DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/05/2025 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, 19 and 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (EP 4277188 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LIU’)
Regarding claim 1, LIU teaches a first wireless device (
Fig. 1 STA 110, Fig. 9 Apparatus 910,
[0025] Fig. 9 …. apparatus 910 may be implemented in STA 110), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (
Fig. 9, [0026] When implemented in a STA, each of apparatus 910 and apparatus 920 may be implemented in a smartphone), the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit a preamble of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), wherein a first portion of the preamble comprises at least a legacy signal (L-SIG) field (
Fig. 1, [0014] Referring to FIG. 1, network environment 100 may involve at least a STA 110 communicating wirelessly with a STA 120. Each of STA 110 and STA 120 may be a non-access point (non-AP) STA or, alternatively, either of STA 110 and STA 120 may function as an access point (AP) STA.); …… Each of STA 110 and STA 120 may be configured to communicate with each other by utilizing the techniques pertaining to ELR communication schemes in wireless communications in accordance with various proposed schemes described below.
Fig. 2, [0015] FIG. 2 illustrates an example design 200 under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure. Design 200 pertains to a design of an ELR PPDU. Under the proposed scheme, transmission of ELR PPDUs may use orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) and/or orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA) modulation(s) in preamble signal fields and data portion thereof. Referring to FIG. 2, under the proposed scheme, each ELR PPDU may be composed of three function blocks, namely: spoofing preamble, ELR preamble, and ELR data portion.
[0016] …. in legacy preambles, a legacy short training field (L-STF), a legacy long training field (L-LTF) and a legacy signaling (L-SIG) field need to be added or prepended to a data field to spoof IEEE 802.11-compliant devices for clear channel assessment (CCA). Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, a 4-microsecond (4.Math.s) OFDM symbol ….. ("BPSK-Symbol 1") may be added after the L-SIG field to spoof high-throughput (HT) devices based on the IEEE 802.11n standard.
Fig. 3, [0018] FIG. 3 illustrates an example design 300 under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure. Design 300 pertains to a design of a spoofing preamble. Part (A) of FIG. 3 shows an example of a spoofing preamble # 1 under the proposed scheme. As shown, spoofing preamble # 1 may include an L-STF, an L-LTF and an L-SIG field.)
wherein a second portion of the preamble comprises at least a first extended long range (ELR) signature field indicating that the PPDU is associated with ELR communications (
Fig. 2 Spoofing preamble followed by ELR preamble in ELR PPDU,
See [0014-0015]
[0018] Under the proposed scheme, for spoofing preamble # 1, a following ELR signature sequence may need to be started with at least two BPSK modulated OFDM symbols. Under the proposed scheme, for spoofing preamble # 2, the ELR signature sequence may be any sequence. ….. Additionally, a value in the "PPDU Type And Compression Mode" field may be set to indicate that this is a spoofing preamble for an ELR PPDU.), the first ELR signature field carrying a first sequence recognized by a second wireless device and occupying at least a first plurality of tones of at least a first symbol of the second portion of the preamble (
[0014] Each of STA 110 and STA 120 may be configured to communicate with each other by utilizing the techniques pertaining to ELR communication schemes in wireless communications in accordance with various proposed schemes described below.
[0018] Under the proposed scheme, for spoofing preamble # 1, a following ELR signature sequence may need to be started with at least two BPSK modulated OFDM symbols. Under the proposed scheme, for spoofing preamble # 2, the ELR signature sequence may be any sequence. ….. Additionally, a value in the "PPDU Type And Compression Mode" field may be set to indicate that this is a spoofing preamble for an ELR PPDU.
Fig. 4, [0019] Under the proposed scheme, one ELR signature sequence may be used for pack detection and format detection of the respective ELR PPDU.
Fig. 6, [0021] FIG. 6 illustrates an example design 600 ….. pertains to a design of an ELR preamble # 3. Under the proposed scheme, an ELR signature sequence may also be used for automatic gain control (AGC) and synchronization. ……. Under the proposed scheme, the ELR signature-STF sequence may be designed in the frequency domain with BPSK modulation (which may be used for spoofing purpose). Also, the ELR signature-STF sequence may be similar to a L-STF but may have a very low correlation with a L-STF sequence so as to avoid false detection of Wi-Fi STAs. For instance, one example of the ELR signature-STF sequence may be as follows:
LRSTF_26,26={-1, 0, 0, 0, -1, 0, -1, 0, 0, 0, -1, 0, -1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, -1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, -1, 0, 0,
0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, -1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, -1, 0, 0, 0, -1, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1}
wherein at least the L-SIG field of the first portion of the preamble precedes the first ELR signature field (
Fig. 2 Spoofing preamble precedes ELR preamble in ELR PPDU).
Regarding claim 2, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the second portion of the preamble further comprises a second ELR signature field carrying a second sequence recognized by the second wireless device and occupying a second plurality of tones of a second symbol of the second portion of the preamble, the first ELR signature field preceding the second ELR signature field in the second portion of the preamble (
Fig. 2 Spoofing preamble followed by ELR preamble in ELR PPDU
Fig. 4 ELR Preamble comprises ELR Signature Sequence preceding ELR-STF
(ELR Preamble == second portion of the preamble, E:R Signature Sequence == first ELR signature field, ELR-STF == second plurality of tones of a second symbol)
Alternately,
Fig. 4 ELR Preamble comprises ELR Signature Sequence preceding ELR-SIG.
Alternately,
Fig. 4 ELR Preamble comprises ELR-STF preceding ELR-STF2.
Fig. 5 two ELR signature sequences (A and B) followed by ELR-STF,
or Fig. 6 two ELR signature-STF sequences (A and B),
[0021] FIG. 6 illustrates an example design 600 ….. pertains to a design of an ELR preamble # 3. ….. ELR signature sequence may be designed together with an ELR short training field (ELR-STF) ….. Also, the ELR signature-STF sequence may be similar to a L-STF but may have a very low correlation with a L-STF sequence so as to avoid false detection of Wi-Fi STAs.
[0022] Under the proposed scheme, two ELR signature-STF sequences (A and B) may be utilized to indicate whether a following ELR preamble and data are in the one-spatial-stream format or in the two-spatial-stream format.).
Regarding claim 3, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the first sequence of the first ELR signature field is equivalent to the second sequence of the second ELR signature field (
Fig. 6, [0021] Design 600 …..Accordingly, the ELR signature sequence may be designed together with an ELR short training field (ELR-STF), and such signature sequence may herein be referred to as an "ELR signature-STF sequence."
[0022] Under the proposed scheme, two ELR signature-STF sequences (A and B) may be utilized to indicate whether a following ELR preamble and data are in the one-spatial-stream format or in the two-spatial-stream format.
(Both ELR signature-STF sequences (A and B) equivalently indicate the spatial-format of following ELR preamble and data)).
Regarding claim 4, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the second sequence of the second ELR signature field is different from the first sequence of the first ELR signature field (
Fig. 6 ELR signature-STF sequence A or ELR signature-STF sequence B),
Fig. 6, [0021] the ELR signature sequence may be designed together with an ELR short training field (ELR-STF), and such signature sequence may herein be referred to as an "ELR signature-STF sequence."
[0022] two ELR signature-STF sequences (A and B) may be utilized to indicate whether a following ELR preamble and data are in the one-spatial-stream format or in the two-spatial-stream format.).
Regarding claim 5, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the second plurality of tones is different from the first plurality of tones (
Alternately,
Fig. 4 ELR Preamble comprises ELR Signature Sequence preceding ELR-SIG.
Alternately,
Fig. 4 ELR Preamble comprises ELR-STF preceding ELR-STF2.
(It is a design choice to have different tones for ELR-STF and ELR-STF2)
Fig. 5 two ELR signature sequences (A and B) followed by ELR-STF,
or Fig. 6 two ELR signature-STF sequences (A and B),
Fig. 6, [0021] the ELR signature sequence may be designed together with an ELR short training field (ELR-STF), and such signature sequence may herein be referred to as an "ELR signature-STF sequence." Under the proposed scheme, the ELR signature-STF sequence may be designed in the frequency domain with BPSK modulation (which may be used for spoofing purpose). Also, the ELR signature-STF sequence may be similar to a L-STF but may have a very low correlation with a L-STF sequence so as to avoid false detection of Wi-Fi STAs.).
Regarding claim 6, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the second plurality of tones is the same as the first plurality of tones (
Fig. 4 ELR Preamble comprises ELR-STF preceding ELR-STF2.
[0038] ..the ELR preamble may include an ELR signature sequence, a first ELR-STF, a first ELR-LTF and an ELR-SIG field, a second ELR-STF and a second ELR-LTF. Moreover, the first ELR-STF, the first ELR-LTF, the ELR-SIG field, the second ELR-STF and the second ELR-LTF may be duplicated across a plurality of subchannels.
(It is a design choice to have same duplicated tones for ELR-STF and ELR-STF2)).
Regarding claim 7, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the first ELR signature field is transmitted according to a first modulation scheme, and the second ELR signature field is transmitted according to a second modulation scheme (
[0023] for different numbers of users, duplications may also be different. Under the proposed scheme, to reach the similar range, difference modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) may be applied.).
Regarding claim 8, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the first ELR signature field and the second ELR signature field are transmitted according to a same modulation scheme (
[0023] Part (A) of FIG. 7 shows an example of a scenario for single user or 1-user OFDMA, with a 5MHz subchannel for a same user (e.g., user 1) duplicated across the operating bandwidth (e.g., 4 times as shown in FIG. 7)).
Regarding claim 9, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 2, wherein the second portion of the preamble further comprises a third ELR signature field carrying a third sequence recognized by the second wireless device and occupying a third plurality of tones of a third symbol of the second portion of the preamble, the second ELR signature field preceding the third ELR signature field in the second portion of the preamble (
Fig. 4 (B), ELR preamble comprising ELR-STF or the second ELR signature field which precedes ELR-LTF or the third ELR signature field in the second portion of the preamble,
Or ELR preamble comprising ELR-STF preceding or ELR-SIG or the second ELR signature field which precedes ELR-STF2 or the third ELR signature field in the second portion of the preamble,
Fig. 6, [0021] the ELR signature-STF sequence may be similar to a L-STF but may have a very low correlation with a L-STF sequence so as to avoid false detection of Wi-Fi STAs.
[0038] ..the ELR preamble may include an ELR signature sequence, a first ELR-STF, a first ELR-LTF and an ELR-SIG field, a second ELR-STF and a second ELR-LTF. Moreover, the first ELR-STF, the first ELR-LTF, the ELR-SIG field, the second ELR-STF and the second ELR-LTF may be duplicated across a plurality of subchannels.).
Regarding claim 10, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 9, wherein the third sequence of the third ELR signature field is a repetition of the first sequence of the first ELR signature field (
Fig. 4(B), ELR preamble comprising ELR-STF preceding or ELR-SIG or the second ELR signature field which precedes ELR-STF2 or the third ELR signature field in the second portion of the preamble,
See [0038] cited above for claim 9.
(Second ELR-STF can be a repetition of first ELR-STF as design choice)).
Regarding claim 11, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first ELR signature field occupies a subset of the first plurality of tones (
Fig. 4 (B), ELR preamble comprising ELR Signature Sequence preceding ELR-STF
Fig. 6, ELR Signature-STF Sequence (A or B)
(Fig. 4 (B) implies ELR Signature Sequence occupies a subset of the first plurality of tones considering ELR-STF).
Regarding claim 12, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the preamble of the PPDU further includes a repeat legacy signal (RL-SIG) field, and the RL-SIG field of the first portion of the preamble precedes the first ELR signature field (
Fig. 3 (C), [0017] As shown, spoofing preamble# 3 may include an L-STF, an L-L TF, an L-SIG, a repeated legacy signaling (RL-SIG) field ….).
Regarding claim 13, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the preamble of the PPDU includes one or more universal signal (U-SIG) fields, and the one or more U-SIG fields of the first portion of the preamble precede the first ELR signature field (
See Fig. 2, and Fig. 3,
[0017] Part (C) of FIG. 3 shows an example of a spoofing preamble # 3 under the proposed scheme. As shown, spoofing preamble # 3 may include an L-STF, an L-LTF, an L-SIG, a repeated legacy signaling (RL-SIG) field, a universal signaling (U-SIG) field followed by another U-SIG field.).
Regarding claim 14, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first sequence of the first ELR signature field is transmitted according to a modulation scheme that is in accordance with a binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation associated with a phase rotation (
Fig. 3, [0018] Under the proposed scheme, for spoofing preamble # 1, a following ELR signature sequence may need to be started with at least two BPSK modulated OFDM symbols.
[0021] Accordingly, the ELR signature sequence may be designed together with an ELR short training field (ELR-STF), and such signature sequence may herein be referred to as an "ELR signature-STF sequence." Under the proposed scheme, the ELR signature-STF sequence may be designed in the frequency domain with BPSK modulation (which may be used for spoofing purpose).
[0023] Under the proposed scheme, to reach the similar range, difference modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) may be applied. For instance, in transmission of a 20MHz ELR PPDU, quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) + dual carrier modulation (DCM) + ½ coding may be applied to SU transmissions, and BPSK + DCM + ½ coding may be used for two users
(BPSK with 1800 phase rotation indicating ‘1’ or ‘0’ is well known technique)).
Regarding claim 15, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 14, wherein the modulation scheme comprises one of the BPSK modulation scheme, a quadrature BPSK (QBPSK) modulation scheme, a reversed BPSK modulations scheme, a combination of the BPSK modulation scheme and the QBPSK modulation scheme, a combination of the BPSK modulation scheme and the reversed BPSK modulation scheme (
See [0021, 0023] cited for claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first ELR signature field is partially inverse to the L-SIG field (
[0021] , the ELR signature-STF sequence may be similar to a L-STF but may have a very low correlation with a L-STF sequence so as to avoid false detection of Wi-Fi STAs.
(In [0021] low correlation indicates a different sequence, and for maximum difference or lowest correlation ELR signature field can set to be inverse to the L-SIG field as design choice)).
Regarding claim 17, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first ELR signature field further indicates a basic service set identifier associated with the ELR communications (
[0014] In some cases, STA 110 and STA 120 may be associated with a basic service set (BSS) in accordance with one or more IEEE 802.11 standards (e.g., IEEE 802.11be and future-developed standards). Each of STA 110 and STA 120 may be configured to communicate with each other by utilizing the techniques pertaining to ELR communication schemes in wireless communications in accordance with various proposed schemes described below.
[0021] , the ELR signature-STF sequence may be similar to a L-STF but may have a very low correlation with a L-STF sequence so as to avoid false detection of Wi-Fi STAs.).
Regarding claim 19, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1, ELR comprises a sequence associated with a universal signal (U- SIG) field with a physical version number associated with the ELR communications (
Fig. 2, [0015] Referring to FIG. 2, under the proposed scheme, each ELR PPDU may be composed of three function blocks, namely: spoofing preamble, ELR preamble, and ELR data portion.
[0018] Under the proposed scheme, for spoofing preamble # 3, a portion of a preamble of an IEEE 802.11 be-compliant multi-user (MU) PPDU may be used (e.g., from a legacy long training field (L-LTF) to an end of a U-SIG field thereof) with certain change to U-SIG contents. For instance, a value in the "PHY Version Identifier" field may be set to a non-zero value to indicate that this PPDU is for next generation beyond IEEE 802.11be (EHT). Additionally, a value in the "PPDU Type And Compression Mode" field may be set to indicate that this is a spoofing preamble for an ELR PPDU.).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (EP 4277188 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LIU’) in view of Nassiri Toussi et al. (US 20250125901 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63619070, hereinafter ‘Nassiri’).
Regarding claim 18, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1.
LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein the first ELR signature field is equivalent to a legacy long training field (L-LTF) included in the first portion of the preamble of the PPDU.
In analogous art, NASSIRI teaches wherein the first ELR signature field is equivalent to a legacy long training field (L-LTF) included in the first portion of the preamble of the PPDU (
[0091] In the event that the slot 122 of ELR-SIG symbols replicas are the same as the symbol 124 of L-LTF, or any known pattern, transmitted symbols 124 to the receive device 104 can be known and a rotation check can be done after equalization of the preamble 116.
See US 63619070 [0028, 0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of using ELR signature field having same pattern as known L-LTF of NASSIRI to the system of ELR communication schemes of LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing a more robust preamble and payload processing for wireless communications (NASSIRI: [0003, 0091]).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (EP 4277188 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LIU’) in view of Chen et al. (EP 4307628 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CHEN’).
Regarding claim 20, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1.
LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sequence of the first ELR signature field is selected in accordance with a peak to average power ratio (PAPR) associated with the ELR communications.
In an analogous art, CHEN teaches wherein the first sequence of the first ELR signature field is selected in accordance with a peak to average power ratio (PAPR) associated with the ELR communications (
Fig. 4, [0020] The peak-to-average-power ratio (PAPR) of the designed ELR-STF may need to be reasonably lower for power boosting of the ELR preamble part and provide m dB higher output power than that achievable by IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be-based devices.
See also Fig. 6 Table 600 PAPR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of using lower PAPR for ELR-STF of CHEN to the system of ELR communication schemes of LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing superior performance for outdoor and/or long reach applications (CHEN: [0026]).
Regarding claim 21, LIU teaches the first wireless device of claim 1.
LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein channel estimation of a channel between the first wireless device and the second wireless device are measured in accordance with the first plurality of tones of the first symbol used to transmit the first ELR signature field.
CHEN teaches wherein channel estimation of a channel between the first wireless device and the second wireless device are measured in accordance with the first plurality of tones of the first symbol used to transmit the first ELR signature field (
Fig. 6, [0025] With respect to transmission of SIG in Wi-Fi based on IEEE 802.11, as in the current IEEE 802.11 standard family, the design of preamble is mainly focused on coexistence and minimization of overhead. To achieve this goal, reuse of the legacy design for packet detection, synchronization, boundary detection and channel estimation is desirable and, thus, a duration of 3.2 microseconds (.Math.s) of OFDM symbol duration in a 20MHz channel is used for SIG transmission
Fig. 7, [0026] Design 700 provides new waveform structure to achieve a deliverable path gain greater than 3dB (> 3dB) from MU PPDU (IEEE 802.11be). Since packet detection, synchronization, boundary detection and channel estimation may rely on the ELR-STF/LTF, the 3.2/6.4/12.8.Math.s symbol (1x/2x/4x ELR-SIG symbol) with 1.6/3.2.Math.s GI may be utilized for ELR PPDU due to its superior performance for outdoor and/or long reach applications.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of using lower PAPR for ELR-STF of CHEN to the system of ELR communication schemes of LIU in order to take the advantage of a method for providing superior performance for outdoor and/or long reach applications (CHEN: [0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yu et al. (US 20250071006 A1), describing COMMUNICATION METHOD BASED ON PHYSICAL LAYER PROTOCOL DATA UNIT AND APPARATUS
Zhang et al. (US 20250016755 A1), describing ROTATING RESOURCE UNITS IN FRAMES FOR WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS
Bansal et al. (US 20240348365 A1), describing RECEIVE PROCEDURE FOR EXTENDED LONG RANGE SUPPORTED DEVICES
Hu et al. (US 20240171441 A1), describing Narrow Bandwidth Transmission Schemes In Next-Generation Enhanced Long Range WLAN
Zhang et al. (US 20240022459 A1), describing NON-LONG RANGE PREAMBLE DESIGN FOR LONG RANGE WIRELESS PACKET AND METHODS FOR PROCESSING THE PREAMBLE
Cariou et al. (US 20230247530 A1), describing NHANCED LONG RANGE COMMUNICATION IN WIRELESS NETWORKS WITH SHORT BEACON AND DISCOVERY FRAME MANAGEMENT
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413