DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is also in response to applicant’s amendment filed on July 2, 2026 and September 8, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claim 1 and has canceled claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 11, 14, 15 and 18-20.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-10, 12-13, and 16-17 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-10, 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a coupling region and an expansion region between the first main surface and the second surface” that makes the phrase “a coupling region” and “a expansion region” cited in later parts of the claim are confusing since it is not clear if they are the same or not.
Furthermore, it is not clear how to interpretated the phrase “between the first main surface and the second main surface”. It is not clear if this phrase means the coupling region and the expansion region is extended between the first main surface and the second main surface, or it means the coupling region and the expansion region disposed in a region between the first main surface and the second main surface. For purpose of examination the phrase is being interpreted as they are “disposed in a region between the first main surface and the second main surface”. However proper clarifications and corrections are required.
Also, it is not clear how do horizontal direction and vertical direction relate to X, Y and Z axis recited in claim 1.
Claims 3, 5, 8-10, 12-13 and 16-17 inherit the rejection from their based claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8 and 12, 13 and 17-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Yoshikaie (US 2020/0057307 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Mukawa (US 2006/0291021 A1) and patent issued to Lee et al (PN. 11,467,331).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Yoshikaie teaches, with regard to amended claim 1, an image display apparatus serves as the optical system that is comprised of a display (53, Figure 4) that emits a light flux visually recognized by an observer as an image, a light guide plate (30) serves as the light guide body, (please see Figure 4), includes a first main surface and a second main surface opposing to each other and that replicates the light flux while the light flux repeatedly undergoes total internal reflection between the first main surface and the second main surface, wherein the light guide body includes an incident surface (please see Figure 4) on the second main surface on which the light flux from the display is incident and an emission surface from which the light flux is emitted from the light guide body wherein a light beam at a center of the light flux emitted from the display is incident on the incident surface of the light guide body and wherein the light flux incident on the incident surface of the light guide body is changed in a traveling direction by diffraction by a diffraction structure of a holographic diffraction grating (41, please see paragraph [0073]) of a coupling region in the light guide body.
Yoshikaie further teaches that light flux changed in the traveling direction is emitted from the emission surface (please see Figures 1A, 1B and 4), after being expanded by being replicated in a first direction corresponding to a horizontal direction (please see Figure 8A) of the image visually recognized by the observer by diffraction when passing through a diffraction structure (43) of an expansion region in the light guide body a second direction corresponding to a vertical direction of the image by the diffraction structure (42). Yoshikaie teaches to form an expanded exit pupil, (please see paragraph [0135]).
As shown in Figures 1A and 1B, a normal direction with respect to the surface or the first main surface at a center or a center of gravity of the expansion region is defined as a Z-axis direction and a tangential plane is defined as XY plane. A traveling direction of a center light beam of the light flux incident on the expansion region on the XY plane is defined as a Y-axis and a direction perpendicular to the Y-axis is defined as X-axis.
Although the X-axis and the Y-axis disclosed are not exactly the same as the claims, such modification is considered to be obvious to one skilled in the art since it only involved rearranging the position of the expansion region.
The diffraction structure of the expansion region (43, Figures 1A, 1B, 4 and 8A) is configured such that a light flux duplicated when the light flus incident on the expansion region is transmitted through the XY plane of the expansion region from a positive direction of the Z axis (please see Figure 4) and a light flux duplicated when the light flux is transmitted through the XY plane of the expansion region from a negative direction of the Z-axis are accommodated within a viewing angle at which the image is visually recognized.
As shown in Figure 4, Yoshikaie teaches that the diffraction structure of the coupling regions (41 and 42) and the expansion region (43) may comprise volume holographic diffraction grating, (please see [0073]) and as shown in Figure 4, the diffractive structure or the interference fringes of the volume holographic diffraction grating may be inclined with respect to the Z-axis direction. Mukawa in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical waveguide with volume hologram for coupling the incident light flux and duplicated within the waveguide wherein the volume hologram has diffractive structure or interference fringes that are inclined with the Z-axis direction wherein the inclined diffractive structure allows the light flux to be diffracted in a desired direction. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Mukawa to specifically make the diffractive structure of expansion region to have an inclination with respect to Z-axis direction for the benefit of allowing the light flux to be diffracted to a desired direction.
As shown in Figure 4 of Yoshikaie the interference fringes of diffraction structure (41, Figure 4) may have an extending direction that is inclined with respect to the Z-axis direction, which is normal to the diffraction structure. Mukawa also teaches that the extending direction of the interference fringes (124, Figure 3) arranged as the diffractive structure of the expansion region is inclined with respect to Z-axis direction, (which is normal to the diffractive structure).
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “an emission surface on the first main surface” and the phrase “a coupling region and an expansion region between the first main surface and the second main surface”.
These references do not teach such explicitly. Lee et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical system that is comprised of a light guide body (210, Figure 3) that has a first main surface and a second main surface wherein an incidence surface on the second main surface (210-1) for light flux from display is incident and an emission surface on the first main surfaced (210-2) from which the light flux is emitted from the light guide body. Lee et al further teaches to include a coupling region with a volume hologram (235), an expansion region or directing region with a volume hologram (240) and an emission region with a volume hologram (245) that may all disposed between the first main surface and the second main surface. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Lee et al to modify the optical system to alternatively have the incident surface and the emission surface be at opposite main surfaces of the light guide body and to have the coupling region and the expansion region each having a volume hologram structure that are disposed between the first and second main surfaces as alternative designs for the optical system for the benefit of providing different designs to the optical system.
With regard to claim 3, Yoshikaie teaches that the optical system has two expansion regions, wherein one of the expansion regions expands the exit pupil in the first direction, (please see paragraph [0135]) by duplicating the light flux independent on the one of the expansion regions (43, Figure 8A) in the first direction corresponding to horizontal direction of the image visually recognized by the observer and wherein another of the expansion regions (42) expands by duplicating light flux incident on the other of the expansion regions in the second direction corresponding to the vertical direction of the image visually recognized by the observer.
With regard to claims 5, 13 and 17, Yoshikaie teaches that the diffractive structure of the expansion region comprises volume holographic diffraction grating, (please see paragraph [0073]) configured to diffract and replicate the light flux.
With regard to claims 8, 12, and 16, Yoshikaie teaches that the light beam center of the light flux emitted from the display is incident while being inclined with respect to the normal direction of the incident surface of the light guide body and the light beam at the center of the light flux emitted from the light guide body is emitted while being inclined with respect to the a normal direction of the emission surface of the light guide body, (please see Figure 4).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikaie, Mukawa and Lee et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the US patent application publication by Kern (US 2021/0141224 A1).
The image display taught by Yoshikaie in combination with the teachings of Mukawa and Lee et al as described in claim 1 above has met all the limitations.
With regard to claims 9 and 10, these references do not further teach a head up display including a light transmitting member and the image display apparatus. Kern in the same field of endeavor teaches an image display apparatus including a light guide body (5, Figures 2 and 4) and a light transmitting member or windshield (31) that reflects the light flux emitted from the light guide body and the head up display system displays the image as a virtual image so as to be superimposed on a real view visually recognizable through the light-transmitting member. The light transmitting member is a windshield (31, Figure 4 and paragraph [0043]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Kern to modify the image display apparatus of Yoshikaie to have the advantage of further being utilized as a head up display.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and rejected for the reasons set forth above.
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872