DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendment filed 01/19/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: There is nowhere in the application as filed which mentions “wherein, in use, the first and second regions are inserted into the soil below a soil surface such that the generated seismic wave signal is transmitted from the second region through the soil to the first region” as required by the claim limitation added in the amendment as filed.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Furthermore the added limitation is taught by secondary reference Nelson, referenced in the previous office action and discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 13, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krumhansl (2011/0103186) in view of Nelson (5432305).
With respect to claim 1, Krumhansl discloses a body for insertion into the soil ([0042], lines 6-7; [0050], line 2), a seismic sensor located at a first region of the body ([0041], lines 2-3; [0050], line 3; [0055], line 5-6); and a seismic generator located at a second region of the body for emitting seismic signals ([0041], line 2), wherein the seismic generator comprises a hammer ([0057], line 8), a biasing member for biasing the hammer into contact with a surface ([0057, lines 11-14), and an actuator operable to move the hammer against the bias away from the surface to a primed position and to release the hammer from the primed position for impacting the surface to generate a seismic wave signal ([0057, lines 17-18). However, it does not teach wherein, in use, the first and second regions are inserted into the soil below a soil surface such that the generated seismic wave signal is transmitted from the second region through the soil to the first region.
Nelson teaches wherein, in use, the first and second regions are inserted into the soil below a soil surface (Fig 3) such that the generated seismic wave signal is transmitted from the second region (Col 3, lines 57-58) through the soil (Col 3, lines 58-60) to the first region (Col 3, lines 60-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the probe of Krumhansl with the underground positioning of Nelson since the modification would have allowed the user more control of the area of the subsurface which is imaged.
With respect to claim 2, Krumhansl teaches the body comprises a tubular housing ([0055], line 1).
With respect to claim 8, Krumhansl teaches the surface is an interior surface of the body ([0057], lines 16-17).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, Krumhansl teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach a damper mounted to one of the hammer and the surface for damping vibrations generated when the hammer impacts the surface and one or more damper elements between sections of the body for damping vibrations transmitted therethrough.
Nelson teaches a damper mounted to one of the hammer and the surface for damping vibrations generated when the hammer impacts the surface (Col 3, lines 40-43) and one or more damper elements between sections of the body for damping vibrations transmitted therethrough (Col 3, lines 40-43).
With respect to claim 15, Krumhansl teaches wherein the body comprises a detachable coupling operable for detaching the first region of the body from the second region for separating the seismic sensor from the seismic generator ([[0053]-[0054]).
With respect to claim 16, Krumhansl teaches a controller for controlling the actuator to move the hammer to the primed position and then to release it for impacting the surface to generate a seismic wave signal and for receiving input signals received by the seismic sensor ([0061]).
With respect to claim 17, Krumhansl teaches inserting the seismic soil probe into soil ([0057], lines 5-7); generating seismic wave signals by controlling the actuator to repeatedly move and release the hammer to impact the surface ([0057], lines 7-18); and detecting the seismic wave signals as the seismic soil probe is moved through different depths of soil ([0059], lines 1-3). However, it does not teach the first and second regions are inserted into the soil below a soil surface such that the generated seismic wave signal is transmitted from the second region through the soil to the first region.
Nelson teaches the first and second regions are inserted into the soil below a soil surface (Fig 3) such that the generated seismic wave signal is transmitted from the second region (Col 3, lines 57-58) through the soil (Col 3, lines 58-60) to the first region (Col 3, lines 60-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the probe of Krumhansl with the underground positioning of Nelson since the modification would have allowed the user more control of the area of the subsurface which is imaged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645