DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the junction box having the electrical circuit and battery as disclosed in claims 1, 9 must be shown. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ott et al (US 2005/0280334).
Ott et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, A system for converting vibrations to electrical energy, comprising: a mechanical device 33, 70 (see Fig. 3), wherein the mechanical device produces vibrations during operation or use [0042]; a flexible piezoelectric sheet [since the piezo bends, 0079], wherein the flexible piezoelectric sheet comprises; at least one protective layer 76, 78, a piezoelectric element layer 74, at least one electrode layer 75, each at least one electrode layer comprising an electrical connection point (see Figs. 3A, 3B), and an adhesive layer configured to attach the flexible piezoelectric sheet to the mechanical device 33, 70 [0008, 0049], wherein the piezoelectric element layer is configured to convert the vibrations into an electric charge [0046], wherein the piezoelectric element layer 74 is provided between a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer 75 (see Fig 3) such that the first electrode layer is physically separated from the second electrode layer (see Fig. 3), and wherein the at least one protective layer 78 is provided on an outer surface of the flexible piezoelectric sheet (see Fig. 3); and a junction box comprising an electrical circuit (rectifier 86 and electrical connections; see Fig. 4A) and battery (see Fig. 4A), wherein the junction box is configured to collect and store generated electrical energy, wherein the junction box is electrically connected by a first electrical connector to a first electrical connection point located on the first electrode layer 75 (top electrode) of the flexible piezoelectric sheet and by a second electrical connector to a second electrical connection point located on the second electrode layer 75 (bottom electrode) of the flexible piezoelectric sheet (see Figs. 4A, 4B).
Claim 3, the flexible piezoelectric sheet has a total thickness of less than 5 mm [0051, see Fig. 3].
Claim 4, the piezoelectric element layer has a thickness of less than 1 mm [0051].
Claim 5, the piezoelectric element layer comprises a Rochelle salt, a polymer composite, a polymer nanocomposite, a piezoelectric ceramic material, a piezoelectric crystal material, or a semiconductor [0048, 0049].
Claim 6, the flexible piezoelectric sheet comprises more than one piezoelectric element layer (see Figs. 3, 3A).
Claim 7, the at least one electrode layer comprises a conductive metal [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott et al in view of Buchanan et al (US 6,011,346).
Ott et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 11, the flexible piezoelectric sheet has a total thickness of less than 5 mm [0051, see Fig. 3].
Claim 12, the piezoelectric element layer has a thickness of less than 1 mm [0051].
Claim 13, the piezoelectric element layer comprises a Rochelle salt, a polymer composite, a polymer nanocomposite, a piezoelectric ceramic material, a piezoelectric crystal material, or a semiconductor [0048, 0049].
Claim 14, the flexible piezoelectric sheet comprises more than one piezoelectric element layer (see Figs. 3, 3A).
Claim 15, the at least one electrode layer comprises a conductive metal [0049].
Claim 9, A method for converting vibrations to electrical energy, comprising: locating a mechanical device at site, wherein the mechanical device produces vibrations during operation; disposing a flexible piezoelectric sheet on the mechanical device, wherein the flexible piezoelectric sheet comprises; at least one protective layer, a piezoelectric element layer, at least one electrode layer, each at least one electrode layer comprising an electrical connection point, and an adhesive layer configured to attach the flexible piezoelectric sheet to the mechanical device, wherein the piezoelectric element layer is configured to convert the vibrations into an electric charge, wherein the piezoelectric element layer is provided between a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer such that the first electrode layer is physically separated from the second electrode layer, and wherein the at least one protective layer is provided on an outer surface of the flexible piezoelectric sheet; electrically connecting, to a junction box, a first electrical connection point located on the first electrode layer of the flexible piezoelectric sheet using a first electrical connector, wherein the junction box comprises an electrical circuit and battery, and wherein the junction box is configured to collect and store generated electrical energy; electrically connecting, to the junction box, a second electrical connection point located on the second electrode layer of the flexible piezoelectric sheet using a second electrical connector; harvesting the generated electrical energy and storing the generated electrical energy in the junction box; and providing the stored electrical energy from the junction box to a device requiring power located at the site (see rejection for claim 1 above since the method is disclosed mutatis mutandis).
The problem to be solved appears to implement using a piezoelectric device in a wellsite. Such implementation of using piezoelectric devices in a wellsite is well known. For example, Buchanan et al discloses, locating a mechanical device at a wellsite and using piezoelectric devices in the wellbore (column 1, lines 28, 29; column 4, lines 55 – 59; column 3, lines 59 – 67). Moreover, the power produced by the piezoelectric devices is used by a device requiring power located at the wellsite (column 4, line 65 – column 5, line 11).
Buchanan et al further discloses, regarding,
Claims 2, 10, the mechanical device comprise a flow limiter located at a well site (see Fig. 6; column 4, lines 55 – 59; column 1, line 28, 29).
Claims 8, 16, each of the at least one electrode layer has a thickness of from 1 mm to 2 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose the system/method as disclosed by Ott et al and to modify the invention per the limitations disclosed by Buchanan et al for the purpose of providing a simple, dependable, and maintenance free power source.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
September 24, 2026