Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2026 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The amendment filed March 18, 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: The amendments to the specification including changing “a doubling force” to an “improving force” is new matter. The applicant did not originally disclose an improving force and only that the drill delivered a doubling force.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the applicant claims “a cutting-configured drill set” arranged in “at least one of the plurality of drill holding grooves”. It is unclear if the applicant is trying to claim that each drill in the claimed sent is arranged in one groove or if the applicant is trying to claim the set, i.e. at least two drills, is arranged in one groove. It is noted that for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as each drill of the set is arranged in a groove, however, the applicant should amend the claim to clarify. The same issue applies to the limitation of the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set.
Further with respect to claim 1, the applicant claims a stopper identification pattern portion “for identification of a corresponding drill”. It is unclear what that applicant is trying to claim with respect to the limitation of a “corresponding drill”. It is unclear if the identification portion on each drill identifies a drill that corresponds to it or if it is identifying a feature of each respective claimed drill. It is noted that for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as each of the claimed drill has the claimed identification pattern which identifies a feature of the respective drill, however, the applicant should amend the claim to clarify what is being claimed.
Further with respect to claim 1, the applicant claims the shaping drills comprise a depth adjusting screw hole processing portion “configured to be substantially inserted into the alveolar bone”. It is unclear what is being claimed by the portion being configured to be “substantially” inserted into the bone. It is noted that the limitation is being interpreted as functional, such that it is configured to be inserted into the screw hole, however, the applicant should amend the claim to clarify what is being claimed.
Further with respect to claim 1, the limitation of the depth adjusting screw hole processing portion being configured to adjust a depot of the screw hole “step by step” isa unclear. It is unclear if the applicant is trying to claim some structure of the drill or that the drill is used in different steps of a method in order to adjust a depth of the screw hole. It is noted that for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as the different drills within the set can be used in a method such that each drill is used in a different step, i.e. step by step, to adjust the depth of the screw hole, however, the applicant should amend the claim to clarify what is being claimed.
With respect to claim 9, the claimed “a first twist blade portion” and “a second twist blade portion” is unclear in view of the claimed “a plurality of twist blade portions” claimed in the independent claims. It is unclear if the claimed first and second twist blade portions are some of the claimed plurality of in addition to the claimed plurality twist blade portions. It is noted for examination purposes, the limitations are being interpreted as being the claimed plurality of twist blade portions on each of the first and second drill, however, the applicant should amend the claim to clarify what is being claimed.
With respect to claim 17, the limitations with respect to the identification pattern portion being for “identification of a corresponding drill” is unclear for the same issues as discussed above with respect to the same limitation in the independent claim regarding the other claimed drill set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (KR 20200123636) in view of Estrada, JR. et al. (2016/0157975).
With respect to claim 1, Heo teaches a cutting configured drill set (such that it teaches the drill can have different diameters that need to be identified, see par. 36 of translation, such that the yellow and green drills being the cutting configured drills), the cutting configured drill set provided to perform a dedicated drill work that configured a cutting force to an alveolar bone when processing a screw hole (see pars. 30-32), a screw hole depth step adjusting set (see par. 36, such that the light blue and blue drill being the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set), the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set provided to perform a dedicated drill work to process the screw hole to be formed in the alveolar bone by adjusting a depth of the screw hole during an implant screw (see pars. 30-32, such that the drill can be used as claimed to adjust a depth of a screw hole), wherein the cutting configured drill set comprises a first stopper drill configured to cut the alveolar bone when processing the screw hole and a second stopper drill in which a size of the cutting configured screw hole processing portion of the second stopper drill for processing the screw hole is formed to be greater than a size of a cutting configured to screw hole processing portion of the first stoper drill (see par. 36, such that the drills have different diameters relative to each other, such that the first drill is the smaller diameter, i.e. yellow and the second dill is the green drill of a larger diameter), and the second stopper drill is configured to cut the alveolar bone when processing the screw hole (see par. 9 regarding the drill being used to cut alveolar bone), wherein each of the first and second stopper drills comprises the cutting screw hole processing portion 130 configured to be inserted into the alveolar bone for processing the screw hole while configured a cutting force to the alveolar bone (pars. 31-32 of translation) and a cutting configured shaft (see fig. 1, such that the portion above 130 being the shaft) connected to the cutting configured screw hole processing portion (see fig. 1), wherein the cutting configured screw hole processing portion of each of the first and second stopper drills comprises a stopper drill body portion (see fig. 1, such the body portion is the core of the drill portion 1030 in which the blades extend from), a plurality of twist blade portion 131 radially arranged in a twisted shape to protrude outwardly in a radial direction of the stopper drill body portion configured for processing the alveolar bone, each of the plurality of twist blade portions are formed in a non-linear shape, and at least one cutting blade portion formed as a groove is formed in each of the plurality of twist blade portions (see fig. 1, such that the edge of the groove 135 is a cutting surface in one alternative, further see par. 10 of a cutting edge that is formed horizontal relative to the longitudinal axis of the drill along with the curved cutting edge), wherein the cutting configured screw hole processing portion of each of the first and second stopper drills further compress a stopper drill entrance portion formed in an end portion of the stopper drill body portion to enter the alveolar bone (see fig. 1, such that the tip of the drill is the entrance portion), wherein a stopper identification pattern portion 140 for identification of a corresponding drill is formed in one side of the cutting configured shaft (see fig. 1, par. 36), wherein a round processing portion 150 for reducing contact with neighboring teeth is further formed on the cutting configured shaft adjacent to the stopper identification pattern portion (see fig. 1, such that the portion is capable of functioning as claimed), wherein a cross sectional area of the round processing portion increase towards a lower end therefore (see fig. 1, such that flange 150 is tapered such that the lower end has as larger diameter) and an outer surface of the round processing portion is formed in curved shape (see if. 1 such that in cross section flange 150 is round, i.e. circular), wherein the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set comprises, a first shaping drill providing for processing the screw hole by adjusting a depth of the screw hole step by step (see par. 35, such that the first shaping drill is the light blue drill, par. 30, such that it has stepped arrangement or that it can be used in a method for step by step use as discussed above in detail), and a second shaping drill in which a sized of a portion of the second shaping drill for processing the screw hole is formed to be greater than a size of a portion of the first shaping drill (see par. 36, such that the second shaping drill is the blue drill) , wherein both of the first and second shaping drill comprise a depth adjusting screw hole processing portion configured to be substantially inserted into the alveolar bone and processing the screw hole by adjusting a depth of the screw hole step by step (see pars. 31-32, such that the drill is capable of being used in a method as claimed), and a depth adjusting shaft (portion of drill above 130) connected to the depth adjusting screw hole processing portion, wherein the depth adjusting screw hole processing portion comprises a shaping drill body portion (the core of portion 130) and a plurality of shaping blade portions 131 radially protruding outwardly in a radial direction of the shaping drill body portion for processing the alveolar bone (see fig. 1, such that the blades extend radially from the core). Heo teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the drill set are part of a kit including a kit main body in which a plurality of drill holding grooves are formed and the cutting configured rill set is attachably/detachably arranged in at least any one of the plurality of drill holding grooves of the kit main body and the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set is attachably/detachably arranged in at least another of the plurality of drill holding groove of the kit main body.
Estrada teaches a multifunctional drill kit for an implant surgery (see fig. 2) comprising a kit main body 100 (see fig. 1) in which a plurality of drill holding grooves are formed (see figs. 1-2, such that portion 109 which the individual grooves for holding the shaft of drills are the molded grooves, see par. 24), a cutting configured drill set 113/114 attachably/detachably arranged in at least one of the plurality of drill holding grooves of the kit main body (see fig. 3, pars. 30-31), the cutting-configured drill set provided to perform a dedicated drill work that configures a cutting force to an alveolar bone when processing a screw hole (see pars. 27, 35, such that the drills are used to create a screw hole for an implant), and a screw hole depth step adjusting drill set 115/116 (such that the set of drills can be used to adjust the depth of the screw hole formed by drills 113/114) attachably/detachably arranged in at least another of the plurality of drill holding grooves of the kit main body (see fig. 3), the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set provided to perform dedicated drill work to process the screw hole to be formed in the alveolar bone by adjusting a depth of the screw hole formed during implant surface (see pars. 27, 35, such that the drills are used to adjust the screw hole formed by drill 113/114 and are capable of adjusting the depth if desired, such that the method of use is NOT being claimed), wherein the cutting configured drill set comprises a first drill 113 configured to cut the alveolar bone when processing the screw hole (see pars. 27, 35), a second drill 114 in which a size of a cutting configured screw hole processing portion of the second drill for processing the screw hole is formed to be greater than a size of a cutting configured screw hole processing portion of the first drill (see par. 27), the second drill is configured to cut the alveolar bone when processing the screw hole (see pars. 27, 35), wherein each of the first and second drills comprise the cutting configured screw hole processing portion configured to be inserted into the alveolar bone for processing the screw hole while configuring a cutting force to the alveolar bone (see fig. 3, pars. 27, 35, such that the processing portion is the radial cutting portion), a cutting configured shaft connected to the cutting configured screw hole processing portion (see fig. 3, such that the shaft extends from the radial cutting portion), wherein the cutting configured screw hole processing portion of each the first and second drills comprises a drill body portion (i.e. the core of the drills), a plurality of twist blade portions radially arranged in a twisted shape to protrude outwardly in a radial direction of the drill body portion configured for processing the alveolar bone (see fig. 3, pars. 27, 35, such that the cutting edges can be seen extending radially from a core in order to create the cutting edges), each of the plurality of twist blade portions are formed in a non-linear shape (see fig. 3, such that they are twisted about the core), wherein the cutting configured screw hole processing portion of each of the first and second drills further comprises a drill entrance portion formed in an end portion of the stopper drill body portion to enter the alveolar bone (see fig. 3, such that the tip of each drill is the claimed entrance portion), wherein the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set comprising a first shaping drill 115 provided for processing the screw hole by adjusting a depth of the screw hole step by step (see detailed discussion above regarding how the drill is capable of functioning as claimed and how the “step by step” limitation is being interpreted), and a second shaping drill 116 in which a size of a portion of the second shaping drill for processing the screw hole is formed to be greater than a size of a portion of the first shaping drill (see fig. 3, par. 27), wherein both of the first and second shaping drill comprise a depth adjusting screw hole processing portion configured to be inserted into the alveolar bone and processing the screw hole by adjusting a depth of the screw hole step by step (see fig. 3, such that the twisted blades are the depth adjusting portion, such that when used in a method, it would be capable of adjusting the depth of the screw hole in a step by step manner as claimed), a depth adjusting shaft connected to the depth adjusting screw hole processing portion (see fig. 3, such that the shaft connected to the spiral blade portion is the claimed shaft), wherein the depth adjusting screw hole processing portions comprise a shaping drill body portion (see fig. 3, such that the core of the drill from which the blade portions extends from is being interpreted as the body), and a plurality of shaping blade portion radially protruding outwardly in a radial direction of the shaping drill body portion for processing the alveolar bone (see fig. 3, such that the blade portions extend from the core in a radially direction). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Heo with the kit main body taught by Estrada in order to provide clean sterile instruments for the procedure and prevent the loss and damage of the instruments (see par. 33).
With respect to claim 14, Heo/Estrada teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including a plurality of cutting-edge groove portions 135 are formed in each of the plurality of shaping blade portions in a length direction of the depth adjusting screw hole processing portion (see pars. 35, such that there is a plurality of cutting groove 135, such that the edge of the portion 135 would be a cutting surface, such that they form a staircase).
With respect to claim 15, Heo/Estrada teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including, Heo further teaching wherein the size of the plurality of cutting edge groove portion are different form each other (such that they are different in size by at least diameter), and wherein each of the plurality of shaping blade portions sections by the plurality of cutting edge groove portions has a stepped shape (see par. 35, such that the grooves on the blades form a staircase shape).
With respect to claim 16, Heo/Estrada teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including, Heo further teaching wherein the depth adjusting screw hole processing portion further comprises a shaping drill entrance portion formed in an end portion of the shaping drill body portion to enter the alveolar bone (see fig. 1, such that the tip of the drill is the entrance portion).
With respect to claim 17, Heo/Estrada teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including, Heo further teaching wherein a shaping identification pattern portion 140 for identification of a corresponding drill is formed in one side of the depth adjusting shaft (see par. 36).
With respect to claim 18, Heo/Estrada teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including, Estrada teaches the kit further comprising a kit cover coupled to the kit main body to be capable of opening/closing the kit main body (par. 33, such that the material is the cover and when it is covered it is closed and a user can remove the cover/material to open it). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Heo with the kit cover taught by Estrada in order to provide clean sterile instruments for the procedure and prevent the loss and damage of the instruments (see par. 33).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (KR 20200123636) in view of Estrada, JR. et al. (2016/0157975) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laird (2020/0353543).
Heo/Estrada teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach wherein a degree of inclination of the first twist blade portion of the first stopper drill is arranged closer to a central axis than a degree of inclination of a second twist blade portion of the second stopper drill.
Laird teaches a plurality of cutting configured drills, each drill comprising a cutting configured screw hole processing portion (120), a cutting configured shaft 130, wherein the cutting configured screw hole processing portion of each of the drills comprises a drill body portion (i.e. the core) and a plurality of twist bladed portion 150 are formed in a non-linear shape (see fig. 1).
With respect to claim 9, Laird further teaches wherein a degree of inclination of a first twist blade portion of a first drill is arranged closer to a central axis than a degree of inclination of a second twist blade portion of a second drill (see par. 74). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the drills taught by Heo/Estrada to include the twist blades with different angles as taught by Laird in order to provide the desired angle of the desired application (see par. 74 which teaches adjusting the angle as desired for different applications).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed April 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that the prior art of Heo has been applied in a different manner than in the final rejection and therefore, the arguments with respect to Heo are moot.
The applicant argues that Heo does not teach the drill is a “cutting-configured” drill to cut the alveolar bone when processing the screw hole. However, in pars. 30-33 of the translation Heo teaches “cutting edge 131” of the drill is “configured to cut the alveolar bone”. Therefore Heo clearly teaches the drill is a “cutting-configured” drill as claimed. The applicant further argues that Heo does not teach the second set of drills being “screw hole depth step adjusting drills”. However, as discussed above in detail in the rejection and in previous rejections, Heo teaches a drill for cutting alveolar bone and the applicant is claiming the apparatus and NOT the method of use. Therefore, depending on the how the drills are used in a method, the screw hole depth step adjusting drill set of Heo can be used to adjust the depth of the hole. It is noted that the applicant has not claimed any structure to differentiate the drills of Heo over the claimed drills.
The applicant argues that Heo does not teach the cutting-configured screw hole processing portion that is configured to deliver a cutting force to the alveolar bone that has force doubling capabilities. It is noted that the applicant does not claim “force doubling capabilities”, therefore, the applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitation are moot. It is further noted that the applicant’s argument with respect to the prior art not teaching a drill that “doubles” a cutting force as claimed is not persuasive for the same reasons above as it is noted that the limitation is NOT claimed and further, the claim and application does not disclose what the force is double relative to and therefore the limitation if claimed would be indefinite.
The applicant further argues that the prior art of Heo does not teach the claimed groove, however, it is noted that Heo teaches a groove as claimed and discussed above in detail. It is noted that groove 135 reads on the groove as claimed and therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art of Haber has been cited to show that similar drills can be used to adjust the depth of a screw hole, depending on how it is used, such as how far the initial drill was inserted and the how far the second drill is inserted (see figs. 3-4).
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
9/17/2026