DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 18/422,805 filed on 01/25/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 16 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 20240239206 A1)(hereinafter “Choi”)
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a drive axle system (figs. 1-2) comprising:
a first axle assembly (e.g. front axle, fig. 2) that comprises a first transmission (e.g. 31) and a first electric motor (11) that is configured to provide torque to the first transmission (31);
a second axle assembly (e.g. rear axle, fig. 2) that comprises a second transmission (e.g. 32) and a second electric motor (12) that is configured to provide torque to the second transmission (32); and
a control module (e.g. 110, 150, 120, fig. 1) that comprises:
a first core that controls operation of the first axle assembly (e.g. 151); and a second core (150) that controls operation of the second axle assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the drive axle system of claim 1, wherein the control module comprises a supervisory core (110) that communicates with the first core (151) and the second core (152) and coordinates operation of the first core and the second core.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HOUSER et al. (US 20240343113 A1)(hereinafter “HOUSER”)
Regarding claim 19, HOUSER discloses a method of controlling a drive axle system (figs. 1-6), the method comprising:
controlling, with a first core (has no character numeral, the part of controller 144 that controls the first electric motor 125 as shown in fig. 1) a control module (144), torque that is provided by a first electric motor (125, fig. 1) of a first axle assembly (160) to a first transmission (150, para 15) of the first axle assembly (160) by decreasing torque (e.g. represented by 218 as shown in fig. 2) that is provided by the first electric motor; (see para 38 “As a result, between time t1 and time t2, the controller commands the torque demand of the second axle to increase, as indicated by plot 210, and the controller concurrently commands the torque demand of the first axle to decrease, as indicated by plot 218.”)
controlling, with a second core (has no character numeral, the part of controller 144 that controls the second electric motor 126 as shown in fig. 1) of the control module (144), torque that is provided by a second electric motor (126) of a second axle assembly (190) to a second transmission (152) of the second axle assembly by increasing torque (e.g. represented by 210 as shown in fig. 2) that is provided by the second electric motor (126);
generating, with the first core, a first shift command when a rotational speed of the first transmission (150) of the first axle assembly is sufficiently close to a rotational speed of a first drive pinion (e.g. 165, fig. 1) of the first axle assembly (160); and
actuating, with a first actuator (162) of the first axle assembly, a first clutch (161) of the first axle assembly based on the first shift command.
(see para 26 “The electronic controller 144 may control operation of first gearbox 150 and second gearbox 152. For example, the electronic controller 144 may adjust a shift setting of one or both of the axles of the tandem axle assembly 160 based on vehicle operating conditions such as vehicle speed, vehicle load, vehicle terrain, etc. Adjusting the shift setting of an axle, such as first axle 175, may include adjusting engagement of a clutch coupled to the axle, such as first clutch 161. In the example of the first axle 175, the first clutch 161 may be engaged to couple the first axle 175 to the first gearbox 150. Engagement of the first clutch 161 may be adjusted by the controller via signals (e.g., electronic signals) transmitted to an actuator 162 of the first clutch 161 by the controller 144. Adjusting the shift setting of the first axle 175 may further include adjusting the operating gear ratio of the first gearbox 150. For example, the controller 144 may communicate electronically with the first gearbox 150 in order to command the first gearbox 150 to adjust the operating gear ratio (e.g., the controller 144 may provide a command to an actuator of the first gearbox 150 in order to adjust gear engagement of gears within the first gearbox 150 to change the operating gear ratio of the first gearbox 150). The first gearbox 150 may operate with a variety of different operating gear ratios, with the controller 144 selecting the operating gear ratio based on the vehicle operating conditions. The first gearbox 150 may provide torque to the first axle 175 while operating at a variety of different gear ratios, and transitioning from providing torque to the first gearbox 150 while operating at a first gear ratio to providing torque to the first gearbox 150 while operating at a second gear ratio may be referred to herein as shifting the first axle 175.”)
Regarding claim 20, HOUSER discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising receiving a signal from an accelerator pedal (140, para 19) that is indicative of a request for acceleration, wherein the signal is received by a vehicle control module (144); and
generating a shift execution command with a supervisory core (e.g. has no numerical character, the part of controller 144 that executes the shifting) of the control module (144) based on the signal, wherein the steps of controlling torque that is provided by first electric motor (125) with the first core of the control module and controlling torque that is provided by the second electric motor (126) with the second core of the control module occurs in response to the shift execution command.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by David (US 20230054823 A1)(hereinafter “David”)
Regarding claim 16, David discloses a method of controlling a drive axle system (e.g. 100, figs. 1-3, para 11), the method comprising:
providing torque with a first electric motor (125, fig. 1A) of a first axle assembly (133, fig. 1A) based on a first torque command signal generated by a first core of a control module (144, para 17) when the first core receives a first signal from a first inverter (147), wherein the first inverter electrically connects the first electric motor (125) to an electrical power source (e.g. 132, battery cells, para 19);
providing torque with a second electric motor (126) of a second axle assembly (136) based on a second torque command signal generated by a second core of the control module (114) when the second core receives a second signal from a second inverter (134), wherein the second inverter (134) electrically connects the second electric motor (126) to the electrical power source (132); and
stopping torque from being provided with the first electric motor (125) when the first core does not receive the first signal from the first inverter (147). (see fig. 2, and para 22 “In some examples, sensors associated with electric machine 125, electric machine 126, wheel speed sensor 195, etc., may communicate information to controller 12, regarding various states of electric machine operation.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20240239206 A1) in view of Chen et al.(US 20220065346 A1)(hereinafter ”Chen”).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the drive axle system of claim 2, further comprising a vehicle control module (130) that communicates with the supervisory core (111) but fails to disclose an accelerator pedal that provides a signal indicative of a request for acceleration, wherein the signal from the accelerator pedal is transmitted directly to the vehicle control module without being transmitted through the control module to reach the vehicle control module.
Chen teaches a similar kind of drive axle system (e.g. 110, 111, figs. 1-5, paras 12-15) wherein an accelerator pedal (192, para 18, fig. 1) that provides a signal (e.g. via pedal position sensor 194) indicative of a request for acceleration, wherein the signal from the accelerator pedal (192) is transmitted directly to the vehicle control module (14, fig. 1) without being transmitted through the control module (12) to reach the vehicle control module (14). (see para 23)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by adding an accelerator pedal as taught by Chen so that an accelerator pedal can be applied by a drive when needed, as a result the reliability and efficiency of the vehicle operation improves.
As modified, the drive axle system would have an accelerator pedal that provides a signal indicative of a request for acceleration, wherein the signal from the accelerator pedal is transmitted directly to the vehicle control module without being transmitted through the control module to reach the vehicle control module.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the drive axle system of claim 2, wherein the first axle assembly further comprises a first clutch (21, fig. 2) but fails to disclose the first clutch is moveable between a first position in which a first gear ratio of the first transmission is provided and a second position in which a second gear ratio of the first transmission is provided that differs from the first gear ratio, and a first clutch actuator that is configured to actuate the first clutch between the first position and the second position, wherein the first core is configured to
transmit a first shift signal to the first clutch actuator without transmitting the first shift signal to the supervisory core or the second core.
Chen teaches a similar kind of drive axle system (e.g. 110, 111, figs. 1-5, paras 12-15) wherein a first clutch (e.g. 171, 174, para 15, fig. 1) that is moveable between a first position in which a first gear ratio of the first transmission is provided and a second position in which a second gear ratio of the first transmission is provided that differs from the first gear ratio (see para 15), and a first clutch actuator (152) that is configured to actuate the first clutch between the first position and the second position, wherein a first core (14, fig. 1, para 23) is configured to transmit a first shift signal to the first clutch actuator (152) without transmitting the first shift signal to the supervisory core (e.g. 12) or the second core.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by substituting the first clutch as taught by Chen in order to achieve a two gear ratio in a reliable and efficient manner so that it allows a driveline to switch from a lower gear range to a higher gear range without having to stop the vehicle. Further, this approach may extend useful life of gear clutches. (see para 6 of Chen)
As modified, the drive axle system would have the first clutch is moveable between a first position in which a first gear ratio of the first transmission is provided and a second position in which a second gear ratio of the first transmission is provided that differs from the first gear ratio, and a first clutch actuator that is configured to actuate the first clutch between the first position and the second position, wherein the first core is configured to
transmit a first shift signal to the first clutch actuator without transmitting the first shift signal to the supervisory core or the second core.
Regarding claim 7, Choi/Chen discloses the drive axle system as modified according to claim 3, wherein the first axle assembly further comprises a second clutch (22, fig. 2) but fails to disclose the second clutch is moveable between a first position in which a first gear ratio of the first transmission is provided and a second position in which a second gear ratio of the first transmission is provided that differs from the first gear ratio, and a second clutch actuator that is configured to actuate the second clutch between the first position and the second position, wherein the second core is configured to transmit a second shift signal to the second clutch actuator without transmitting the second shift signal to the supervisory core or the first core.
Chen further teaches a second clutch (e.g. 176, 178, para 13, fig. 1) that is moveable between a first position in which a first gear ratio of the first transmission is provided and a second position in which a second gear ratio of the first transmission is provided that differs from the first gear ratio (see para 14) , and a second clutch actuator (155) that is configured to actuate the second clutch between the first position and the second position, wherein a second core (14, fig. 1, para 23) is configured to transmit a second shift signal to the second clutch actuator (155) without transmitting the second shift signal to the supervisory core (e.g. 12) or the first core.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by substituting the second clutch as taught by Chen in order to achieve a two gear ratio in a reliable and efficient manner so that it allows a driveline to switch from a lower gear range to a higher gear range without having to stop the vehicle. Further, this approach may extend useful life of gear clutches. (see para 6 of Chen)
As modified, the drive axle system would have the second clutch is moveable between a first position in which a first gear ratio of the first transmission is provided and a second position in which a second gear ratio of the first transmission is provided that differs from the first gear ratio, and a second clutch actuator that is configured to actuate the second clutch between the first position and the second position, wherein the second core is configured to transmit a second shift signal to the second clutch actuator without transmitting the second shift signal to the supervisory core or the second core.
Claims 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20240239206 A1) in view of Chen et al.(US 20220065346 A1) and further in view of Obergünne et al. (US 20210009129 A1)(hereinafter “Obergünne”).
Regarding claim 5, Choi/Chen discloses all the elements of the invention according to claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein the first axle assembly further comprises a first clutch position sensor that generates a first clutch position signal that is indicative of a position of the first clutch, wherein the first clutch position signal is transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
Obergünne teaches a similar kind of drive axle system (fig. 1) wherein a first clutch position sensor (38, fig. 1) that generates a first clutch position signal that is indicative of a position of the first clutch (see para 47), wherein the first clutch position signal is transmitted to the first core (e.g. the portion of ECU that controls clutches 20, 20’ as shown in fig. 1, para 45) without being transmitted through the supervisory core (e.g. not shown, the interfaces or electrical circuitry as disclosed in para 44) and the second core (e.g. the core of ECU that controls the electric motor 7, para 44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi/Chen by adding a first clutch position sensor as taught by Obergünne in order to sense or detect precisely the speed difference between the input and output of the clutch, as a result the reliability of the torque transmission improves. (see para 15 of Obergünne)
As modified, the drive axle system would have a first clutch position sensor that generates a first clutch position signal that is indicative of a position of the first clutch, wherein the first clutch position signal is transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
Regarding claim 8, Choi/Chen discloses all the elements of the invention according to claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the second axle assembly further comprises a second clutch position sensor that generates a first clutch position signal that is indicative of a position of the first clutch, wherein the first clutch position signal is transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
Obergünne teaches a similar kind of drive axle system (fig. 1) wherein a clutch position sensor (38, fig. 1) that generates a clutch position signal that is indicative of a position of the clutch (e.g. 20, 20’, see para 47), wherein the clutch position signal is transmitted to the core (e.g. the portion of ECU that controls clutches 20, 20’ as shown in fig. 1, para 45) without being transmitted through the supervisory core (e.g. not shown, the interfaces or electrical circuitry as disclosed in para 44) and the second core (e.g. the core of ECU that controls the electric motor 7, para 44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi/Chen by adding a clutch position sensor as taught by Obergünne in order to sense or detect precisely the speed difference between the input and output of the clutch, as a result the reliability of the torque transmission improves. (see para 15 of Obergünne)
As modified, the drive axle system would have a second clutch position sensor that generates a first clutch position signal that is indicative of a position of the first clutch, wherein the first clutch position signal is transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20240239206 A1) in view of Chen et al.(US 20220065346 A1) and further in view of Hirao et al. (US 20200247236 A1)(hereinafter ”Hirao”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi/Chen discloses the drive axle system as modified according to claim 4, Choi further discloses wherein the first axle assembly (front wheel of fig. 2) further comprises a first drive pinion (has no character numeral, the pinion shaft connected between the differential 41 and reducer 31) that is rotatable with the first clutch (21) but fails to disclose a first speed sensor that generates a first speed signal indicative of a rotational speed of the first drive pinion, wherein the first speed signal is transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
Hirao teaches a similar kind of transmission apparatus (figs. 1-23) wherein a first speed sensor (1120, fig. 23, para 243) that generates a first speed signal indicative of a rotational speed of the first drive pinion (22, fig. 4), wherein the first speed signal is transmitted to a first core (e.g. control system 1110, para 242) without being transmitted through a supervisory core (1112, fig. 23) and a second core (e.g. shift collar controlling part, see para 242). (see para 244 “The first speed sensor 1120 may be directly electrically connected or directly hardwired to the axle controller 1110. For example, a first conductor 1140 such as a wire may extend from the first speed sensor 1120 to the axle controller 1110. Accordingly, the first signal from the first speed sensor 1120 may be provided directly from the first speed sensor 1120 to the axle controller 1110 and may not be indirectly routed to the axle controller 1110 via another controller, such as the brake controller 1112.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi/Chen by adding a first speed sensor as taught by Hirao so that the controller may receive the speed signal faster than if the first signal was indirectly provided and the controller may better control shifting of clutch, as a result the reliability of the torque transmission improves. (see para 244 of Hirao)
Regarding claim 9, Choi/Chen discloses the drive axle system as modified according to claim 7, Choi further discloses wherein the second axle assembly (rear wheel of fig. 2) further comprises a second drive pinion (has no character numeral, the pinion shaft connected between the differential 42 and reducer 32) that is rotatable with the second clutch (22) but fails to disclose a second speed sensor that generates a second speed signal indicative of a rotational speed of the second drive pinion, wherein the second speed signal is transmitted to the second core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the first core.
Hirao teaches a similar kind of transmission apparatus (figs. 1-23) wherein a second speed sensor (1120, fig. 23, para 243) that generates a second speed signal indicative of a rotational speed of a second drive pinion (22, fig. 4), wherein the second speed signal is transmitted to a second core (e.g. control system 1110, para 242) without being transmitted through a supervisory core (1112, fig. 23) and a first core (e.g. shift collar controlling part, see para 242). (see para 244 “The first speed sensor 1120 may be directly electrically connected or directly hardwired to the axle controller 1110. For example, a first conductor 1140 such as a wire may extend from the first speed sensor 1120 to the axle controller 1110. Accordingly, the first signal from the first speed sensor 1120 may be provided directly from the first speed sensor 1120 to the axle controller 1110 and may not be indirectly routed to the axle controller 1110 via another controller, such as the brake controller 1112.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi/Chen by adding a first speed sensor as taught by Hirao so that the controller may receive the speed signal faster than if the first signal was indirectly provided and the controller may better control shifting of clutch, as a result the reliability of the torque transmission improves. (see para 244 of Hirao)
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20240239206 A1) in view of EBERSBACH et al. (DE 102022001489 B3)(hereinafter “EBERSBACH”)(machine translation relied upon as attached).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the drive axle system (fig. 2) of claim 2 wherein the first electric motor (11) further comprises a first stator (not shown) and a first rotor that is rotatable with respect to the first stator, but fail to disclose a first stator temperature sensor that generates a first stator temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first stator, and a first rotor temperature sensor that generates a first rotor temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first rotor, wherein the first stator temperature signal and the first rotor temperature signal are transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
EBERSBACH teaches a similar king of axle assembly (e.g. 110, fig. 2) wherein an electric motor (12) further comprises a first stator (not shown) and a first rotor that is rotatable with respect to the first stator, a first stator temperature sensor (24) that generates a first stator temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first stator, and a first rotor temperature sensor (24) that generates a first rotor temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first rotor, wherein the first stator temperature signal and the first rotor temperature signal are transmitted to the first core (e.g. control and regulating device 26 that controls the temperature signals). (see para 33 “The electrical drive system 10 has a temperature sensor 24 to detect a temperature T of the first electrical machine 12. In the schematic representation, the temperature sensor 24 stands for a rotor temperature sensor or a stator temperature sensor or an inverter temperature sensor or also for a temperature calculation model.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by adding temperature sensors as taught by EBERSBACH in order to sense or detect precisely the temperature of the electric motor, as a result the reliability and efficiency of the motor improves. (see para 45 or 47 or 49 of EBERSBACH)
As modified, the drive axle system would have a first stator temperature sensor that generates a first stator temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first stator, and a first rotor temperature sensor that generates a first rotor temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first rotor, wherein the first stator temperature signal and the first rotor temperature signal are transmitted to the first core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the second core.
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the drive axle system (fig. 2) of claim 2 wherein the second electric motor (12, fig. 2) further comprises a second stator (not shown) and a second rotor that is rotatable with respect to the second stator, but fail to disclose a second stator temperature sensor that generates a second stator temperature signal indicative of temperature of the second stator, and a second rotor temperature sensor that generates a second rotor temperature signal indicative of temperature of the second rotor, wherein the second stator temperature signal and the second rotor temperature signal are transmitted to the second core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the first core.
EBERSBACH teaches a similar king of axle assembly (e.g. 110, fig. 2) wherein an electric motor (12) further comprises a stator (not shown) and a rotor that is rotatable with respect to the first stator, a stator temperature sensor (24) that generates a stator temperature signal indicative of temperature of the first stator, and a rotor temperature sensor (24) that generates a rotor temperature signal indicative of temperature of the rotor, wherein the stator temperature signal and the rotor temperature signal are transmitted to the second core (e.g. control and regulating device 26 that controls the temperature signals). (see para 33 “The electrical drive system 10 has a temperature sensor 24 to detect a temperature T of the first electrical machine 12. In the schematic representation, the temperature sensor 24 stands for a rotor temperature sensor or a stator temperature sensor or an inverter temperature sensor or also for a temperature calculation model.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by adding temperature sensors as taught by EBERSBACH in order to sense or detect precisely the temperature of the electric motor, as a result the reliability and efficiency of the motor improves. (see para 45 or 47 or 49 of EBERSBACH)
As modified, the drive axle system would have a second stator temperature sensor that generates a second stator temperature signal indicative of temperature of the second stator, and a second rotor temperature sensor that generates a second rotor temperature signal indicative of temperature of the second rotor, wherein the second stator temperature signal and the second rotor temperature signal are transmitted to the second core without being transmitted through the supervisory core and the first core.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20240239206 A1) in view of BUTCHER et al. (US 20170334427 A1)(hereinafter “BUTCHER”).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses all the elements of the drive axle system (fig. 2) of claim 2, but fails to disclose a first inverter that electrically connects the first electric motor to an electrical power source, wherein the first core is configured to provide a first zero torque command signal to the first electric motor when there is a loss of communication between the control module and the first inverter, wherein the first electric motor provides zero torque in response to the first zero torque command signal.
BUTCHER teaches a similar king of axle assembly (e.g. 110, figs. 1-2) wherein a inverter (158) that electrically connects an electric motor (118) to an electrical power source (120), wherein a core (200, fig. 2) is configured to provide a zero torque command signal to the electric motor when there is a loss of communication (see para 39) between the control module (150, fig. 2) and the inverter (158, fig. 1), wherein the electric motor (118) provides zero torque in response to the first zero torque command signal. (see para 39 “The power electronics controller 200 may operate for a limited period of time after the loss of communication using the last received setpoint. After the period of time, the power electronics controller 200 may operation with a zero torque setpoint. The power electronics controller 200 may operate the switching devices 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, 220 such that no torque is applied to the M/G 118.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by adding an inverter and power source as taught by BUTCHER so that it can control the electric machine for propulsion, adjust a speed of the machine to fall within a predetermined range . (see para 4 and abstract of BUTCHER)
As modified, the drive axle system would have a first inverter that electrically connects the first electric motor to an electrical power source, wherein the first core is configured to provide a first zero torque command signal to the first electric motor when there is a loss of communication between the control module and the first inverter, wherein the first electric motor provides zero torque in response to the first zero torque command signal.
Regarding claim 13, Choi/ BUTCHER discloses the drive axle system (figs. 1-2) as modified according to claim 12, wherein the first zero torque command signal is transmitted to the first electric motor (11, fig. 2) without being transmitted through the supervisory core (110) and the second core (152, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses all the elements of the drive axle system (fig. 2) of claim 2, but fails to disclose a second inverter that electrically connects the second electric motor to an electrical power source, wherein the second core is configured to provide a second zero torque command signal to the second electric motor when there is a loss of communication between the control module and the second inverter, wherein the second electric motor provides zero torque in response to the second zero torque command signal.
BUTCHER teaches a similar king of axle assembly (e.g. 110, figs. 1-2) wherein an inverter (158) that electrically connects an electric motor (118) to an electrical power source (120), wherein a core (200, fig. 2) is configured to provide a zero torque command signal to the electric motor when there is a loss of communication (see para 39) between the control module (150, fig. 2) and the inverter (158, fig. 1), wherein the electric motor (118) provides zero torque in response to the first zero torque command signal. (see para 39 “The power electronics controller 200 may operate for a limited period of time after the loss of communication using the last received setpoint. After the period of time, the power electronics controller 200 may operation with a zero torque setpoint. The power electronics controller 200 may operate the switching devices 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, 220 such that no torque is applied to the M/G 118.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi by adding an inverter and power source as taught by BUTCHER so that it can control the electric machine for propulsion, adjust a speed of the machine to fall within a predetermined range . (see para 4 and abstract of BUTCHER)
As modified, the drive axle system would have a second inverter that electrically connects the second electric motor to an electrical power source, wherein the second core is configured to provide a second zero torque command signal to the second electric motor when there is a loss of communication between the control module and the second inverter, wherein the second electric motor provides zero torque in response to the second zero torque command signal.
Regarding claim 15, Choi/ BUTCHER discloses the drive axle system (figs. 1-2) as modified according to claim 12, wherein the second zero torque command signal is transmitted to the first electric motor (12, fig. 2) without being transmitted through the supervisory core (110) and the first core (151, fig. 1).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (US 20230054823 A1) in view of Zhao et al.( US 20230339333 A1)(hereinafter ”Zhao”).
Regarding claim 17, David discloses all the elements of the method of claim 16, but fails to disclose further comprising increasing torque that is provided with the second electric motor when the first core does not receive the first signal from the first inverter.
Zhao teaches a similar kind of method and control of drive axle assembly (e.g. 100, figs. 1-7) wherein increasing torque that is provided with a second electric motor (135, fig. 1) when a first core (12, fig. 1) does not receive the first signal (e.g. 702 from t3 to t4, see fig. 7, the negative request indicates the first core does not receive the first signal from the first inverter as per para 38) from the first inverter (134, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify David by adding the method of increasing torque that is provided with the second electric motor when the first core does not receive the first signal from the first inverter as taught by Zhao in order to achieve an orderly and robustly controlling of the electric motors during varied operating conditions; then allowing full utilization of the battery capability and therefore enhance the efficiency of the drive axle assembly . (see para 103 of Zhao)
Regarding claim 18, David/Zhao discloses the method of claim 16,
Zhao teaches a similar kind of method and control of drive axle assembly (e.g. 100, figs. 1-7) stopping torque from being provided with a second electric motor (135) when a second core (e.g. 12) does not receive the second signal from a second inverter (147). (see 704 from t1-t2 of fig. 7 of Zhao)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify David by adding the method of stopping torque from being provided with the second electric motor when the second core does not receive the second signal from the second inverter as taught by Zhao in order to achieve an orderly and robustly controlling of the electric motors during varied operating conditions; then allowing full utilization of the battery capability and therefore enhance the efficiency of the drive axle assembly . (see para 103 of Zhao)
core and the first
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
David et al. (US 11987117 B2) teaches methods and systems for an electric drive assembly are provided herein. In one example, an electric drive system is provided that includes two multi-motor drive units with associated planetary gear reductions that have asymmetric gear ratios. The planetary gear reduction in each drive unit includes a ring gear and a sun gear that are rotationally coupled to a pair of motors and a carrier rotationally coupled to an output gear that interfaces with a gear reduction of an axle assembly.
Choi (US 20230365115 A1) discloses a hybrid electric vehicle and a method of driving control for the same. The method of controlling the hybrid electric vehicle includes determining whether the hybrid electric vehicle enters an engine clutch lock-up section, determining, in a case where the hybrid electric vehicle enters the engine clutch lock-up section, whether difference in speed between a first motor and a second motor is above a predetermined threshold, and controlling of torque of the first motor according to a comparison result obtained from comparing the speed of the first motor and the speed of the second motor with each other.
Conclusion
/F.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655