DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and its depending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenzai et al. (US Publication 2021/0375544) in view of Hideyuki et al. (WO2016114091A1).
In re claim 1, Zenzai discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a ceramic body (1 – Figure 1, ¶24) that includes a plurality of dielectric layers (2 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶25) and a plurality of internal electrodes (9, 10 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶26) stacked in a first direction (Figure 1, Figure 2),
an external electrode (12, 18 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶49) disposed outside the ceramic body (Figure 1, Figure 2); and
an interdiffusion portion (any portion of 13 – Figure 2, ¶38) that includes an alloy or an intermetallic compound (IMC) of a material of the internal electrodes and a material of the external electrode (¶38, Figure 1).
Zenzai further discloses an interdiffusion portion (18 – Figure 3, Figure 4, ¶58) covering the end face of the ceramic body (2 – Figure 3, Figure 4).
Zenzai does not disclose wherein one of the internal electrodes includes a protrusion that extends substantially straight outward from a first surface of the ceramic body and contacts the interdiffusion portion and the interdiffusion portion surrounds the protrusion extending substantially straight outward.
Hideyuki discloses wherein one of the internal electrodes (3 – Figure 1, ¶44) includes a protrusion (Figure 1, ¶46) that extends substantially straight outward (Figure 1) from a first surface of the ceramic body (2 – Figure 1, ¶44). Hideyuki further discloses the protrusion portion (protrusion of 3 – Figure 1) of an internal electrode (3 – Figure 1) is surrounded by the external electrode layer (5a – Figure 1(d), ¶103) closest to the ceramic body (Figure 1(d)).
The combination of Zenzai and Hideyuki discloses wherein one of the internal electrodes includes a protrusion that extends substantially straight outward from a first surface of the ceramic body and contacts the interdiffusion portion and the interdiffusion portion surrounds the protrusion extending substantially straight outward.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the protruding electrode portions of Hideyuki to increase the strength of the connection between the internal end external electrode (¶63).
In re claim 3, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses the interdiffusion portion (any portion of 13 – Figure 2, ¶38) is disposed on the first surface of the ceramic body (1 – Figure 2).
In re claim 4, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 2, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses wherein the material of the one of the internal electrodes (9, 10 - Figure 2) includes nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), palladium (Pd), silver (Ag), iron (Fe), or an alloy thereof (¶26).
In re claim 5, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses the material of the external electrode (12 – Figure 2) includes nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), silver (Ag), cobalt (Co), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), tin (Sn), platinum (Pt), indium (In), iridium (Ir), rhodium (Rh), tin (Sn), zinc (Zn), or an alloy thereof (¶30).
In re claim 6, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses an interdiffusion portion (any portion of 12 – Figure 2) on the end surface of the ceramic body (Figure 2).
Zenzai does not disclose wherein a length of the interdiffusion portion is greater than a length of the protrusion of the one of the internal electrodes.
Hideyuki discloses the protrusion of the internal electrodes (3 – Figure 1) is surrounded by the external electrode layer (5a – Figure 1(d)) closest to the component body (Figure 1) and does not extend to the end of the external electrode (5a – Figure 1(d)).
The combination of Zenzai and Hideyuki discloses wherein a length of the interdiffusion portion is greater than a length of the protrusion of the one of the internal electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the protruding electrode portions of Hideyuki to increase the strength of the connection between the internal end external electrode (¶63).
In re claim 7, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses an interdiffusion portion (any portion of 12 – Figure 2) is 0.5 µm or more and 2 µm or less (¶36; Note that any portion of the element 12 having the claimed thickness can be considered the ‘interdiffusion portion’.).
In re claim 8, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses a plating layer (16, 17 – Figure 2, ¶45) that covers the external electrode (12, 18 – Figure 2).
In re claim 11, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses a plurality of diffusion portions (any multiple portions of 12 – Figure 2) (¶38) that includes an alloy or an intermetallic compound (IMC) of a material of the internal electrodes and a material of the external electrode (¶38) contacting the component body (Figure 2)
Zenzai does not disclose wherein each of the internal electrodes includes a protrusion that protrudes from the first surface of the ceramic body and a plurality of interdiffusion portions surround the protrusions of the internal electrodes, respectively.
Yoon discloses wherein each of the internal electrodes (3 – Figure 1(d)) includes a protrusion (protrusion of 3 in 5a – Figure 1(d)) that protrudes from a first surface of the ceramic body (2 – Figure 1) and is surrounded by an external electrode (5a – Figure 1(d)) closest to the component body (Figure 1).
The combination of Zenzai and Hideyuki discloses wherein each of the internal electrodes includes a protrusion that protrudes from the first surface of the ceramic body and a plurality of interdiffusion portions surround the protrusions of the internal electrodes, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the protruding electrode portions of Hideyuki to increase the strength of the connection between the internal end external electrode (¶63).
In re claim 12, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses the plurality of interdiffusion portions (any portions of 12 – Figure 12) are spaced apart from one another (Figure 12; Note that element 12 can be divided into any arbitrary number of portions that are spaced from one another.).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenzai et al. (US Publication 2021/037554) in view of Hideyuki et al. (WO2016114091A1) and in further view of Muramatsu et al. (US Publication 2019/0027312)
In re claim 9, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 8, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses the plating layer includes a first layer (16 – Figure 2) that covers the external electrode (12, 18 – Figure 2) and a second layer (17 – Figure 2)that covers the first layer (Figure 2).
Zenzai does not disclose a third layer covers the second layer.
Muramatsu discloses a external electrode plating structure having three layers in which a third layer covers the second layer (¶128).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the plating structure of Muramatsu to provide for desired conductivity and improved mounting characteristic.
In re claim 10, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki and in further view of Muramatsu discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 9, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses the first layer includes nickel (Ni) (¶71).
Zenzai does not disclose the second layer includes copper (Cu) and the third layer includes tin (Sn).
Muramatsu discloses the first layer includes nickel (Ni), second layer includes copper (Cu) and the third layer includes tin (Sn) (¶128; Note that each of the layers covers the external electrode and each of the plating layers cover one another, either directly or indirectly.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the plating structure of Muramatsu to provide for desired conductivity and improved mounting characteristic.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenzai et al. (US Publication 2021/037554) in view of Hideyuki et al. (WO2016114091A1)and in further view of Nishisaka et al. (US Publication 2016/0268046).
In re claim 13, Zenzai in view of Hideyuki discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Zenzai further discloses the external electrode (12, 18 – Figure 2) comprises an end portion that covers a portion of the first surface of the ceramic body (Figure 2).
Zenzai does not disclose a band portion that extends from the end portion to cover at least a portion of four surfaces of the ceramic body connected to the first surface, and an edge portion that connects the end portion and the band portion.
Nishisaka discloses a band portion (portion of 5a and 5b on 11a, 11b – Figure 2, ¶32-34) that extends from the end portion to cover at least a portion of four surfaces of the ceramic body (31a, 31b, 11a, 11b – Figure 2, ¶33) connected to the first surface (21a, 21b – Figure 2, ¶33), and an edge portion that connects the end portion and the band portion (Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the external electrode structure of Nishisaka to provide for versatility in a mounting operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koppel et al. (US Patent 8,194,388) Figure 1
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847