DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connecting arrangement, as set forth in claim 2, lines 3-6, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Further, only one rotating machinery selected from the group set forth in claim 12, lines 1-3, is shown, and not first and second rotating machinery as required. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “106a” has been used to designate both a first and second adjustable spacer member. The reference character “106a” on the right side of Figure 2 should read --106b--, as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because at line 1, “claim 6” should read --claim 7--, as best understood by the Examiner, given the recitation of “the shaft” and “the sleeve” in lines 1-3.
Claim 9 is objected to because at line 1, “claim 7” should read --claim 8--, as best understood by the Examiner, given the recitation of “the engagement mechanism” in line 1.
Claim 10 is objected to because at line 1, “claim 6” should read --claim 7--, as best understood by the Examiner, given the recitation of “the shaft” and “the sleeve” in lines 1-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 12 are directed to an “adjustable shaft coupling”, but set forth limitations directed to structure not a part of the adjustable shaft coupling itself (i.e. first and second rotating machinery in lines 2 and 3, respectively), but to further structures which are intended to be connected via the adjustable shaft coupling. Therefore, it is unclear from the claim whether Applicant is intending to claim the subcombination of the adjustable shaft coupling, or the combination of the adjustable shaft coupling, first rotating machinery, and second rotating machinery. For the purpose of this action, the Examiner has interpreted the claims as being directed to only the subcombination of the adjustable shaft coupling. As such, limitations directed to structure not a part of the adjustable shaft coupling are given limited patentable weight, and have been interpreted to be a part of an intended use of the adjustable shaft coupling.
Appropriate correction should be made. For instance, claim 11, line 2, could be amended as follows:
--a first rotating machinery configured to be operatively coupled to the drive member--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,513,709 (Shimada).
Regarding claim 1, Shimada discloses an adjustable shaft coupling (5; see Figures 1-5), comprising:
a first coupling (11) including a first adjustable coupling hub (18) operatively coupled to a first adjustable spacer member (16); and
a second coupling (10) including a second adjustable coupling hub (18) operatively coupled to a second adjustable spacer member (17),
wherein the first and second adjustable spacer members are engageable to co-axially align the first and second couplings along a central axis and transmit torque and rotational motion between the first and second couplings (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50), and
wherein the first adjustable coupling hub is actuatable to grippingly engage (via fixing mechanism 28; see Figure 4 and column 4, lines 45-57) a drive member (9), and the second adjustable coupling hub is actuatable to grippingly engage (via fixing mechanism 28; see Figure 4 and column 4, lines 45-57) a driven member (3) such that rotation of the drive member correspondingly rotates the driven member in a same angular direction (see column 2, lines 49-59).
Regarding claim 2, Shimada discloses the first and second adjustable coupling hubs (18) are operatively coupled to the first (16) and second (17) adjustable spacer members, respectively, via a connecting arrangement selected from the group consisting of a nut-and-bolt arrangement, a spline arrangement, a threaded arrangement, a clamp arrangement, welding, a key-and-keyway arrangement, a pin-and-hole arrangement, a set screw fastening arrangement, a geared interface, a matable key and key way interface, and any combination thereof (at 20; see column 3, line 57, through column 4, line 9).
Regarding claim 3, Shimada discloses the adjustable shaft coupling of claim 1, wherein each adjustable coupling hub (18) includes:
a cylindrical body (24) that defines a central cavity (27a) extending along the central axis and sized to receive an end of the drive or driven member (3, 9; see Figures 3-5); and
a gripping mechanism (28; 29, 30) mounted to the body and actuatable to radially displace a plurality of gripping members (21) towards or away from the central axis and thereby grippingly engage or release the drive or driven members (the bolt 29 and nut 30 arrangement providing a radially inwardly directed clamping force; see also column 4, lines 41-67).
Regarding claim 7, Shimada discloses the first adjustable spacer (16) member includes a shaft (at 16 in Figure 2) and the second adjustable spacer member (17) provides a sleeve (at 17 in Figure 2) that defines a sleeve channel sized to receive the shaft (shown at 16a in Figure 2), and wherein receiving the shaft within the sleeve channel facilitates transfer of torque and rotational motion between the first and second couplings (18; see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 8, Shimada discloses an engagement mechanism that operatively couples the shaft (at 16) to the sleeve (at 17) such that rotation of the shaft correspondingly rotates the sleeve in the same angular direction, and vice versa (18; see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 10, Shimada discloses a distance between the first (16) and second (17) couplings is adjustable by axially translating one or both of the shaft (at 16) and the sleeve (at 17) along the central axis and relative to the other (see column 3, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 11, Shimada discloses a first rotating machinery (4) operatively coupled to the drive member (9); and
a second rotating machinery (2) operatively coupled to the driven member (3),
wherein operation of the first rotating machinery rotates the drive member and causes the driven member to rotate in the same angular direction via interconnection through the adjustable shaft coupling (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50; see also the 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada discloses the first and second rotating machinery are selected from the group consisting of a motor, a pump, a fan, a blower, a compressor, a generator, a turbine, a pulley, a wheel (2), one or more gears (4), and any combination thereof (see also the 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 13, Shimada discloses a method of using an adjustable shaft coupling (5; see Figures 1-5), comprising:
arranging the adjustable shaft coupling adjacent a first rotating machinery (4), the adjustable shaft coupling including:
a first coupling (11) including a first adjustable coupling hub (18) operatively coupled to a first adjustable spacer member (16); and
a second coupling (10) including a second adjustable coupling hub (18) operatively coupled to a second adjustable spacer member (17);
coupling the first adjustable coupling hub to a drive member (9) of the first rotating machinery;
coupling the second adjustable coupling hub to a driven member (3) of a second rotating machinery (2);
operatively coupling the first and second adjustable spacer members such that the first and second couplings are co-axially aligned along a central axis of the adjustable shaft coupling and rotate in unison (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50);
operating the first rotating machinery and thereby rotating the drive member, which causes the adjustable shaft coupling to rotate in a same angular direction (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50); and
transferring torque and rotational motion of the drive member to the driven member via the adjustable shaft coupling (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 14, Shimada discloses each adjustable coupling hub (18) includes a cylindrical body (24) that defines a central cavity (27a) extending along the central axis and sized to receive an end of the drive or driven member, and a gripping mechanism (28; 29, 30) mounted to the body and including a plurality of gripping members (21), and wherein coupling the first and second adjustable coupling hubs to the drive and driven members, respectively, comprises:
actuating the gripping mechanism and thereby displacing the plurality of gripping members radially inward and toward the central axis; and
grippingly engaging an outer surface of the drive or driven member with the plurality of gripping members (the bolt 29 and nut 30 arrangement providing a radially inwardly directed clamping force; see also column 4, lines 41-67).
Regarding claim 16, Shimada discloses the first adjustable spacer member (16) includes a shaft (at 16 in Figure 2) and the second adjustable spacer member (17) provides a sleeve (at 17 in Figure 2) that defines a sleeve channel (shown at 16a in Figure 2) sized to receive the shaft, and wherein operatively coupling the first and second adjustable spacer members comprises:
receiving the shaft within the sleeve channel; and
rotatably securing the sleeve to the shaft with an engagement mechanism such that rotation of the shaft correspondingly rotates the sleeve in the same angular direction (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 17, Shimada discloses translating one or both of the shaft (at 16 in Figure 2) and the sleeve (at 17 in Figure 2) along the central axis and relative to the other and thereby adjusting a distance between the first and second couplings (see column 2, lines 49-59, and column 3, lines 39-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada in view of US 9,771,969 (Tokioka).
Shimada discloses the adjustable shaft coupling of claim 7, but does not expressly disclose the engagement mechanism comprises matable geometry including:
a plurality of longitudinally extending protrusions defined on the shaft (at 16 in Figure 2); and
a plurality of longitudinally extending slots defined in the sleeve channel (shown at 16a in Figure 2) and sized to mate with and receive the plurality of longitudinally extending protrusions.
Tokioka teaches it is known in the art of telescopic, torque transmitting, shaft-sleeve couplings to provide a plurality of longitudinally extending protrusions (37) defined on a shaft (35); and
a plurality of longitudinally extending slots (38) defined in a sleeve channel (formed inside 38) and sized to mate with and receive the plurality of longitudinally extending protrusions (see Figure 2).
Tokioka teaches this structure provides a connection that not only allows a shaft (35) and sleeve (38) to rotate together, but also to slide relatively in the axial direction (see column 5, lines 57-64), in a manner that is smooth and requires less torque (see column 4, lines 51-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustable shaft coupling of Shimada such that the engagement mechanism comprises matable geometry includes a plurality of longitudinally extending protrusions defined on the shaft; and a plurality of longitudinally extending slots defined in the sleeve channel and sized to mate with and receive the plurality of longitudinally extending protrusions, as taught in Tokioka, in order to provides a connection that not only allows a shaft and sleeve to rotate together, but also to slide relatively in the axial direction, in a manner that is smooth and requires less torque.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Shimada discloses the adjustable shaft coupling of claim 3, but fails to disclose each gripping member (25, 26) is mounted within a corresponding channel defined in the body (27) and is displaceable within the channel.
Shimada instead discloses each gripping member (21) being integrally formed with the body (24) as part of a one-piece, monolithically formed, yoke (18; see Figure 5). The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Shimada such that each gripping member is mounted within a corresponding channel defined in the body and is displaceable within the channel. Further, such a modification would teach away from the intended structure of a press molded part made from a single material (see column 4, lines 27-32).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Shimada discloses the adjustable shaft coupling of claim 3, but fails to disclose the gripping mechanism (28; 29, 30) further includes:
a gear assembly housed within the body (24) and operatively coupled to the plurality of gripping members (21) such that actuation of the gear assembly causes the plurality of gripping members to displace radially inwards or outwards; and
a rotatable socket rotatably mounted to the body and operatively coupled to the gear assembly such that rotating the rotatable socket correspondingly actuates the gear assembly and radially displaces the plurality of gripping members.
Instead, Shimada discloses the gripping mechanism (28; 29, 30) in the form of a bolt (29) and nut (30) arrangement designed to clamp a drive (9) or driven member (3) between arms (21) of body (24) of the yoke (18). While the prior art discloses such gear assembly/rotatable socket mechanisms (see, e.g., WO 80/00427 to Martinsson), there is no motivation to modify the adjustable shaft coupling of Shimada to include such a gear assembly/rotatable socket mechanisms, absent the use of improper hindsight reasoning absent Applicant’s own disclosure. Further, a modification to Shimada to include such a gear assembly/rotatable socket mechanism would enlarge the footprint of the adjustable shaft coupling of Shimada beyond its intended size such that it may not fit the packaging constraints of the intended use of a steering mechanism.
Regarding claim 15, the claim would be allowable for the same reasons noted above regarding claims 5 and 6, where claim 15 includes similar limitations in method form.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
March 17, 2026