DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 04/30/2026.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-15 and 18-26 are pending.
Claims 4-5, 7-8 and 16-17 are canceled.
Claims 21-26 are added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/30/2026 with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 9-15 and 18-26 have been considered but they are moot as they are not applicable for the combination of prior arts used in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-15 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 102014469 A, of IDS, Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘ZHAO’) in view of Liu; Jia-min (CN 113453161 A, of IDS, Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘LIU’) and with further in view of Chang et al. (US 20230388972 A1, hereinafter ‘CHANG’).
Regarding claim 1, ZHAO teaches a method for adjusting duration of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle (
[0072]
To enable terminals in LTE-A systems to use the DRX mechanism for control channel
monitoring, this invention provides a discontinuous reception method in a multi-carrier system. In this method, the base station transmits a discontinuous reception control cell (DRX MAC CE) from the Media Access Control layer on a component carrier to notify the terminal to monitor the control channel on some or all of its supported component carriers according to the discontinuous reception cycle (DRX CYCLE) indicated by the DRX MAC CE.
Fig.6, [0073]
Referring to Figure 6, the discontinuous reception method in a multi-carrier system provided by this embodiment of the invention,
Fig. 9, [0143] As shown in FIG. 9, the embodiment of the invention further claims a multi-carrier communication system, the system comprising:
[0144) base station 90, a plurality of component carriers from the terminal support in selecting the member carrier which is currently in activation state, the discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) information CYCLE carried a discontinuous reception control information (DRX MAC CE) of the media access control layer in, using the component carrier transmitting the DRX MAC CE to the terminal;
[0145] terminal 91, used for after receiving the DRX MAC CE in a plurality of component carriers supported by itself selecting part or all member carriers and monitoring the control channel on the selected member carrier according to the DRX CYCLE.), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device (Fig. 9 Terminal 91), Media Access Control (MAC) layer control information from an access network device (Fig. 9 base station 90,
Fig. 6, [0075]
Step 61: The base station carries the DRX CYCLE information in the DRX MAC CE;
[0076]
Step 62: The base station uses the selected component carrier to send the DRX MAC CE to the terminal;
[0079]
In step 61, the base station can carry the DRX CYCLE information in the MAC subheader of the DRX MAC CE or in the extended DRX MAC CE. Specifically, the DRX CYCLE information is carried in the MAC subheader or the reserved R field of the DRX MAC CE.);
determining, by the terminal device based on the MA layer control information, a terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable (
[0081]
Preferably, before the base station sends the DRX MAC CE to the terminal, the base station selects some member carriers from the multiple member carriers configured for the terminal and carries the identification information of the selected member carriers in the DRX MAC CE;
the terminal then selects the member carrier corresponding to the identification of the member carrier from the multiple member carriers it supports, and listens to the control channel on the member carrier according to the DRXCYCLE carried in the DRX MAC CE.
[0082] Specifically, the base station carries the identification information of the selected member carriers in the Logical Channel Number (LCID) field of the MAC subheader, or in the member carrier indication (CC_INDICATOR) field of the extended DRX MAC CE.
[0086]
In this invention, the base station can determine whether to carry a Short DRX cycle or a Long DRX cycle in the DRX MAC CE, and the number of member carriers carried in the DRX MAC CE, based on the current traffic volume transmitted between the base station and the terminal.
[0087]
For example, if a terminal establishes a new service, the base station selects to open one or more component carriers so that the opened component carriers can carry the data volume of the service; if a terminal deletes a service, the base station can select to close one or more component carriers that carry the data volume of the service.
(Construed based on the received MAC-CE, the terminal determines availability of higher or lower number carriers for presence or absence of established terminal service respectively)); and
adjusting, by the terminal device, the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the terminal service (
[0077]
Step 63: After receiving the DRX MAC CE, the terminal selects some or all of the member carriers it supports, and listens to the control channel on the selected member carriers according to the DRX CYCLE carried in the DRX MAC CE.
[0093]
The fourth method is to change the DRX MAC CE structure. The DRX MAC CE on a CC is for one or more CCs. When the UE receives the DRX MAC CE on a certain CC, the CC indicated by the DRX MAC CE will enter the Long DRX cycle. That is, the CC indicated by the DRX MAC CE will listen to the control channel according to the Long DRX cycle.
[0094]
The fifth method adopts the DRX MAC CE structure of L TE R8. One DRX MAC CE is for one CC. DRX MAC CEs are sent on the CCs that need to enter the short DRX cycle. After receiving the DRX MAC CE, the terminal selects the CC that receives the DRX MAC CE from the multiple component carriers it supports and lets the CC enter the short DRX cycle, so that the CC listens to the control channel according to the short DRX cycle. The DRX MAC CE sent by the base station is in the same format as R8.).
ZHAO does not explicitly disclose wherein the terminal service comprises a multicast service or a unicast service, and determining, by the terminal device based on the MAC layer control information, the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable, comprises:
determining a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) for scheduling the MAC layer control information;
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service when the RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the multicast service; and
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service when the RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the unicast service; and
adjusting, by the terminal device, the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the terminal unicast service when the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service.
In an analogous art, LIU teaches wherein the terminal service comprises a multicast service or a unicast service (
[n0053]
…. multicast refers to the transmission method in which network-side devices use a common RNTI (Radio Network Temporary Identifier) to schedule and send it to multiple terminals.
Unicast, on the other hand, is a transmission method where network-side devices use a terminal-specific RNTI for scheduling and send data only to a single terminal.
[n0162]
The start and end range of LCID for multicast services is specified in the MAC (Medium Access Control) protocol.
Since connected terminals use a separate C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for unicast services on the Uu air interface, the LCID ranges for multicast and unicast services can overlap. Therefore, services can be distinguished using different C-RNTls or different ranges.), and determining, by the terminal device based on the MAC layer control information, the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable, comprises:
determining a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) for scheduling the MAC layer control information (
[n0161]
When all services in the first service set reuse the same G-RNTI, the network-side device can configure the LCID start and end information of the first service set through the configuration information of the first service set.
For example, starting from LCID 21, a maximum of 16 services can reuse the same G-RNTI for scheduling. That is, the range of LCIDs that can be used for broadcast services is from LCID 21 to 36. When the network-side device assigns a G-RNTI to a terminal, the services corresponding to that G-RNTI are arranged in the order they appear in the configuration signaling.
See also [n162] The start and end range of LCID for multicast services is specified in the MAC (Medium Access Control) protocol.
… C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for unicast services on the Uu air interface, the LCID ranges for multicast and unicast services can overlap. Therefore, services can be distinguished using different C-RNTls or different ranges …)
[n0166]
Optionally, if it is determined that the transmission mode of the first service is unicast, then the configuration information of the first service includes unicast scheduling indication information, or the configuration information of the first service does not include G-RNTI.
[n0169]
The aforementioned unicast scheduling indication information can be an explicit field or appear implicitly. For example, if the network-side device sends a multicast service configuration information that carries TMGI but the G-RNTI field is defaulted, it can be understood that this service is not sent via multicast, and the terminal can parse it through C-RNTI.
[n0170]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the first service, it can obtain the configuration information of the first service, which mainly includes: TMGI, used to identify the first service; unicast scheduling mode (i.e., unicast scheduling indication information), which can be explicit or implicit, letting the terminal know which RNTI to use for parsing. For example, for unicast transmission mode, the terminal can use C-RNTI for parsing; periodic information and DRX information, etc.);
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service when the RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the multicast service (
[n0126]
In a single-cell multicast mode, the most direct way to send the first service is to allocate a dedicated G-RNTI to the first service and use the G-RNTI to schedule the first service. Interested terminals will receive control information for the first service, and obtain G-RNTI and periodic information for the first service, etc.
In this way, the terminal can detect the PDCCH scheduling information scrambled by G-RNTI at a specific time domain position based on the periodic information of the first service, and decode the multicast service carried on the PDSCH channel from the scheduling information, thereby receiving it.
[n0127]
The configuration information for the first service may include at least one of the following:
TMGI, G-RNTI, periodic information, and DRX (Discontinuous Reception) information.
See also [n0053, n0161, n0170]); and
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service when the RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to the unicast service (
See [n0162] C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for unicast services.
See also [n0053, n0166, n0169, n0170]
See also [n0053, 0169], and
[n0170]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the first service, it can obtain the configuration information of the first service, which mainly includes: TMGI, used to identify the first service; unicast scheduling mode (i.e., unicast scheduling indication information), which can be explicit or implicit, letting the terminal know which RNTI to use for parsing. For example, for unicast transmission mode, the terminal can use C-RNTI for parsing; periodic information and DRX information, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
ZHAU and LIU do not explicitly disclose adjusting, by the terminal device, the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the terminal unicast service when the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service (
Although LIU discloses –
[n0170]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the first service, it can obtain the configuration information of the first service, which mainly includes: TMGI, used to identify the first service; unicast scheduling mode (i.e., unicast scheduling indication information), which can be explicit or implicit, letting the terminal know which RNTI to use for parsing. For example, for unicast transmission mode, the terminal can use C-RNTI for parsing; periodic information and DRX information, etc.).
In an analogous art, CHANG teaches adjusting, by the terminal device, the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the terminal unicast service when the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service (
[0009] the UE-specific identifier may be a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or a CS-RNTI; the DRX operation corresponding to unicast may apply a DRX configuration comprised in a MAC cell group configuration information element MAC-CellGroupConfig.
[0025] Multicast and Broadcast Service Single Cell-Point to Multipoint (SC-PTM) Transmission Mechanism in LTE and Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Thereof:
[0049] For reception of the first-type MBS services, it is generally considered that the point to multipoint (PTM) multicast or broadcast mode is employed, and for the second-type MBS services, current reception modes include the following:
[0050] reception mode 1: reception is performed via only a point to multipoint (PTM) channel;
[0051] reception mode 2: reception is performed via only a point to point (PTP) channel; ……
[0054] …. In the present disclosure, reception on a PTP channel uses a UE-specific identifier, such as a C-RNTI, to perform addressing, and reception on a PTM channel uses a common identifier such as a G-RNTI.
[0055] in the NR system, currently only DRX for unicast is defined, and the DRX operation in the NR system described above is for unicast downlink data reception. If MBS reception may also be configured to be DRX in the NR system, in consideration of the above MBS reception mode 4 in the RRC connected state, a DRX configuration for MBS reception may include the following implementation modes:
[0056] Implementation mode 1: DRX for a unicast service and MBS DRX operate completely independently, and do not affect each other. This is similar to an operation mode between unicast DRX and SC-PTM DRX in LTE.
[0063] Preferably, scheduling information of each MBS service of first-type MBS services includes a corresponding PTM DRX configuration thereof….
[0069] in the DRX mechanism for unicast in the existing NR system (see section 5.7 of protocol specification 38.321), the MAC entity may be configured with a DRX functionality by an RRC entity to control the UE to perform a PDCCH monitoring activity for UE identifiers including a C-RNTI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration implementation for multicast and unicast services of CHANG to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing a solution to how to specifically implement functions of unicast DRX and MBS DRX and reducing energy consumption of the UE (CHANG: [0059, 0060]).
Regarding claim 2, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the method of claim 1.
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose wherein adjusting, by the terminal device, the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the unicast service comprises:
determining a logical channel identification based on a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information, the logical channel identification indicating a type of the MAC layer control information; and
adjusting the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the unicast service based on the MAC layer control information when the logical channel.
LIU teaches wherein adjusting, by the terminal device, the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the unicast service comprises:
determining a logical channel identification based on a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information, the logical channel identification indicating a type of the MAC layer control information (
[n0162]
The start and end range of LCID for multicast services is specified in the MAC (Medium Access Control) protocol.
Since connected terminals use a separate C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for unicast services on the Uu air interface, the LCID ranges for multicast and unicast services can overlap. Therefore, services can be distinguished using different C-RNTls or different ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
ZHOU and LIU does not explicitly disclose adjusting the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the terminal service based on the MAC layer control information when the logical channel identification is a DRX-related logical channel identification.
CHANG discloses adjusting the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the terminal service based on the MAC layer control information when the logical channel identification is a DRX-related logical channel identification (
[0009] the UE-specific identifier may be a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or a CS-RNTI; the DRX operation corresponding to unicast may apply a DRX configuration comprised in a MAC cell group configuration information element MAC-CellGroupConfig.
[0054] …. In the present disclosure, reception on a PTP channel uses a UE-specific identifier, such as a C-RNTI.
[0056] Implementation mode 1: DRX for a unicast service and MBS DRX operate completely independently, and do not affect each other. This is similar to an operation mode between unicast DRX and SC-PTM DRX in LTE.
[0069] in the DRX mechanism for unicast in the existing NR system (see section 5.7 of protocol specification 38.321), the MAC entity may be configured with a DRX functionality by an RRC entity to control the UE to perform a PDCCH monitoring activity for UE identifiers including a C-RNTI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration implementation for multicast and unicast services of CHANG to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing a solution to how to specifically implement functions of unicast DRX and MBS DRX and reducing energy consumption of the UE (CHANG: [0059, 0060]).
Regarding claim 3, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the terminal device, based on the MAC layer control information, the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable further comprises:
determining first information based on a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information, the first information indicating that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the service (
[0082] Specifically, the base station carries the identification information of the selected member carriers in the Logical Channel Number (LCID) field of the MAC subheader, or in the member carrier indication (CC_INDICATOR) field of the extended DRX MAC CE.
[0084]
The base station can also send a DRX MAC CE to the terminal, which carries information indicating that the DRX MAC CE has carrier switching capability; after receiving the DRX MAC CE, the terminal turns off some or all of the member carriers.
[0086]
In this invention, the base station can determine whether to carry a Short DRX cycle or a Long DRX cycle in the DRX MAC CE, and the number of member carriers carried in the DRX MAC CE, based on the current traffic volume transmitted between the base station and the terminal.
[0087]
For example, if a terminal establishes a new service, the base station selects to open one or more component carriers so that the opened component carriers can carry the data volume of the service; if a terminal deletes a service, the base station can select to close one or more component carriers that carry the data volume of the service.); and
determining the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable based on the first information (
[0086]
In this invention, the base station can determine whether to carry a Short DRX cycle or a Long DRX cycle in the DRX MAC CE, and the number of member carriers carried in the DRX MAC CE, based on the current traffic volume transmitted between the base station and the terminal.
[0087]
For example, if a terminal establishes a new service, the base station selects to open one or more component carriers so that the opened component carriers can carry the data volume of the service; if a terminal deletes a service, the base station can select to close one or more component carriers that carry the data volume of the service.).
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose the first information indicating that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service or that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service.
LIU teaches the first information indicating that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service or that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service (
[n0123]
Optionally, if it is determined that the transmission mode of the first service is multicast, then sending the configuration information of the first service includes:
[n0127]
The configuration information for the first service may include at least one of the following:
TMGI, G-RNTI, periodic information, and DRX (Discontinuous Reception) information.
[n0158]
Optionally, if each service in the first service set reuses the same G-RNTI, the first service set is configured with LCID start and end information;
[n0159]
The LCID start and end information is carried in the configuration information of the first service set;
[n162] The start and end range of LCID for multicast services is specified in the MAC (Medium Access Control) protocol.
… C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for unicast services on the Uu air interface…
[n0166]
Optionally, if it is determined that the transmission mode of the first service is unicast, then the configuration information of the first service includes unicast scheduling indication information, or the configuration information of the first service does not include G-RNTI.
[n0170]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the first service, it can obtain the configuration information of the first service, which mainly includes: TMGI, used to identify the first service; unicast scheduling mode (i.e., unicast scheduling indication information), which can be explicit or implicit, letting the terminal know which RNTI to use for parsing. For example, for unicast transmission mode, the terminal can use C-RNTI for parsing; periodic information and DRX information, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHAO teaches a terminal device (Fig. 9, Terminal 91), comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to (
Abstract
the terminal supporting the multiple member carriers monitors the control channel via DRX mechanism in LTE-A system.
Fig. 9, [0143] As shown in FIG. 9, the embodiment of the invention further claims a multi-carrier communication system, the system comprising:
[0144] base station 90, a plurality of component carriers from the terminal support in selecting the member carrier which is currently in activation state, the discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) information CYCLE carried a discontinuous reception control information (DRX MAC CE) of the media access control layer in, using the component carrier transmitting the DRX MAC CE to the terminal;
[0145] terminal 91, used for after receiving the DRX MAC CE in a plurality of component carriers supported by itself selecting part or all member carriers and monitoring the control channel on the selected member carrier according to the DRX CYCLE.
(Construed that an LTE-A system Terminal implies inherently comprise a processor, a memory, wherein the processor, the memory communicate with each other via an internal connection path, wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory)).
Further claim 6 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the terminal device of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to:
determine whether a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises second information indicating a length of the MAC layer control information (
[0103]
The specific implementation schemes of the third and fourth implementation schemes mentioned above are as follows. The difference between the two extension methods is that after extending the length of DRX MAC CE, one DRX MAC CE can be used for multiple CCs.
[0104]
Option 1: Extend the length of the DRX MAC CE.
[0105]
The length of the LTE system DRX MAC CE is extended from 0 bytes to 1 byte. The structure of the extended DRX MAC CE is shown in Figure 7B.
[0106]
The meanings of the extended DRX MAC CE subhead er and each field of DRX MAC CE in Figure
7B are as follows:
[0107]
LCID: The LCID corresponding to DRX MAC CE, with a value of 11110;
[0108]
E: Extended field. Setting it to 1 indicates that the next byte contains at least the R/R/E/LCID field. Setting it to 0 indicates that the next byte is MAC SDU, MAC CE, or padding. For DRX MACCE, this field is set to 0.
[0109]
R: Reserved bit field, usually set to 0;
[0110]
C_F: DRX cycle indication field, used to indicate whether the UE enters a Short DRX cycle or a Long DRX cycle after receiving the DRX MAC CE. For example, C_F set to 0 indicates entering a Short DRX cycle, otherwise entering a Long DRX cycle. In addition to using the R field in the DRX MAC CE to implement the DRX cycle indication, the same function can also be achieved using the R field of the DRX MAC CE subheader.
[0111]
CC_INDICATOR is the member carrier indicator field. In L TE-A systems, the maximum number of aggregated carriers is 5, so 5 bits can be reserved as carrier indicator fields.); and
determine the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable based on the determination of whether the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information (
[0086]
In this invention, the base station can determine whether to carry a Short DRX cycle or a Long DRX cycle in the DRX MAC CE, and the number of member carriers carried in the DRX MAC CE, based on the current traffic volume transmitted between the base station and the terminal.
[0087]
For example, if a terminal establishes a new service, the base station selects to open one or more component carriers so that the opened component carriers can carry the data volume of the service; if a terminal deletes a service, the base station can select to close one or more component carriers that carry the data volume of the service.);
[0103]
The specific implementation schemes of the third and fourth implementation schemes mentioned above are as follows. The difference between the two extension methods is that after extending the length of DRX MAC CE, one DRX MAC CE can be used for multiple CCs.).
Regarding claim 10, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the terminal device of claim 9.
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose wherein when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, the MAC layer control information comprises third information indicating an adjustment of duration of a DRX cycle for receiving one or more multicast services.
LIU teaches wherein when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, the MAC layer control information comprises third information indicating an adjustment of duration of a DRX cycle for receiving one or more multicast services (
[n0126]
In a single-cell multicast mode, the most direct way to send the first service is to allocate a dedicated G-RNTI to the first service and use the G-RNTI to schedule the first service. Interested terminals will receive control information for the first service, and obtain G-RNTI and periodic information for the first service, etc.
In this way, the terminal can detect the PDCCH scheduling information scrambled by G-RNTI at a specific time domain position based on the periodic information of the first service, and decode the multicast service carried on the PDSCH channel from the scheduling information, thereby receiving it.
[n0127]
The configuration information for the first service may include at least one of the following:
TMGI, G-RNTI, periodic information, and DRX (Discontinuous Reception) information.
[n0162]
The start and end range of LCID for multicast services is specified in the MAC (Medium Access Control) protocol.
[n0163]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the multicast service (including the first service), the terminal can establish a corresponding MRB (Multicast Radio Bearer) for the multicast service, which is used for subsequent multicast service reception. MRB has its own LCID and corresponding Layer 2 configurations, such as MAC.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 11, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the terminal device of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to (
Fig. 9, Terminal 91).
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose determine the one or more multicast services indicated by the third information as the terminal services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable.
LIU teaches determine the one or more multicast services indicated by the third information as the terminal services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable (
See [n0126, n0127, 0163] cited for claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 12, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the terminal device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to (
Fig. 9, Terminal 91).
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose determine the one or more multicast services based on one or more RNTIs in the third information; and determine the one or more multicast services as the terminal services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable; or
determine the one or more multicast services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable based on one or more indexes in the third information; or
the third information has a length of N bits, for each of the N bits, when a value of the bit is a preset valid value, determine a multicast service corresponding to the bit as the multicast service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable.
LIU teaches determine the one or more multicast services based on one or more RNTIs in the third information; and determine the one or more multicast services as the terminal services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable (
[n0127]
The configuration information for the first service may include at least one of the following:
TMGI, G-RNTI, periodic information, and DRX (Discontinuous Reception) information.
[n0163]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the multicast service (including the first service), the terminal can establish a corresponding MRB (Multicast Radio Bearer) for the multicast service, which is used for subsequent multicast service reception. MRB has its own LCID and corresponding Layer 2 configurations, such as MAC.); or
determine the one or more multicast services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable based on one or more indexes in the third information; or
the third information has a length of N bits, for each of the N bits, when a value of the bit is a preset valid value, determine a multicast service corresponding to the bit as the multicast service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 13, ZHAO teaches an access network device (Fig. 9 base station 90), comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cause the access network device to (
Abstract
Base station …. in LTE-A system.
Fig. 9, [0143] As shown in FIG. 9, the embodiment of the invention further claims a multi-carrier communication system, the system comprising:
[0144] base station 90, a plurality of component carriers from the terminal support in selecting the member carrier which is currently in activation state, the discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) information CYCLE carried a discontinuous reception control information (DRX MAC CE) of the media access control layer in, using the component carrier transmitting the DRX MAC CE to the terminal;
[0145] terminal 91, used for after receiving the DRX MAC CE in a plurality of component carriers supported by itself selecting part or all member carriers and monitoring the control channel on the selected member carrier according to the DRX CYCLE.
(Construed that an LTE-A system base station implies inherently comprise a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the processor, the memory and the transceiver communicate with each other via an internal connection path, wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory)).
Further claim 13 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the access network device of claim 13, wherein
when a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises second information,
wherein the second information indicates a length of the MAC layer control information (
[0103]
The specific implementation schemes of the third and fourth implementation schemes mentioned above are as follows. The difference between the two extension methods is that after extending the length of DRX MAC CE, one DRX MAC CE can be used for multiple CCs.
[0104]
Option 1: Extend the length of the DRX MAC CE.
[0105]
The length of the LTE system DRX MAC CE is extended from 0 bytes to 1 byte. The structure of the extended DRX MAC CE is shown in Figure 7B.
[0106]
The meanings of the extended DRX MAC CE subhead er and each field of DRX MAC CE in Figure
7B are as follows:
[0107]
LCID: The LCID corresponding to DRX MAC CE, with a value of 11110;
[0108]
E: Extended field. Setting it to 1 indicates that the next byte contains at least the R/R/E/LCID field. Setting it to 0 indicates that the next byte is MAC SDU, MAC CE, or padding. For DRX MACCE, this field is set to 0.
[0109]
R: Reserved bit field, usually set to 0;
[0110]
C_F: DRX cycle indication field, used to indicate whether the UE enters a Short DRX cycle or a Long DRX cycle after receiving the DRX MAC CE. For example, C_F set to 0 indicates entering a Short DRX cycle, otherwise entering a Long DRX cycle. In addition to using the R field in the DRX MAC CE to implement the DRX cycle indication, the same function can also be achieved using the R field of the DRX MAC CE subheader.
[0111]
CC_INDICATOR is the member carrier indicator field. In L TE-A systems, the maximum number of aggregated carriers is 5, so 5 bits can be reserved as carrier indicator fields.).
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose when a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises second information, it indicates that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service; and
when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information does not comprise the second information, it indicates that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service.
LIU teaches when a subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises second information, it indicates that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service (
[n0127]
The configuration information for the first service may include at least one of the following:
TMGI, G-RNTI, periodic information, and DRX (Discontinuous Reception) information.
[n0161]
When all services in the first service set reuse the same G-RNTI, the network-side device can configure the LCID start and end information of the first service set through the configuration information of the first service set.
[n0163]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the multicast service (including the first service), the terminal can establish a corresponding MRB (Multicast Radio Bearer) for the multicast service, which is used for subsequent multicast service reception. MRB has its own LCID and corresponding Layer 2 configurations, such as MAC); and
when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information does not comprise the second information, it indicates that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service (
[n0166]
Optionally, if it is determined that the transmission mode of the first service is unicast, then ….. the configuration information of the first service does not include G-RNTI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, ZHOU teaches a chip, comprising: a processor configured to call a computer program from a memory and run the computer program (
Abstract
the terminal supporting the multiple member carriers monitors the control channel via DRX mechanism in LTE-A system.
Fig. 9, [0143] As shown in FIG. 9, the embodiment of the invention further claims a multi-carrier communication system, the system comprising:
[0144] base station 90, a plurality of component carriers from the terminal support in selecting the member carrier which is currently in activation state, the discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) information CYCLE carried a discontinuous reception control information (DRX MAC CE) of the media access control layer in, using the component carrier transmitting the DRX MAC CE to the terminal;
[0145] terminal 91, used for after receiving the DRX MAC CE in a plurality of component carriers supported by itself selecting part or all member carriers and monitoring the control channel on the selected member carrier according to the DRX CYCLE.
(Construed that an LTE-A system Terminal implies inherently comprises a chip comprising a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the processor, the memory and the transceiver communicate with each other via an internal connection path, wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory)).
Further claim 20 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the method of claim 1.
ZHOU and LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein adjusting the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the unicast service comprises:
switching a DRX cycle corresponding to the unicast service to a DRX cycle indicated by the MAC layer control information.
CHANG teaches wherein adjusting the duration of the DRX cycle for receiving the unicast service comprises:
switching a DRX cycle corresponding to the unicast service to a DRX cycle indicated by the MAC layer control information (
[0063] Preferably, scheduling information of each MBS service of first-type MBS services includes a corresponding PTM DRX configuration thereof (for example, including an on duration timer, the timer drx-InactivityTimer, a scheduling cycle SchedulingCycle or a scheduling offset SchedulingOffset in a schedulingInfo information element associated with an MBS service identifier), and because second-type MBS services use the same DRX configuration (DRX-config or drx-ConfigSecondaryGroup included in a MAC-CellGroupConfig information element) as an existing unicast service, scheduling information thereof does not include any corresponding DRX configuration. In this case, this embodiment can be expressed as: for an MBS service, if no DRX configuration is configured in configuration information or scheduling information thereof, then the UE employs a DRX configuration corresponding to unicast for reception of the MBS service. That is, the DRX configuration corresponding to unicast is employed in PDCCH monitoring addressed via an identifier corresponding to the MBS service, e.g., a G-RNTI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration implementation for multicast and unicast services of CHANG to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing a solution to how to specifically implement functions of unicast DRX and MBS DRX and reducing energy consumption of the UE (CHANG: [0059, 0060]).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 23, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the method of claim 22.
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable based on the determination of whether the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, comprises:
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information; and
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information does not comprise the second information.
LIU teaches wherein determining the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable based on the determination of whether the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, comprises:
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the multicast service when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, and
determining that the MAC layer control information is applicable to the unicast service when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information does not comprise the second information (
[n0127]
The configuration information for the first service may include at least one of the following:
TMGI, G-RNTI, periodic information, and DRX (Discontinuous Reception) information.
[n0161]
When all services in the first service set reuse the same G-RNTI, the network-side device can configure the LCID start and end information of the first service set through the configuration information of the first service set.
[n0163]
For the terminal, after receiving the configuration information of the multicast service (including the first service), the terminal can establish a corresponding MRB (Multicast Radio Bearer) for the multicast service, which is used for subsequent multicast service reception. MRB has its own LCID and corresponding Layer 2 configurations, such as MAC).
[n0166]
Optionally, if it is determined that the transmission mode of the first service is unicast, then ….. the configuration information of the first service does not include G-RNTI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 24, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the method of claim 22.
ZHOU and LIU do not explicitly disclose wherein when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, the MAC layer control information comprises third information indicating an adjustment of duration of a DRX cycle for receiving one or more multicast services.
CHANG teaches wherein when the subheader corresponding to the MAC layer control information comprises the second information, the MAC layer control information comprises third information indicating an adjustment of duration of a DRX cycle for receiving one or more multicast services (
[0063] Preferably, scheduling information of each MBS service of first-type MBS services includes a corresponding PTM DRX configuration thereof (for example, including an on duration timer, the timer drx-InactivityTimer, a scheduling cycle SchedulingCycle or a scheduling offset SchedulingOffset in a schedulingInfo information element associated with an MBS service identifier), and because second-type MBS services use the same DRX configuration (DRX-config or drx-ConfigSecondaryGroup included in a MAC-CellGroupConfig information element) as an existing unicast service, scheduling information thereof does not include any corresponding DRX configuration. In this case, this embodiment can be expressed as: for an MBS service, if no DRX configuration is configured in configuration information or scheduling information thereof, then the UE employs a DRX configuration corresponding to unicast for reception of the MBS service. That is, the DRX configuration corresponding to unicast is employed in PDCCH monitoring addressed via an identifier corresponding to the MBS service, e.g., a G-RNTI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration implementation for multicast and unicast services of CHANG to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing a solution to how to specifically implement functions of unicast DRX and MBS DRX and reducing energy consumption of the UE (CHANG: [0059, 0060]).
Regarding claim 25, ZHOU, in view of LIU and CHANG, teaches the method of claim 24.
ZHOU does not explicitly disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable, further comprises:
determining the one or more multicast services indicated by the third information as the terminal services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable.
LIU teaches wherein determining, by the terminal device, the terminal service to which the MAC layer control information is applicable, further comprises:
determining the one or more multicast services indicated by the third information as the terminal services to which the MAC layer control information is applicable (
[n0161]
When all services in the first service set reuse the same G-RNTI, the network-side device can configure the LCID start and end information of the first service set through the configuration information of the first service set.
For example, starting from LCID 21, a maximum of 16 services can reuse the same G-RNTI for scheduling. That is, the range of LCIDs that can be used for broadcast services is from LCID 21 to 36. When the network-side device assigns a G-RNTI to a terminal, the services corresponding to that G-RNTI are arranged in the order they appear in the configuration signaling. The first service uses LCID 21, the second service uses LCID 22, and so on.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of DRX configuration for multicast and/or unicast service of LIU to the system of DRX configuration using MAC protocol or layer 2 MAC configuration for terminal traffic services of ZHAU and CHANG in order to take the advantage of a method for the network-side device to determine the transmission method enhancing the transmission efficiency and effect of the multicast service, and reduces the resource consumption of the network-side device and terminals, thereby reducing resource waste and improving communication efficiency (LIU: [n0071, n0162, n0163]).
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Deng; Yun (CN 115551083 A), describing Downlink Control Information Receiving Method, Information Sending Method And Related Device
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413