DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the above identified application filed January 25, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending, all examined and rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they contain details and features which are blurry and hard to read (See at least Fig. 6B and Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou, Yufan, et al. "Shifted diffusion for text-to-image generation." 2023 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR). IEEE, 2023. [Yufan]
Regarding claim 1, Yufan teaches a method for training a neural network model to transform a text description into nontextual data, comprising:
receiving, via a communication interface, a dataset comprising a first subset of training data without labels and a second subset of training data with labels; (See page 2, column 1, paragraph 3, “Our method is general and can be applied in different settings of text-to-image generation, e.g., it naturally enables semi-supervised and language-free text-to-image generation;”. See Page 3, column 1, paragraph 3, “In addition, our framework naturally enables semi-supervised training, i.e., the training dataset can be a mixture of image-text pairs and pure images that are not captioned”, - using semi-supervised training means the model is using a labeled and unlabeled training data)
training the neural network model according to first loss computed using the first subset of training data without labels. (See page 3, column 1, paragraph 2, “In this setting, the image-text pairs will be used to train the prior model, and all the pure images will be used to train the decoder. See page 4, column 1, equation (4)
.
See page 4, column 2, algorithm 1.
”
– pure images/unlabeled data are being used to train the neural network mode/decoder)
retraining the trained neural network model according to a second loss computed using the second subset of training data with labels. (See page 4, column 2, paragraph 2, “Specifically, we propose to update
during training with the following loss function”. See page 4, column 2, equation (7) and algorithm 1
. See page 4, column 1, paragraph 3 “Let z0 and y be the ground truth image embedding and its associated text caption, respectively. For each pair of (z0, y), we select its corresponding Gaussian
by the top-1 cosine similarity as
” – The second loss
is computed using
, which uses pairs of text-image/labeled data and updating
/model using the second loss.)
and according to a constraint that a third loss computing using the second subset of training data but without labels is no greater than the first loss. (See page 4, column 2, algorithm 1.- consider
is the first loss, updating
/model by gradient descent w.r.t
means minimizing
. After minimizing
, minimized
(third loss) is no greater than the first loss.)
deploying the retrained neural network model on one or more hardware processors to generate the non-textual data according to the text description. (See page 6, column 2, paragraph 1, “Specifically, we first generate four images for each prompt, then ten random human laborers are asked to judge which model is better (or comparable) in terms of image-text alignment and fidelity. The results are shown in Figure 6, where our model is shown to perform better in the two-evaluation metrics consistently.” – After training, the model is deployed and used to generate images based on text prompts.)
Regarding claim 2,
As discussed with regard to claim 1, Yufan teaches all of the limitations.
Yufan further teaches the neural network model comprise a diffusion model. (See Figure. 2 “Illustration of our framework. The trainable modules are colored in green, and the frozen modules are colored in blue. ting across different downstream datasets”. See page 3, column 1, paragraph 1, “The decoder can be either a diffusion model or a generative adversarial network (GAN). Note that if one chooses the decoder as a hierarchical diffusion model and makes it conditioned on both image embedding and text, our final structure will be similar to DALL-E 2” – the framework/model includes a decoder, which is a diffusion model.)
Regarding claim 3,
As discussed with regard to claim 2, Yufan teaches all the limitations.
Yufan further teaches the neural network model comprises:
Adding a noise term to a training data sample from the first subset to generate a noised sample; (See page 5, column 1, paragraph 2 Decoder “Specifically, three diffusion models are trained on 64, 256, and 1024 resolutions, respectively. All the 900M images are used to train the decoder. During training, each image is processed by three different pre-trained CLIP models: ViT-B/16, ViT-B/32, and RN-101. The outputs from these three models will be concatenated into a single 1536-dimensional embedding, which is then projected into eight vectors and fed into the decoder.”. See page 5, column 2, paragraph 1. “Our shifted diffusion model is a decoder only transformer whose input is a sequence consisting of encoded text from T5 [18], CLIP text embedding, an embedding representing diffusion timestep, an embedding representing the index of corresponding Gaussian, a noised CLIP image embedding and a final embedding which will be used to predict the target CLIP image embedding.”) –CLIP models add noise terms to CLIP images to generate vector of noised CLIP images. These vectors are used to fed to the decoder in the algorithm (1), which contains
.)
Iteratively predicting, by the diffusion model, a first predicted noise term from the noised sample. (See page 5, column 2, paragraph 1. “CLIP text embedding, an embedding representing diffusion timestep, an embedding representing the index of corresponding Gaussian, a noised CLIP image embedding and a final embedding which will be used to predict the target CLIP image embedding.” – predicted image is obtained by using vector of noised images generated by the shifted diffusion model implemented/optimized using algorithm (1).)
Regarding claim 4,
As discussed with regard to claim 3, Yufan teaches all the limitations.
Yufan further teaches the first loss is computed based on a difference between the first predicted noise term and the added noise term. (See page 4, column 1, equation (4).
- the loss function is computed based on
,
and
, which are the target image, first sample and initial image. The added noise term
and
are used in computing the loss.)
Regarding claim 5,
As discussed with regard to claim 2, Yufan teaches all the limitations.
Yufan further teaches retraining the neural network model comprises:
Adding a noise term to a training data sample from the second subset to generate a noised sample; (See page 5, column 1, paragraph 2 Decoder “Specifically, three diffusion models are trained on 64, 256, and 1024 resolutions, respectively. All the 900M images are used to train the decoder. During training, each image is processed by three different pre-trained CLIP models: ViT-B/16, ViT-B/32, and RN-101. The outputs from these three models will be concatenated into a single 1536-dimensional embedding, which is then projected into eight vectors and fed into the decoder.”. See page 5, column 2, paragraph 1. “Our shifted diffusion model is a decoder only transformer whose input is a sequence consisting of encoded text from T5 [18], CLIP text embedding, an embedding representing diffusion timestep, an embedding representing the index of corresponding Gaussian, a noised CLIP image embedding and a final embedding which will be used to predict the target CLIP image embedding.”– the CLIP models add noise terms to CLIP images to generate vector of noised CLIP images, are used to fed to the decoder in the algorithm (1), which contains
. )
Iteratively predicting by the diffusion model, a second predicted noise term from the noised sample; and (See page 5, column 2, paragraph 1. “CLIP text embedding, an embedding representing diffusion timestep, an embedding representing the index of corresponding Gaussian, a noised CLIP image embedding and a final embedding which will be used to predict the target CLIP image embedding.” – predicted image is obtained by using vector of noised images generated by the shifted diffusion model implemented/optimized using algorithm (1).)
Iteratively predicting by the diffusion model, a third predicted noise term from the noised sample conditioned on a text label associated with the training data sample. (See page 4, column 2, equation (7)
. See page 5, column 2, paragraph 1, “We train two variants on datasets with different scales: one prior is trained on the full 900M image-text pairs; the other one is trained on CC15M‡, which is a subset of our full dataset.” See page 4, column 1 “Let z0 and y be the ground truth image embedding and its associated text caption, respectively. For each pair of (z0, y), we select its corresponding Gaussian
by the top-1 cosine similarity as
”, and equation (7) – The shift diffusion, which is a decoder only transformer uses pair of image-text label
to predict the sample, and the images are noised CLIP images.)
Regarding claim 6,
As discussed with regard to claim 5, Yufan teaches all the limitations.
Yufan further teaches the second loss is computed based on a difference between the second predicted noise term and the added noise term; and (See page 4, column 2, equation (7) – the loss function is computed based on
and
, which are the predicted term and the added noise term)
The third loss is computed based on a difference between the third predicted noise term and the added noise term. (See page 4, column 1, equation 4
. The loss is computed using
and
, which is the ground truth and the previous predicted image, and the third loss is computed after minimizing the first loss using gradient descent. In some cases, the loss is computed based on the ground truth and the previous predicted image.)
Regarding claim 7,
As discussed with regard to claim 6, Yufan teaches all the limitations.
Yufan further teaches retraining the neural network model comprise:
Updating at a training iteration, parameters of the diffusion model such that the third loss conditioned on the parameters of the diffusion model is no greater than the first loss conditioned on the parameters of the diffusion model. (See page 4, column 2, algorithm 1. – iteratively train the model while minimizing
/parameter using gradient descent so the parameter of the third loss is no greater than the first loss.
Regarding claim 8,
As discussed with regard to claim 1, Yufan teaches all the limitations.
Yufan further teaches the non-textual data comprises any of:
Biological structure data; time-series data; video-motion data. (See page 2, Figure. 1 “We propose Corgi, a novel diffusion model designed for flexible text-to-image generation which can “bridge the gap”. – broadest reasonable interpretation of biological structure data includes the corgi images.)
With regard to claims 9 and 16,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 1 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to claims 10 and 17,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 2 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to claims 11 and 18,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 3 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to claims 12 and 19,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 4 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to claims 13 and 20,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 5 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to claim 14,
The claim is similar in scope to claim 6 and is rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to claim 15,
The claim is similar in scope to claim 7 and is rejected under a similar rationale
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12675917 B2
Identity-preserving image generation using diffusion models
Kansy; Manuel Jakob et al.
US 12651399 B2
Training data sampling for neural networks
Lorraine; Jonathan Peter et al.
US 12555275 B2
Personalized text-to-image diffusion model
Aberman; Kfir et al.
US 12462348 B2
Multimodal diffusion models
Ham; Cusuh et al.
US 20230095092 A1
DENOISING DIFFUSION GENERATIVE ADVERSARIAL NETWORKS
Xiao; Zhisheng et al.
Li, Yan, et al. "Generative time series forecasting with diffusion, denoise, and disentanglement." Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems 35 (2022): 23009-23022.
/MICHAEL HOANG LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141