DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, line 3: “the third blood oxygen threshold” lacks proper antecedent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US 2022/0218293) in view of Hood (US 2015/0136146).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses substantially the same invention as claimed (Figure 9A shown above for example), including a sleep state monitoring earplug wearable in an ear canal of a user (abstract; Figure 9A), the sleep state monitoring earplug comprising: a main body (Figure 9A); and a detection module inside the main body (abstract), the detection module comprising: a processing unit (Figure 1); a respiratory detection unit connected to the processing unit and configured to generate respiratory rate information to the processing unit (Paragraphs 91-92); and an alert unit connected to the processing unit and configured to generate a warning signal if the respiratory rate information meets a respiratory threshold, and the alert unit to issue a warning according to the warning signal (Paragraph 95).
Further regarding claim 1, Chou discloses alerting to stop a sleep apnea event (Paragraph 95), but does not specifically disclose the respiratory rate lower than a threshold. However, Hood teaches determining if a respiratory rate is lower than a threshold (Paragraph 74), in order to identify a sleep apnea event. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chou as taught by Hood to include determining if a respiratory rate is lower than a threshold, in order to identify a sleep apnea event.
Regarding claim 2, Chou discloses blood oxygen and pulse rate information (Paragraphs 91, 92) and a communication unit as recited (Paragraphs 63, 175).
Regarding claim 3, Chou discloses transmitting a notification to an external device as recited (Paragraph 115).
Regarding claims 4-5, Chou discloses an orientation detection unit (Paragraph 46), determining sensed information is outside a second range based on the angle information (Paragraph 20), and communicating a second notification as recited (Paragraph 115).
Regarding claim 6, Chou discloses different thresholds for different positions (Paragraph 20), but does not specifically disclose certain thresholds being higher/lower or wider/narrower. However, Hood teaches a patient may be at higher risk (e.g. narrower threshold) in certain positions, including when respiratory rate is evaluated (Paragraph 84). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chou as taught by Hood to include at least a narrower threshold for respiratory rate, in order to adapt different thresholds for high risk positions.
Regarding claim 7, the sleep apnea detection of Hood can further include blood oxygen lower than a threshold as recited (Paragraph 74).
Regarding claim 8, Chou teaches a sound unit as recited (Paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 9, Chou teaches a microphone for respiratory detection (Paragraph 234).
Regarding claim 10, Chou discloses a battery (Paragraph 64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ayers (US 2022/0096002) shows an earpiece for monitoring sleep apnea.
Dugan (US 2021/0077010) shows different positions may be associated with higher/lower blood oxygen levels.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796