DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, drawn to the apparatus for analyzing breathing parameters, in the reply filed on 3/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an optical sensing unit” in claim 1;
“a processing unit” in claims 1 and 9; and
“a sensing unit” in claim 9.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to me a missing “and” at the end of line 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to me a missing “and” at the end of line 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/108,326 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant independent claims 1 and 9 are merely briader recitations of the claims subject matter in claim 1 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 positively recites the limitation "of a first region of the; and" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what “the” refers to. For the purposes of examination on the merits and compact prosecution, the recitation is being treated, consistent with the instant Specification, as reciting the torso. Claim 11 inherits and does not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (2022/0054039, hereinafter Rahman).
For claim 1, Rahman discloses a system (Figs 8,10-11) for analyzing a breathing parameter of a user ([0025-0026,0057-0129]), the system comprising inter alia:
an optical sensing unit (1030,120,104) configured to:
detect movement of a torso of the user ([0057-0129, especially 0104]); and
output one or more signals indicative of the movement of the torso ([0057-0129, especially 0104]);
an electronic device (1040) configured to request for the user to breathe according to a breathing profile during a time period (Fig 8) ([0057-0129]); and
a processing unit (1004) configured to:
receive the one or more signals output by the optical sensing unit during the time period (Fig 8) ([0057-0129]);
determine an adherence metric (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059, 0084-0085]) using the one or more signals and the breathing profile (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059]), the adherence metric indicating a correspondence between the movement of the torso and the breathing profile requested during the time period (Fig 8) ([0057-0129]).
For claim 2, Rahman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: detecting the movement of the torso comprises detecting changes in depth of the torso with respect to the optical sensing unit (via sensor 120) (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); the breathing profile defines a depth parameter (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and determining the adherence metric comprises determining differences between the depth parameter and the changes in depth of the torso (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 3, Rahman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: detecting the movement of the torso comprises detecting breathing cycle timing of the user (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); the breathing profile defines a timing parameter (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059, 0084-0085]); and determining the adherence metric comprises determining differences between the timing parameter and breathing cycle timing of the user (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 4, Rahman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to: determine an updated breathing profile based on the adherence metric satisfying one or more criteria (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); cause the electronic device to request the user to breathe according to the updated breathing profile during a second time period (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and determine an updated adherence metric for the second time period (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 5, Rahman discloses the system of claim 4, wherein determining the updated breathing profile comprises adjusting one or more breathing parameters of the breathing profile (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 6, Rahman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the request for the user to breathe according to the breathing profile comprises an audio output (via 1010) (Fig 10) indicating a breathing parameter of the requested breathing profile ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 7, Rahman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the breathing profile comprises a breathing pattern (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 8, Rahman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the request for the user to breathe according to the breathing profile comprises a visual output (via 1034) indicating a breathing pattern, a breathing depth or both (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and the visual output includes an indication of the movement of the torso (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 9, Rahman discloses a system (Figs 8,10,11) for analyzing user adherence to a requested breathing profile ([0025-0026,0057-0129]), the system comprising inter alia:
a sensing unit (1030,120,104) configured to:
detect movement of a torso of a user ([0057-0129, especially 0104]); and
output one or more signals indicative of the detected movement of the torso ([0057-0129, especially 0104]);
an electronic device (1040) configured to provide a request for a user to breathe according to a breathing profile during a time period (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and
a processing unit (1004) programmed to:
receive the one or more signals (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and
determine an adherence metric using the one or more signals and the breathing profile (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 10, Rahman discloses the system of claim 9 wherein: the one or more signals includes: one or more first signals indicative of detected movement of a first region of the torso (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and one or more second signals indicative of detected movement of a second region of the torso (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and the processing unit is configured to determine the adherence metric using the one or more first signals and the one or more second signals (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 11, Rahman discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the adherence metric comprises: a first metric corresponding to the movement of the first region (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]); and a second metric corresponding to the movement of the second region (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 12, Rahman discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the sensing unit comprises an optical sensing unit (1030,120,104) configured to measures changes in depth between the torso and the sensing unit (Fig 8) ([0026,0057-0129, especially 0026,0057-0059,0084-0085]).
For claim 13, Rahman discloses the system of claim 9, wherein: the sensing unit comprises an optical sensing unit (1030,120,104) configured to measure a mouth shape of the user ([0026,0055,0057-0129, especially 0055,0061-0064,0067]); and the adherence metric is determined using the measured mouth shape of the user ([0026,0055,0057-0129, especially 0055,0061-0064,0067]).
For claim 14, Rahman discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the request for the user to breath according to the breathing profile comprises an audio output (via 1010) (Fig 10) ([0057-0129]).
For claim 15, Rahman discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the request for the user to breath according to the breathing profile comprises a visual output (via 1034) (Fig 10) ([0057-0129]).
Conclusion
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791