DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim 1 of the current application receives a priority date of 3/7/22 based on the filing of parent application 17/688,3267 (emphasis added). This is the first time that Figs. 45-54 are introduced which show the claimed subject matter of claim 1. That is, Figs. 45-54 show both the first lower cavity and a second upper cavity separated by a rib; the rib connected to a transitional region having a variable thickness.
35 USC § 112
The Examiner construes the term "about" with the claims to mean the claimed value within the "errors necessarily resulting from the standard deviation found in their respective testing measurements"; consistent with applicant's spec, pars. [00216]-[00217].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 now claims “various thicknesses” in line 17. The term “various” as defined by merriam-webster.com means “of an indefinite number greater than one” (emphasis added). Based on the plain definition alone, the word can be construed as “indefinite” under 112(b). For purposes of the examination on the merits, the Examiner construes “various” as “more than one”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tassistro et al. (herein “Tassistro”; US Pub. No. 2019/0118049 A1) in view of Stites et al. (herein “Stites”; US Pub. No. 2010/0273565 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tassistro discloses a golf club head (Fig. 26, reproduced below) comprising: a body portion (Fig. 26; noting the main head); a first cavity defined within the body portion located in a lower portion of the golf club head (Fig. 26, lower item 2616); and a second cavity defined within the body portion located in an upper portion of the golf club head (Fig. 26, upper item 2616); and a striking face insert adapted to cover the first cavity and the second cavity (Fig. 26, item 2618), and wherein the first cavity and the second cavity are separated by a rib (Fig. 26, noting the portion between upper item 2616 and lower item 2616 can be considered a “rib”, see annotated Fig. 26 below); wherein the striking face insert further comprises: a first portion, having a first face thickness measured perpendicular to the face plane (Fig. 26 below, as annotated, noting a face thickness would be inherent and/or obvious), engaged with the first cavity (Fig. 26 below; noting this would be obvious when the face is attached to the body portion); a second portion, having a second face thickness measured perpendicular to the face plane (Fig. 26 below, as annotated, noting a face thickness would be inherent and/or obvious), engaged with the second cavity (Fig. 26 below; noting this would be obvious when the face is attached to the body portion); and a transition portion (Fig. 26 below; noting the “transition portion” corresponds to the “rib” on the main body), having a thickness measured perpendicular to the face plane (Fig. 26 below; noting some thickness is inherent and/or obvious), separating the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 26 below), wherein the rib engages the transition portion at a thickness of the transition portion (Fib. 26 below; noting obvious once the face is assembled to the body portion). It is noted that Tassistro does not specifically disclose a face insert with a transition portion having a variable thickness, wherein the rib engages the transition portion at various thicknesses of the transition portion. However, Stites discloses a face insert (par. [0059]) with a transition portion having a variable thickness (Fig. 5B below; noting the face thickness varies within the “transition portion”; the transition portion “transitioning” between the first portion and the second portion), wherein the rib engages the transition portion at various thicknesses of the transition portion (Fig. 5B below; noting “various” is defined as “an indefinite number greater than one”, and the rib engages two different thicknesses which meets the claimed limitation of “greater than one”). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tassistro to use a transition portion having a variable thickness, wherein the rib engages the transition portion at various thicknesses of the transition portion as taught and suggested by Stites because doing so would be combining prior art elements (an golf club with a rib in contact with a transition portion of a face and a golf club with a rib in contact with a variable thickness of a transition portion of a face) according to known methods (using the rib in contact with a variable thickness of a transition portion of a face in the former club) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use a rib in contact with a transition portion of a face, the rib in contact with a variable thickness in the transition portion to provide a mechanical joining and location matching of the rib to the face - see Stites: par. [0061] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, the combined Tassistro and Stites disclose further comprising a rod extending from within the second cavity toward the striking face insert, wherein the rod has a rod diameter (Tassistro: Fig. 30, item 3042 and Fig. 16, item 1630). The Examiner notes that Fig. 16 is a different embodiment than Fig. 26, however a POSA would understand that rods could be used within the second cavity in order to “further provide structural support to the striking face” (see Tassistro: par. [0111]).
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that the combined Tassistro and Stites do not specifically disclose that the striking face insert includes a holes located proximate to the rod, wherein the hole has a hole diameter. However, Tassistro discloses rods that extend toward the front striking face insert (Figs. 16, items 1630 and 17, items 1730). In addition, in a different embodiment, Tassistro discloses that the rear face surface includes a holes located proximate to the rod, wherein the hole has a hole diameter (par. [0133] and Fig. 29, item 2942; noting a hole diameter would be inherent). The Examiner also notes that Stites makes obvious using a hole in the front face insert (pars. [0059]-[0060]) of the club head to accommodate what can be considered as a rod (Figs. 4A-4C). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Tassistro and Stites to make the striking face insert include a holes located proximate to the rod, wherein the hole has a hole diameter as taught and suggested by Tassistro and Stites because doing so would be use of a known technique (using holes in a surface, the holes used to weld the surface to an underlying post/rod structure) to improve a similar product (a golf club with a striking face and rods that extend to it) in the same way (using holes in the striking face to weld to underlying supports in the form of a rod/post, the welding of the holes to the underlying support "creating even more structural rigidity between all the components" - see Tassistro: par. [0133]).
Regarding claim 9, the combined Tassistro and Stites disclose that the first face thickness is between about 1.0 mm and about 5.0 mm, and wherein the second face thickness is between about 1.0 mm and about 3.0 mm (Stites: par. [0039]; noting “2.5 mm or less” makes obvious the claimed range for both the first and second portions).
Regarding claim 10, the combined Tassistro and Stites disclose that the first cavity has a first cavity thickness measure perpendicular to a face plane of the striking insert, wherein the second cavity has a second cavity thickness measure perpendicular to the face plane (Tassistro: Fig. 26; noting a thickness is inherent and/or obvious). It is noted that the combined Tassistro and Stites do not specifically disclose wherein the first cavity thickness is between about 2.0 mm and about 14.0 mm, and wherein the second cavity thickness is between about 0.5 mm and about 2.5 mm. However, Tassistro discloses that both the first cavity and the second cavity would inherently have some thickness (Fig. 26). In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, to support the Examiner’s assertion that the cavity thickness or depth is a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result) and can be optimized or found though routine experimentation, the Examiner evidences Tassistro which states that cavity depth is a result-effective variable used to optimize the “mass properties” of the club head (par. [0150]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact depth of each cavity could be found through routine experimentation in order to optimize the “mass properties” of the club head.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tassistro et al. (herein “Tassistro”; US Pub. No. 2019/0118049 A1) in view Stites et al. (herein “Stites”; US Pub. No. 2010/0273565 A1) and in further view of Aramaki (US Pub. No. 2021/0086039 A1).
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that the combined Tassistro and Stites do not specifically disclose that the rod diameter is greater than the hole diameter. However, Tassistro makes obvious the use of holes located proximate to the rod (par. [0133] and Fig. 29, item 2942; see claim 3 rejection above). In addition, Stites makes obvious holes in the front face that can accommodate what can be considered as protruding rods (Figs. 4A-4C) and the ability to weld those rods (par. [0061]). Furthermore, Aramaki discloses rods that are the larger than the holes in order to weld a part to the rods (Fig. 7 and 4 and par. [0127], item 30 being the “rod”). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Tassistro and Stites to make the rod diameter greater the hold diameter as taught by Aramaki because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a face insert that can be welded using holes to underlying rods, and a weight insert that can be welded using holes to underlying rods) according to known methods (utilizing the welding techniques in Aramaki) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use holes to weld a part to underlying rods, the part being a face insert and the rods having a diameter larger than the holes).
Regarding claim 5, the combined Tassistro, Stites, and Aramaki disclose that the rod diameter is between about 10% and about 100% greater than the hole diameter (Aramaki: Fig. 8; noting this is obvious as it is at least about 20-30% greater; the rod diameter defined by outer diameter 30, the hole diameter being the solid second inner line for item 22; emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, the combined Tassistro, Stites, and Aramaki disclose that the striking face insert is welded through the hole to the rod to define a rosette weld (Aramaki: pars. [0127], [0131]-[0132], and Fig. 10, item B; noting this is obvious as a rosette weld, aka a plug weld, is simply a weld that fills a circular hole, and it is specifically disclosed by Aramaki).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,867 B2 in view of Stites et al. (herein “Stites”; US Pub. No. 2010/0273565 A1). Claim 1 of the current application claims:
(Currently Amended) A golf club head comprising:
a body portion;
a first cavity defined within said body portion located in a lower portion of said golf club
head;
a second cavity defined within said body portion located in an upper portion of said golf
club head; and
a striking face insert adapted to cover said first cavity and said second cavity,
wherein said first cavity and said second cavity are separated by a rib,
wherein said striking face insert further comprises:
a first portion, having a first face thickness measured perpendicular to said face
plane, engaged with said first cavity;
a second portion, having a second face thickness measured perpendicular to said face
plane, engaged with said second cavity; and
a transition portion, having a variable thickness measured perpendicular to said face
plane, separating said first portion and said second portion,
wherein said rib engages said transition portion at various thicknesses of said transition
portion.
Claim 1 of the ‘867 patent claims:
1. A golf club head comprising: a forged body portion; a first cavity, having a first cavity thickness measured perpendicular to a face plane of a striking face insert, defined within a blade portion of said body portion; a second cavity, having a second cavity thickness measured perpendicular to said face plane of said striking face insert, defined within a muscle portion of said body portion; a rib at least partially separating said first cavity and said second cavity; and said striking face insert further comprising: a first portion, having a first face thickness measured perpendicular to said face plane of said striking face insert, engaged with said first cavity; a second portion, having a second face thickness measured perpendicular to said face plane of said striking face insert, engaged with said second cavity; and a transition portion, having a variable thickness measured perpendicular to said face plane of said striking face insert, separating said first portion and said second portion, wherein said second face thickness is greater than said first face thickness, wherein a ratio of said first face thickness to said first cavity thickness is between about 0.2 and about 4.0, wherein a ratio of said second face thickness to said second cavity thickness is between about 0.1 and about 0.8, wherein said golf club head further comprises a rod extending from within said first cavity toward a front of said golf club head, wherein said striking face insert includes a hole located proximate to said rod, wherein said rod has a rod diameter, wherein said hole has a hole diameter, wherein said rod diameter is between about 10% and about 100% greater than said hole diameter, and wherein said striking face insert is welded to said body portion around a perimeter of said striking face insert and welded through said hole to said rod to define a rosette weld.
As can be seen, the current claim 1 is much broader in scope and claim 1 of the ‘867 makes obvious the majority of the claim. In addition, as recited in the 103 rejection above, Stites makes obvious the use of a face insert with a transition region having a variable thickness and a rib engaging the variable thickness of the transition region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not generally persuasive.
112(a)
The previous 112(a) has been removed based on the amendment.
103
The Matsunaga reference is removed because it is no longer needed based on the amendment. Stites has been added based on the amendment.
Double Patenting
The double patenting rejection remains based on the inclusion of Stites.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
8/10/26
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711