DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The 3/13/2025 IDS document has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a middleware layer” and “validation module” in claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are drawn to software per se, which is not considered patent eligible subject matter. Independent claim 1 is drawn to a system comprised of an LLM, a middleware layer, an AI client interface, and a validation module. These elements are not described as being implemented in hardware within the claim language, and the instant specification does not explicitly require any hardware for these elements. As such, all elements in the claim may be interpreted as software-only elements.
The dependent claims do not rectify this issue, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Note that the courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation (refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Example independent claim 17 recites the following abstract idea limitations: mitigating third-party code vulnerabilities in AI code generation for causing the system to:
receive a code generation request from a user (obtaining and reviewing information as part of a mental process—e.g., a coder obtains a request for code via pen and paper or verbally);
generate an inference based on the code generation request (evaluating information to obtain an outcome as part of a mental process—e.g., the coder writing code to satisfy the request);
intercept the inference prior to its availability within an AI client user interface (obtaining and reviewing information as part of a mental process—e.g., an analyst reviewing the written code before it is sent over to the requestor, as part of quality review; an AI client user interface may be a telephonic, mail, or verbal interface);
parse the inference to identify third-party packages included in the inference (observation and evaluation as part of a mental process—e.g., the analyst looking for specific information in the code);
check the identified third-party packages against one or more registries of certified packages (observation and evaluation as part of a mental process—e.g., the analyst checking against a stored whitelist, which may be a written copy); and
upon determining that the inference includes an uncertified third-party package that is not included in the one or more registries of certified packages (observation and evaluation as part of a mental process—e.g., the analyst checking against the stored whitelist and identifying mismatches), at least one of (i) redact the inference or uncertified third-party package or (ii) modify the inference by at least including an identification of a certified third-party package that is an alternative to the uncertified third-party package (evaluation, judgement, and opinion as part of a mental process—e.g., the analyst chooses a remedial action such as to stop the code at the quality review, or to suggest editing the code as part of quality review).
Example independent claim 17 recites the following limitations which may comprise additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea: performing the claim limitations using a “hardware storage device comprising stored computer-executable instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors of a system,” and generating the inference “using a large language model.”
With respect to step 2A, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it is drawn to a code review process at a high level of generality, and because adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is not considered to be sufficient—see MPEP 2106.05(f). For instance, the claim is drawn to intercepting code such as a code snippet, and further reviewing the code snippet for dependencies such as a package. If the package is not known to be certified, then the code is either changed or merely suggested to be changed. This concerns steps that are performable by a human analyst (reviewing code for unwanted elements).
The claim does incorporate generating code “using a large language model,” but this is considered to be the equivalent of merely using the LLM as a tool to perform the abstract idea of writing requested code. The LLM is merely specified at a high level of generality (i.e., mentioning use of one), and the claim is otherwise drawn to the review process rather than how the LLM is generating the code as a particular machine. Where the claim recites a “hardware storage device comprising stored computer-executable instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors of a system,” this is considered to merely require implementing the abstract idea on a base level computer (processor and memory). The computer is not otherwise specified in any particular detail.
As such, the invention is addressing a problem that transcends computing (reviewing code) rather than improving the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or a technical field.
With respect to step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is not considered to be sufficient—see MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the “hardware storage device comprising stored computer-executable instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors of a system” may be interpreted as any generic base level computer (processor and memory) for performing the judicial exception. Merely performing the judicial exception using a base level computer is not considered to be sufficient. Regarding generating the inference “using a large language model,” this is considered to be using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. In this case, the LLM is being used to generate code at a high level of generality, without otherwise detailing the particular machine of the LLM.
Independent claims 1 and 11 are substantially similar, and are therefore rejected under the same analysis as above.
Regarding dependent claim 2, it recites the following limitations which may comprise additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea: “wherein the large language model is a Generative Pretrained Transformer.”
With respect to step 2A, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the LLM is not specified at a sufficient level of detail as in the analysis above. Claim 2 further specifies the type of LLM as a Generative Pretrained Transformer at a high level of generality, but it does not otherwise detail how it differs from any other Generative Pretrained Transformer model. The particular training process, structure, and implementation are not described. Therefore, claim 2 is drawn to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is not considered to be sufficient (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) in the same manner as described in the analysis of claim 1 above.
With respect to step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is not considered to be sufficient—see MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the type of LLM is being used to generate code at a high level of generality, without otherwise detailing the particular type of machine of the LLM.
Regarding dependent claims 3-4 and 7-10, they are considered to merely further specify the mental process steps (reviewing the code and modifying it/suggesting modifications) which may be performed by a human analyst. As such, these claims are rejected under the same analysis as claim 1 above.
Regarding dependent claim 5, it recites the following abstract idea limitations: wherein the one or more registries of certified packages are updated in real-time to reflect security patches and updates (observation and judgement as part of a mental process—e.g., the analyst can also update the whitelist as soon as they receive any written or verbal information about changes to listed information). As such, claim 5 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1 above.
Regarding dependent claim 6, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 1 and 5 above (e.g., the analyst choosing using a given category of whitelist).
Regarding dependent claims 12-16 and 18-20, they are substantially similar to elements of claims 1, 11, 17, and 2-10 above. As such, they are likewise rejected under the same analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites “wherein the system is caused to redact the uncertified third-party package from the inference,” which renders it indefinite in the case where “(i) redact the [1] inference or [2] uncertified third-party package” is chosen in parent claim 17. Specifically, if “redact the… [2] uncertified third-party package” is chosen in the parent claim, then it is not clear how to interpret “wherein the system is caused to redact the uncertified third-party package from the inference” in claim 18. In the aforementioned case, the uncertified third-party package is already redacted from the inference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graves (US 12,323,449 B1) in view of Martick (US 2021/0152544 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Graves discloses: A system for mitigating third-party code vulnerabilities in AI code generation services, the system comprising:
a large language model configured to generate an inference based on a user's code generation request;
Refer to at least FIG. 19 and Col. 115, Ll. 48-Col. 116, Ll. 50 of Graves with respect to an LLM that generates code responsive to a user’s code generation prompt.
a middleware layer (the code configured to perform the assessment—e.g., a plugin in Col. 125, Ll. 67 of Graves) configured to intercept the inference prior to its availability within an AI client user interface (e.g., the IDE or web interface in Col. 116, Ll. 27-50 of Graves), parse the inference to identify third-party packages (e.g., Col. 116, Ll. 51-Col. 117, Ll. 2 of Graves concerning SCA; use of a package, library, or other component within the code) included in the inference; and
Refer to at least FIG. 19 and Col. 116, Ll. 51-Col. 117, Ll. 13 of Graves with respect to performing code analysis on the generated code before allowing it to be provided in response to the prompt.
a validation module utilized by the middleware layer to determine whether the identified third-party packages included in the inference are certified,
Refer to at least Col. 116, Ll. 51-Col. 117, Ll. 3, Col. 120, Ll. 7-12, and Col. 128, Ll. 6-10 of Graves with respect to determining whether a component is known to be vulnerable or non-vulnerable. For instance, a vulnerable library would fail the assessment; a non-vulnerable library would pass the assessment.
the middleware layer being further configured, upon determining that the inference includes an uncertified third-party package, to either (i) redact the inference or uncertified third-party package or (ii) modify the inference by at least including an identification of a certified third-party package that is an alternative to the uncertified third-party package.
Refer to at least Col. 117, Ll. 39-45, Col. 120, Ll. 7-12, Col. 123, Ll. 60-67, and Col. 128, Ll. 4-10 of Graves with respect to excluding or preventing the identified vulnerable components; to suggesting their removal or replacement with non-vulnerable components.
Graves does not specify: determining certification further comprising by at least checking the identified third-party packages against one or more registries of certified packages; the uncertified package further comprising being a package that is not included in the one or more registries of certified packages. However, Graves in view of Martick discloses: determining certification further comprising by at least checking the identified third-party packages against one or more registries of certified packages; the uncertified package further comprising being a package that is not included in the one or more registries of certified packages.
Refer to at least [0016], [0024], [0026]-[0027], and [0057]-[0058] of Martick with respect to determining whether objects match a list of certified objects, which may be stored at a build system or a remote server.
The teachings of Graves and Martick both concern evaluating software components, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Graves to explicitly include referencing a list of certified components for at least the purpose of more easily and securely identifying replacements for suggestion (i.e., the LLM does not need to generate the replacements, and hallucinated replacement suggestions are prevented). Further, at least Col. 120, Ll. 21-34 of Graves already implements a table of suggestions for remediation.
Regarding claim 2, Graves-Martick discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the large language model is a Generative Pretrained Transformer.
Refer to at least Col. 69, Ll. 14-20 of Graves with respect to Generative Pre-trained Transformer AI tools.
Regarding claim 3, Graves-Martick discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the middleware layer is further configured to generate a new inference if the inference fails to include any certified third-party package, wherein the new inference excludes any uncertified packages included in the inference.
Refer to at least Col. 117, Ll. 31-Col. 118, Ll. 13 of Graves with respect to requesting updated code from the generative AI model, where the code may be requested to exclude or prevent one or more identified vulnerabilities (e.g., library with known vulnerability).
Regarding claim 4, Graves-Martick discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the parsing of the inference by the middleware layer includes identifying the programming language of the code in the inference and applying language-specific rules to identify the third-party packages.
Refer to at least Col. 116, Ll. 8-Col. 117, Ll. 13, Col. 122, Ll. 36-54, and Col. 125, Ll. 10-27 of Graves with respect to the code generated by the AI model being of a given programming language; code analysis including SCA, static analysis, and evaluating code patterns.
Regarding claim 5, Graves-Martick discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more registries of certified packages are updated in real-time to reflect security patches and updates.
Refer to at least Col. 13, Ll. 59-67 and Col. 90, Ll. 27-41 of Graves with respect to collecting data about processes and software, including updates, fixes, and new features. Changes are updated as they are made aware of.
Refer to at least [0002] and [0064] of Martick with respect to tracking software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to further modify the teachings of Graves-Martick to update lists of certified components with new component information as it is identified for at least the purpose of improving security (i.e., making sure to recommend, and make replacements using, only up-to-date and patched components).
Regarding claim 6, Graves-Martick discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more registries of certified packages are private registries maintained by a user's organization.
Refer to at least Col. 7, Ll. 28-34, Col. 71, Ll. 23-40, and Col. 93, Ll. 43-55 of Graves with respect to applying its teachings to an on-premises environment, as well as to on-premises data storage.
Refer to at least [0024] of Martick with respect to storing the list of certified components at the build system.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to further modify the teachings of Graves-Martick to implement storing the list of certified components on-premises because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (e.g., Col. 117, Ll. 39-63 of Graves).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (e.g., Col. 120, Ll. 7-13 of Graves).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (e.g., Col. 128, Ll. 4-10 of Graves).
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 1 and 8-9 above (e.g., Col. 123, Ll. 58-67 of Graves).
Regarding independent claim 11, it is substantially similar to independent claim 1 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale).
Regarding claims 12-16, they are substantially similar to claims 2-6 above, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Regarding independent claim 17, it is substantially similar to independent claim 1 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 17 above (i.e., the citations concerning removing vulnerable components).
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 8 and 10 above.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 17 above (e.g., Col. 128, Ll. 4-10 of Graves).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/V.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432