraph 0032 or Moreland et al.).
Claim 4, the combined references teach wherein the at least one plaiting yarn comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of spandex and a moisture wicking yarn (Moreland et al.: paragraphs 0027 and 0031, teaches the plaited yarn being a moisture wicking yarn).
In regard to Claim 21, Moreland et al. wherein the enhanced sections are formed on the exterior surface of the index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section (see figures 6-9).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolmes et al. (US 7,178,323) and Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Threlkeld et al. (US 7,111,445).
While, Kolmes teaches the first core strand of the primary yarn comprising polyester, Kolmes and Moreland fail to teach wherein the first core strand of the primary yarn comprises flat polyester.
In regard to claim 7, Threlkeld et al. teaches a core strand of the primary yarn comprising flat polyester (column 4, lines 52-54).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the polyester core strand of the primary yarn of Kolmes and Moreland to be a flat polyester as taught by Threlkeld et al., since the core yarn of Kolmes being a flat polyester would provide a tougher and more durable core yarn construction.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolmes et al. (US 7,178,323) and Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fischer (US 2014/0090349).
Kolmes and Moreland fail to teach the at least one cover strand of the primary yarn comprising a textured polyester. Kolmes teaches the cover strand to be made from polyester (column 8, lines 42-51).
In regard to claim 2, Fischer teaches a cover strand to be made from a textured polyester (paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the polyester cover strand of Kolmes and Moreland to be a textured polyester as taught by Fischer, since the polyester strand of Kolmes being textured would improve grip and provide increased strength of the strand.
In regard to claim 8, Kolmes teaches the cover strand of the primary yarn comprises a first cover yarn of stainless steel (column 8, lines 42-47 and column 7, lines 19-21) and the second cover strand of polyester (column 8, lines 42-51).
However, Kolmes fails to teach second cover strand being a textured polyester.
In regard to claim 2, Fischer teaches a cover strand to be made from a textured polyester (paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the polyester cover strand of Kolmes and Moreland to be a textured polyester as taught by Fischer, since the polyester strand of Kolmes being textured would improve grip and provide increased strength of the strand.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 7,934,395) and Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094).
In regard to claim 1, Zhu teaches a protective glove (glove of figure 1) comprising: (a) a primary yarn defining a palm section, thumb section, index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section, the primary yarn having an interior surface defining an interior surface of the glove and an exterior surface of the glove (primary yarn is glove lining yarn: identifier 7; column 4, lines 6-24 detailing lining yarn forming lining layer of glove); and (b) a first plaiting yarn comprising a moisture wicking yarn plaited to portions of the exterior surface of the primary yarn (1st plaiting yarn/companion yarn: 6, made of moisture wicking yarn: column 3, lines 48-53) and a second plaiting yarn (cut resistant composite yarn 5) plaited to the first plaiting yarn to form a plurality of enhanced sections formed on the exterior surface of the glove, the plurality of enhanced sections having at least one substantially enhanced physical characteristic in relation to the primary yarn (cut resistance is provided by two plaited yarns, the first plaited yarn being the companion yarn (6) and the second plaited yarn being the cut resistant composite yarn (5) the two plaiting yarns (5, 6) would create more enhanced cut resistance in relation to the primary yarn 7 alone; column 2, lines 36-48 detailing cut resistant yarn material and properties).
However, Zhu fails to teach the primary yarn defining an exterior surface of the glove, since the plaiting yarns are plaited throughout the glove.
Moreland et al. teaches a cut resistant glove having a liner layer (liner: 300) defining the glove structure and cut resistant plaited portions (paragraph 0031, identifier 430: plaited layer), the plaited portions are only located at specific locations on the glove where greater cut protection is desired (paragraph 0032 details how the glove can have plaited portions/zones as desired for use applications or desired properties).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the glove with plaited cut resistant yarns of Zhu with the plaited sections/zones along the glove liner as taught by Moreland et al., since the glove of Zhu provided with plaiting zones/sections would provide the liner layer to have both glove interior and exterior portions while also providing enhanced cut resistance along the glove zones/sections as needed to provide a customized protective glove for intended use (see paragraph 0032 or Moreland et al.).
In regard to claim 10, Zhu does teach the second plaited yarns providing cut resistant, and the cut resistant yarn comprising KEVLAR (column 2, lines 61-67 through column 3, lines 1-13), however, Zhu fails to teach the second plaiting yarns specifically comprising cut-resistant ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene.
Moreland et al. teaches the cut resistant yarn of the plaited portions comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (see paragraph 0031 detailing plating yarn can be same as main body yarn and paragraph 0027 that details the yarn can comprise ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the cut resistant second plaiting yarn of Zhu comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene cut resistant yarn as taught by Moreland et al., since the cut resistant second plaiting yarn of Zhu comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene would provide an even stronger aramid yarn composition than that of KEVLAR creating a more cut resistant yarn and zone. Here we are replacing one well-known aramid fiber with another well-known aramid fiber to create a highly cut resistant yarn (see paragraph 0027 of Moreland et al., detailing the user of KEVLAR and ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene).
In regard to Claim 22, Moreland et al. wherein the enhanced sections are formed on the exterior surface of the index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section (see figures 6-9).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 7,934,395) and Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kolmes (US 7,178,323) and Threlkeld (US 7,111,445).
In regard to claim 12, the primary yarn of Zhu teaches a cut resistant yarn forming a glove as the primary yarn. However, Shu and Moreland fail to teach the primary yarn comprises a first core strand comprising flat polyester, a second core strand comprising stainless steel wire, and at least one cover strand wrapped around the first core strand and the second core strand.
Kolmes teaches a protective glove (figure 5) comprising: a primary yarn defining a palm section, thumb section, index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section, the primary yarn having an interior surface defining an interior surface of the glove and an exterior surface defining an exterior surface of the glove (see figure 5), the primary yarn comprising a first core strand comprising polyester, and a second core strand comprising stainless steel wire (see figure 3, column 10, lines 44-48 and column 7, lines 19-22 and lines 63-67), and at least one cover strand wrapped around the first core strand and the second core strand (see figure 3: column 8, lines 42-46).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the primary yarn of Zhu and Moreland et al. to have core yarns of polyester, stainless steel and a wrapped strand around the core as taught by Kolmes, since the primary yarn of Zhu being a core yarn of polyester and stainless steel with a wrapped strand would provide a cut resistance yarn that would be lightweight, durable.
Threlkeld et al. teaches a core strand of the primary yarn comprising flat polyester (column 4, lines 52-54).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the polyester core strand of the primary yarn of Zhu, Moreland and Kolmes to be a flat polyester as taught by Threlkeld et al., since the core yarn of Zhu, Moreland, and Kolmes being a flat polyester would provide a tougher and more durable core yarn construction.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 7,934,395), Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094), Kolmes (US 7,178,323) and Threlkeld (US 7,111,445) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kolmes (US 7,178,323) and Fischer (US 2014/0090349).
Zhu, Moreland, Kolmes and Threlkeld fail to teach the cover strand comprising a stainless steel wire or a textured polyester. Kolmes teaches the cover strand of the primary yarn to be polyester (column 8, lines 42-51).
In regard to claim 2, Fischer teaches a cover strand to be made from a textured polyester (paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the polyester cover strand of Zhu, Moreland, Kolmes and Threlkeld to be a textured polyester as taught by Fischer, since the polyester strand of Zhu, Moreland, Kolmes and Threlkeld being textured would improve grip and provide increased strength of the strand.
Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 7,934,395) in view of Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094) and Schulein (US 10,520,280).
In regard to claim 14, Zhu teaches a protective glove (glove of figure 1) comprising: (a) a primary yarn defining a palm section, thumb section, index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section, the primary yarn having an interior surface defining an interior surface of the glove and an exterior surface (primary yarn is glove lining yarn: identifier 7; column 4, lines 6-24 detailing lining yarn forming lining layer of glove); and at least one plaiting yarn plaited to portions of the exterior surface of the primary yarn (companion yarn: 6).
However, Zhu fails to teach the primary yarn defining an exterior surface of the glove, since the plaiting yarns are plaited throughout the glove and the plaiting yarn comprising spandex.
Moreland et al. teaches a cut resistant glove having a liner layer (liner: 300) defining the glove structure and cut resistant plaited portions (paragraph 0031, identifier 430: plaited layer), the plaited portions are only located at specific locations on the glove where greater cut protection is desired (paragraph 0032 details how the glove can have plaited portions/zones as desired for use applications or desired properties).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the glove with plaited cut resistant yarns of Zhu with the plaited sections/zones along the glove liner as taught by Moreland et al., since the glove of Zhu provided with plaiting zones/sections would provide the liner layer to have both glove interior and exterior portions while also providing enhanced cut resistance along the glove zones/sections as needed to provide a customized protective glove for intended use (see paragraph 0032 or Moreland et al.).
While, Zhu teaches a first and second plaiting yarn (6, 7) with the first plating yarn (6) being the companion yarn selected from natural fibers, cellulosic fibers, polyester, and aliphatic polyamide fibers (column 3, lines 48-50), Zhu fails to teach the first plaiting yarn being specifically being spandex.
Schulein teaches a glove with cut resistant plaited portions made from cut resistant yarn of a natural or synthetic fiber in conjunction with spandex (column 4, lines 10-16), which would make the first plaited yarn of Zhu having a spandex composition.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the companion yarn/first plaited yarn of Zhu and Moreland et al., with the spandex fiber as taught by Schulein, since the natural fibers, cellulosic fibers, polyester, and/or aliphatic polyamide fibers of the companion yarn/first plaiting yarn of Zhu provided in a cut resistant yarn of a natural or synthetic fiber in conjunction with spandex would provide a complain/first plaiting yarn that has improved feel and fit characteristics due to the addition of the spandex fiber (Schulein: column 4, lines 10-16).
In regard to claim 18, Schulein teaches a glove with cut resistant plaited portions made from cut resistant yarn of a natural or synthetic fiber in conjunction with spandex (column 4, lines 10-16), which would make the first plaited yarn of Zhu having a spandex composition.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the companion yarn/first plaited yarn of Zhu and Moreland et al., with the spandex fiber as taught by Schulein, since the natural fibers, cellulosic fibers, polyester, and/or aliphatic polyamide fibers of the companion yarn/first plaiting yarn of Zhu provided in a cut resistant yarn of a natural or synthetic fiber in conjunction with spandex would provide a complain/first plaiting yarn that has improved feel and fit characteristics due to the addition of the spandex fiber (Schulein: column 4, lines 10-16).
While, Zhu does teach the second plaited yarns providing cut resistant, and the cut resistant yarn comprising KEVLAR (column 2, lines 61-67 through column 3, lines 1-13), Zhu fails to teach the second plaiting yarns specifically comprising cut-resistant ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene.
Moreland et al. teaches the cut resistant yarn of the plaited portions comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (see paragraph 0031 detailing plating yarn can be same as main body yarn and paragraph 0027 that details the yarn can comprise ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the cut resistant second plaiting yarn of Zhu comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene cut resistant yarn as taught by Moreland et al., since the cut resistant second plaiting yarn of Zhu comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene would provide an even stronger aramid yarn composition than that of KEVLAR creating a more cut resistant yarn and zone. Here we are replacing one well-known aramid fiber with another well-known aramid fiber to create a highly cut resistant yarn (see paragraph 0027 of Moreland et al., detailing the user of KEVLAR and ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 7,934,395), Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094) and Schulin (US10,520,280) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kolmes (US 7,178,323).
In regard to claim 19, the primary yarn of Zhu teaches a cut resistant yarn forming a glove as the primary yarn. However, Zhu, Moreland and Schulin fail to teach the primary yarn comprises a first core strand comprising polyester, a second core strand comprising stainless steel wire, and at least one cover strand wrapped around the first core strand and the second core strand.
Kolmes teaches a protective glove (figure 5) comprising: a primary yarn defining a palm section, thumb section, index finger section, middle finger section, ring finger section and baby finger section, the primary yarn having an interior surface defining an interior surface of the glove and an exterior surface defining an exterior surface of the glove (see figure 5), the primary yarn comprising a first core strand comprising polyester, and a second core strand comprising stainless steel wire (see figure 3, column 10, lines 44-48 and column 7, lines 19-22 and lines 63-67), and at least one cover strand wrapped around the first core strand and the second core strand (see figure 3: column 8, lines 42-46).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the primary yarn of Zhu, Moreland et al. and Schulein to have core yarns of polyester, stainless steel and a wrapped strand around the core as taught by Kolmes, since the primary yarn of Zhu being a core yarn of polyester and stainless steel with a wrapped strand would provide a cut resistance yarn that would be lightweight, durable.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 7,934,395), Moreland et al. (US 2013/0213094), Schulein and Kolmes (US 7,178,323) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Fischer (US 2014/0090349).
Zhu, Moreland, Schulein, and Kolmes fail to teach the cover strand comprising a stainless steel wire or a textured polyester. Kolmes teaches the cover strand of the primary yarn to be polyester (column 8, lines 42-51).
In regard to claim 2, Fischer teaches a cover strand to be made from a textured polyester (paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the polyester cover strand of Zhu, Moreland, Schulein and Kolmes to be a textured polyester as taught by Fischer, since the polyester strand of Zhu, Moreland, Schulein and Kolmes being textured would improve grip and provide increased strength of the strand.
Double Patenting
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,877,529. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both detail a glove made of a primary yarn with a first and second plaiting yarn knitted thereto to enhanced portions along the exterior of the glove (see claims 9 and 14 of the instant application vs. claims 1-6 of US 9,877,529).
Claims 9, 10, 14 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,130,128. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both detail a glove made of a primary yarn with a first and second plaiting yarn knitted thereto to provide cut resistant portions along the exterior of the glove; and wherein the first plaiting yarn comprises spandex (see claims 9, 10, 14 and 18 of the instant application vs. claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10-13 of US 9,877,529).
Claims 9, 10, 14, 18 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,064. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both detail a glove made of a primary yarn with a first and second plaiting yarn knitted thereto to enhanced portions along the exterior of the glove; wherein the first plaiting yarn is spandex (see claims 9, 10, 14, 18 and 22 of the instant application vs. claims 1-7 of US 11,918,064).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Hughes (US 2013/0000005) is of particular relevance to the claim invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732