DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cylindrical structure (claims 1, 14, 19, etc.) and such with a spreading inclined surface (claims 2, 15, 18, 20), and the ribs (claim 18 and 19) in combination with the cylindrical structure (claims 1, 14, and 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Specifically Examiner notes that only a generally cylindrical structure is shown in Figs. 1A-3B and an annular structure is shown in Figs. 4A-5B. Examiner additionally notes the overcoming the below 112(a) and 112(b) rejections will likely obviate these objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 14, and 18-19 each recite the limitation “a cylindrical structure” in combination with other limitations meaning it must refer to elements 120 or 430, however none of these elements are disclosed as cylindrical. At best element 120 is disclosed as “generally cylindrical” and 430 is merely shown as annular or ring-shaped. Additionally the “ribs” of claims 18 and 19 are not described in combination with a cylindrical structure. Accordingly these limitations are not considered described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner recommends claiming “generally cylindrical structure” in claims 1 and 14 and “an annular structure” in claim 18 and 19 as the claimed ribs of such require it to only read on element 430.
Claims 2, 4, 12-13, 15, 17-18, and 20 each recites “the cylindrical structure” and thus fail to meet the written description requirement for the same reasons as claims 1, 14, and 19 (see above).
Claims 3, 5-10, and 16 fail to meet the written description requirement at least by virtue of depending on one of the above rejected claims.
Claims 2, 4-10, 12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 15, 18, and 20 each recite “a spreading inclined surface”. This limitation in combination with the recitations of claims 1, 14, and 19 (on which these claims respectively rely) requiring the cylindrical structure to have such is indefinite as it is unclear how a cylinder can have an inclined surface on its exterior and still be a cylinder. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “a generally cylindrical structure” in claims 1, 14, and 19 as such would overcome the indefiniteness of these claims. Examiner notes such an amendment would overcome the 112(a) rejections of claims 1 and 14, but not claim 19 (see above).
Claim 12 is indefinite as it depends on a canceled claim (claim 11). Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended claim 12 to depend on claim 2 as that is what claim 11 previously depended on.
Claims 4-10 are indefinite at least by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13-17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilke et al. (US 2020/0208661).
With regard to claim 1, Wilke discloses a tolerance compensation assembly (4 as seen in Figs. 3a-3b) for fastening a first part (200) to a second part (300) using a bolt (100), comprising: a tolerance compensation element (10) comprising a body (i.e. the body of 10 shown in Figs., 3a-3b) and having an axis (i.e. the central longitudinal axis through the through-hole in the center thereof), the body comprising at least two body segments (15, 15’, 15”, 15”’) arranged circumferentially about the axis (as seen in Fig. 3a), the at least two body segments together defining a channel (radially therein as seen in Figs. 3a-3b) extending along the axis (as seen in Figs. 3a-3b) and being connected to each other in a manner movable with respect to each other so as to enable the at least two body segments to come together and open with respect to each other (as described in para. [0087], etc.), and the body further including a threaded connection portion (13) provided on its outer surface for threaded connection with the first part (as seen in Fig. 3b); and a cylindrical structure (1 including 14 as seen in Figs., 3a-b, as interpreted in light of the above 112(b) interpretation above) being inserted into the channel along an insertion direction (as seen in Figs. 3a-b) and having a receiving path (2) extending along the axis (as seen in Figs. 3a-b) to receive the bolt (as seen in Fig. 3b it receives the bolt 100), the cylindrical structure being configured to be able to move in the insertion direction driven by the bolt while the bolt is fastening the first part to the second part, so as to apply a radial force to the at least two body segments to cause the at least two body segments to open by moving radially away from each other (as seen in Figs. 3a-b, disclosed in para. [0087], etc.).
With regard to claim 2, Wilke discloses that the cylindrical strucutre comprises a spreading inclined surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Figs. 3a-b below), the spreading inclined surface extending at an angle toward the axis in the insertion direction (as seen in Figs. 3a-b); and the tolerance compensation element is provided with a mating inclined surface (i.e. the surface of 10 contacting such as seen in Figs. 3a-b) on an inner wall of the body thereof (as seen in Figs. 3a-b), and the spreading inclined surface slidably engages with the mating inclined surface to cause the at least two body segments to open by moving radially away from each other (as seen in Figs. 3a-b, disclosed in para. [0087], etc.).
With regard to claim 3, Wilke discloses that body segments adjacent to one another are connected to each other through elastic elements (i.e. the portions where they are connected as seen in Figs. 3a-b the material thereof necessarily has elasticity under some loads).
With regard to claim 4, Wilke discloses that the cylindrical structure comprises an annular spreading ring (as seen in Figs. 3a-b), the outer surface of the spreading ring forming the spreading inclined surface (as seen in Figs. 3a-b); and wherein the spreading inclined surface slidably engages with the mating inclined surface when the spreading ring is driven by the bolt to move in the channel, thereby causing the at least two body segments to move radially away from each other (as seen in Figs. 3a-b, disclosed in para. [0087], etc.).
With regard to claim 13, Wilke discloses a fastening system (as seen in Figs. 3a-b) for fastening a first part (200) to a second part (300), comprising: a bolt (100); and the tolerance compensation assembly according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein the threaded connection portion on the body of the tolerance compensation element of the tolerance compensation assembly is threadedly connected with the first part (as seen in Fig. 3b at 203), and the bolt is inserted into the receiving path of the cylindrical structure and into the second part (as seen in Fig. 3b).
With regard to claim 14, Wilke discloses a tolerance compensation assembly (4 as seen in Figs. 3a-3b) for fastening a first part (200) to a second part (300) using a bolt (100), comprising: a tolerance compensation element (10) comprising a body (i.e. the body of 10 shown in Figs., 3a-3b) and having an axis (i.e. the central longitudinal axis through the through-hole in the center thereof), the body comprising at least two body segments (15, 15’, 15”, 15”’) arranged circumferentially about the axis (as seen in Fig. 3a), the at least two body segments together defining a channel (radially therein as seen in Figs. 3a-3b) extending along the axis (as seen in Figs. 3a-3b) and being connected to each other in a manner movable with respect to each other so as to enable the at least two body segments to come together and open with respect to each other (as described in para. [0087], etc.), and the body further including a threaded connection portion (13) provided on its outer surface for threaded connection with the first part (as seen in Fig. 3b); and a cylindrical structure (1 including 14 as seen in Figs., 3a-b, as interpreted in light of the above 112(b) interpretation above) being inserted into and fully accommodated by the channel along an insertion direction (as seen in Figs. 3a-b it is received therein and the channel accommodates such to the full extent that it can receive it and depending on how tight the screw is screwed in and how large the hole in the first part is. Examiner notes Applicant has not otherwise defined “fully accommodated” to require a narrower interpretation) and having a receiving path (2) extending along the axis (as seen in Figs. 3a-b) to receive the bolt (as seen in Fig. 3b it receives the bolt 100), the cylindrical structure being configured to be able to move in the insertion direction driven by the bolt while the bolt is fastening the first part to the second part, so as to apply a radial force to the at least two body segments to cause the at least two body segments to open by moving radially away from each other (as seen in Figs. 3a-b, disclosed in para. [0087], etc.).
With regard to claim 15, Wilke discloses that the cylindrical strucutre comprises a spreading inclined surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Figs. 3a-b above), the spreading inclined surface extending at an angle toward the axis in the insertion direction (as seen in Figs. 3a-b); and the tolerance compensation element is provided with a mating inclined surface (i.e. the surface of 10 contacting such as seen in Figs. 3a-b) on an inner wall of the body thereof (as seen in Figs. 3a-b), and the spreading inclined surface slidably engages with the mating inclined surface to cause the at least two body segments to open by moving radially away from each other (as seen in Figs. 3a-b, disclosed in para. [0087], etc.).
With regard to claim 16, Wilke discloses that body segments adjacent to one another are connected to each other through elastic elements (i.e. the portions where they are connected as seen in Figs. 3a-b the material thereof necessarily has elasticity under some loads).
With regard to claim 17, Wilke discloses that the cylindrical structure includes a neck section (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3a below as it is a reduced size portion), a step section (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3a below as it forms a step shape), and extension section (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3a below as it extends from another portion), an inclined connecting section (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3a below as it is an inclined surface and connected to at least another portion), and an operating section (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3a below as it has a function (e.g. as a stop)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Though no claims are currently in condition for allowance upon correcting the above 112(a)/(b) issues claims 5-10, 12, 18-20 would appear to merely be objected to for depending on a rejected claim and should be allowable if rewritten into independent form (including any intervening claims). Examiner does note that such a determination of allowability would depend on the exact wording of any claim such amendments and may necessitate additional search and/or consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new/amended ground(s) of rejection above. In so much as they may apply to the new/amended grounds of rejection above, Applicant’s arguments filed 28 July 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument against the prior art rejection of claim 1 (and presumably new claim 14) is that Wilke fails to disclose the body segments (15-15”’) are not connected to each other. This argument is not persuasive as they are clearly connected via element 11. It appears Applicant is arguing a narrower interpretation (e.g. that they are directly connected perhaps) than what the claims require. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s other arguments are with respect to the new limitations in new claims, however as such are all fully rejected in the new grounds of rejection above are not persuasive.
Other arguments asserting allowability of a dependent claim by virtue of being dependent on an argued base claims are not persuasive as all claims are currently rejected.
In the interest of advancing prosecution Examiner recommends correcting the above 112(a) and (b) issues, incorporating claim 5 into claim 1, incorporating claim 17 into claim 14 with additional descriptions of what each “section” is and where it is located, and canceling claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675