DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 8505889 B2).
Re claim 1, Suzuki discloses an elastomeric bushing comprising: an inner sleeve (12); an elastomeric bumper (26) disposed around and directly engaging the inner sleeve; and an outer sleeve (18) disposed around the inner sleeve and the elastomeric bumper, the outer sleeve being spaced apart from the inner sleeve and including an uninterrupted right circular cylindrical surface directly engaging the elastomeric bumper (18C – Fig 3, 8, 9), wherein the inner sleeve includes a radially outwardly extending first flange at a first end and a radially outwardly extending second flange axially spaced apart from the first flange and positioned at an opposite second end, the inner sleeve including a centralized bulbous portion as well as first and second neck portions positioned on opposite sides the centralized bulbous portion, the inner sleeve further including a first sloped surface extending between the centralized bulbous portion and the first neck portion, a second sloped surface extending between the centralized bulbous portion and the second neck portion, a third sloped surface extending between the first flange and the first neck portion, and a fourth sloped surface extending between second flange and the second neck portion, the first sloped surface and the third sloped surface trapping a first cushion portion of the elastomeric bumper therebetween, the second sloped surface and the fourth sloped surface trapping a second cushion portion of the elastomeric bumper therebetween. (Fig. 1, 3, 13)
[AltContent: textbox (Right circular cylindrical inner surface)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Centralized Bulbous Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Second Sloped Surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Cushion Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Fourth Sloped Surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third Sloped Surface)][AltContent: textbox (First Sloped Surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Cushion Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Neck Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Second Neck Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second flange)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First flange)]
Re claims 2 and 14, Suzuki discloses wherein the inner sleeve (12) is hollow cylindrically-shaped one-piece monolithic component including the first, second, third, and fourth sloped surfaces.
Re claims 3 and 19, Suzuki discloses wherein the first and second cushion portions have the same cross-sectional shape. (Fig. 1,3)
Re claims 4 and 15, Suzuki discloses wherein the elastomeric bumper (26) is bonded to the inner sleeve (12). (Column 6, lines 23-32)
Re claim 5, Suzuki discloses wherein the elastomeric bumper (26) is bonded to the inner sleeve (12) and the outer sleeve (18). (Column 6, lines 23-32)
Re claims 6 and 18, Suzuki discloses wherein the inner sleeve (12) is coaxially aligned with the outer sleeve (18).
Re claim 7, Suzuki discloses wherein the first sloped surface is opposed to the third sloped surface. See Fig. 3 above.
Re claim 8, Suzuki discloses wherein the second sloped surface is opposed to the fourth sloped surface. See Fig. 3 above.
Re claims 9 and 16, Suzuki discloses wherein the inner sleeve (12) axially extends beyond the outer sleeve at each end of the outer sleeve (18).
Re claim 10, Suzuki discloses wherein opposite ends of the outer sleeve (18) are not inwardly deformed.
Re claims 11 and 17, Suzuki discloses wherein the outer sleeve (18) includes a cylindrical inner surface and a cylindrical outer surface.
Re claim 12, Suzuki discloses wherein a load attempting to axially move the outer sleeve relative to the inner sleeve increases based on the elastomeric compressive properties of the first and second cushion portions of the elastomeric bumper. (Column 4, lines 22-27)
Re claim 13, Suzuki discloses elastomeric bushing comprising: an inner sleeve (12); an elastomeric bumper (26) disposed around and directly engaging the inner sleeve; and an outer sleeve (18) disposed around the elastic bumper and including and uninterrupted right circular cylindrical inner surface directly engaging the elastomeric bumper (18C – Fig 3, 8, 9), wherein the inner sleeve includes a centralized bulbous portion as well as first and second neck portions positioned on opposite sides of the centralized bulbous portion, the inner sleeve further including a radially outwardly extending first surface positioned between the centralized bulbous portion and the first neck portion, a radially outwardly extending second surface positioned between the centralized bulbous portion and the second neck portion, a radially outwardly extending third surface positioned at the opposite end of the first neck portion as the first surface, and a radially outwardly extending fourth surface positioned at the opposite end of the second neck portion as the second surface, the first surface and the third surface trapping a first cushion portion of the elastomeric bumper therebetween, the second surface and the fourth surface trapping a second cushion portion of the elastomeric bumper therebetween. (Fig. 1, 3, 13) See Fig. 3 above Re claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 8505889 B2) in view of Johnston (US 2023/0373259 A1).
Re claim 20, Suzuki does not teach wherein a bar pin is at least partially positioned within the inner sleeve. Johnston teaches an assembly comprising a bar pin (134) and an elastomeric bushing (20) wherein the bar pin is at least partially positioned within an inner sleeve (60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the bar pin as taught by Johnston in the elastomeric bushing of Suzuki since bar pins are well known alternative means for connecting bushings to suspension components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner maintains that Suzuki discloses wherein the outer sleeve 18 includes an uninterrupted right circular cylindrical surface directly engaging the elastomeric bumper 26 at ends 18C. See Fig 3, 8 and 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWOctober 1, 2026