DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “control device” in claim 8 has been interpreted as a computer-implemented means plus function limitation with corresponding structure disclosed in at least paragraphs 0021-0029 and Figs. 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the words referring to “the operation plan” on line 1 of claim 4 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the words refer to the operation on line 5 of claim 1 or the recreated operating plan on line 6 of claim 1. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Regarding claim 5, the words referring to “the operation plan” on line 1 of claim 5 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the words refer to the operation on line 5 of claim 1 or the recreated operating plan on line 6 of claim 1. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Regarding claims 6-7, the words referring to “the operation plan” on line 2 of claim 6 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the words refer to the operation on line 5 of claim 1 or the recreated operating plan on line 6 of claim 1. Accordingly, the claims are indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akimasa (JP 2015199149 A).
Regarding claim 1, Akimasa discloses a control method [for the intended use]1 of creating an operation plan of a robot which is a horizontal articulated robot, based on an operation command to the robot, thereby controlling a motor of each of axes of the robot, the control method comprising: executing (Fig. 7, step S7’ and S8 via Figs. 1-3, elements 300, 301, 311), when a maximum speed of at least one axis (Figs. 1-2, element J1) driven by the motor (Fig. 2, element 231) in the robot (Figs. 1-3, element 200, 201) in the operation plan is included in a resonance avoidance speed range (Rj ± δ) obtained in advance for the axis (Fig. 7, step S4), resonance avoidance processing of recreating the operation plan such that the maximum speed (Rj’) is equal to or lower than a lower limit speed (i.e. Rj’ < Rj-δ) of the resonance avoidance speed range (paragraphs 0016-0029, 0045, 0051, 0068-0070).
Regarding claim 2, Akimasa discloses the control method according to claim 1, wherein the robot comprises a coupled body (Fig. 1, element 201) in which a plurality of arms (plurality of links) are coupled in series, a base to which the coupled body is connected at one end of the coupled body, and a hand (Fig. 1, element 202) attached to another end of the coupled body, and the resonance avoidance processing is executed on an axis (Figs. 1-2, element J1), among the axes, which is at a position where the base and the coupled body are connected (paragraphs 0017-0019, 0025-0029).
Regarding claim 8, Akimasa discloses a robot control device (Figs. 1-3, elements 300, 301, 311) that creates an operation plan [for the intended use]2 of a robot which is a horizontal articulated robot, based on an operation command to the robot, thereby controlling a motor of each of axes of the robot, wherein the robot control device recreates (Fig. 7, step S7’ and S8), when a maximum speed of at least one axis (Figs. 1-2, element J1) driven by the motor (Fig. 2, element 231) in the robot (Figs. 1-3, element 200, 201) in the operation plan is included in a resonance avoidance speed range (Rj ± δ) obtained in advance for the axis (Fig. 7, step S4), the operation plan such that the maximum speed (Rj’) is equal to or lower than a lower limit speed (i.e. Rj’ < Rj-δ) of the resonance avoidance speed range (paragraphs 0016-0029, 0045, 0051, 0068-0070).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimasa as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Matsuo et al. (US 2003/0083783 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Matsuo”).
Regarding claim 3, Akimasa teaches the control method according to claim 2 wherein a highest speed of each of the axes is reduced when the operation plan is recreated (paragraph 0070). However, Akimasa is silent regarding the number of degrees of freedom of the coupled body “in a horizontal plane is two”. Matsou teaches a horizontal robot (Fig. 1a, element 1) with two degrees of freedom (Fig. 1b, element x, y) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to Applicant’s effective filing date to reconfigure the robot taught by Akimasa to a horizontal robot with two degrees of freedom by applying the well-known technique taught by Matsou. Application of the well-known horizontal robot taught by Matsou to the prior art system taught by Akimasa would have been obvious because such reconfiguration would have been well within the level of skill of the person having ordinary skill in the art and because such application would have yielded predictable results. The predictable results including: the number of degrees of freedom of the coupled body in a horizontal plane being two.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Akimasa and Matsuo teaches the control method according to claim 3, wherein the operation plan is an operation plan based on a point-to-point operation in which timings of acceleration start, acceleration end, deceleration start, and deceleration end coincide in all the axes of the robot (Akimasa, Fig. 5a; paragraph 0059; Matsou, Fig. 5b and Fig. 8a; paragraph 0027, 0050, 0054).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimasa as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Okamoto (US 20250196337 A1).
Regarding claims 5, Akimasa teaches the control method according to claim 2, wherein the operation plan is an operation plan in which timings of acceleration start, acceleration end, deceleration start, and deceleration end coincide in all the axes of the robot (Fig. 5a; paragraph 0059). Akimasa is silent regarding the operation plan being an operation plan “based on a point-to-point operation.” Okamoto teaches an operation plan that is based on a point-to-point operation (paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to Applicant’s effective filing date to apply the well-known point to point operation technique taught by Okamoto to the prior art system taught by Akimasa. Application of the well-known technique taught by Okamoto would have been obvious because such application would have been well within the level of skill of the person having ordinary skill in the art and because such application would have yielded predictable results. The predictable results including: the operation plan being an operation plan based on a point-to-point operation.
Regarding claim 6, Akimasa teaches the control method according to claim 2, wherein an operation plan in which an overall speed is maintained (Fig. 5, between T1 and T2) is created when the operation plan is recreated (paragraph 0059). Akimasa is silent regarding “a number of degrees of freedom of the coupled body in a horizontal plane is three or more, the operation plan is a control plan based on a linear interpolation operation. Okamoto teaches a robot (Fig. 1, element 1) having a number of degrees of freedom (Fig. 1, element AX1, AX2, RC) of a coupled body in a horizontal plane is three or more and an operation plan that is a control plan based on linear interpolation (paragraph 0026-0039).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to Applicant’s effective filing date to apply the well-known technique taught by Okamoto to the prior art robot taught by Akimasa. That is, it would have been obvious to reconfigure the vertical articulated robot taught by Akimasa to a horizontal articulated robot and use linear interpolation in the control play by applying the well know techniques taught by Okamoto. Application of the well know technique taught by Okamoto to the prior art system taught by Akimasa would have been obvious because such application would have been well within the level of skill of the person having ordinary skill in the art and because such application would have yielded predictable results. The predictable results including: a number of degrees of freedom of the coupled body in a horizontal pane is three or more and the operation plan being a control plan based on a linear interpolation operation.
Regarding claim 7, Akimasa teaches the control method according to claim 6. Okamoto teaches that the plurality of arms comprises a first arm (Fig. 1, element 10) rotatably (via Fig. 1, element 11) connected to the base (Figs. 1-2 and 6, element 100), a second arm (Fig. 1, element 20) rotatably (via Fig. 1, element 22) connected to the first arm, and a third arm (Fig. 1, element 30) rotatably (via Fig. 1, element 24) connected to the second arm and rotatably holding the hand (Fig. 1, element 31), wherein a position where the first arm is connected to the base is set as an origin (Fig. 6, element x, y), a position where the second arm is connected to the first arm is set as a first joint point (Figs. 1-4 and 11, elements AX2, 20), a position where the third arm is connected to the second arm is set as a second joint point (Figs. 1-4 and 11, element RC), and a position where the hand is connected to the third arm is set as a third joint point, and that the second joint point exists on a virtual travel axis passing through the origin in a horizontal plane (Figs. 4 and 11, Axis AX1 coincides with axis RC), and an angle formed by a reference direction extending horizontally through the origin and the virtual travel axis is set as a virtual travel axis angle, an operation plan for changing the virtual travel axis angle during movement is created when the operation plan is regenerated (paragraphs 0026-0031).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsuo (US 2003/0083783 A1) appears to also potentially anticipate claims 1 and 8. See Matsuo, paragraphs 0027-0030, 0042, 0046-0047.
/Dale Moyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656
1 see MPEP 2111.02(II): “of creating an operation plan of a robot which is a horizontal articulated robot, based on an operation command to the robot, thereby controlling a motor of each of axes of the robot” is an intended use of the control method.
2 see MPEP 2111.02(II): “of a robot which is a horizontal articulated robot, based on an operation command to the robot, thereby controlling a motor of each of axes of the robot” is an intended use of the control device.