DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8, 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 1, “claim 6, the enclosing body” should be changed to - - claim 6, wherein the enclosing body --.
Claim 8 and line 1, “claim 7, a wire” should be changed to - - claim 7, wherein a wire--.
Claim 10, line 1, “wires &” should be changed to - - wires and --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U. S. Patent 8,979,549) in view of Flegge (U. S. Patent 5,055,070).
Regarding claim 1, Lin, see figures 1-3, discloses a cable connector comprising: a shell 9; a rotating head 2, comprising an enclosing body 2 pivotally connected to the shell 9 and having a connector, wherein the enclosing body 2 encloses a portion of the connector; a plurality of wires (see figure 10) passing through the shell 9, wherein an end of each of the plurality of wires passes through the enclosing body 2 and is electrically connected to the connector. Lin discloses the claimed invention except for the shielding shell. Flegge discloses a shielding shell at 22, 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to provide as taught by Flegge so as to provide for easy to manufacture.
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Flegge disclose the shielding shell 9 comprises a shield (near to the leadline 8) and a housing 9; the housing 9 is connected to the shield, wherein a space is formed inside the housing 9; a front end of the housing has an opening communicating with the space; the enclosing body 2 has a pivot portion (see figures 4, 5) in the housing 9 and is pivotable around the pivot portion (see figures 4, 5) within the opening; the connector is located outside the housing 9; the end of each of the plurality of wires (see figure 10) passes through the shield and enters the enclosing body 2.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U. S. Patent 8,979,549) in view of Flegge (U. S. Patent 5,055,070) and further in view of Randolph (U. S. 2018/0191146).
Regarding claim 2, Lin and Flegge disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of wires are magnet wires; the enclosing body is a solid structure formed by injection molding and encloses a portion of the plurality of wires. Randolph discloses a magnet wire at 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lin and Flegge to provide such features as taught by Randolph so as to provide for higher conductivity.
Regarding claim 3, Lin, Flegge and Randolph disclose the shielding shell 9 comprises a shield (9 and near to the leadline 8) and a housing 9; the housing is connected to the shield, wherein a space is formed inside the housing 9; a front end of the housing 9 has an opening communicating with the space; the enclosing body 2 has a pivot portion (see figure 5) in the housing and is pivotable around the pivot portion (see figure 5) within the opening; the connector is located outside the housing; the end of each of the plurality of wires see figure 10,passes through the shield and enters the pivot portion (see figure 5) through the enclosing body 2; a wire segment of each of the plurality of wires (see figure 10) corresponding to the space is not a straight wire segment.
Regarding claim 9, Lin, Flegge Randolph disclose the plurality of wires (figure 10) are magnet wires.
Regarding claim 10, Lin, Flegge and Randolph disclose the wires are electronic wires & cables 8.
Regarding claim 12, Lin and Flegge disclose the claimed invention except for the end of each of the plurality of wires is electrically connected to the connector via a welding point. Randolph discloses the plurality of wires is electrically connected to the connector via a welding point (column 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lin and Flegge to provide such features as taught by Randolph so as to keep the parts together.
Claims 1, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (U. S. Patent 8,777,671) in view of Flegge (U. S. Patent 5,055,070).
Regarding claim 1, Huang, see figures 1-3, discloses a cable connector comprising: a shell 3; a rotating head 2, comprising an enclosing body 2 pivotally connected to the shell 3 and having a connector, wherein the enclosing body 2 encloses a portion of the connector; a plurality of wires 4 passing through the shell 3, wherein an end of each of the plurality of wires 4 passes through the enclosing body 2 and is electrically connected to the connector. Huang discloses the claimed invention except for the shielding shell. Flegge discloses a shielding shell at 22, 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to provide as taught by Flegge so as to provide for easy to manufacture.
Regarding claim 4, Huang in view of Flegge disclose the shielding shell 3 comprises a shield (near to the leadline 6) and a housing 3; the housing is connected to the shield, wherein a space is formed inside the housing 3; a front end of the housing 3 has an opening communicating with the space; the enclosing body 2 has a pivot portion 22 in the housing and is pivotable around the pivot portion 22 within the opening; the connector is located outside the housing; the end of each of the plurality of wires 4 passes through the shield and enters the enclosing body 2.
Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Flegge disclose the shield has a neck (see figure 2); the housing comprises an upper housing 3 and a lower housing 32; an inner surface of the upper housing 3 and an inner surface of the lower housing 32 respectively have a sunken area 30; an end of the upper housing 3 and an end of the lower housing 32 respectively have a fitting port, and another end of the upper housing 3 and another end of the lower housing 32 are protruded outwardly to form a tongue portion 32, respectively; when the upper housing 3 and the lower housing 31 are engaged with each other, the two sunken areas 30, 30 jointly form the space, the two fitting ports are embedded in the neck (see figure 2) of the shield, and the opening is formed between the two tongue portions 32, 32.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (U. S. Patent 8,777,671) in view of Flegge (U. S. Patent 5,055,070) and further in view of Zhang (U. S. Patent 11,799,254).
Regarding claim 11, Huang and Flegge disclose the claimed invention except for the rotating head comprises a circuit board electrically connected to the connector; the enclosing body encloses the circuit board, and the end of each of the plurality of wires is connected to the circuit board. Zhang discloses a circuit board at 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Flegge to provide such features as taught by Zhang to provide such feature so as to provide the circuitry for connecting.
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses two grooves are respectively formed on an inner surface of the tongue portion of the upper housing and an inner surface of the tongue portion of the lower housing; two communicating channels are respectively formed on the inner surface of the tongue portion of the upper housing and the inner surface of the tongue portion of the lower housing; each of the two grooves communicates with each of the two sunken areas through each of the two communicating channels; the enclosing body has two protrusions arranged opposite to each other; the two protrusions constitute the pivot portion and are respectively embedded in one of the two grooves.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831